11.26.2014
7
725
Toleriane Dermo-Cleanser
Rating
6.76 fl. oz. for $23.99
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Toleriane Dermo-Cleanser is a very simple, fragrance-free cleansing lotion for dry skin. It poses no risk of irritating skin unless you know you’re sensitive to one of the ingredients it contains, and it does a decent job of removing most types of makeup. Its value for dry, sensitive skin earns it a Best Product rating.

Claims

A gentle wipe-off cleanser that removes makeup without the risk of irritation.

Ingredients

Water, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Glycerin, Dipropylene Glycol, Carbomer, Sodium Hydroxide, Capryl Glycol/Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin

Brand Overview

La Roche-Posay At-A-Glance

Strengths: A few good cleansers; anti-aging formulas tend to be stably packaged to get the most out of the air/light-sensitive ingredients; many fragrance-free options; a unique lip moisturizer; some praiseworthy specialty products.

Weaknesses: Some problematic, overly irritating exfoliants; several ho-hum moisturizers and sunscreens; ineffective skin-lighteners; disappointing toner.

L'Oreal-owned La Roche-Posay has a pharmaceutical lineage based in France, and the company speaks of their thermal spring water as the cornerstone of their commitment to dermatological skin care. Sound familiar? L'Oreal-owned Biotherm makes similar claims for the water in their products, yet their marketing niche is spas, while La Roche-Posay caters to doctors and consumers interested in effective, no-frills skin care. Regardless of the source of their water, or how many minerals there may be in it, or the other benefits they assert it has, water is water and skin can't tell the difference. Even if the water were somehow "special," it takes a lot more than water to create and maintain healthy skin. This is something La Roche-Posay is aware of, because they do offer a fairly broad range of products to address the various needs of skin.

Their thermal spring water is said to be a rich source of selenium. Selenium is a nonmetallic element that has potent antioxidant ability. However, almost all of the research surrounding its benefits pertains to dietary or supplemental consumption, not to topical application. According to the research, selenium is absorbed into skin and helpful when applied topically only when applied as l-selenomethionine (Source: Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, July 2004, pages 149–155). It is unknown whether the water La Roche-Posay uses contains this form of selenium, but we wouldn't bank on it for a unique benefit.

For a dermatologist-oriented line like La Roche-Posay, most of the products are surprisingly devoid of state-of-the-art or other interesting ingredients. There are some standout products, such as those with retinol and stabilized vitamin C; however, most of them are one-note options that offer the help of their promoted ingredient but don't commingle it with anything else of value to skin. It's ironic that although there's not a jar package to be found in this line, most of the moisturizers lack light- or air-sensitive ingredients, so jar packaging actually wouldn't be a problem. In fact, most of the moisturizers are downright monotonous. For the money, these products will leave your skin wanting more.

If you steer your way to the well-formulated products La Roche-Posay offers, you will find some first-rate options. They're not as varied as what many other lines offer, but for a pragmatic, no-frills approach to serious skin care, they'll do just fine. In fact, among all of the L'Oreal-owned skin-care lines, La Roche-Posay comes closest to successfully competing with the best of the best. It's up to you to decide if "close" is good enough. However, if you need to avoid fragrance and a range of potentially irritating plant extracts prevalent in the products of many brands, this line may suit your skin to a T.

Note: La Roche-Posay is categorized as a brand that tests on animals because its products are sold in China. Although La Roche-Posay does not conduct animal testing for its products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brands state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law.” Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Paula’s Choice Research Team.

For more information about La Roche-Posay, owned by L'Oreal, call (888) 577-5226 or visit www.laroche-posay.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.01.2015
Not what it once was

For years this was my absolute favourite cleanser and makeup remover. However, I have found in the last couple of years that the product is thinner and runnier and it doesn't clean as well as it used to. Also, the bottle is never filled to the top anymore. I have gone back to my old favourite, Clinique's Gentle Creme Cleanser; nothing beats that for me.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.13.2015
Double cleansing? or Water soluble?

Should I use another cleanser, like a form cleanser, to remove a spf30+ foundation? Is this water-soluble product?

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
TG Nam
03.18.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  This cleanser should remove foundation fairly well, whether it has sunscreen or not. Try applying the cleanser to dry skin, massage in circular motions, and then rinse. You may also need to use a washcloth. Test how well it removes your foundation by going over your cheeks and forehead with a cotton pad soaked in a regular liquid makeup remover (Almay, Neutrogena, and L’Oreal  have good ones). 
-Beautypedia Team

—Beautypedia Team
03.05.2015
RetinA

Can I use this while using RetinA?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.06.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Any gentle cleanser (without irritants) such as this one should be just fine to use with it.  :)

-Beautypedia Team

—Admin
02.06.2015
Fantastic

Beautiful cleanser. Saved my skin. Can't recommend highly enough. Even Kiehls Ultra Cleanser and Cetaphil irritated my skin, that's how sensitive my skin is.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Johanna D.
04.06.2014
My "go to" cleanser

I have been using this product for several years and it is fabulous. That's pretty strong praise for a cleanser, but I have sensitive and somewhat dry skin and have found it to be creamy, gentle and non-irritating. Besides that it does a great job cleaning my skin. I use it every night and it leaves my skin feeling soft and hydrated. I highly recommend you give it a try.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.01.2013
Staple in My Skin Care Ritual

I have been using this FRAGRANCE FREE formula for many, many years. My skin tends to be sensitive and responds positively to this cleanser. It massages easily onto the face, removes all traces of makeup and sweat. Leaves skin soft, hydrated yet feeling clean. I use this product in the evening.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.22.2013
Have found this effectivel for Rosacea

Discovered this cleanser after a particularly bad rosacea and acne flare up 3 years ago and have used it most of the time ever since. The fluid texture effectively removes makeup and leaves my skin feeling refreshed and calm. I have quite oily skin and this cleanser leaves no residue. This has even been effective for occasional oily skin flare-ups and breakouts.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Angela C.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.394 5/23/2015 12:52:25 AM