12.02.2014
4
379
La Roche-Posay
Toleriane Purifying Foaming Cream
Rating
4.22 fl. oz. for $23.95
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Overview

Toleriane Purifying Foaming Cream is a very good water-soluble foaming cleanser with a soft cream texture suitable for normal to slightly dry skin, and it removes makeup quickly. The detergent cleansing agents are not bad, but they’re also not the best for “intolerant” skin, as La Roche-Posay asserts.

Claims

This gentle, fragrance-free cleanser can be used on delicate and intolerant skin.

Ingredients

Water, Glycerin, Potassium Myristate, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Potassium Stearate, Potassium Laurate, Potassium Palmitate, Coco-Glucoside, Tetrasodium EDTA

Brand Overview

La Roche-Posay At-A-Glance

Strengths: A few good cleansers; anti-aging formulas tend to be stably packaged to get the most out of the air/light-sensitive ingredients; many fragrance-free options; a unique lip moisturizer; some praiseworthy specialty products.

Weaknesses: Some problematic, overly irritating exfoliants; several ho-hum moisturizers and sunscreens; ineffective skin-lighteners; disappointing toner.

L'Oreal-owned La Roche-Posay has a pharmaceutical lineage based in France, and the company speaks of their thermal spring water as the cornerstone of their commitment to dermatological skin care. Sound familiar? L'Oreal-owned Biotherm makes similar claims for the water in their products, yet their marketing niche is spas, while La Roche-Posay caters to doctors and consumers interested in effective, no-frills skin care. Regardless of the source of their water, or how many minerals there may be in it, or the other benefits they assert it has, water is water and skin can't tell the difference. Even if the water were somehow "special," it takes a lot more than water to create and maintain healthy skin. This is something La Roche-Posay is aware of, because they do offer a fairly broad range of products to address the various needs of skin.

Their thermal spring water is said to be a rich source of selenium. Selenium is a nonmetallic element that has potent antioxidant ability. However, almost all of the research surrounding its benefits pertains to dietary or supplemental consumption, not to topical application. According to the research, selenium is absorbed into skin and helpful when applied topically only when applied as l-selenomethionine (Source: Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, July 2004, pages 149–155). It is unknown whether the water La Roche-Posay uses contains this form of selenium, but we wouldn't bank on it for a unique benefit.

For a dermatologist-oriented line like La Roche-Posay, most of the products are surprisingly devoid of state-of-the-art or other interesting ingredients. There are some standout products, such as those with retinol and stabilized vitamin C; however, most of them are one-note options that offer the help of their promoted ingredient but don't commingle it with anything else of value to skin. It's ironic that although there's not a jar package to be found in this line, most of the moisturizers lack light- or air-sensitive ingredients, so jar packaging actually wouldn't be a problem. In fact, most of the moisturizers are downright monotonous. For the money, these products will leave your skin wanting more.

If you steer your way to the well-formulated products La Roche-Posay offers, you will find some first-rate options. They're not as varied as what many other lines offer, but for a pragmatic, no-frills approach to serious skin care, they'll do just fine. In fact, among all of the L'Oreal-owned skin-care lines, La Roche-Posay comes closest to successfully competing with the best of the best. It's up to you to decide if "close" is good enough. However, if you need to avoid fragrance and a range of potentially irritating plant extracts prevalent in the products of many brands, this line may suit your skin to a T.

Note: La Roche-Posay is categorized as a brand that tests on animals because its products are sold in China. Although La Roche-Posay does not conduct animal testing for its products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brands state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law.” Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Paula’s Choice Research Team.

For more information about La Roche-Posay, owned by L'Oreal, call (888) 577-5226 or visit www.laroche-posay.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
01.10.2015
Great Summer Time Cleanser

I have rosacea and sensitive skin and have found this to be a very effective gentle cleanser for the summer months. After using my skin feels clean and calm, not overly dry or tight, removes my make up well and no break outs.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Dawn V.
01.02.2015
I don't get how this is non-drying?

I only dislike this cleanser because of the discomfort I feel after I rinse it off. My mom buys this cleanser a lot, I use it when I run out of my personal cleanser. Every time I rinse this cleanser off, my face feels so tight and "squeaky" and after I pat my face dry, my face feels so tight and dry.For the value, I personally wouldn't buy a cleanser over 12$ just because its on your face for a short time :/

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Gladys
08.01.2013
Great on Sensitive Combination Skin

I have used this cleanser for over seven years, it is a staple in my skin care ritual. Love the fragrance free, foaming formulation. I use it every morning, leaves face feeling thoroughly cleansed and soft. No toner necessary! I have combination skin that tends to be sensitive, this thoroughly removes the oils. It is not drying, nor does it leave skin feeling greasy. Before using this product, I tried many others. THIS IS IT.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.22.2012
Really like this BUT ..

Ok so this really does do a good job of cleansing the skin especially during winter time when I just cant use my bar soap, however it seems to leave a slightly white cast on my skin and I haven't quite figured out why, I would prefer to just use Paula's Balancing Skin Cleanser over this to be honest, but if you don't mind the whitefish cast it leaves behind it may be good for you. Cost is absurd though foe the amount you get!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
markychv
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.376 3/3/2015 9:14:28 AM