Teint Idole Ultra 24H Wear & Comfort Retouch-Free Divine Perfection SPF 15

by Lancome  
Price:
$45.50 
Average Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Makeup > Foundations With Sunscreen > Liquid Foundation w/ Sunscreen
Last Updated:
1/16/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This fragrance-free liquid foundation with an extraordinarily long name has one critical negative keeping it from earning our top rating: the sunscreen fails to provide good enough UVA protection, which is essential for anti-aging benefits. If you decide to use this (and there's much to love), you'll need to apply a broad-spectrum daytime moisturizer with sunscreen beforehand (not the best for those with very oily skin and who don't want to layer products). See More Info to learn which active ingredients to look for in any SPF-rated product.

OK, now for the positives: This has a supremely silky yet light texture that provides enough playtime for you to blend before it sets to a (very) long-wearing matte finish. The matte finish is beautiful; it makes skin look refined and dimensional rather than flat and drab. There's almost a hint of satin, yet the feel is decidedly matte. It's best for normal to oily or combination skin.

Coverage-wise, this doesn't get quite to full coverage without some work but it layers well, so it hides most imperfections and does so without looking heavy (though it does look like makeup—it's not that perfect). Best of all are the shades, which are plentiful and offer beautiful options for skin tones ranging from porcelain to ebony. Overall, Lancome did a brilliant job with the nearly 30 shades. The only colors to avoid due to peach overtones are 350 Bisque C and 430 Bisque C. Shades to consider carefully include 260 Bisque N and 320 Bisque W.

Pros:
  • Beautifully silky, lightweight texture.
  • Soft matte finish in a long-wearing, fragrance-free formula.
  • Excellent coverage.
  • Beautiful range of shades for porcelain to ebony skin.
Cons:
  • Sunscreen does not supply sufficient UVA (think anti-aging) protection.
More Info:

Why This Foundation's Sunscreen Isn't Good Enough

This does not include the ingredients needed to shield your skin from the sun's entire range of damaging UVA rays, which is essential for anti-aging benefits.The sun's UVB rays are what cause sunburn, and the SPF number reflects that protection, but there is no rating for the sun's silent, though more penetrating (and in many ways more damaging), UVA rays. Any SPF-rated product also should contain one or more of the following UVA-protecting ingredients listed as "active" to ensure you are getting UVA protection: avobenzone, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, Mexoryl SX (ecamsule), or Tinosorb (Sources:Photochemical and Photobiological Sciences, December 2011, pages 81–90; Cosmetic Dermatology, Second Edition, Baumann, Leslie MD, McGraw Hill, 2009, pages 246–252; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, Supplement, 2009, pages 19–24; The Encyclopedia of Ultraviolet Filters, Shaath, Nadim A., Allured Publishing, 2007; and Photodermatology, Photoimmunology, and Photomedicine, October 2003, pages 242–253).

Active: Octinoxate 3% Inactive: Aqua / Water / Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Isododecane, Dimethicone, C30-45 Alkyldimethylsilyl Polypropylsilsesquioxane Silica, Glycerin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Polyglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride, Nylon-12, Paraffin, Cyclomethicone, Aluminum Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Dipropylene Glycol, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Acrylates Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol Chlorphenesin, Ethylparaben, [+/- May Contain / Peut Contenir/ Ultramarines, Iron Oxides / Titanium Dioxide]

French flair, free gifts with purchase, constant magazine ads, and attractive packaging impel women to seek out the Lancome counter. Once you're there, though, unless you're captured by the enticing claims, the skin-care products are resoundingly dull, and we mean really, really dull (the makeup is a different story). With new research and developments in skin care many cosmetics companies typically improve their formulas, even if just in a small way. That’s not the case with Lancome, which tends to raise their prices while producing lackluster, ordinary formulas with little benefit for skin.

Even more shocking is that their most expensive skin-care items tend to be the most disappointing, usually for what they lack rather than for what they contain. It's startling to realize that their priciest moisturizer is remarkably similar to dozens of other Lancome creams priced more reasonably (but still too high when you consider what you're getting for the money). It seems that all it takes to justify the excessive prices is a good story based around a rare ingredient and claims of delivering a younger look. What a shame so many consumers are taken in by this kind of marketing mumbo jumbo.

L'Oreal-owned Lancome, along with L'Oreal's own skin-care products sold at the drugstore, has fallen well behind their competition. For all their lofty claims and beautiful models, many other companies leave them in the dust. Most of the Lauder companies (Clinique, Estee Lauder), along with Dove, and Olay have skin-care formularies that consistently outperform those of Lancome and L'Oreal in terms of what substantiated research has shown is necessary to have healthy, more wrinkle- and age-resistant skin. Lancome claims to understand women, and they certainly know how to entice them with pretty packaging and scientific-sounding claims. It would be far better if they had an intimate understanding of what it really takes for skin to look its best and function optimally.

The biggest improvement Lancome has made is that almost all of their sunscreens now include the right UVA-protecting ingredients. Who knows why it took them so long to get this straightened out (L'Oreal is no stranger to this issue, as they have developed and patented new UVA filters throughout the years), but it is now easier than ever to find a reliable sunscreen from Lancome. Given their prominence and presence in department stores around the world, Lancome isn't easy to ignore. My suggestion is to look beyond most of the skin care and focus on what they do best: makeup (especially foundations and mascaras).

Note: Unless mentioned otherwise, all Lancome products contain fragrance.

For more information about Lancome, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 526-2663 or visit www.lancome.com.

Lancome Makeup

L'Oreal-owned Lancome is a stellar, French-bred collection of makeup that remains the best reason to shop this line. Because most of Lancome's skin-care products have problematic elements (be it jar packaging, insufficient sun protection, or dated formulas), it is a relief to find that, for the most part, the colorful side of their business has more than its share of innovative products. We enjoyed the fact that no matter where we shopped, Lancome's counter personnel were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. There's a lot to keep track of, and Lancome deserves credit for keeping their salespeople so well informed.

If you're looking for a force to reckon with for foundations, Lancome is a must-see. They continue to offer some of the most elegant, silky formulas anywhere and in a color range that is overwhelmingly neutral, whether your skin is porcelain or ebony. The only troubling aspect is that most of Lancome's foundations with sunscreen do not contain adequate UVA protection or the SPF rating is too low. Lancome obviously knows about the risks with these issues (after all, they market ecamsule, their version of the UVA-protecting ingredient Mexoryl SX, and brag about its UVA range). And considering that, we are not recommending as many of their foundations as we have in previous editions of this book. Beyond this major gripe, you will discover that Lancome has a well-deserved reputation for their fantastic mascaras, and that their latest powders and eyeshadows apply with a silkiness that makes them gratifying to work with. The rest of the makeup encompasses many valid choices, but before you commit to Lancome, consider the similar options available for less from sister companies L'Oreal and Maybelline New York. Striking a balance among the best of each of these lines will give you first-class makeup that beautifies without breaking the bank.

Note: Lancome is categorized as a brand that tests on animals because its products are sold in China. Although Lancome does not conduct animal testing for its products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brands state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law.” Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Paula’s Choice Research Team.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Nel L.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Formula didn't change, still contain alcohol, but work well!
    • I just bought the foundation today. I actually "read" the ingredient list before purchase, and its exactly the same as the old formula! Alcohol denat list in 3rd ingredient list, I don't know where did beautypedia get their resource from, is USA selling different version then the one in Canada? I highly doubt it. However, with full knowledge ahead I still decide to buy it. This foundation PROS out-weight the CONS! Buildable coverage with a smooth nature look, better then other competitors.

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 21, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    On-line vs In-store formulas
    • After I read on Beautypedia that the alcohol content had been removed from this product, I was thrilled and repurchased this foundation at my local dept. store. However - when I got home and read the package, it was still the old formula with Alcohol Denat!! I was shocked!!! Promptly returned it!! On-line formula is Alcohol free. Why is this so Lancôme!? Agree with other member comment: BUYER BEWARE!

  3. Aimee
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 05, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Very pretty...and sophisticated
    • I always appreciate the work that Paula and her team do to review these products. When you are parting with $40-$60 for a foundation, it is great to have a consumer advocate. This is a really beautiful foundation. It is too bad about the sunscreen however, I wear sunscreen under my makeup anyway. This makeup is a work horse for long lasting. But I am confused about the mixed message of low rating for poor sunscreen, yet we are advised not to rely on makeup for sole source of sunscreen (?).

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, August 05, 2014

    Hello,

    Thank you for your feedback. Relying on a foundation with sunscreen as one’s sole source of facial sun protection requires liberal application but we suspect most women aren’t applying foundation liberally enough to get reliable protection. So, for best results, it’s preferred to apply a moisturizer with SPF followed by a foundation with SPF. Layering SPF products is a great way to ensure great protection.

    —Admin
  4. Katherine B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 03, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Not Alcohol -free in New Zealand
    • I stopped using this foundation a couple of years ago, due to the alcohol content. After reading the updated review of the alcohol-free foundation on here I went out to buy a new bottle. Used it for a week - lovely coverage, long-lasting - very happy with the appearance. But then, red bumpy rashes, dryness and itching skin - all the typical alcohol sensitivity symptoms. Had a look at the box and sure enough the 3rd ingredient is Alcohol Denat with Benzyl Alcohol further down. Buyer Beware!

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, June 13, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Not Good For Dry Skin
    • I used this foundation before it was re-formulated and it worked better for my dry skin. This new version, is better for someone with oily to very oily skin. It does wear good, but I can't use because my skin is dry. Liked the older version much better.

  6. Michelle M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Is this now Alcohol free?
    • I'm a little confused, back in 2012 I know this review mentioned a huge con for this foundation being the Alcohol content. Now the ingredients doesn't list alcohol and there's no mention of it in this review. Does that mean it's been reformulated? When I did use it, it worked wonderfully. Held up against humidity and my oiliness. It broke my heart to have to stop using it because of the alcohol, but I did. Please tell me it's been removed!

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Thursday, April 24, 2014

    Hello, and thanks for your comments! You are correct - this product has been reformulated, and no longer contains alcohol!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  7. Erika H
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 04, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love it
    • I love this foundation. I have fair skin, and it's hard to find a shade light enough for me that doesn't make me look washed out. Shade 210 Buff is perfect! It's neutral, without being too pink or too yellow-y. I will admit it's rather pricey. But, it goes on well, blends well, and is such a great shade that I will definitely continue to buy.

  8. ANONYMOUS
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 29, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    PITY
    • It is a real pity that this foundation contains alcohol since this is the most natural looking, dimensional foundation I have ever come across. Is it still safe to use even if I wear it over Skin Balance Ultra Sheer Daily Defence SPF30+ . Won't the good ingredients in that moisturizer with SPF negate the effects of the alcohol(I apply this sheer)in this foundation? hahaha! I just love it so much, please give me your opinion.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, September 30, 2013

    Hi there! Thanks for your comments. Sadly, the alcohol in this foundation remains a deal-breaker even if you apply it over a good-for-skin SPF product loaded with antioxidants. While that is likely to improve the odds of your skin suffering due to the alcohol, it doesn't negate the risk. From here it's up to you to decide if you want to continue with that pairing or not (but there are a lot of great foundations out there that omit alcohol).

    —Admin
  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 04, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Too Drying!
    • I hate the reformulation. I used Teint Idole Enduringly Divine make-up very happily for years. It was perfect for me but now it is drying, feels uncomfortable and looks too 'flat'.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.