Visionnaire LR 2412 4% Advanced Skin Corrector

by Lancome  
Price:
$89 - 1 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Serums > Serums
Last Updated:
1/16/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Lancome maintains that this heavily advertised serum is “Much more than a wrinkle corrector” because it also addresses the concerns of large pores, red marks, and uneven skin tone. The claims are enticing, but the reality is this is not an advanced product in the least; it’s more skin-corrupting than skin-correcting thanks to the amount of alcohol and the fact that its LR 2412 ingredient (discussed below) isn’t the miracle antiwrinkle breakthrough it’s made out to be.

This has a silky texture just like most serums, but the amount of alcohol is cause for concern. Not only is there more alcohol than there are state-of-the-art anti-aging ingredients, given the amount of alcohol present, your skin faces potential free-radical damage and collagen breakdown with daily use—even if you cannot see or feel the irritation taking place.

It’s important to note that all the marketing language Lancome uses in their ads and on their web site for this product never directly states what this product does for your skin. Like thousands of products, it claims to have clinical results of happy women who thought their skin looked better, but that’s not science because we have no idea what these women were basing their results on, or what questions were part of the questionnaire. Often these types of cosmetic clinical studies don’t allow a woman to make a negative comment of any kind. When you read between the lines, the language in the ads is all smoke and mirrors.

So, what is Lancome’s LR 2412 ingredient (allegedly being used at a 4% concentration)? LR 2412 is derived from the jasmine plant. Lancome maintains that this ingredient is a molecule “designed to propel through skin layers.” As it does so, it “triggers a cascading series of micro-transformations.” Sounds like a magic wand for your skin, doesn’t it? And Lancome’s constant reminder that this ingredient is protected by 20 patents makes it seem even more remarkable—but a patent has nothing to do with efficacy; it is only about a unique way to use any ingredient. A patent can be obtained simply by presenting an idea, not proof that the idea actually works. Plus, the way Lancome presents this on their ads, it doesn’t actually say the 20 patents have anything to do with this product.

As it turns out, simply “propelling” an ingredient through skin is not a guarantee of anything beneficial happening, and it may even make matters worse. For example, many ingredients, such as sunscreen actives, are meant for and should stay on the skin’s surface; you don’t want them to penetrate through multiple layers of skin because they need to protect the skin’s surface. Also, lots of ingredients can “propel” through skin and cause beneficial changes along the way, such as most antioxidants, glycerin, sodium hyaluronate, ceramides, retinol, and numerous other repairing ingredients whose daily use helps improve skin’s appearance and healthy functioning. In essence, Lancome’s claim makes LR 2412 sound innovative, when it’s really nothing new or all that exciting. But the ballyhoo sure makes it tempting!

On the ingredient list for Visionnaire, LR 2412 is listed as sodium tetrahydrojasmonate, which, as mentioned, is derived from the jasmine plant. Also listed is tetrahydrojasmonic acid. Both of these ingredients, in their natural state, are lipids (fats) that help the jasmine plant signal when repair is needed and that control the life cycle of the plant’s cells (Sources: Plant Physiology, April 2010, pages 1940–1950; and PLoS Biology, September 2008, page e320).

Lancome wants you to believe that these lipids, which in the jasmine plant repair environmental damage and control cell behavior, can somehow have similar effects on your skin, such as improving wrinkles, large pores, and red marks when applied to skin via their bioengineered LR 2412 molecule. Unfortunately, there isn’t a shred of published research to support their assertion. More to the point, even if these jasmine-derived ingredients were miracle workers for wrinkles, large pores, and red marks from acne, the amount of alcohol in the formula likely will harm your skin in the process, so any potential benefit is muted.

Of course, you also have to ask yourself: If LR 2412 is able to tackle the major concerns mentioned, why is Lancome selling so many other antiwrinkle products that don’t have this ingredient? Shouldn’t they just admit that LR 2412 is the best and stop selling their antiwrinkle products that don’t include it? Not too long ago, Genifique was Lancome’s new darling, but now it appears that Visionnaire is the answer. I wish Lancome would make up their mind.

There really isn’t much else of note in Visionnaire. It contains a small amount of the cell-communicating ingredient adenosine, but so do many other products, although many of those other products also provide a range of anti-aging ingredients, which is what skin really needs. Skin is a complex organ (the body’s largest) that requires a range of beneficial ingredients to be at its healthy, youthful best, not just a derivative of jasmine or adenosine, especially not for this amount of money. In the end, for all of its promotion, Visionnaire isn’t all that visionary!

Pros:
  • Silky texture makes skin look smooth, while the mica adds a subtle radiance (even though shine isn’t skin care).
Cons:
  • Expensive but not impressive enough to warrant the splurge.
  • Contains more skin-damaging alcohol than beneficial anti-aging ingredients.
  • The jasmine-derived LR 2412 ingredient is unproven for addressing wrinkles, red marks, or large pores.
  • Lacks the range of proven anti-aging ingredients that all skin types need to look and act younger.

More Info:

Irritation from alcohol, whether you see it on the surface of your skin or not, causes inflammation, which impairs healing, damages collagen, and depletes the vital substances your skin needs to stay young. For this reason, it is best to minimize or eliminate as much as possible your exposure to products with alcohol, especially when there are brilliant formulas available that do not include this problematic ingredient.

Much more than a wrinkle-corrector, our 1st skincare capable of fundamentally re-creating more beautiful skin. The first skincare with LR 2412, a molecule designed to propel through skin layers. On its path, it triggers a cascading series of micro-transformations. The result: on the surface, wrinkles and pores are visibly corrected, imperfections like signs of UV damage and acne marks appear diminished.

Water, Cyclohexasiloxane, Glycerin, Alcohol Denat., C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Sodium Tetrahydrojasmonate, Dipropylene Glycol, Polysilicone-11, Dimethicone, Bis-PEG/PPG-16/16 PEG/PPG-16/16 Dimethicone, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Ammonium Polyacryldimethyltauramide/Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydroxycellulose, Phenoxyethanol, Adenosine, Argilla/Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Dimethiconol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Disodium EDTA, Tetrahydrojasmonic Acid, Citronellol, Inulin Lauryl Carbamate, Fragrance

French flair, free gifts with purchase, constant magazine ads, and attractive packaging impel women to seek out the Lancome counter. Once you're there, though, unless you're captured by the enticing claims, the skin-care products are resoundingly dull, and we mean really, really dull (the makeup is a different story). With new research and developments in skin care many cosmetics companies typically improve their formulas, even if just in a small way. That’s not the case with Lancome, which tends to raise their prices while producing lackluster, ordinary formulas with little benefit for skin.

Even more shocking is that their most expensive skin-care items tend to be the most disappointing, usually for what they lack rather than for what they contain. It's startling to realize that their priciest moisturizer is remarkably similar to dozens of other Lancome creams priced more reasonably (but still too high when you consider what you're getting for the money). It seems that all it takes to justify the excessive prices is a good story based around a rare ingredient and claims of delivering a younger look. What a shame so many consumers are taken in by this kind of marketing mumbo jumbo.

L'Oreal-owned Lancome, along with L'Oreal's own skin-care products sold at the drugstore, has fallen well behind their competition. For all their lofty claims and beautiful models, many other companies leave them in the dust. Most of the Lauder companies (Clinique, Estee Lauder), along with Dove, and Olay have skin-care formularies that consistently outperform those of Lancome and L'Oreal in terms of what substantiated research has shown is necessary to have healthy, more wrinkle- and age-resistant skin. Lancome claims to understand women, and they certainly know how to entice them with pretty packaging and scientific-sounding claims. It would be far better if they had an intimate understanding of what it really takes for skin to look its best and function optimally.

The biggest improvement Lancome has made is that almost all of their sunscreens now include the right UVA-protecting ingredients. Who knows why it took them so long to get this straightened out (L'Oreal is no stranger to this issue, as they have developed and patented new UVA filters throughout the years), but it is now easier than ever to find a reliable sunscreen from Lancome. Given their prominence and presence in department stores around the world, Lancome isn't easy to ignore. My suggestion is to look beyond most of the skin care and focus on what they do best: makeup (especially foundations and mascaras).

Note: Unless mentioned otherwise, all Lancome products contain fragrance.

For more information about Lancome, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 526-2663 or visit www.lancome.com.

Lancome Makeup

L'Oreal-owned Lancome is a stellar, French-bred collection of makeup that remains the best reason to shop this line. Because most of Lancome's skin-care products have problematic elements (be it jar packaging, insufficient sun protection, or dated formulas), it is a relief to find that, for the most part, the colorful side of their business has more than its share of innovative products. We enjoyed the fact that no matter where we shopped, Lancome's counter personnel were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. There's a lot to keep track of, and Lancome deserves credit for keeping their salespeople so well informed.

If you're looking for a force to reckon with for foundations, Lancome is a must-see. They continue to offer some of the most elegant, silky formulas anywhere and in a color range that is overwhelmingly neutral, whether your skin is porcelain or ebony. The only troubling aspect is that most of Lancome's foundations with sunscreen do not contain adequate UVA protection or the SPF rating is too low. Lancome obviously knows about the risks with these issues (after all, they market ecamsule, their version of the UVA-protecting ingredient Mexoryl SX, and brag about its UVA range). And considering that, we are not recommending as many of their foundations as we have in previous editions of this book. Beyond this major gripe, you will discover that Lancome has a well-deserved reputation for their fantastic mascaras, and that their latest powders and eyeshadows apply with a silkiness that makes them gratifying to work with. The rest of the makeup encompasses many valid choices, but before you commit to Lancome, consider the similar options available for less from sister companies L'Oreal and Maybelline New York. Striking a balance among the best of each of these lines will give you first-class makeup that beautifies without breaking the bank.

Note: Lancome is categorized as a brand that tests on animals because its products are sold in China. Although Lancome does not conduct animal testing for its products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brands state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law.” Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Paula’s Choice Research Team.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Alex
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 08, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Better than you think
    • I would recommend this product, I know Paula doesn't rate it but I've always gotten good comments from using it and have had it over 3 years now. It makes my skin feel smooth, moisturises my oily T zone just enough without feeling heavy.

  2. joanne
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    not for me
    • I got a sample of this to try it and won't be buying it. The texture of this cream is not light at all, not refreshing, it is hideous and greasy, so much so that it made me itchy as soon as put it on. Sticky, greasy, awful......I prefer my Korres products, literally pure, effective and cheaper; I will not change my Korres Wild rose 24-hour hydrating & brightening cream for nothing.

  3. Amiina
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Did Nothing for me!
    • I am almost finish this whole bottle, it feels smooth on my skin, but that's it. I never seen any improvements even right after I put it on, just didn't do a thing! And now the bottle is almost empty, my pores are still as big, wrinkles are still there, brown spots didn't fade, face is still as oily, I don't even know if I want to keep using it, wasting my time and money!

  4. Sara
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Love! Fast results!
    • I had a sample and tried it because my skin was looking dull, spotted and I ws just looking more aged. I'm 46. This product kicked my skin back to bright and youthful by day 2 or 3! Loved it!

  5. Vicky
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 25, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    It Works for Me
    • I know Paula gives this a poor review but I decided to try it anyway. I'm always looking for something to help my pores on my nose. I feel I've found it in this product. Yes it is expens. but I only use it on my nose everyday and the rest of my face 3 times a week. I can tell a big difference when I don't use it versus when I do. I've tried other products to help with pores but this is the best one I've found so far.

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Does seem to help pores
    • This did not help my wrinkles, and I'm on my second or third bottle. However, it really helps my pores/blackheads. Not sure if it's the jasmine extract or what exactly, but it's worked better than anything else ever has. The price is so high that I just use it on my nose and cheeks, where my pores are the most noticeable. I can't afford to just slather this on everywhere.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.