01.05.2015
13
19
Visionnaire [LR 2412 4%-CX] Advanced Skin Corrector
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $79
Category:Skin Care > Serums > Serums
Last Updated:01.05.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Lancome maintains that this heavily advertised serum is “Much more than a wrinkle corrector” because it also addresses the concerns of large pores, red marks, and uneven skin tone. The claims are enticing, but the reality is this is not an advanced product in the least; it’s more potentially skin-corrupting than skin-correcting thanks to the amount of alcohol and the fact that its LR 2412 ingredient (discussed below) isn’t the miracle antiwrinkle breakthrough it’s made out to be.

This has a silky texture just like most serums, but the amount of alcohol is cause for concern. Not only is there more alcohol than there are state-of-the-art anti-aging ingredients, given the amount of alcohol present, your skin faces potential free-radical damage and collagen breakdown with daily use—even if you cannot see or feel the irritation taking place.

It’s important to note that all the marketing language Lancome uses in their ads and on their web site for this product never directly states what this product does for your skin. Like thousands of products, it claims to have clinical results of happy women who thought their skin looked better, but that’s not science because we have no idea what these women were basing their results on, or what questions were part of the questionnaire. Often these types of cosmetic clinical studies don’t allow a woman to make a negative comment of any kind. When you read between the lines, the language in the ads is mostly smoke and mirrors.

So, what is Lancome’s LR 2412 ingredient (allegedly being used at a 4% concentration and now followed by a "Cx" designation)? LR 2412 is derived from the jasmine plant. Lancome maintains that this ingredient is a molecule “designed to propel through skin layers.” As it does so, it “triggers a cascading series of micro-transformations.” Sounds like a magic wand for your skin, doesn’t it? And Lancome’s constant reminder that this ingredient is protected by 20 patents makes it seem even more remarkable—but a patent has nothing to do with efficacy; it is only about a unique way to use any ingredient. A patent can be obtained simply by presenting an idea, not proof that the idea actually works.

As it turns out, simply “propelling” an ingredient through skin is not a guarantee of anything beneficial happening, and it may even make matters worse. For example, many ingredients, such as sunscreen actives, are meant for and should stay on the skin’s surface; you don’t want them to penetrate through multiple layers of skin because they need to protect the skin’s surface. Also, lots of ingredients can “propel” through skin and cause beneficial changes along the way, such as most antioxidants, glycerin, sodium hyaluronate, ceramides, retinol, and numerous other repairing ingredients whose daily use helps improve skin’s appearance and healthy functioning. In essence, Lancome’s claim makes LR 2412 sound innovative, when it’s really nothing new or all that exciting. But the ballyhoo sure makes it tempting!

On the ingredient list for Visionnaire, LR 2412 is listed as sodium tetrahydrojasmonate, which, as mentioned, is derived from the jasmine plant. Part of the original formula but now gone is another part of the jasmine plant, tetrahydrojasmonic acid. Both of these ingredients, in their natural state, are lipids (fats) that help the jasmine plant signal when repair is needed and that control the life cycle of the plant’s cells (Sources: Plant Physiology, April 2010, pages 1940–1950; and PLoS Biology, September 2008, page e320).

Lancome wants you to believe that these lipids, which in the jasmine plant repair environmental damage and control cell behavior, can somehow have similar effects on your skin, such as improving wrinkles, reducing large pores, and fading red marks when applied to skin via their bioengineered LR 2412 molecule. Unfortunately, there isn’t a shred of published research to support their assertion. More to the point, even if these jasmine-derived ingredients were miracle workers for wrinkles, large pores, and red marks from acne, the amount of alcohol in the formula (it's the fourth ingredient) likely will harm your skin in the process, so any potential benefit is muted.

Of course, you also have to ask yourself: If LR 2412 is able to tackle the major concerns mentioned, why is Lancome selling so many other antiwrinkle products that don’t have this ingredient? Shouldn’t they just admit that LR 2412 is the best and stop selling their antiwrinkle products that don’t include it, or at least add LR 2412 to all their anti-aging products?

There really isn’t much else of note in Visionnaire. It contains a small amount of the cell-communicating ingredient adenosine, but so do many other products, although many of those other products also provide a range of anti-aging ingredients, which is what skin really needs. Skin is a complex organ (the body’s largest) that requires a range of beneficial ingredients to be at its healthy, youthful best, not just a derivative of jasmine or adenosine, especially not for this amount of money. In the end, for all of its promotion, Visionnaire isn’t all that visionary!

Pros:
  • Silky texture makes skin look smooth, while the mica adds a subtle radiance (even though shine isn’t skin care).
Cons:
  • Expensive but not impressive enough to warrant the splurge.
  • Contains more skin-damaging alcohol than beneficial anti-aging ingredients.
  • The jasmine-derived LR 2412 ingredient is unproven for addressing wrinkles, red marks, or large pores.
  • Lacks the range of proven anti-aging ingredients that all skin types need to look and act younger.

More Info:

Irritation from alcohol, whether you see it on the surface of your skin or not, causes inflammation, which impairs healing, damages collagen, and depletes the vital substances your skin needs to stay young. For this reason, it is best to minimize or eliminate as much as possible your exposure to products with alcohol, especially when there are brilliant formulas available that do not include this problematic ingredient.

Claims

Much more than a wrinkle-corrector, our 1st skincare capable of fundamentally re-creating more beautiful skin. The first skincare with LR 2412, a molecule designed to propel through skin layers. On its path, it triggers a cascading series of micro-transformations. The result: on the surface, wrinkles and pores are visibly corrected, imperfections like signs of UV damage and acne marks appear diminished.

Ingredients

Water, Cyclohexasiloxane, Glycerin, Alcohol Denat., Sodium Tetrahydrojasmonate, Polysilicone-11, Octyldodecanol, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Dipropylene Glycol, Bis-PEG/PPG-16/16 PEG/PPG-16/16 Dimethicone, Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Secale Cereale Extract/Rye Seed Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydroxycellulose, Phenoxyethanol, Adenosine, Poloxamer 338, Ammonium Polyacryldimethyltauramide/Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Dimethicone, Dimethiconol, Pentylene Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Disodium EDTA, Methyldihydrojasmonate, Citronellol, Inulin Lauryl Carbamate, Parfum/Fragrance

Brand Overview

Lancome At-A-Glance

Strengths: Some good cleansers; well-formulated scrubs; foundations with beautiful shades for almost every skin color; great concealers; several outstanding mascaras; the Artliner liquid eyeliners perform well; impressive powder eyeshadows; some fantastic lipsticks and automatic lipliner.

Weaknesses: Expensive for what amounts to mostly mediocre to below-average skincare products; lacking in effective treatments for blemishes or lightening skin discolorations; average toners; moisturizers that are short on including state-of-the-art ingredients; jar packaging; some foundations with sunscreen do not provide complete UVA protection.

French flair, free gifts with purchase, constant magazine ads, and attractive packaging impel women to seek out the Lancome counter. Once you're there, though, unless you're captured by the enticing claims, the skin-care products are resoundingly dull, and we mean really, really dull (the makeup is a different story). With new research and developments in skin care many cosmetics companies typically improve their formulas, even if just in a small way. That’s not the case with Lancome, which tends to raise their prices while producing lackluster, ordinary formulas with little benefit for skin.

Even more shocking is that their most expensive skin-care items tend to be the most disappointing, usually for what they lack rather than for what they contain. It's startling to realize that their priciest moisturizer is remarkably similar to dozens of other Lancome creams priced more reasonably (but still too high when you consider what you're getting for the money). It seems that all it takes to justify the excessive prices is a good story based around a rare ingredient and claims of delivering a younger look. What a shame so many consumers are taken in by this kind of marketing mumbo jumbo.

L'Oreal-owned Lancome, along with L'Oreal's own skin-care products sold at the drugstore, has fallen well behind their competition. For all their lofty claims and beautiful models, many other companies leave them in the dust. Most of the Lauder companies (Clinique, Estee Lauder), along with Dove, and Olay have skin-care formularies that consistently outperform those of Lancome and L'Oreal in terms of what substantiated research has shown is necessary to have healthy, more wrinkle- and age-resistant skin. Lancome claims to understand women, and they certainly know how to entice them with pretty packaging and scientific-sounding claims. It would be far better if they had an intimate understanding of what it really takes for skin to look its best and function optimally.

The biggest improvement Lancome has made is that almost all of their sunscreens now include the right UVA-protecting ingredients. Who knows why it took them so long to get this straightened out (L'Oreal is no stranger to this issue, as they have developed and patented new UVA filters throughout the years), but it is now easier than ever to find a reliable sunscreen from Lancome. Given their prominence and presence in department stores around the world, Lancome isn't easy to ignore. Our suggestion is to look beyond most of the skin care and focus on what they do best: makeup (especially foundations and mascaras).

Note: Unless mentioned otherwise, all Lancome products contain fragrance.

For more information about Lancome, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 526-2663 or visit www.lancome.com.

Lancome Makeup

L'Oreal-owned Lancome is a stellar, French-bred collection of makeup that remains the best reason to shop this line. Because most of Lancome's skin-care products have problematic elements (be it jar packaging, insufficient sun protection, or dated formulas), it is a relief to find that, for the most part, the colorful side of their business has more than its share of innovative products. We enjoyed the fact that no matter where we shopped, Lancome's counter personnel were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. There's a lot to keep track of, and Lancome deserves credit for keeping their salespeople so well informed.

If you're looking for a force to reckon with for foundations, Lancome is a must-see. They continue to offer some of the most elegant, silky formulas anywhere and in a color range that is overwhelmingly neutral, whether your skin is porcelain or ebony. The only troubling aspect is that most of Lancome's foundations with sunscreen do not contain adequate UVA protection or the SPF rating is too low. Lancome obviously knows about the risks with these issues (after all, they market ecamsule, their version of the UVA-protecting ingredient Mexoryl SX, and brag about its UVA range). And considering that, we are not recommending as many of their foundations as we have in previously have. Beyond this major gripe, you will discover that Lancome has a well-deserved reputation for their fantastic mascaras, and that their latest powders and eyeshadows apply with a silkiness that makes them gratifying to work with. The rest of the makeup encompasses many valid choices, but before you commit to Lancome, consider the similar options available for less from sister companies L'Oreal and Maybelline New York. Striking a balance among the best of each of these lines will give you first-class makeup that beautifies without breaking the bank.

Note: Lancome is categorized as a brand that tests on animals because its products are sold in China. Although Lancome does not conduct animal testing for its products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brands state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law.” Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Paula’s Choice Research Team.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.27.2015
Corrector

Haven't used other product Got as a sample and saw the change over few days Going to get it

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Pegah
04.23.2015
patches

Nothing I've used seems to help red flaky patches on my face. When I received a sample of the visionnare I love it patches clear up in a week

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Kesha
04.15.2015
No result

I've used one and a half bottles of vissionaire and have seen no result. I'm back to using my St Ives exfoliating face wash and will stick with that. Do not buy this product waste of money.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Sandy
03.11.2015
I Love This Product

I sincerely think there is a lot of bias on these reviews I cannot say I am shocked,...It's all about Paula's skin care products here...I get it... I have used her Resist line and there was not of one single product in that line that made me want to purchase any of her products again. Everyone's skin reacts differently to products, and I must say that I adore Visionnaire. My skin was noticeably softer, and surface lines were softened and reduced. I absolutely love Visionnaire

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Jackie R.
03.12.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. The product reviews the Beautypedia team writes are based on scientific and medical research, not opinion. For example, we don’t base reviews for skincare on personal experience with the product, because without question that would force an opinion (and what we personally like or what works for us isn’t going to translate to thousands of others).  We totally get the concern you have about bias, which is why we set up our review system as we have—free of personal opinion.

Instead, we evaluate skincare products based on what the research has demonstrated to be true, and what we know from our studies and interviews with dermatologists, cosmetic chemists, toxicologists, and the like. It’s just like evaluating a food product by reading the ingredient list and nutrition facts label; these labels can tell you a great deal without you having to actually eat the food (and we all know how people’s food tastes can differ).

We can’t change the fact that research shows alcohol-based products are a problem for skin, or that high amounts of fragrance is irritating. Where the confusion comes in to play is the expectation that skin always shows signs of damage on the surface. Unfortunately, that's not the case. Even though you can't always see it, irritation is taking place beneath the skin's surface, causing damage skin cells, producing inflammation, harming collagen, and making large pores and oily skin worse.

Also, I should mention that The Paula’s Choice Research Team no longer reviews products for Beautypedia, and while The Beautypedia Team is still a part of Paula’s Choice Skincare, what’s new—and you may not yet have known—is that now we have two teams working independently to bring you the best quality reviews, products, and  research-supported expert advice you know and love. One team is dedicated to Beautypedia and product reviews from other brands; the other is dedicated to Paula’s Choice skincare and its unique combination of expertly formulated products and advice on a wide range of beauty-related topics.

-Beautypedia Team

—Admin
02.18.2015
Improvement

Everything is not for everybody but this product is for me..Ive' seen and feel positive results in 2 weeks, spots fading and skin feels better and looking brighter..I'm impressed.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Delva C
02.05.2015
I wouldn't be without it

I'm surprised to see the low rating on this product. Over the years, I've stupidly fallen for "instant results" claims from several companies, and when I received a sample of this product, I assumed I was getting another dud. But I tried it anyway, one night before going to bed. In the morning I was stunned to see the change in my skin. It was smoother, less dull, and just better looking skin. And that didn't change after washing my face. Over the next few days, it continued to improve.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Jenny G
09.10.2014
No effect on my skin

I really couldn't see a difference after using testers twice daily on the same half of my face for a few weeks. Wrinkles aren't an obvious problem for me, but pores are - particularly on and next to my nose. Visionnaire made absolutely no difference to diminishing my pores. Yes, my skin did feel smooth immediately after application, but there was no difference once my oils returned to the skin surface after an hour or so. At least it didn't break me out as I have read on other review websites!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Cecilia A.
07.08.2014
Better than you think

I would recommend this product, I know Paula doesn't rate it but I've always gotten good comments from using it and have had it over 3 years now. It makes my skin feel smooth, moisturises my oily T zone just enough without feeling heavy.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Alex
06.12.2014
not for me

I got a sample of this to try it and won't be buying it. The texture of this cream is not light at all, not refreshing, it is hideous and greasy, so much so that it made me itchy as soon as put it on. Sticky, greasy, awful......I prefer my Korres products, literally pure, effective and cheaper; I will not change my Korres Wild rose 24-hour hydrating & brightening cream for nothing.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
joanne
12.17.2013
Did Nothing for me!

I am almost finish this whole bottle, it feels smooth on my skin, but that's it. I never seen any improvements even right after I put it on, just didn't do a thing! And now the bottle is almost empty, my pores are still as big, wrinkles are still there, brown spots didn't fade, face is still as oily, I don't even know if I want to keep using it, wasting my time and money!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Amiina
12.11.2013
Love! Fast results!

I had a sample and tried it because my skin was looking dull, spotted and I ws just looking more aged. I'm 46. This product kicked my skin back to bright and youthful by day 2 or 3! Loved it!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Sara
07.25.2013
It Works for Me

I know Paula gives this a poor review but I decided to try it anyway. I'm always looking for something to help my pores on my nose. I feel I've found it in this product. Yes it is expens. but I only use it on my nose everyday and the rest of my face 3 times a week. I can tell a big difference when I don't use it versus when I do. I've tried other products to help with pores but this is the best one I've found so far.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Vicky
04.17.2013
Does seem to help pores

This did not help my wrinkles, and I'm on my second or third bottle. However, it really helps my pores/blackheads. Not sure if it's the jasmine extract or what exactly, but it's worked better than anything else ever has. The price is so high that I just use it on my nose and cheeks, where my pores are the most noticeable. I can't afford to just slather this on everywhere.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.392 5/5/2015 5:18:24 AM