04.06.2015
16
7
Divine Cream
Rating
1.7 fl. oz. for $106
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:04.06.2015
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

The only thing divine about this product is the price (at least from the company’s point of view), and that’s assuming that divinity is correlated somehow with a high price tag. Labeling this product as “complete regenerating skin care” is so far off the mark you can’t even see the target. More to the point, if this is a “complete regenerating” product, then what are all of the other Immortelle products for? Is this their best option for being “immortelle”? Also, because it doesn’t contain sunscreen, it assuredly is not a complete option for daytime!

Although this moisturizer has its share of impressive beneficial ingredients, the amount of synthetic and natural fragrance ingredients is cause for concern because they are irritants, as are some of the plant extracts and the myrtle oil. According to the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database, myrtle oil used topically can cause “bronchial spasm, asthma-like attacks, or respiratory failure in infants and children.” Granted, this isn’t a product for kids, but why bother including such a problematic, unimpressive ingredient that doesn’t have any research showing it has any benefit for skin? The jar packaging issue isn’t even worth going into detail about because this is just a really bad, overly expensive product.

Claims

The divine combination of organic Immortelle and Myrtle essential oils offers complete regenerating skin care. This combined action stimulates the production of collagen and improves skin microcirculation, which helps reduce damage caused by time and restore substance and vitality.

Ingredients

Water, C12, 15 Alkyl Benzoate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Evening Primrose Oil, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Corn Starch Modified, Dimethicone, Cetearyl Alcohol, PEG- 100 Stearate, Camelina Sativa Seed Oil, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Palmitate, Stearic Acid, Fragrance, Sodium Citrate, Helichrysum Italicum Extract, Borago Officinalis Seed Oil, Myrtus Communis Oil, Sunflower Seed Oil, Rosemary Leaf Extract, Butylene Glycol, Parsley Extract, Sucrose Palmitate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzoic Acid, Echium Lypcosis Fruit Oil, Retinyl Palmitate, Glyceryl Linoleate, Phenoxyethanol, Polysorbate 60, Sorbitan Isostearate, Dehydroacetic Acid, Magnesium Aspartate, Zinc Gluconate, Hydrolyzed Viola Tricolor Extract, Polyaminopropyl Biguanide, Copper Gluconate, Linalool, Limonene, Benzyl Salicylate, Geraniol, Citral

Brand Overview

L'Occitane At-A-Glance

Strenghts: Provides complete ingredient lists for some of its products on company website; a good cleanser.

Weaknesses: Expensive; many products are heavily fragranced or contain irritating fragrance chemicals; jar packaging is prevalent, which won't keep ingredients stable; the products are not all natural in the least.

There has been intense reader interest in the L'Occitane line, and we can only surmise it's because this French company's image and marketing campaign have been casting their intended spell on consumers looking for natural products. Reading information about the company and its earnest beginnings, we would be sucked in, too; that is, if we didn't know how full of holes and fabrication this line is (far more silliness than substance, that's for sure)! What is particularly guileful is how many unnatural ingredients they include in all their products. In fact, they use more of these in their products than most of the other product lines that claim to be natural.

L'Occitane is named for an ancient province that used to be in the south of France. It sprang from an idea by founder Olivier Baussan, a native of France, who wanted to re-create regional traditions of manufacturing products to enhance a person's well-being. With that goal in mind, he began selling distilled rosemary oil, then branched into soap-making, and eventually came across shea butter, the perennial staple emollient found in numerous products in numerous lines.

L'Occitane does include shea butter in many of its products—they even offer a tin of 100% pure shea butter. Is this a good reason to seek out L'Occitane products? Is shea butter so special for skin? Not really. Shea butter does not have any remarkable qualities for skin that put it a notch above many other natural emollients—olive oil, among many others, cocoa butter, and a number of fatty acids (linoleic acid, triglycerides) come to mind. Shea butter is rich in fatty acids also and is a good ingredient for dry to very dry skin, but lots of products contain it and you can buy pure shea butter for $4 at the drugstore, so there's no need to set your sights on L'Occitane if you're curious to try it.

Getting back to the founder: it seems he believes that skin care involves a blend of research, aromatherapy, and phytotherapy. We don't know what, if any, research was done to determine what skin truly needs to look and feel its optimal best. However, it's evident by L'Occitane's formulas that Baussan and his team spent far more time making their products smell good, because overall these products contain plant extracts that, more often than not, either have no benefit, limited benefit, or compromised efficacy because of the irritation factor. The sense of getting back to nature to enhance well-being is pleasant to ponder, but it doesn't automatically make for great or even OK skin care. Not only do L'Occitane formulas fall flat, but they're also not all that natural.

Shopping this line for skin-care products is to wander into a world of fragrance excess. Aroma reigns supreme, while bona fide good-for-skin ingredients are either completely absent, comprise only a tiny amount of a product's formula, or will see their efficacy suffer due to jar packaging.

L'Occitane's skin-care routines consist of good cleansers but mostly problematic to average scrubs, there are no AHA or BHA products, and nothing to address the needs of acne-prone skin. The sunscreens are a mixed bag, with some containing the right UVA-protecting ingredients and others not listing any active ingredients, making them unreliable and astray of worldwide SPF regulations.

As usual, there are some good products to consider if you don't mind L'Occitane's higher price point. Overall, you're better off shopping this line for their gift sets and home fragrance products, which are great for your nose but not for skin care. Creating a skin-care routine exclusively from L'Occitane's selection is a guarantee that, in a best-case scenario, your skin will be left needing a lot more; worst-case scenario, your skin will be irritated, but your nose will be happy.

One more thing: L'Occitane loves to mention the natural ingredients and complexes it has patented for their products. Patents sound impressive, but as we have mentioned before, they are not proof of efficacy or superiority. The only thing a patent means is that the company has devised a means to show a formula or ingredient as unique in some way in relation to their claim, but again, that has nothing do with efficacy or, in the case of a cosmetics company, whether the ingredient is helpful or harmful to skin.

What's worth complimenting is the company's support of worthy charities and its encouragement of sustainable farming and of local farming throughout the regions where they obtain certain ingredients. All of that is commendable, but in light of the formulas, relatively hypocritical. You would be far better off donating to those causes directly than spending your beauty dollars on this line.

For more information about L'Occitane, call (888) 623-2880 or visit www.loccitane.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.04.2015
ms

I had a mini facial at the store - Products are good but it didn't suit me because within 1 hour i have spots appearing, so maybe I am allergic to the products. This is only my OWN persoanl experience so don't take it as no good - it simply did not suit ME only. Suggest before purchase, ask for sample & try it at home on the face ( + not on hand because I tried on my hand + no allegy sympton appears

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
jade
05.03.2015
Excellent Product

I had been happily using this product and for some silly reason I changed to Clarins Super serum and Day/Night moisturizers. What a disappointment. I have just ordered some Loccitane Creme Divine and serum and cannot wait to start using it again and feeling my skin supple and with a healthy glow again. I am 68 years old

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Bobby S
04.24.2015
Beautiful product

I find this quite an intense cream and I notice a result overnight and feel some tingling as soon as I apply. It is rich but sinks in nicely, smells lovely. Prefer as a night cream.I only use this cream a couple of nights a week as I find that it exfoliates my skin very noticably overnight. I notice a huge difference in the brightness of my skin, noticable reduction in pores and softness. I also suggest you keep it well away from your eyes. Definitely recommend for a quick lift to dry dull skin.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.29.2015
Divine is divine

Paulas team doesn't like anything with fragrance

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.02.2015
Feels divine, causes hellish acne

This product feels good immediately on my skin, and I also enjoy the smell, but I've given it chances on different occasions, over several months, and each time it has broken me out in huge, painful, inflamed cystic acne, that I don't usually get! I've finally decided to use the rest of my deluxe sample only as hand cream.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.28.2015
Breakout after 24 hours

I am really dissappointed with this product. I tried the cream several years ago and within a day of the first application, I noticed red splotches and bumps forming under my skin. I recently purchased the extract serum and after using for a couple of days, I am having the same reaction. It's really dissappointing because I really wanted to like this product. I do love the scent!!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.19.2014
Break out in a bottle

The cream has a beautiful consistency and I did so want it to be all that it claimed., however within two weeks my skin had broken out in small red bumps. Definitely not for sensitive skin as the sales clerk promised. On the plus side I have written to the company and they have said to return the product to the store, complete an allergy report and I will receive a full refund. I will keep you posted on the refund.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Stella by starlight
11.15.2014
It's really a miracle!

I was given a chance to try this as a sample by a friend, she recommended this cream. Although at first i thought the price was quite pricey, but after i tried it for two days, i would say its worth every penny! My skin feels a lot smoother, my pore looks slightly smaller and it reduces my acne instantly! I love it and im gonna buy it for sure!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Hanisah
09.21.2014
This Review is Completely Inaccurate

I originally purchased this product for my mother who has highly sensitive skin as well as acne scars. In a month's time, her dark acne scars faded considerably - some have even disappeared! Her complexion is even and brighter- as well as more firm. She especially loves the fact that people ask if she's my sister. But more importantly, I use the cream and love it as well (I'm 23)! And the divine oil is even more delightful than the cream.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.10.2014
Beautiful product - Concerning comments

The product is smooth, easy to apply and makes a difference to your skin. I am concerned about the comment made by Paula's Choice team that myrtle oil, when topically applied, (I'm paraphrasing) can harm children. I have not found anything (albeit online) that would back up this comment. I jumped on the website of the Natural Medicine Comprehensive Database (who are they?), but could not obtain the information quoted by your team without signing up. Any other source backing this up?

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.11.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello,

Thanks for your comments! The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database site is subscription-based, so you need to be a subscriber to access their compendium of information. Complete details on this site and its respected background can be found here (no need to subscribe to read that piece of info). As for the myrtle oil comment, it was referenced to the Natural Medicines’ site  to this textbook source: Gruenwald J, Brendler T, Jaenicke C. Physicians Desk Referece for Herbal Medicines. 1st ed. Montvale, NJ: Medical Economics Company, Inc., 1998.

—Admin
03.04.2014
Total disagree

I have been using this jar of cream before the new formulation. It works tremendously well on my skin, in fact far more better than the expensive creams available in the store promises better efficacy.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Jean
02.13.2014
Outstanding

I just began using The L'Occitanne Divine line of products and within a week I have noticed a tremendous difference with my skin. My boyfriend has commented frequently on the noticeable difference. I have never been so pleased with a product and I goodness knows I have tried everything!!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anne, H
10.12.2013
Divine Cream is DIVINE!

Absolutely and without a doubt the very best cream I have ever used on my skin and I have used them all both high-end and drugstore>My skin is so glowing I can go without makeup if i so choose>this cream is expensive but worth every penny! A superior product may lie in the synergy of its ingredients. Bravo L'Occitane for this glorious product!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.08.2013
Haven't tried this product, but then, has the reviewer?

Sorry, Paula's team, I can't see anywhere in your review if you've actually TRIED this product on your skin. It is simply a commentary on ingredients (and packaging) read off a box. Fair enough. But as I figure that the FDA will prevent the release of toxic irritants onto the retail market, I'd rather read articulate reviews written by likeminded ladies who can tell me if the said product will effectively moisturise my overdry & sensitive skin or not. Let us know how you get on with a skin test.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Rosieirl
04.08.2013
Beautypedia Team Response
Thank you for your review! When evaluating products based upon scientific research, it is important to maintain an objective opinion and not be swayed by bias. As personal experience with a product is anecdotal, we rate based upon what published, peer-reviewed studies have established. Whether someone enjoys the consistency or smell of a product doesn't have any relevance to whether a product contains the ingredients necessary to live up to its claims. In terms of irritants, we're didn't state Divine Cream used a toxic level of myrtle oil (or any other irritant), but rather those they chose to include have some rather undesirable possibilities along with unremarkable, standard emollients. CeraVe is much more exciting in terms of beneficial ingredients and leaves out the problematic essential oils and fragrances.
—Admin
03.14.2013
Disagree with you! This is BEST product I have ever used!

I highly disagree with this biased article, firstly the facts are wrong. Secondly it's written almost as if the reviewer was paid to put a negative mark on this product. I am very clued up on ingredients and specifically their origins, which makes a huge difference. Divine Creme is a fantastic product, it is so much more naturally based than other high end creams and yet it works better and is cheaper. The effects of this product are almost over night. Award winning product.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
G Lyall UK
03.15.2013
Beautypedia Team Response

Thank you for your comments. We're happy to hear this product worked well for you. We can assure you that none of our staff is paid to review any product in either a positive or negative way. For much more information on how we approach our reviews, please visit this section of Beautypedia: http://www.paulaschoice.com/Beautypedia-Product-Reviews-About-How-We-Do-Reviews/

—Paula's Choice Research Team
01.20.2013
Agree to Disagree

Again, I'm experiencing something different than the review says. I have used this cream for two weeks now and I have noticed a difference in my skin. I thought it was the Emperor's New Clothes or something of that sort when I read the review in this book, but then I read reviews elsewhere and in another reliable cosmetic/skincare book that raved about the product. Then i felt a little better and believed that MAYBE, just maybe I was not crazy after all. I realize it is extremely pricey. That being said, this product sinks right into my skin and I wake up with my normally patchy, oily skin smoother and more even. It's feeling better, period. This is one person's opinion, but I have to completely disagree with this review and I hope that people reading this will know that a sample might be worth a try.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jennifer D.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.401 7/1/2015 6:32:46 PM