Age Perfect Hydra-Nutrition Golden Balm Face, Neck & Chest
1.7 fl. oz. for $19.99
Last Updated:06.18.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

The concept behind this facial moisturizer for dry to very dry skin is "redensifying," which translates into making thinning skin look and feel thicker (more dense). Although this contains some ingredients that add moisture and antioxidants to stimulate healthy collagen production (which will make skin thicker to some extent), it also contains some problematic ingredients that work against this goal.

Marjoram, orange peel, and the numerous fragrance ingredients in this moisturizer cause irritation that hurts skin's ability to heal and produce healthy collagen. Although marjoram is a natural source of the skin-lightening ingredient arbutin, it also contains volatile components that are known to cause inflammation, especially when used around the eyes. This inflammation is exacerbated by the other irritants, making this a moisturizer to avoid. Check out More Info for further details on why irritation is so bad for your skin.

Sadly, the most intriguing ingredients in this moisturizer will not remain stable for long because of the jar packaging. Please see More Info for details on why jar packaging is a problem. And, by the way, you can and should use any moisturizer on your neck and chest, too; you don't need separate products for those areas, and there is no research anywhere showing that the neck and chest require different ingredients.

  • Rich, emollient texture is great for dry to very dry skin.
  • Contains a notable range of antioxidant plant oils and extracts, plus a form of vitamin C.
  • Jar packaging not only presents a hygiene issue with each use, but also allows the most beneficial ingredients to break down and lose their effectiveness.
  • Contains several fragrant ingredients that work against what this moisturizer is said to do: stimulate collagen for thicker, younger-looking skin.

More Info:

Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin's ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).


Water, Glycerin, Mineral Oil, Isocetyl Stearate, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Dimethicone, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Beeswax, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Camelina Sativa Oil / Camelina Sativa Seed Oil, Hydroxyethylpiperazine Ethane Sulfonic Acid, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Origanum Majorana (Marjoram) Leaf Oil, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Flower Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Zea Mays (Corn) Oil, Microcrystalline Wax, Paraffin, Royal Jelly Extract, Sorbitan Tristearate, Calcium Pantetheine Sulfonate, Copernicia Cerifera Cera / Carnauba Wax, Isohexadecane, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Disodium EDTA, Propylene Glycol, Hydroxyapatite, Caprylyl Glycol, Passiflora Edulis Oil / Passiflora Edulis Seed Oil, Xanthan Gum, Polysorbate 80, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Acrylates Copolymer, Oryza Sativa (Rice Bran) Oil, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Yellow 6, Yellow 10, Geraniol, Eugenol, Coumarin, Limonene, Citral, Citronellol, Fragrance

Brand Overview

L'Oreal Paris At-A-Glance

Strengths: Budget-friendly prices; good makeup removers; wide assortment of self-tanning options; one of the best, most comprehensive makeup collections at the drugstore, with superb options in almost every category; the mascaras are a tough act to follow.

Weaknesses: Jar packaging hinders some of the skincare formulas; many of their skincare formulas contain problematic amounts of fragrance and/or other irritants; exaggerated anti-aging claims.

L'Oreal's extensive makeup collection retains its stature as one of the better selections at the drugstore, though they have stiff competition from Revlon and, in some cases, sister company Maybelline New York. In recent years L'Oreal has made significant strides with foundation shades, powder textures, concealers, and, of course, superlative mascaras that rarely fail to impress. Their lipsticks are excellent and you will find many L'Oreal makeup products have a Lancome counterpart, and that the differences are minor—if there are any at all.

L'Oreal's displays in many drugstores reflect better-organized products and shade categories (though testers are still scarce). Given the number of lipsticks they sell, it only makes sense to put them in color families so consumers have a better shopping experience. Their True Match products are also sensibly laid out, but the rest of the foundations aren't as organized, likely due to the smaller selection of shades. Speaking of foundations, L'Oreal has made further strides by offering more that provide sufficient UVA protection. Revlon still has the edge for consistently launching impressive foundations with sunscreen, but at least L'Oreal is (finally) catching up.

The bottom line is that every category of L'Oreal’s makeup has some winning (and in some cases, benchmark-setting) products.

Unfortunately, despite the brands’ enormous presence in the beauty industry, L'Oreal's moisturizers and treatment products are a nearly all unremarkable and repetitive. When it comes to moisturizers or serums, just about anything from Dove, Olay, Neutrogena, or Aveeno is preferred. L'Oreal does well with most of their cleansers, along with scrubs and self-tanning products, but given the widespread availability and financial resources of this line, they could be doing so much more. The good news is their makeup has made major strides and now ranks as the best overall color collection at the drugstore—imagine the results if their skin care followed suit.

For more information about L'Oreal, call (800) 322-2036 or visit www.loreal.com or www.lorealparisusa.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!

The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Sort by:

This is HORRIBLE!! If you are in a little sensitive or allergic stay away from this "product." It should never be applied anywhere near the eyes, nose or mouth! It reeks of alcohol and burns seconds after you put it on. I was desperate for a serum, having run out of my usual one, w/out a back-up , over a holiday weekend and tried this sample. Had it on a minute and began sneezing, coughing and experiencing runny, stinging eyes. 4 Benedryls later I was still an allergic mess! BEWARE!!!

Reviewed by
Georgine R.
Beauty Balm is the Bomb!

I used Loreal's Golden Balm a few yes ago and received compliments on my skin.I have used many Paula's Choice products as well.Love them too,but this balm smooths my lines and complexion amazingly.I don't agree with your review.I will,however not use it by my eyes. Still using my Paul's Choice products as well!

Reviewed by
I actually love this product

I used to use Clinique Moisture Online..until it was discontinued. I have REALLY, really dry skin and I have a hard time finding products that moisturize my skin enough. I tried this after having a sample and I love it. it prevents dry patches and keeps everything really nice and moisturized. I only use it at night. It does have quite a bit of fragrance. I wish that it didn't but it does. I have gone though about 6 tubs of this in the past few years and nothing works for me as well as this

Reviewed by
Extremely irritating and damaging

I tried this product about 2 months prior to switching to Paula's Choice products. My mom had a jar and didn't need it, so, considering my age (49 at the time, and thanks much Mom) she thought it would be good for me. Not so! I only had it on for about 12 hours before my face began to feel like I coated it with lava. When I went into the bathroom to wash it off I was shocked: my face was beet red and the area around my eyes was starting to swell. It took a week before it healed.

Reviewed by
Scott B.
Enter a title for your review
First Name, Last Initial
Email Address
How would you rate this product on the following:
500 characters left

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.431 10/6/2015 5:45:24 PM