12.19.2014
6
4
Age Perfect Hydra-Nutrition Glow Renewal Facial Oil
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $24.99
Last Updated:12.19.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

"Perfume" Perfect would be a more accurate name for this strongly scented bottle of fragrant and non-fragrant plant oils! Although several of the non-fragrant plant oils are wonderfully beneficial for dry to very dry skin, they're commingled with so much fragrance that it borders on overkill in terms of causing irritation. See More Info to learn why daily use of highly fragrant products like this isn't the way to look younger.

The dropper-tip applicator is a great way to dispense an oil like this, because it's easy to apply on its own or to mix a few drops with your regular moisturize. However, for the health of your skin, if you want to add oil to ease dryness, we recommend doing so with a mix of non-fragrant plant oils or a single oil such as jojoba, evening primrose, or safflower. You'll get all of the benefits this L'Oreal product provides, without the strong risk of irritation that such large amounts of fragrance present.

By the way, nothing about this facial oil is preferred for so-called mature skin, whatever that means. There's no agreed-upon definition for mature skin; the cosmetics industry seems to equate it with dry skin, yet many "mature" women still struggle with oily skin and breakouts. The good oils in this product will be a help for dry skin of any age—you don't need to wait until you're "mature" to gain their benefit—just don't do that using this product.

One more comment: The eight essential oils L'Oreal mentions are not essential for anyone's skin, at least not if they're referring to the fragrant oils. This product would be a big problem for those with extra sensitive skin.

Pros:
  • Contains several beneficial non-fragrant plant oils.
  • Dropper-tip applicator makes this easy to apply.
Cons:
  • Highly fragranced, but fragrance (in this case, more like pure perfume) isn't skin care.
  • Contains several fragrant plant oils known to be irritating, which is pro-aging.
  • This isn't a special product only for mature skin.
More Info:

Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin's ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).

Claims
A unique blend of 8 essential oils selected for their ability to replenish skin and restore a healthy looking glow to even dry, dull skin. Ultra-fast absorption leaves skin feeling deeply nourished, yet lightweight with no greasy residue.
Ingredients
Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Olea Europaea Oil/Olive Fruit Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis Oil/Jojoba Seed Oil, Camelina Sativa Oil/Camelina Sativa Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil/Sunflower Seed Oil, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Parfum/Fragrance, Zea Mays Oil/Corn Oil, Prunus Armeniaca Kernel Oil/Apricot Kernel Oil, Passiflora Edulis Oil/Passiflora Edulis Seed Oil, Oryza Sativa Bran Oil/Rice Bran Oil, Tocopherol, Limonene, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis Peel Oil/Orange Peel Oil, Citronellol, Linalool, Rosmarinus Officinalis Leaf Oil/Rosemary Leaf Oil, Geraniol, Origanum Majorana Leaf Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia Oil/Lavender Oil, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Lavandula Hybrida Oil, Cucumis Sativus Fruit Extract/Cucumber Fruit Extract, Benzyl Alcohol, Citral, Curcuma Longa Extract/Turmeric Root Extract, Eugenol, Coumarin, Sclareolide, Rosa SPP/Rose Flower Oil, Jasminum Officinale Extract/Jasmine Extract, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, F.I.L #D159186/5.
Brand Overview

L'Oreal Paris At-A-Glance

Strengths: Budget-friendly prices; good makeup removers; wide assortment of self-tanning options; one of the best, most comprehensive makeup collections at the drugstore, with superb options in almost every category; the mascaras are a tough act to follow.

Weaknesses: Jar packaging hinders some of the skincare formulas; many of their skincare formulas contain problematic amounts of fragrance and/or other irritants; exaggerated anti-aging claims.

L'Oreal's extensive makeup collection retains its stature as one of the better selections at the drugstore, though they have stiff competition from Revlon and, in some cases, sister company Maybelline New York. In recent years L'Oreal has made significant strides with foundation shades, powder textures, concealers, and, of course, superlative mascaras that rarely fail to impress. Their lipsticks are excellent and you will find many L'Oreal makeup products have a Lancome counterpart, and that the differences are minor—if there are any at all.

L'Oreal's displays in many drugstores reflect better-organized products and shade categories (though testers are still scarce). Given the number of lipsticks they sell, it only makes sense to put them in color families so consumers have a better shopping experience. Their True Match products are also sensibly laid out, but the rest of the foundations aren't as organized, likely due to the smaller selection of shades. Speaking of foundations, L'Oreal has made further strides by offering more that provide sufficient UVA protection. Revlon still has the edge for consistently launching impressive foundations with sunscreen, but at least L'Oreal is (finally) catching up.

The bottom line is that every category of L'Oreal’s makeup has some winning (and in some cases, benchmark-setting) products.

Unfortunately, despite the brands’ enormous presence in the beauty industry, L'Oreal's moisturizers and treatment products are a nearly all unremarkable and repetitive. When it comes to moisturizers or serums, just about anything from Dove, Olay, Neutrogena, or Aveeno is preferred. L'Oreal does well with most of their cleansers, along with scrubs and self-tanning products, but given the widespread availability and financial resources of this line, they could be doing so much more. The good news is their makeup has made major strides and now ranks as the best overall color collection at the drugstore—imagine the results if their skin care followed suit.

For more information about L'Oreal, call (800) 322-2036 or visit www.loreal.com or www.lorealparisusa.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.27.2015
CVS version is better for sensitive skin

I compared the ingredients for this product with the CVS pharmacy version and the only difference was Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, which might explain the overly fragrant part of this product. The CVS version did not upset my extremely sensitive, very dry and prone to redness skin. I've tried my own oils and other products made for red dry skin and so far this one (CVS version) has done the best job of keeping my skin hydrated without causing further redness.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.16.2015
not worth the money

Sure my skin feels soft using this product, but it is very fragrant and it feels like I'm putting vitamin E directly on my face. It's too much for my face but excellent for my hands. I'll go back to using Oil of Olay face cream. What a waste of money.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Angela G
04.22.2014
Very Good

Such a good scent, which ia a proof for the essential oils. Absorbs fast, is not shiny. Agree completely with the coment before by Allison.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
LillyN
10.15.2013
Love this oil!

I like this facial oil better than my argan & marajuca oils. It is lighter weight and absorbs faster, yet seems to give my skin more hydration & glow. And not the "shiny" type of glow that you would get from any oil, but a reflective "glowy" quality that looks like it comes from within my skin. Like youthful, healthy skin. I am in my mid-40's, and have been battling dullness & fine lines, and this facial oil really helps plump my skin and add back luminosity. I like the herbal-floral scent too!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
AllisonC
09.21.2013
Horrible Scent!

I tried a FREE SAMPLE that came in a magazine, so it was a good value, but otherwise, I hated it! The scent was so strong, that after about 30 minutes, I finally had to wash it off. I don't care what it can do for my skin, I wouldn't use it even if they paid me!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.21.2013
OK so it's not good for my skin...

Yes, I knew from the moment I tried the sample it was more a fragrance than a skin treatment BUT the scent is heavenly -- lifts my spirit and that always makes my face look better. I'll use it sparingly to add scent when I'm feeling low!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Linda L
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.411 9/1/2015 9:21:29 AM