03.12.2015
4
4
Youth Code Pore Vanisher
Rating
1.4 fl. oz. for $24.99
Last Updated:03.12.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This specialty product is an example of what not to do when formulating a product to minimize pores. First, aside from the name, there really isn't anything special about this product. The blend of numerous silicones and polymers creates a texture that smoothes surface irregularities and has a temporary filling effect on pores this is only one of dozens of other products that have this same benefit but without the problematic ingredients L'Oreal added.

L'Oreal's claims "Pore Vanisher works on three dimensions to shrink pores: depth, number and size. But it's not possible. Nothing it contains can truly reduce the number of pores you have. Each person is born with all the pores they'll ever have.

However, pores do change in size and depth over time due to hormones causing clogged pores and from sun damage weakening the pore's support structure, but again, Pore Vanisher falls down in fixing those problems.

Because Youth Code Pore Vanisher contains a potentially irritating amount of alcohol, fragrance ingredients known to be irritating, and a form of menthol (menthyl lactate) whose cooling sensation won't make pores smaller, it's a bad idea for pores of any size. All of these combined can damage skin and the irritation can stimulate nerve endings at the base of the pore, causing potential problems. What kind of problems? Such stimulation can trigger excess oil production, which in turn makes pores bigger, not smaller!

One more comment: L'Oreal refers to the ingredient perlite as being able to strengthen and tighten pore walls. There's no research showing that to be possible. Perlite is a silica-based rock that has no special benefit for enlarged pores. It's similar to silica in that, when milled and included in skin-care products, it imparts a silky feel and powder-like finish.

To strengthen pore walls, there are several things you can do such as exfoliate with a salicylic acid (BHA) exfoliant, be sure to get all your makeup off every night, don't irritate your skin which will stimulate more oil production, and protect your skin from the sun every day! Surprised about sunscreen improving pores? It's true! Sun exposure damages the supportive elements in the skin and those elements also help keep pores properly shaped and "tight." As those support elements become damaged, the pore has less scaffolding to help it maintain its shape, essentially becoming "loose" and enlarging.

Pros:
  • Silky texture has a subtle (temporary) "filling" and smoothing effect on enlarged pores.
  • The texture and finish work well under makeup.
Cons:
  • Cannot reduce the number of pores you have or the size of the pores; rather, it simply masks the appearance of larger pores.
  • Contains irritating ingredients that can potentially make enlarged pores and oily skin worse if used daily.
  • Highly fragrant formula poses a strong risk of irritation.
More Info:

More Info:

Irritation, whether you see it on the surface of your skin or not, causes inflammation and as a result impairs healing, damages collagen, and depletes the vital substances your skin needs to stay young. For these reasons, it is best to eliminate, or minimize as much as possible, your exposure to known skin irritants, especially when there are brilliant formulas available that do not include these types of problematic ingredients (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).

Claims

Pore Vanisher™ works on three dimensions to shrink pores: depth*, number and size. Instantly pores appear virtually vanished and skin feels hydrated. Perlite absorbs excess oil for an all-day, shine free, smooth finish. In one day LHA micro-exfoliates to visibly smooth skin’s surface. In one month pores begin to snap back into shape as our highest concentration of Perline-P strengthens and tightens pore walls to shrink actual pore size.

Ingredients

Dimethicone, Aqua/ Water, Glycerin, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Isononyl Isononanoate, Alcohol Denat, Vinyl Dimethicone/ Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Silica Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, PEG/PPG-18/ 18 Dimethicone, Perlite, Magnesium Sulfate, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Menthyl Lactate, Lens Esculenta Seed Extract/Lentil Seed Extract, Bisabolol, Parfum/ Fragrance, Dextrin, Dimethiconol, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 77891/ Titanium Dioxide, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Eperua Falcata Bark Extract, Farnesol, Limonene, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Citronellol, Aluminum Hydroxide

Brand Overview

L'Oreal Paris At-A-Glance

Strengths: Budget-friendly prices; good makeup removers; wide assortment of self-tanning options; one of the best, most comprehensive makeup collections at the drugstore, with superb options in almost every category; the mascaras are a tough act to follow.

Weaknesses: Jar packaging hinders some of the skincare formulas; many of their skincare formulas contain problematic amounts of fragrance and/or other irritants; exaggerated anti-aging claims.

L'Oreal's extensive makeup collection retains its stature as one of the better selections at the drugstore, though they have stiff competition from Revlon and, in some cases, sister company Maybelline New York. In recent years L'Oreal has made significant strides with foundation shades, powder textures, concealers, and, of course, superlative mascaras that rarely fail to impress. Their lipsticks are excellent and you will find many L'Oreal makeup products have a Lancome counterpart, and that the differences are minor—if there are any at all.

L'Oreal's displays in many drugstores reflect better-organized products and shade categories (though testers are still scarce). Given the number of lipsticks they sell, it only makes sense to put them in color families so consumers have a better shopping experience. Their True Match products are also sensibly laid out, but the rest of the foundations aren't as organized, likely due to the smaller selection of shades. Speaking of foundations, L'Oreal has made further strides by offering more that provide sufficient UVA protection. Revlon still has the edge for consistently launching impressive foundations with sunscreen, but at least L'Oreal is (finally) catching up.

The bottom line is that every category of L'Oreal’s makeup has some winning (and in some cases, benchmark-setting) products.

Unfortunately, despite the brands’ enormous presence in the beauty industry, L'Oreal's moisturizers and treatment products are a nearly all unremarkable and repetitive. When it comes to moisturizers or serums, just about anything from Dove, Olay, Neutrogena, or Aveeno is preferred. L'Oreal does well with most of their cleansers, along with scrubs and self-tanning products, but given the widespread availability and financial resources of this line, they could be doing so much more. The good news is their makeup has made major strides and now ranks as the best overall color collection at the drugstore—imagine the results if their skin care followed suit.

For more information about L'Oreal, call (800) 322-2036 or visit www.loreal.com or www.lorealparisusa.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.07.2015
Was hopeful, Now hopeless

I used the pore reducing hoping it would work being Loreal,I was not pleased.it did go on smooth but didn't help vanish my pores under my make up.not worth your money. Disappointed!!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Tammy H.
04.14.2015
Gross

separates as brown gunk and clear liquid unusable

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Ellen
04.03.2014
Recommendation?

I only tried a free packet sample of this that came in my Marie Claire magazine. I didn't think I had any pore issues (too large or small) but this smoothed my face and pores to where I wouldn't have needed to wear foundation with it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.21.2014
The Stuff Doesn't Wash Off

This stuff was IMPOSSIBLE to wash off. I washed my face four times, and even then, it left a film on top of my skin. I used a makeup remover and washed with my normal cleanser twice before I became desperate and just grabbed a bar of soap, and when that didn't work, I used an alcohol based astringent (I know), and my skin still doesn't feel clean or normal. Maybe I didn't use the right kind of cleanser, but unless you want a permanent primer on your skin, save your money for something better.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.411 9/1/2015 9:57:31 PM