03.12.2015
13
1554
Infallible 24 HR Eye Shadow
Rating
$7.95
Category:Makeup > Eyeshadows > Cream/Cream-to-Powder Eyeshadow
Last Updated:03.12.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This cream-to-powder eyeshadow glides smoothly across skin and is easy to blend out for a smokey effect. If applied with a light hand it goes on sheer, but you can kick up the color intensity by patting it on or applying more layers. The shade range includes a mix of trendy and classic colors in luminescent shimmer and matte finishes (which are easy to identify). Better yet, it doesn't crease or fade, and it is water-resistant.

Pros:
  • Shade range includes a mix of trendy and classic colors in luminescent shimmer and matte finishes.
  • Cream-to-powder eyeshadow that glides smoothly across skin and is easy to blend.
  • Can be applied to go on sheer or built up for bold intensity.
  • Water-resistant, won't crease or fade.
Cons:
  • Luminescent shimmer finish accentuates wrinkly eyelids.
Claims
Ingredients
Cyclohexasiloxane, Isododecane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Nylon-611/Dimethicone Copolymer, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, alcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol,Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Talc, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Lauroyl Lysine, Tin Oxide, Alumina, Polyurethane-11, [+/- May Contain / Peut Contenir: Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77947 / Zinc Oxide, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake,CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake].

NOTE: Ingredients may vary by shade from the above listing.

Brand Overview

L'Oreal Paris At-A-Glance

Strengths: Budget-friendly prices; good makeup removers; wide assortment of self-tanning options; one of the best, most comprehensive makeup collections at the drugstore, with superb options in almost every category; the mascaras are a tough act to follow.

Weaknesses: Jar packaging hinders some of the skincare formulas; many of their skincare formulas contain problematic amounts of fragrance and/or other irritants; exaggerated anti-aging claims.

L'Oreal's extensive makeup collection retains its stature as one of the better selections at the drugstore, though they have stiff competition from Revlon and, in some cases, sister company Maybelline New York. In recent years L'Oreal has made significant strides with foundation shades, powder textures, concealers, and, of course, superlative mascaras that rarely fail to impress. Their lipsticks are excellent and you will find many L'Oreal makeup products have a Lancome counterpart, and that the differences are minor—if there are any at all.

L'Oreal's displays in many drugstores reflect better-organized products and shade categories (though testers are still scarce). Given the number of lipsticks they sell, it only makes sense to put them in color families so consumers have a better shopping experience. Their True Match products are also sensibly laid out, but the rest of the foundations aren't as organized, likely due to the smaller selection of shades. Speaking of foundations, L'Oreal has made further strides by offering more that provide sufficient UVA protection. Revlon still has the edge for consistently launching impressive foundations with sunscreen, but at least L'Oreal is (finally) catching up.

The bottom line is that every category of L'Oreal’s makeup has some winning (and in some cases, benchmark-setting) products.

Unfortunately, despite the brands’ enormous presence in the beauty industry, L'Oreal's moisturizers and treatment products are a nearly all unremarkable and repetitive. When it comes to moisturizers or serums, just about anything from Dove, Olay, Neutrogena, or Aveeno is preferred. L'Oreal does well with most of their cleansers, along with scrubs and self-tanning products, but given the widespread availability and financial resources of this line, they could be doing so much more. The good news is their makeup has made major strides and now ranks as the best overall color collection at the drugstore—imagine the results if their skin care followed suit.

For more information about L'Oreal, call (800) 322-2036 or visit www.loreal.com or www.lorealparisusa.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.06.2015
Good but SUPER Pigmented!

I have the shade Bottomless Java (deep brown with gold shimmer) and it is a gorgeous shade but it is super pigmented that sometimes it is difficult to apply. I barely need to tap into the pan to intensify the outer corner of my eye. This is good because I'm not using a lot of product, but bad because it can easily be overdone and I don't like very dark eyeshadow looks. I want to try Amber Rush next. The formulation is great-smooth, pigmented, stays all day. Will buy more!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Morgan S.
02.12.2015
Works best with cheap synthetic brush or finger

To get the most out of these you need to use your finger or a cheap synthetic brush. They are pressed pigment and the texture is slightly chunky. I have 8 of these and I love them all. They last without a primer on my oily lids. They are pigmented and you really don't need much for all day color. Iced Latte the color that was so disliked by the person who threw it away (almost any drugstore will take returns on opened makeup), it works best as a highlight in the inner corner.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jenny A
09.26.2014
Disappointing

I normally agree with PC, so when these eyeshadows went on sale at the drugstore, I picked up two different shades. I was excited to try them, but I found the texture to be too chunky for me. There was also a lot of fallout, and the color payoff was poor. I'm new to cream eyeshadows, so maybe this is normal, but this product was just not for me. Back to the store they went!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.24.2014
Love This Shadow

This is an excellent shadow from beginning to end. It goes on smooth, has great vivid color, doesn't crease, and lasts all day. I have every color but my favorite is the golden emerald, by far. It has a wonderful rich green color with a warm golden glow to it. Couldn't ask for better eye shadow and it will last forever making it a good buy. You get plenty and because of the color richness you only need a little making this jar last for a very long time. Wonderful product and every color is an A+

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Heather W
02.24.2014
Good surprise

These are one of the best and longest lasting eye shadows I have ever used. I bought three of the matte colors. I will have to experiment a little for application...so far I have been taking a small amount of the shadow on my brush, brushing it onto the desired area, and blending and sweeping it with my fingers. I have problems with oily eyelids, and most eye shadows, even powders, eventually end up creasing, but not these. The cocoa color makes a great eyeliner and brow powder. Very happy!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
MEGAN L.
02.14.2014
Excellent matte shades

This eyeshadow is fantastic--if you only buy the matte shades. The ones with glitter are a joke, as a previous reviewer stated. I use the endless pearl color as an eyeshadow base and it holds the color on all day. I also use it with just eyeliner and it still stays all day and looks great.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Lauren S
02.07.2014
I like this one

I like these eyeshadows a lot. Most of the colors are shimmery and metallic and make for a dramatic look. This is best applied with fingertips. I prefer applying eyeshadows with my fingertips. It's easier and more convenient in my opinion. These also make a great eyeshadow primer and make the powder shadows I put on top pop even more.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.02.2014
Waste of Money

Looked at a lot of Paula's Choice reviews for drug store eye shadow, and felf like this would be an excellent shadow as well as a great value. I purchased the Iced Latie, put one swipe on my eyelid, and had a good laugh - followed by throwing it into the garbage can. Had it been dark in the room, my lids would haved glowed. I've wasted more money by putting my trust into these Paula's Choice reviews only to be greatly disappointed. I need another source for cosmetic reviews.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Linda F.
01.17.2014
This gets good reviews-Why?

The colors are very pretty, but the application is a pain and unlike a loose pigment this is not finely milled and it applies in chunks with a lot of fall out directly into my eyes. I tried a natural and synthetic brush, a q-tip and a sponge tip. My finger worked best! The metallic finish was over the top.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
KT L.
12.06.2013
NOT FOR ME

Love eyeshadow for tightlining, and wanted to love this. Color (cocoa) and price were excellent, but I found the product started crumbling, even when I tap-tap-tapped the brush before applying. NOT fun to brush little brown specks off my face and dig them out of my eyes! Evidently, this shadow is highly praised when used on the rest of the eye area, but colors were too shiny for my crinkly skin to even consider. Back it went!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
MsHiss
07.07.2013
AMAZING!!!!

They have beautiful colors, stay all day without creasing. My favorite shadows even compared to high end!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.02.2013
Best eyeshadows anywhere

Best eyeshadows anywhere. I first bought this in Bronzed Taupe and then immediately went out and bought most of the other shades as well. The shades are beautiful and except for a couple, they all have a gorgeous shimmery finish. They are very pigmented as well and last quite a while without creasing. Unless you prefer more matte shades, I doubt you'll find better eyeshadows anywhere.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
JENNETTE S.
12.22.2012
good quality, unique texture

This product is offered in mostly shimmer finishes although there are a few mattes in the mix. They are a good dupe for the much more expensive ($32) Giiorgio Armani Eyes to Kill Intense shadows with the advantage being that L'oreal offers more matte shades such as brown and gray (Armani only offers a matte black). The Armani shades on the whole offer more complexity but the texture and wear time is comparable. I have Amber Rush and Bronzed Taupe (both are shimmery shades) and use them as a quick sheer wash of color on the lid. Application is quick and easy using fingertip or brush. Add liner and your eye makeup is set for the day. Wish the shine was not quite so intense but it's easy to layer a matte shade on top to tone it down.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.401 7/5/2015 8:02:00 AM