Infallible 24 HR Eye Shadow

by L'Oreal Paris  Infallible
Price:
$7.95 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Eyeshadows > Cream/Cream-to-Powder Eyeshadow
Last Updated:
6/19/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This cream-to-powder eyeshadow glides smoothly across skin and is easy to blend out for a smokey effect. If applied with a light hand it goes on sheer, but you can kick up the color intensity by patting it on or applying more layers. The shade range includes a mix of trendy and classic colors in luminescent shimmer and matte finishes (which are easy to identify). Better yet, it doesn't crease or fade, and it is water-resistant.

Pros:
  • Shade range includes a mix of trendy and classic colors in luminescent shimmer and matte finishes.
  • Cream-to-powder eyeshadow that glides smoothly across skin and is easy to blend.
  • Can be applied to go on sheer or built up for bold intensity.
  • Water-resistant, won't crease or fade.
Cons:
  • Luminescent shimmer finish accentuates wrinkly eyelids.

Just like its sister company Lancome, L'Oreal doesn't have its act together when it comes to skin-care products. For all their talk of advanced formulas, fancy double-page ads in fashion magazines, and impressive-sounding quotes from scientists at their research and development facilities, most of what L'Oreal offers for skin care is a whole lot of nothing—or at least nothing tremendously helpful for helping skin look and feel its best.

An ongoing issue with L'Oreal (at least in the United States) is the lack of sufficient UVA-protecting ingredients in their daytime moisturizers with sunscreen. Very few of them contain the actives that provide as much UVA protection as you can get from a sunscreen. Yet this major oversight (and it’s not just with the older products—several newer sunscreens launched with this deficiency) didn't stop L'Oreal from heralding the FDA's approval of their patented ecamsule (Mexoryl SX) sunscreen for use in the United States. (Mexoryl SX has been approved for years in Europe, and L'Oreal routinely uses it in the sunscreens they sell there.) The attention-getting headline was that Mexoryl SX provides "the best" and "most stable" UVA protection, but that's not entirely true; there are other options. Why didn't anyone in the media point out to L'Oreal that while Mexoryl SX may be great, that doesn't explain why the majority of their other sunscreens leave the consumers who use them vulnerable to UVA damage… Sigh… Inadequate UVA protection is not only unhealthy for your skin, it severely damages L'Oreal's credibility as an international skin-care authority.

Aside from the sunscreen frustrations, L'Oreal's moisturizers are a yawn-inducing, fairly repetitive bunch. A cursory review of their formulas demonstrates that L'Oreal is simply not keeping pace with the competition, just as Lancome isn't at the department-store level. When it comes to moisturizers or serums, just about anything from Dove, Olay, Neutrogena, or Aveeno is preferred. L'Oreal does well with most of their cleansers, along with scrubs and self-tanning products, but given the widespread availability and financial resources of this line they could be doing so much more. (You have to wonder if they're more interested in advertising and public relations than in advancing skin-care expertise.) The makeup has made major strides and now ranks as the best overall color collection at the drugstore—imagine the results if their skin care followed suit!

Note: Unless mentioned otherwise, all L'Oreal skin-care products contain fragrance.

For more information about L'Oreal, call (800) 322-2036 or visit www.loreal.com or www.lorealparisusa.com.

L’Oreal Paris Makeup

L'Oreal's extensive makeup collection retains its stature as the overall best at the drugstore, though they have stiff competition from Revlon and, in some cases, sister company Maybelline New York. In recent years L'Oreal has made significant strides with foundation shades, powder textures, concealers, and, of course, superlative mascaras that rarely fail to impress. Their lipsticks are excellent and you will find many L'Oreal makeup products have a Lancome counterpart, and that the differences are minor, if they exist at all.

L'Oreal's displays in many drugstores have been updated to reflect better-organized products and shade categories (though testers are still scarce). Given the number of lipsticks they sell, it only makes sense to put them in color families so consumers have a better shopping experience. Their True Match products are also sensibly laid out, but the rest of the foundations aren't as organized, likely due to the smaller selection of shades. Speaking of foundations, L'Oreal has made further strides by offering more that provide sufficient UVA protection. Revlon still has the edge for consistently launching impressive foundations with sunscreen, but at least L'Oreal is (finally) catching up. The bottom line is that every category of L'Oreal’s makeup has some winning (and in some cases, benchmark-setting) products. They fall short with their powder eyeshadows, but not enough to warrant avoiding them, especially if you prefer sheer eye makeup. Still, with only minor tweaking and consistent adherence to the importance of UVA protection in their cosmetic products with sunscreen, L'Oreal could pull ahead to be the hands-down winner when it comes to shopping for makeup at the drugstore.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, September 26, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Disappointing
    • I normally agree with PC, so when these eyeshadows went on sale at the drugstore, I picked up two different shades. I was excited to try them, but I found the texture to be too chunky for me. There was also a lot of fallout, and the color payoff was poor. I'm new to cream eyeshadows, so maybe this is normal, but this product was just not for me. Back to the store they went!

  2. Heather W
    Reviewed on Monday, February 24, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love This Shadow
    • This is an excellent shadow from beginning to end. It goes on smooth, has great vivid color, doesn't crease, and lasts all day. I have every color but my favorite is the golden emerald, by far. It has a wonderful rich green color with a warm golden glow to it. Couldn't ask for better eye shadow and it will last forever making it a good buy. You get plenty and because of the color richness you only need a little making this jar last for a very long time. Wonderful product and every color is an A+

  3. MEGAN L.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 24, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Good surprise
    • These are one of the best and longest lasting eye shadows I have ever used. I bought three of the matte colors. I will have to experiment a little for application...so far I have been taking a small amount of the shadow on my brush, brushing it onto the desired area, and blending and sweeping it with my fingers. I have problems with oily eyelids, and most eye shadows, even powders, eventually end up creasing, but not these. The cocoa color makes a great eyeliner and brow powder. Very happy!

  4. Lauren S
    Reviewed on Friday, February 14, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Excellent matte shades
    • This eyeshadow is fantastic--if you only buy the matte shades. The ones with glitter are a joke, as a previous reviewer stated. I use the endless pearl color as an eyeshadow base and it holds the color on all day. I also use it with just eyeliner and it still stays all day and looks great.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, February 07, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    I like this one
    • I like these eyeshadows a lot. Most of the colors are shimmery and metallic and make for a dramatic look. This is best applied with fingertips. I prefer applying eyeshadows with my fingertips. It's easier and more convenient in my opinion. These also make a great eyeshadow primer and make the powder shadows I put on top pop even more.

  6. Linda F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 02, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Waste of Money
    • Looked at a lot of Paula's Choice reviews for drug store eye shadow, and felf like this would be an excellent shadow as well as a great value. I purchased the Iced Latie, put one swipe on my eyelid, and had a good laugh - followed by throwing it into the garbage can. Had it been dark in the room, my lids would haved glowed. I've wasted more money by putting my trust into these Paula's Choice reviews only to be greatly disappointed. I need another source for cosmetic reviews.

  7. KT L.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 17, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    This gets good reviews-Why?
    • The colors are very pretty, but the application is a pain and unlike a loose pigment this is not finely milled and it applies in chunks with a lot of fall out directly into my eyes. I tried a natural and synthetic brush, a q-tip and a sponge tip. My finger worked best! The metallic finish was over the top.

  8. MsHiss
    Reviewed on Friday, December 06, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    NOT FOR ME
    • Love eyeshadow for tightlining, and wanted to love this. Color (cocoa) and price were excellent, but I found the product started crumbling, even when I tap-tap-tapped the brush before applying. NOT fun to brush little brown specks off my face and dig them out of my eyes! Evidently, this shadow is highly praised when used on the rest of the eye area, but colors were too shiny for my crinkly skin to even consider. Back it went!

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 07, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    AMAZING!!!!
    • They have beautiful colors, stay all day without creasing. My favorite shadows even compared to high end!

  10. JENNETTE S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 02, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Best eyeshadows anywhere
    • Best eyeshadows anywhere. I first bought this in Bronzed Taupe and then immediately went out and bought most of the other shades as well. The shades are beautiful and except for a couple, they all have a gorgeous shimmery finish. They are very pigmented as well and last quite a while without creasing. Unless you prefer more matte shades, I doubt you'll find better eyeshadows anywhere.

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 22, 2012
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    good quality, unique texture
    • This product is offered in mostly shimmer finishes although there are a few mattes in the mix. They are a good dupe for the much more expensive ($32) Giiorgio Armani Eyes to Kill Intense shadows with the advantage being that L'oreal offers more matte shades such as brown and gray (Armani only offers a matte black). The Armani shades on the whole offer more complexity but the texture and wear time is comparable. I have Amber Rush and Bronzed Taupe (both are shimmery shades) and use them as a quick sheer wash of color on the lid. Application is quick and easy using fingertip or brush. Add liner and your eye makeup is set for the day. Wish the shine was not quite so intense but it's easy to layer a matte shade on top to tone it down.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.358 12/22/2014 1:09:22 AM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.