True Match Lumi Healthy Luminous Makeup SPF 20

by L'Oreal Paris  True Match
Price:
$12.95 
Good Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products > Foundations without Sunscreen > Liquid Foundation
Last Updated:
6/20/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This fragrance-free liquid foundation provides light to medium coverage with a beautiful soft glow finish. Though the SPF number is adequate, it lacks the ingredients needed to shield your skin from the sun’s entire range of damaging UVA rays (see More Info). L’Oreal’s foundations with sunscreen tend to be hit-or-miss in that regard, and, sadly, this is one of the misses. 

If you are already using a facial SPF product, then this foundation is worth a try if you have normal to dry skin (the satin, luminescent finish isn’t the best for oily skin because it will only make skin look shinier). The extensive shade range offers flattering options for light to deep skin tones, and there’s not a bad one in the bunch!

Pros:

  • Satin, luminescent finish for normal to dry skin.
  • Fragrance-free liquid texture is easy to blend.
  • Extensive shade range for most skin tones.

Cons:

  • Insufficient UVA (think anti-aging) protection.

More Info:

True Match Lumi Healthy Luminous Makeup SPF 20 does not include the ingredients needed to shield your skin from the sun’s entire range of damaging UVA rays, which is essential for anti-aging benefits. Any SPF-rated product should contain one or more of the following UVA-protecting ingredients listed as “active”: avobenzone, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, Mexoryl SX (ecamsule), or Tinosorb (Sources: Photochemical and Photobiological Sciences, December 2011, pages 81–90; Cosmetic Dermatology, Second Edition, Baumann, Leslie MD, McGraw Hill, 2009, pages 246–252; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, Supplement, 2009, pages 19–24; The Encyclopedia of Ultraviolet Filters, Shaath, Nadim A., Allured Publishing, 2007; and Photodermatology, Photoimmunology, and Photomedicine, October 2003, pages 242–253).

Active: Octinoxate (7%). Other: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Isotridecyl Isononanoate, PEG 9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone/Polyglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Chlorphenesin, Disodium EDTA, Acrylates Copolymer, Propylparaben, Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Aluminum Hydroxide, PEG- 9, Ethylparaben, Dipropylene Glycol, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben

May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride

Just like its sister company Lancome, L'Oreal doesn't have its act together when it comes to skin-care products. For all their talk of advanced formulas, fancy double-page ads in fashion magazines, and impressive-sounding quotes from scientists at their research and development facilities, most of what L'Oreal offers for skin care is a whole lot of nothing—or at least nothing tremendously helpful for helping skin look and feel its best.

An ongoing issue with L'Oreal (at least in the United States) is the lack of sufficient UVA-protecting ingredients in their daytime moisturizers with sunscreen. Very few of them contain the actives that provide as much UVA protection as you can get from a sunscreen. Yet this major oversight (and it’s not just with the older products—several newer sunscreens launched with this deficiency) didn't stop L'Oreal from heralding the FDA's approval of their patented ecamsule (Mexoryl SX) sunscreen for use in the United States. (Mexoryl SX has been approved for years in Europe, and L'Oreal routinely uses it in the sunscreens they sell there.) The attention-getting headline was that Mexoryl SX provides "the best" and "most stable" UVA protection, but that's not entirely true; there are other options. Why didn't anyone in the media point out to L'Oreal that while Mexoryl SX may be great, that doesn't explain why the majority of their other sunscreens leave the consumers who use them vulnerable to UVA damage… Sigh… Inadequate UVA protection is not only unhealthy for your skin, it severely damages L'Oreal's credibility as an international skin-care authority.

Aside from the sunscreen frustrations, L'Oreal's moisturizers are a yawn-inducing, fairly repetitive bunch. A cursory review of their formulas demonstrates that L'Oreal is simply not keeping pace with the competition, just as Lancome isn't at the department-store level. When it comes to moisturizers or serums, just about anything from Dove, Olay, Neutrogena, or Aveeno is preferred. L'Oreal does well with most of their cleansers, along with scrubs and self-tanning products, but given the widespread availability and financial resources of this line they could be doing so much more. (You have to wonder if they're more interested in advertising and public relations than in advancing skin-care expertise.) The makeup has made major strides and now ranks as the best overall color collection at the drugstore—imagine the results if their skin care followed suit!

Note: Unless mentioned otherwise, all L'Oreal skin-care products contain fragrance.

For more information about L'Oreal, call (800) 322-2036 or visit www.loreal.com or www.lorealparisusa.com.

L’Oreal Paris Makeup

L'Oreal's extensive makeup collection retains its stature as the overall best at the drugstore, though they have stiff competition from Revlon and, in some cases, sister company Maybelline New York. In recent years L'Oreal has made significant strides with foundation shades, powder textures, concealers, and, of course, superlative mascaras that rarely fail to impress. Their lipsticks are excellent and you will find many L'Oreal makeup products have a Lancome counterpart, and that the differences are minor, if they exist at all.

L'Oreal's displays in many drugstores have been updated to reflect better-organized products and shade categories (though testers are still scarce). Given the number of lipsticks they sell, it only makes sense to put them in color families so consumers have a better shopping experience. Their True Match products are also sensibly laid out, but the rest of the foundations aren't as organized, likely due to the smaller selection of shades. Speaking of foundations, L'Oreal has made further strides by offering more that provide sufficient UVA protection. Revlon still has the edge for consistently launching impressive foundations with sunscreen, but at least L'Oreal is (finally) catching up. The bottom line is that every category of L'Oreal’s makeup has some winning (and in some cases, benchmark-setting) products. They fall short with their powder eyeshadows, but not enough to warrant avoiding them, especially if you prefer sheer eye makeup. Still, with only minor tweaking and consistent adherence to the importance of UVA protection in their cosmetic products with sunscreen, L'Oreal could pull ahead to be the hands-down winner when it comes to shopping for makeup at the drugstore.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Jessica S
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Not for acne prone skin
    • Used one time for a few hours & my face has never been so oily! And I have skin like the Sahara!! Didn't cover redness, accentuated flakiness. And had 5 pimples end of day. Took 2 wks to clear up!

  2. KATHERINE S.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 21, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Awesome Foundation
    • I absolutely love this foundation. I use Paulas choice sunscreen all over my face and then use this foundation where is needed and it gives such a flawless look. This foundation was perfect for the winter, but now that spring and summer is coming up i'll have to change it up for one that doesnt give such a dewy look, but overall this was perfect for my slightly drier skin in the winter. Overall i would definitely recommend it!

  3. Lauren
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    I'm with D
    • I agree with D's review. I never rely on foundation exclusively for SPF protection. Also, the primer I use (with added broad spectrum SPF coverage) left me without ANY t-zone oilyness on my combination skin. I would highly recommend this product.

  4. D
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 17, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Disagree with review
    • I love Paula but I must disagree,this is a Great foundation! I use a cream w/ spf before applying, so I don't think its fair this got a worse rating based on the lack of spf, as foundation should not be relied on for sole spf protection anyways. I love the finish, even though I have combination skin - it looks healthy and fresh, very clean and youthful. It doesn't make your face dry and cake-y like lots of foundations do. It reminds me a lot of Giorgio Armani's Luminous Silk, which I use as well

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.