11.26.2014
15
3669
True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17 Sunscreen
Rating
$11.49
Category:Makeup > Foundations With Sunscreen > Liquid Foundation w/ Sunscreen
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

True Match Super Blendable Makeup SPF 17 is L’Oreal’s best foundation for normal to very oily skin. It has a fluid, silky feel and blends superbly, setting to a natural matte, slightly powdery finish that is translucent enough to let your skin show through, while still providing light coverage that diffuses minor flaws and redness. The sunscreen is pure titanium dioxide, making this a gentle choice for skin (the formula is also fragrance-free).

The palette of shades is not only one of the largest selections for a single drugstore foundation, but also one of the most neutral. Almost all of the 30+ shades are excellent, and they cover a wide range of skin tones from porcelain to medium brown. Generally, the shades in the N (neutral) and W (warm) range are best. Those in the C (cool) range are hit-or-miss but they've gotten better in recent times.

The only drawback to this foundation is its drier finish. Although it does a good job of reducing oily shine and keeping skin looking polished, it tends to emphasize the slightest bit of dry skin, and can also make lines around the eye look more apparent. If you have dry areas or visible lines around the eye, it is imperative that you smooth and hydrate these areas before applying this foundation. An emollient moisturizer lightly applied around the eyes and regular use of an effective topical exfoliant should minimize this problem and make working with this foundation a better experience. All told, this is a must-try for those with normal to oily or breakout-prone skin who don't need significant coverage and want a foundation that feels wonderfully light.

Note: Although SPF 17 in foundation is good, the latest research suggests that products with higher SPF ratings are more desirable due to the further protection they can provide. Therefore, this foundation’s rating is due to its overall performance rather than its SPF rating. Consider layering this with another SPF product for enhanced protection.

Claims
Ingredients

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.1%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Polymethylmethacrylate, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphates, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol May Contain: Iron Oxides, Mica, Titanium Dioxide

Brand Overview

L'Oreal Paris At-A-Glance

Strengths: Budget-friendly prices; good makeup removers; wide assortment of self-tanning options; one of the best, most comprehensive makeup collections at the drugstore, with superb options in almost every category; the mascaras are a tough act to follow.

Weaknesses: Jar packaging hinders some of the skincare formulas; many of their skincare formulas contain problematic amounts of fragrance and/or other irritants; exaggerated anti-aging claims.

L'Oreal's extensive makeup collection retains its stature as one of the better selections at the drugstore, though they have stiff competition from Revlon and, in some cases, sister company Maybelline New York. In recent years L'Oreal has made significant strides with foundation shades, powder textures, concealers, and, of course, superlative mascaras that rarely fail to impress. Their lipsticks are excellent and you will find many L'Oreal makeup products have a Lancome counterpart, and that the differences are minor—if there are any at all.

L'Oreal's displays in many drugstores reflect better-organized products and shade categories (though testers are still scarce). Given the number of lipsticks they sell, it only makes sense to put them in color families so consumers have a better shopping experience. Their True Match products are also sensibly laid out, but the rest of the foundations aren't as organized, likely due to the smaller selection of shades. Speaking of foundations, L'Oreal has made further strides by offering more that provide sufficient UVA protection. Revlon still has the edge for consistently launching impressive foundations with sunscreen, but at least L'Oreal is (finally) catching up.

The bottom line is that every category of L'Oreal’s makeup has some winning (and in some cases, benchmark-setting) products.

Unfortunately, despite the brands’ enormous presence in the beauty industry, L'Oreal's moisturizers and treatment products are a nearly all unremarkable and repetitive. When it comes to moisturizers or serums, just about anything from Dove, Olay, Neutrogena, or Aveeno is preferred. L'Oreal does well with most of their cleansers, along with scrubs and self-tanning products, but given the widespread availability and financial resources of this line, they could be doing so much more. The good news is their makeup has made major strides and now ranks as the best overall color collection at the drugstore—imagine the results if their skin care followed suit.

For more information about L'Oreal, call (800) 322-2036 or visit www.loreal.com or www.lorealparisusa.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.20.2015
amazing

best foundation. w2 is a perfect match for me. lasts a very long time. I wore This swimming and it looked amazing after no shine no melting. transfers a big towards the end of the day but overall good for a natural medium-full coverage

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.30.2015
Love it!

I just started using this makeup, and am very satisfied with it on my 50+, dry skin! It's so reasonably priced, and I feel like I'm wearing high quality make up :)

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
JULIE Z.
05.08.2015
Is AWFUL

Is awful: it cracks up, dries my skin, get stocked into fine lines and makes me look older. Is, by far, worst foundation i've ever tried.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Sagra
05.06.2015
Foundation that Matches!!

I love how the True Match line really caters to different skin tones as well as the different undertones of each. I have very fair skin, but it is also very warm. Many light foundations are very pink-toned, but this line is light enough, but also warm enough to match my body perfectly. It also blends like a dream and has a very skin-like finish that looks very natural. Love this foundation

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Morgan S.
12.22.2014
comes off shiny in 2 hours

This foundation is terrible! I don't know why it has so many good reviews. Why say it works for oily skin when it clearly doesn't? Even with good finishing powder this foundation started to slide off within a few hours and I work at a desk job so I'm not even outside for most of the day. I don't understand how this foundation is considered the best when it really is the WORST...At least for me anyway. At this point I would invest in a good foundation with staying power. And the search continues.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Rachel R
10.25.2014
Works well for oily skin

This foundation works well for me because I prefer lightweight/sheer coverage and have very oily skin. The neutral shade I use blends perfectly. Because of the light matte finish and thin texture, it will settle into fine lines. I apply it with a sponge over my moisturizer/sunscreen. Because it "dries" so quickly, I sometimes have to dampen the sponge to make sure it's even. I suspect people with normal to drier skin won't like the texture.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
10.18.2014
Dreadful

Recently found a great price and coupon so gave it a try. I applied it with both a brush and a sponge over moisturizer and primer. I couldn't believed how bad True Match. It pooled in every pore both large and small, and the finish was cakey and dry. My skin didn't look matte it looked flakey and hours later I had oiliness on my nose area. I bought a warm and neutral shade and the both were very close to my skin tone, so for that it gets a star.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
KT L.
06.28.2014
my all-time favorite foundation

I've tried other foundations - but I keep coming back to this one. Many shade choices that blend in beautifully. Wears well all day long. doesn't exaggerate lines or cake in creases. I have slightly oily skin with rosacea - have never had any issues with this foundation. If you are fair try the neutral as opposed to the cool shades. Shades come in warm, cool, neutral.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.24.2014
NO. HORRIBLE.

THIS IS SINCERELY ONE OF THE WORST FOUNDATIONS I HAVE EVER USED. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND HOW IT HAS SUCH A GREAT RATING... I HAVE TRIED USING A BRUSH, SPONGE AND MY FINGERS TO APPLY AS WELL AS USING PRIMER, NO PRIMER, DIFFERENT KINDS OF PRIMER, MOISTURIZER, NO MOISTURIZER, ETC. ETC. I CANNOT FIND A WAY TO MAKE THIS LOOK GOOD. THE COLOR MATCHED, SO I GUESS I COULD GIVE THE PRODUCT POINTS FOR THAT... BUT ACCENTUATED EVER IMPERFECTION AND BARELY COVERED, THIS MADE ME LOOK HORRID, BETTER OFF W/OUT IT!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
MARY
11.07.2013
Must try

This is easily the lightest-feeling foundation I have ever tried (I've been using foundations off and on for 20 years). That alone earns it huge merit in my book, because I dislike the feel of makeup on my face. It's very blendable, which means you can apply it sheer or full (heavier application may require use of moisturizer or primer first to avoid emphasizing fine lines and wrinkles). Additionally there are many yellow-toned shades in the palette. This one's a winner.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.02.2013
happy

After trying a zillion foundations I keep coming back to this one or to Revlon I find these brands neither too dry or too oily and I can get the correct tone. Often I mix them with a little moisturizer or light but high number (50) sunscreen

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
char r.
04.08.2013
L'Oreal No Match

I really don't understand there are so many good review for this but it just didn't work for me. It emphasized little flakes of dry skin, with or without primer just didn't work on my skin nicely, it caked and pooled into little chicken pock scars I've had since primary school and actually created tide marks even when I used it with brush, sponge and fingers! I really am lost as I really wanted to like this foundation. Barely there sheer matte tint never does this to me, thanks Paula!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
GABRIEL P.
02.11.2013
Didn't like

Had good colors that matched just fine and applied just fine, but just melted off my skin and came off way too easily. Not much staying power and I'm really shiny by mid-day.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
GVP8
12.22.2012
Beautiful finish

This is definitely on the light coverage side, but it is a beautiful finish. If you have a lot of acne scarring/acne inflammation, you will need concealer. However, as my face has cleared up (thanks, Paula!), I have really enjoyed using this. Use it with the Maybelline Dream Matte Powder.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
SARA O.
12.18.2012
Why?

Not so good, kind of bad actually. The colors are not as great on the face as in the bottle and the coverage is light. Not so sure why it gets such a high rating.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Zade
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.399 6/29/2015 6:34:19 PM