Angels on Bare Skin

by Lush  
Price:
$13.95 - 3.5 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:
3/25/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Angels on Bare Skin contains lavender and rose oils, and is not recommended. This recipe claims to be from the Middle Ages, which to our way of thinking is not a positive selling point! Back in those days, life expectancy was drastically short and bloodletting was the pinnacle of medicine!

A gentle facial cleanser for all skin types, made to an authentic recipe from the Middle Ages for the use of anyone with a romantic disposition and a wish to be carried off by a knight in shining armor. The ground almonds exfoliate gently; rose and lavender calm and soothe.

Prunus Dulcis (Ground Almonds), Glycerine, Kaolin, Water, Lavendula Hybrida (Lavender) Oil, Rosa Centifolia (Rose Absolute), Lavendula Hybrida (Lavender) Flowers, Perfume

With its beginning in England in the late 1970s (the company that later  became Lush sold their first products to none other than The Body Shop!) this line captured consumers' attention with the promise of hand-made cosmetics, and since then has had its share of ups and downs. After closing down for a few years (when they were known as Cosmetics to Go), they reemerged in England as Lush, and now have a global presence and booming mail-order business. Not bad for a shop whose layout and displays look more like a grocery store's than a slick cosmetics boutique.

"Natural" is a major theme here, and we mean major. Essential oils and perfumes are infused into everything; walking into one of these stores will knock you over if you have allergies or a sensitive nose. The unique angle you'll find here is that Lush sells skin-care products the way grocery or health food stores let you shop for bulk food items. You can scoop the stuff up yourself from bins and tubs, or buy prepackaged items, some of which are refrigerated to supposedly ensure freshness (though cold is no more helpful for skin-care formulas than heat is).

Even more eye-catching are the shapes, sizes, and decorations for the numerous Lush bar cleansers. These are nothing short of artwork and are either beautiful or fetchingly cute. As clever as all that is (and some of the product names are adorably witty), none of it is at all helpful for skin. Lush's lineup for facial care is one of the most disappointing, lacking, and problematic. Most of their products are prime examples of "natural" not being inherently better for skin. Lots of natural ingredients (including many antioxidants, such as green tea or pomegranate) are good for skin. Why Lush overlooked almost all of the beneficial options in favor of harmful ones is a question worth asking, but don't expect a straight answer. The staff at Lush stores eagerly supports the company's claims that lemon and lime can decongest oily skin, or that tiger lily can "tighten skin tissues," among other far-fetched, unproven assertions. It seems that at Lush all you need for healthy, radiant skin are fragrant oils wrapped up in beguiling stories of how the product came to be or what else it's good for (it is suggested that one of their moisturizers can also be used as fragrance). The lure of the natural is strong for many consumers, but the siren song Lush sings isn't a tune your skin wants to hear.

For more information about Lush, call (888) 733-5874 or visit www.lush.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Chris, D
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Amazing cleanser that evens out your skin
    • This is an amazing cleanser! It gently exfoliates, cleanses, and clarifies the skin. Lavender and chamomile oil are naturally antibacterial and antiseptic; rose absolute is moisturizing; kaolin clay is a gentle cleanser and exfoliant. I use this in combination with a personal mixture hempseed oil and tea tree oil as a moisturizer.

  2. christa v
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    on the fence
    • At first, it was amazing, within one wash i could see how much more vibrant. My skin was, but as a few months passed, using it as a daily scrub, i noticed my skin to become extraordinarily dry - and i mean you can see the skin peal kinda dry- alsoi started to breakout MUCH more often.. and thats never once happened With my former face scrubs. It didnt improve my skin in the way i was told it would. If anything,it juat made my skin more sensitive..

  3. SHARON N.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 03, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Calms my winter-chafted skin
    • Nothing in this cleanser irritates my skin. Actually, quite the contrary. I only use it in the winter (sub-zero winters here in Michigan) when my skin is chafed, raw, and irritated. It is the only cleanser that calms my skin and does not cause break outs. In the summer, when my skin is oily I use Dark Angels, see my other review. I am a patent researcher; please feel free to contact me with regard to claims made my me or Paula's Choice. Please do your own research. Thank you.

  4. Meredith R.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Perfectly fine
    • I disagree with Paula's Choice Team on all of the LUSH products, I'm a big fan and have been one for a couple of years. I mix and match with other products sometimes, especially now that Paula's book has become my go-to for all skin care and makeup things, but I just can't leave my LUSH completely behind. This particular product was not great for my skin, because I have oily skin and it leaves a soft, light residue behind, however for women with normal to dry skin it can leave beautiful skin.

  5. Lola
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 20, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    I agree with Paula - it's not good
    • I used this cleaner consistently for several years until I started to notice my skin get progressively more irritated and finicky. This cleanser literally CHANGED MY SKIN TYPE TO "SENSITIVE," so no, I would not recommend using it regularly. Let the buyer beware

  6. ProductJunkie
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 03, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Paula, No!
    • This review is absolutely incorrect. Angels is a fantastic, gentle scrub that leaves your skin soft as a baby's butt. No irritating side effects, and it softly exfoliates as well. I'm so disappointed that Paula would rate this product so low. I suggest everyone try it!

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Angels is Awesome!
    • I can't believe this was rated as "poor" and the reasons given is b/c the recipe comes from the Middle Ages. It's about what the product is made of, and what it does. I love using this as a gentle, daily cleanser and exfoliator. My skin feels very soft, clean and fresh after using it. It smells terrific too. It take very little of the product to work up a paste to wash with, so while some may think the pricing is high, it takes a long time to go through it all (which is a hallmark of many Lush products). I also appreciate that this and other Lush products are not laden with a ton of chemicals that you can't pronounce, and don't know what they are. Keeping things mor natural is better; after all, our skin is our body's largest organ, and it does absorb things! I would certainly recommend this product.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.