12.18.2014
13
7
Angels on Bare Skin
Rating
3.5 fl. oz. for $13.95
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:12.18.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Angels on Bare Skin contains lavender and rose oils, and is not recommended. This recipe claims to be from the Middle Ages, which to our way of thinking is not a positive selling point! Back in those days, life expectancy was drastically short and bloodletting was the pinnacle of medicine!

Claims

A gentle facial cleanser for all skin types, made to an authentic recipe from the Middle Ages for the use of anyone with a romantic disposition and a wish to be carried off by a knight in shining armor. The ground almonds exfoliate gently; rose and lavender calm and soothe.

Ingredients

Prunus Dulcis (Ground Almonds), Glycerine, Kaolin, Water, Lavendula Hybrida (Lavender) Oil, Rosa Centifolia (Rose Absolute), Lavendula Hybrida (Lavender) Flowers, Perfume

Brand Overview

Lush At-A-Glance

Strengths: None… OK, they do offer complete ingredient lists on their website.

Weaknesses: Almost every product contains at least one potent skin irritant; no sunscreens to be found, nor are they recommended by the company; no products to address common skin conditions such as acne, hyperpigmentation, or eczema; jar packaging; this isn't skin care, it's fragrance dressed up with food ingredient posing as skin care!

With its beginning in England in the late 1970s (the company that later  became Lush sold their first products to none other than The Body Shop!) this line captured consumers' attention with the promise of hand-made cosmetics, and since then has had its share of ups and downs. After closing down for a few years (when they were known as Cosmetics to Go), they reemerged in England as Lush, and now have a global presence and booming mail-order business. Not bad for a shop whose layout and displays look more like a grocery store's than a slick cosmetics boutique.

"Natural" is a major theme here, and we mean major. Essential oils and perfumes are infused into everything; walking into one of these stores will knock you over if you have allergies or a sensitive nose. The unique angle you'll find here is that Lush sells skin-care products the way grocery or health food stores let you shop for bulk food items. You can scoop the stuff up yourself from bins and tubs, or buy prepackaged items, some of which are refrigerated to supposedly ensure freshness (though cold is no more helpful for skin-care formulas than heat is).

Even more eye-catching are the shapes, sizes, and decorations for the numerous Lush bar cleansers. These are nothing short of artwork and are either beautiful or fetchingly cute. As clever as all that is (and some of the product names are adorably witty), none of it is at all helpful for skin. Lush's lineup for facial care is one of the most disappointing, lacking, and problematic. Most of their products are prime examples of "natural" not being inherently better for skin. Lots of natural ingredients (including many antioxidants, such as green tea or pomegranate) are good for skin. Why Lush overlooked almost all of the beneficial options in favor of harmful ones is a question worth asking, but don't expect a straight answer. The staff at Lush stores eagerly supports the company's claims that lemon and lime can decongest oily skin, or that tiger lily can "tighten skin tissues," among other far-fetched, unproven assertions. It seems that at Lush all you need for healthy, radiant skin are fragrant oils wrapped up in beguiling stories of how the product came to be or what else it's good for (it is suggested that one of their moisturizers can also be used as fragrance). The lure of the natural is strong for many consumers, but the siren song Lush sings isn't a tune your skin wants to hear.

For more information about Lush, call (888) 733-5874 or visit www.lush.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.08.2015

I am prone to seborrheic dermatitis, which causes red, scaly patches on my face certain times of the year. I used to use several separate products including an exfolaint and a heavy duty moisturizer in order to even out my skin. Now, I use AOBS in the shower once a day, and my skin is completely balanced and asymptomatic. From my experience, this product balances out the most uneven of skin, and this is a bonus, considering it is recommended for all skin types.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Paula S. Clueless
02.18.2015
Totally disagree !

I totally disagree with your comments. This product is lovely and for those of you who haven't tried it you must do so. It makes your skin feel amazing, offers a light exfoliate and the clay sucks up any impurities. My favourite product in the Lush range.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.10.2015
Need to re-read PC review

This is mainly for 'Anonymous,' who posted a review awhile back .. the PC team did not give this product a Poor rating because the formula (supposedly) came from the Middle Ages; the low rating was due to the product containing highly irritating, fragrant plant oils, which, as PC often emphasizes, can cause skin damage w/o our being able to feel or immediately see it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Shelly
10.26.2014
Not a reflective rating

I started using this cleanser in my late teens, a time in which skin often is volatile, and am still using this in my early twenties. I have not strayed from using it as the base of my cleansing routine. I find it a soothing cleanser that helps keep my skin in good condition. The formula is not irritating and the ingredients are luxurious. I think it's worth testing this product to really understand its benefits.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Nina
10.16.2014
Couldn't disagree more

I've been using this for years. I use it a few times a week and it leaves my skin soft and happy. I find it mildly exfoliating, and I don't find it the least bit irritating or drying.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Katie
09.15.2014
fluffy and fancy

I bought this on a whim even though I doubted there was anything cleansing about any of the ingredients. But I already had a cleanser, so I just use a bit of this mixed with my regular facial soap. It makes me feel fluffy and fancy. I like the smell. However it isn't a cleanser, and the ground almonds don't exfoliate. So I bet this is nice for someone who just splashes water on their face in the morning.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
EMILY C.
07.15.2014
Amazing cleanser that evens out your skin

This is an amazing cleanser! It gently exfoliates, cleanses, and clarifies the skin. Lavender and chamomile oil are naturally antibacterial and antiseptic; rose absolute is moisturizing; kaolin clay is a gentle cleanser and exfoliant. I use this in combination with a personal mixture hempseed oil and tea tree oil as a moisturizer.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Chris, D
03.19.2014
on the fence

At first, it was amazing, within one wash i could see how much more vibrant. My skin was, but as a few months passed, using it as a daily scrub, i noticed my skin to become extraordinarily dry - and i mean you can see the skin peal kinda dry- alsoi started to breakout MUCH more often.. and thats never once happened With my former face scrubs. It didnt improve my skin in the way i was told it would. If anything,it juat made my skin more sensitive..

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
christa v
01.03.2014
Calms my winter-chafted skin

Nothing in this cleanser irritates my skin. Actually, quite the contrary. I only use it in the winter (sub-zero winters here in Michigan) when my skin is chafed, raw, and irritated. It is the only cleanser that calms my skin and does not cause break outs. In the summer, when my skin is oily I use Dark Angels, see my other review. I am a patent researcher; please feel free to contact me with regard to claims made my me or Paula's Choice. Please do your own research. Thank you.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
SHARON N.
12.17.2013
Perfectly fine

I disagree with Paula's Choice Team on all of the LUSH products, I'm a big fan and have been one for a couple of years. I mix and match with other products sometimes, especially now that Paula's book has become my go-to for all skin care and makeup things, but I just can't leave my LUSH completely behind. This particular product was not great for my skin, because I have oily skin and it leaves a soft, light residue behind, however for women with normal to dry skin it can leave beautiful skin.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Meredith R.
10.20.2013
I agree with Paula - it's not good

I used this cleaner consistently for several years until I started to notice my skin get progressively more irritated and finicky. This cleanser literally CHANGED MY SKIN TYPE TO "SENSITIVE," so no, I would not recommend using it regularly. Let the buyer beware

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lola
02.03.2013
Paula, No!

This review is absolutely incorrect. Angels is a fantastic, gentle scrub that leaves your skin soft as a baby's butt. No irritating side effects, and it softly exfoliates as well. I'm so disappointed that Paula would rate this product so low. I suggest everyone try it!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
ProductJunkie
01.15.2013
Angels is Awesome!

I can't believe this was rated as "poor" and the reasons given is b/c the recipe comes from the Middle Ages. It's about what the product is made of, and what it does. I love using this as a gentle, daily cleanser and exfoliator. My skin feels very soft, clean and fresh after using it. It smells terrific too. It take very little of the product to work up a paste to wash with, so while some may think the pricing is high, it takes a long time to go through it all (which is a hallmark of many Lush products). I also appreciate that this and other Lush products are not laden with a ton of chemicals that you can't pronounce, and don't know what they are. Keeping things mor natural is better; after all, our skin is our body's largest organ, and it does absorb things! I would certainly recommend this product.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.379 4/2/2015 1:41:27 AM