Dark Angels

by Lush  
Price:
$12.95 - 3.5 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:
7/18/2013
Jar Packaging:
Yes
Tested On Animals:
No

This cleanser is mostly mud mixed with oil, charcoal, and a bit of sugar for a scrub-like effect. It’s a mess to use, is difficult to rinse, and irritates skin with the fragrant oils of sandalwood and rosewood. Nothing about this cleanser is specific to acne-prone skin. If anything, the irritation this cleanser can cause could make oily, breakout-prone skin worse. Applying irritating ingredients to oily skin stimulates excess oil production at the base of the pores, so skin ends up being more oily and pores become (or stay) enlarged. If you want to see improvements in oily skin, the best approach is to treat your skin gently with effective products designed to absorb excess oil, exfoliate inside the pore, and help normalize pore function (Sources: Clinical Dermatology, September-October 2004, pages 360–366; and Dermatology, January 2003, pages 17–23).

Black sugar and charcoal gently exfoliate and absorb excess oils to leave dull, oily and acne-prone skin with a clean, matte finish. Even oily skin can be sensitive, so we've made this one soft and soothing to calm redness and irritation. Antimicrobial rhassoul mud deep cleanses to help prevent breakouts while vitamin rich cold-pressed organic avocado oil nourishes skin to leave it soft and hydrated.

Rhassoul Mud, Cold Pressed Avocado Oil (Persea Gratissima), Glycerine, Powdered Charcoal, Black Sugar (Sucrose), Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Perfume, Linalool, Sandalwood Oil (Santalum Album), Rosewood Oil (Aniba Rosaeodora)

With its beginning in England in the late 1970s (the company that later  became Lush sold their first products to none other than The Body Shop!) this line captured consumers' attention with the promise of hand-made cosmetics, and since then has had its share of ups and downs. After closing down for a few years (when they were known as Cosmetics to Go), they reemerged in England as Lush, and now have a global presence and booming mail-order business. Not bad for a shop whose layout and displays look more like a grocery store's than a slick cosmetics boutique.

"Natural" is a major theme here, and we mean major. Essential oils and perfumes are infused into everything; walking into one of these stores will knock you over if you have allergies or a sensitive nose. The unique angle you'll find here is that Lush sells skin-care products the way grocery or health food stores let you shop for bulk food items. You can scoop the stuff up yourself from bins and tubs, or buy prepackaged items, some of which are refrigerated to supposedly ensure freshness (though cold is no more helpful for skin-care formulas than heat is).

Even more eye-catching are the shapes, sizes, and decorations for the numerous Lush bar cleansers. These are nothing short of artwork and are either beautiful or fetchingly cute. As clever as all that is (and some of the product names are adorably witty), none of it is at all helpful for skin. Lush's lineup for facial care is one of the most disappointing, lacking, and problematic. Most of their products are prime examples of "natural" not being inherently better for skin. Lots of natural ingredients (including many antioxidants, such as green tea or pomegranate) are good for skin. Why Lush overlooked almost all of the beneficial options in favor of harmful ones is a question worth asking, but don't expect a straight answer. The staff at Lush stores eagerly supports the company's claims that lemon and lime can decongest oily skin, or that tiger lily can "tighten skin tissues," among other far-fetched, unproven assertions. It seems that at Lush all you need for healthy, radiant skin are fragrant oils wrapped up in beguiling stories of how the product came to be or what else it's good for (it is suggested that one of their moisturizers can also be used as fragrance). The lure of the natural is strong for many consumers, but the siren song Lush sings isn't a tune your skin wants to hear.

For more information about Lush, call (888) 733-5874 or visit www.lush.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    4 / 4 Best
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Camille D
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Love love love
    • From the first day I used it I loved how vibrant my skin looked. I've been using it for a week now and my oiliness is definitely more controlled

  2. kbsradio
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 29, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Actually like this product
    • I am in my mid-40s and have combination skin. I use this product periodically when I'm especially oily. I use it at night and, since it has oil in it, assess whether additional moisturizer is needed. I supplement with Paula's serums, of course. I think this scrub is great and I get compliments on my skin the following morning after using it.

  3. jenny a.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    I love dark angels by lush!
    • I've been using this for a few months now & I've had wonderful results!My skin is less prone to breaking out, less oily, even toned, & doesn't dry my skin out. I've ditched my clarasonic for this along w/other lush cleansers like coalface & fresh farmacy.I admit it is messy to breakdown cleanser to a paste in my hand & rinse off is easy on face but a mess on sink:(Despite Paula's choice of poor rating and review, this lush product dark angels cleanser is my fave by far!

  4. Kristen A
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Amazing product!
    • I absolutely LOVE this product. I've seen clarity in just a few days of using it. I have oily skin and have tried every product to help my skin. This cleanser makes my skin happy! Not sure why they rated it poor. It is one of the best! :)

  5. SHARON N.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 03, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Avocado oil is for oily skin. [period]
    • Excellent for oily skin. First of all, this cleanser contains, in large amounts (second ingredient listed), avocado oil. I am a patent researcher/approver. My job is researching product claims for their validity. Lush owns many PUBLISHED patents. Research any patent database to see for yourself. Do your own research on avocado oil and its skin communicating properties. Paula's Choice is great but they do not know all, as reflected in their original "for dark skin only" comment. (see above post)

  6. Emma,H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Dark Angels
    • Lush has never claimed that Dark Angels is a cleanser for darker skin tones, as the Cosmetics Cop Review said. Dark Angels is a cleanser/scrub for oily young and blemish prone skin. It is named Dark Angels because it's an alternative for oilier skins to the Angels on Bare Skin, another cleanser from Lush.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Thursday, July 18, 2013

    Hi, and thanks for your comments! Lush did originally claim that Dark Angels was for "darker skins," but has since removed that claim from the product's description online. We've revised our review to reflect that the claims have changed. Thanks for the heads up!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.