04.08.2015
13
1696
Lightful C Marine-Bright Formula Softening Lotion
Rating
5 fl. oz. for $35
Last Updated:04.08.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

MAC Lightful C Marine-Bright Formula Softening Lotion (Formerly Lightful Softening Lotion) is an excellent toner for all skin types, particularly normal to dry skin. Its formula contains an impressive mix of antioxidants, repairing ingredients, and soothing agents designed to calm redness and reinforce skin’s healthy barrier function. This is a rare example of what a well formulated toner should contain! The amount of vitamin C (ascorbyl glucoside) in this toner may help also improve skin discolorations, but ideally you’ll want to pair it with other products (including a sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater) that also contain ingredients that fight discolorations. Note: This does contain a small amount of fragrance, which is not ideal for those with very sensitive skin.

Pros:

  • Contains an impressive mix of antioxidants, skin-repairing ingredients, and soothing agents.
  • Has an amount of vitamin C that may help improve skin discolorations.

Cons:

  • Contains a small amount of fragrance.
Claims

A softening lotion infused with the high-power impact of our Marine-Bright Formula and Super-Duo Charged Water.  Conditions and boosts depleted skin with moisture for a smoother, more supple look.  Meanwhile, a potent addition of vitamin C gives skin its brightening effects.  Leaves skin refreshed, exceptionally soft, more clarified and brightened, with results that increase over time.

Ingredients

Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Polysorbate-20, Yeast Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Gentiana Lutea Root Extract, Hydrolyzed Rice Bran Extract, Porphyra Yezoensis Extract, Palmaria Palmata Extract, Algae Extract, Caffeine, Arginine, Tourmaline, Phospholipids, Silk Powder, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Magnesium Chloride, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Jojoba Wax PEG-120, Esters, Potassium Phosphate, Potassium Nitrate, Potassium Hydroxide, Calcium Chloride, Sodium Sulfate, Disodium EDTA, Salicylic Acid, Citric Acid, Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Yellow 5.

Brand Overview

M.A.C. Cosmetics At-A-Glance

What more can one say for this long-standing makeup line whose products have spoken eloquently for themselves for years? In many ways, M.A.C. Cosmetics is a pivotal line not only for makeup artists but also for any in-the-know cosmetics consumer. Although M.A.C. has several singularly outstanding products, they generally excel by virtue of the range of choices offered. The color selection for everything from lipsticks to foundations is exceptional. Most of the makeup brushes are beautiful, full, and soft, as well as properly sized to fit the contours of the face and eyes.

When it comes to skincare you may be tempted to dismiss the small assortment M.A.C. offers and skip right to their makeup with its well-earned positive reputation. But doing so would mean missing a handful of beautifully formulated products that are worth trying. By no means is M.A.C.'s skin-care line one-stop shopping (at least not if you have blemishes, skin discolorations, or require more than a couple options per category), but you'll find more than just the color products impressive here, and the prices aren't unreasonable either!

M.A.C.'s salespeople are often trained makeup artists, too. This is especially true in the freestanding M.A.C. boutiques, where the staff tends to be true makeup artists.

Note: M.A.C. sets itself apart from other beauty brands by staying ahead of the curve by launching a seemingly-constant rotation of impressive limited edition products, usually with fashion-forward themes. Though it's impossible to review every limited edition product, many of M.A.C.'s are as impressive as those in their permanent collection.

Strengths: Some impressive moisturizers; praiseworthy foundations in a mostly gorgeous range of shades; good concealers; several great powder-based products including blush, bronzer, and eyeshadow in various finishes; dizzying array of lipstick shades in mostly sumptuous formulas; several very good mascaras (regular and waterproof); top-notch makeup brushes; many of the Prep + Prime products work as claimed.

Weaknesses:A few products with high levels of potential skin irritants.

For more information about M.A.C. Cosmetics call (800) 588-0070 or visit www.maccosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.29.2015
Good & Bad

I love using this on my clients, mixing it with MAC Pro Longwear concealer to make it into a medium coverage foundation, and using it to prime the skin. I am oily, and so far I can't tell a huge difference in my skin. If anything, it may be clogging my pores. However, I still have to say it's a great and innovative product!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Juli J.
04.06.2015
Reformulated

When are you planning to revisit this?

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.09.2015
Formula changed?

Hello there, I love this toner! It has changed my dry patchy skin into normal soft skin. My concern is that it looks like MAC reformulated all the Lightful line, is the new formula even different? and if it is, am I still going to get the same results?. Thank you so much for all your hard work and expert advise, I do not buy a single product without checking it at beautypedia first!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Alexandra H
02.09.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Yes, M.A.C. has reformulated Lightful but at this point we haven't seen the changes so cannot recommend one over the other. We are going to be revisiting the Lightful collection soon!

—Admin
01.31.2015
They're changing the formula!

I love this "toner" - but I ran out last November, and finally found out that the Lightful line is being reformulated and repackaged for release in February 2015. I hope they don't ruin this great product.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
sandrift
07.16.2014
My new favorite product

I adore this product and can't say enough good things about it. My skin texture is so nice and smooth and soft after just a few weeks of using this. It looks bright and clear and more youthful. I know some members have commented on the scent but I think I am just not sensitive to whatever it is that smells because I can't detect much of a scent at all. It does leave a thin layer/film on my skin but it's not at all uncomfortable and I haven't found it to be astringent at all. I do have oily skin.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Katie W.
06.18.2014
In Love...

I have VERY sensitive skin. Most toners irritate my skin becuase of the alcohol (I am guessing). Since purchaseing this product, I have had NO issues whatsoever. I LOVE this toner!!! My skin feels great after using it...

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.04.2014
not for sensitive skin

The fragrance is really strong and lingers a really long time. I had to wash it off. Before I washed it off, it felt like an old-school astringent. Left my skin feeling very tight and dry. But I have sensitive, dry skin. Test in the store before you buy. Its not a bad price for the quantity, though.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
RH
04.01.2014
Godd toner

I give 3 stars only because the fragrance is really strong on this toner!!! Is like a parfum.I like it but with out this i will give a 4 stars...oh and is expencieve(31 euros for 150ml)

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Sonya G
01.01.2014
Strong fragrance, not for sensitive skin.

This is a good product. Great for hydrating and cleansing. It leaves your skin soft and dewy. However, there are two drawbacks: 1) the fragrance is really strong on this toner and It tends to linger for awhile. 2) toner leaves a tacky finish, it does not sink into the skin well. I personally don't think this is suitable for sensitive skin due to the strong fragrance. This may be good for those with normal to combination skin. Also, it's pricey for a toner. Would recommend, but not for me.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
wc
07.06.2013
The best toner ever

Oh my goodness, this is the best toner i have ever tried. It leaves my skin so moisturized. I love it. Thank you Paula's team for doing what you do. I love you guys <3

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Maria r
06.07.2013
Love this toner!

I really love this toner! It works great and seems very moisturizing on the skin. I use it in the am & pm and it has really helped my skin tone. Highly recommended!!!!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
L. Scott
06.02.2013
NOT AVAILABLE IN UK

Is this product still being sold in the US? It isn't in the UK any more....

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.03.2013
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi, and thanks for your comments! At last check, Lightful Softening Lotion is still available in both the U.S. and Canada.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
03.23.2013
Softer, even toned skin

I decided to give this a try after reading the review on Beautypedia and have been pleased with it enough to repurchase. It's light, non-drying and the ingredients are a plus. I have seen improvement in my complexion (more even toned) when used in conjunction with my overall regime. It's expensive though, as with other departmental brands, but I take comfort that a bottle lasts me 4-5 months, my skin loves it and it contributes to my Back 2 Mac collection.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.411 8/4/2015 5:19:57 PM