12.02.2014
12
49
Studio Face and Body Foundation
Rating
4 fl. oz. for $35
Category:Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Studio Face and Body Foundation comes in a 4-ounce bottle and is very liquidy and sheer. It takes some patience to blend on because it tends to slide around a lot before drying. This can be layered for more coverage (as can most foundations) and is reasonably waterproof due to the film-forming agents it contains.

For body makeup it can be a problem, however, because it can come off on clothes, and it’s not a great choice for major flaws you want to fully conceal. There are several shades, and most are neutral and workable. The deeper shades can be sketchy because most of them have a slight peach to red cast that won’t work for many skin tones. Select shades are available exclusively from the M.A.C. Pro line, available to makeup artists. This also contains a couple of fragrant plant extracts, though likely not enough to cause irritation. What may be sensitizing are the sunscreen ingredients this contains, as some people will have an issue when these ingredients are applied around the eyes or on eyelids.

Claims
Ingredients
Water Purified, Cyclopentasiloxane, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Butylene Glycol, PVP/Hexadecene Copolymer, Polyglyceryl-3-Diisostearate, Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate, TEA-Stearate, PVP/Eicosene Copolymer, Stearic Acid, Talc, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis, Santalum Album, Tocopherol, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Trimethylsiloxysilicate Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Zinc Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben.
Brand Overview

M.A.C. Cosmetics At-A-Glance

What more can one say for this long-standing makeup line whose products have spoken eloquently for themselves for years? In many ways, M.A.C. Cosmetics is a pivotal line not only for makeup artists but also for any in-the-know cosmetics consumer. Although M.A.C. has several singularly outstanding products, they generally excel by virtue of the range of choices offered. The color selection for everything from lipsticks to foundations is exceptional. Most of the makeup brushes are beautiful, full, and soft, as well as properly sized to fit the contours of the face and eyes.

When it comes to skincare you may be tempted to dismiss the small assortment M.A.C. offers and skip right to their makeup with its well-earned positive reputation. But doing so would mean missing a handful of beautifully formulated products that are worth trying. By no means is M.A.C.'s skin-care line one-stop shopping (at least not if you have blemishes, skin discolorations, or require more than a couple options per category), but you'll find more than just the color products impressive here, and the prices aren't unreasonable either!

M.A.C.'s salespeople are often trained makeup artists, too. This is especially true in the freestanding M.A.C. boutiques, where the staff tends to be true makeup artists.

Note: M.A.C. sets itself apart from other beauty brands by staying ahead of the curve by launching a seemingly-constant rotation of impressive limited edition products, usually with fashion-forward themes. Though it's impossible to review every limited edition product, many of M.A.C.'s are as impressive as those in their permanent collection.

Strengths: Some impressive moisturizers; praiseworthy foundations in a mostly gorgeous range of shades; good concealers; several great powder-based products including blush, bronzer, and eyeshadow in various finishes; dizzying array of lipstick shades in mostly sumptuous formulas; several very good mascaras (regular and waterproof); top-notch makeup brushes; many of the Prep + Prime products work as claimed.

Weaknesses:A few products with high levels of potential skin irritants.

For more information about M.A.C. Cosmetics call (800) 588-0070 or visit www.maccosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.07.2015
The best face & body foundation!

I tried this product after make-up artist, Lisa Eldridge, ranted about it. I used it on my body at first, and adore the glow it gave me when I need a quick natural looking tan. Recently, I started using it on my face & it's now my no.1 go-to foundation. It gives a gorgeous natural, dewy, glow when applied lightly and can be layered for a more intense coverage. Ah, I just love it! I give it a good shake & use my hands to apply it all over my face, decollete and arms, anywhere uncovered. J'adore!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Aine N.
05.22.2015
Wonderful tinted moisturizer

This really is a stellar product. Not only does it have cult status among makeup artists, it also lives up to the hype as long as you APPLY IT CORRECTLY. The MAC person layered it on so thick that I was embarrassed the moment I got home (away from dept. store lights). A thin layer with a beauty sponge is all you need. Perfect!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Liz H.
04.28.2015
The best

Love it. A nice sheer dewy foundation that feels good on my skin and is non drying. I did not see any sunscreen in this product, so I wonder if I am missing something, or if we are disussing the same product This is used by MUA for weddings, no suncreen so you don't get the flashback. Has been around 20 or so years, and every MUA has this in their kit. I like a sheer coverage but can build this up to conceal flaws

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.28.2015
The best

I do not like foundation, and have tried almost everything out there. Most days I use concealer only. For those days where I want a more finished look, FACE & BODY works perfectly for my sensitive skin that can be dry at times. I find it easy to apply, mix it in my hands and rub it on my face. The results are always beautiful. Never tried it on my body so I cannot comment. Just about every MUA loves this product, so I am suprised by the not so great review.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.17.2015
i ?? it

I absolutely love the face & body foundation!!! It gives my face the extra kick it needs for a neutral looking glow. I've never been a foundation wearing type of girl until I found this & I couldn't imagine going without it ??

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
jessica D
12.05.2014
sensitizing

This challenging to blend foundation is not for those with sensitive skin. I suspect the orange fragrance might be the culprit. I can wear it for only a few minutes on my face without a creeping sensation of heat and eventually, itchiness. It took a prescription cortisone cream called Desonate to get the rash to go away completely. Be cautious if you have any sensitivities. I haven't tried it as body makeup, which might be less sensitive than my face.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Amy R
03.19.2014
Extremely heavy and not breathable

It feels lightweight when applying it and the finish looks lightweight and skin-like as well. However, my oily skin feels extremely heavy under this product and totally un-breathable, since it is not oily free and it sets into a paste-like opaque finish. With two layers, I will have a perfect skin-like medium coverage. But it just feels like a mask that need to be rinse off. I probably will wear it for special night since it looks nice. But it is not an everyday foundation for oily skin.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Yichen Z.
11.01.2013
The best liquid foundation I've used

I just love the shade selection and the sheer finish of this foundation. It was nonirritating for me and has never caused break outs. It's best blended with a beauty blender like sponge or a brush. You can build your coverage, and it's easy to mix shades if you are in between.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Joy
06.08.2013
Awesome Foundation!

I have to agree with the other reviewers. I have tried just about every other foundation, tinted moisturizer, BB cream, you name it. This ultra thin liquid foundation for "face and body" is one of the best Ive ever used in terms of texture, finish, natural/non caked makeup look. I would also recommend setting this foundation with a touch of powder, and 100% agree with Paula's rec for Urban Decay's Razor Sharp Powder (esp if dry skin like me) to complete this natural, sheer, beautiful makeup!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
JR
02.01.2013
Oh yes it did..

The grapefruit in this foundation gave me a bad allergic reaction. It took days to calm my skin down. I have sensitive skin with very mild rosacea. I can wear Clinique's Moisture sheer tinted moisturizer with no problems even though the stuff has menthol in it which always was a no, no for me, go figure...

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Sal
12.25.2012
a good foundation!

I think this is a great foundation for people with normal to dry skin who want SHEER coverage. It evens out and enhances my skin really nicely. It feels a bit liquidy but if you apply it with a good damp sponge (I use beauty blender)it applies evenly and it sinks into the skin, and doesn't look like your wearing makeup at all. It looks just like your skin, it's amazing! Then you can put a bit of sheer powder over it and your set, my face looks naturally perfect without looking like a bunch of makeup is sitting on my face. I also don't find that it transfers onto clothes easily. A great "everyday" type of foundation. I wear colour C2 which is slightly darker than my face but it's a perfect match to my neck and the rest of my body so I can get a uniform, enhanced complexion.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
OLIVIA F.
12.23.2012
Most beautiful finish

For whatever reason, the two foundations I've found to be as perfect as possible for my skin are both "Face and Body Foundations". Make Up For Ever Face and Body Foundation gives me "airbrushed" skin, but for a truly "natural" look, particularly during hot weather, I wear MAC Face and Body Foundation. I use both of them only on my face for the most part, but they both work well for covering random bruises, veins, tan lines, etc. MAC Face & Body is a light foundation that gives more of a "dewy" look than MUFE. I have to powder my nose right away with the MAC, but for the rest of my face, the finish is so lovely, and real-looking, it's a summertime staple. I wear shade C4 which isn't an exact match, but it's a radiant shade that enhances my own coloring while evening out my skin tone. This foundation wears best over bare skin, but in the daytime I wear it over SPF 30. Most foundations are a mess over SPFs, but this works.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Shani A.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.405 7/29/2015 4:49:06 AM