12.31.2014
8
986
Wipes
Rating
30 sheet for $10
Last Updated:12.31.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Wipes are a favorite at the M.A.C counter and it’s not hard to see why: these sturdy yet soft cloths easily and quickly remove all types of makeup, including long-wearing lip stains and waterproof mascara. The formula combines gentle cleansing agents with a solvent and silicones to accomplish this, and most will find it a soothing experience. Wipes are convenient, but keep in mind that a water-soluble cleanser with a washcloth is just as effective (and costs less per use).

Claims
Ingredients

Purified Water, Isohexadecane, Hexylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isopropyl Palmitate, Trisiloxane, Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, PEG-20 Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, Tocopherol, Arginine, Caprylyl Glycol, Sorbic Acid, Fragrance, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol

Brand Overview

M.A.C. Cosmetics At-A-Glance

What more can one say for this long-standing makeup line whose products have spoken eloquently for themselves for years? In many ways, M.A.C. Cosmetics is a pivotal line not only for makeup artists but also for any in-the-know cosmetics consumer. Although M.A.C. has several singularly outstanding products, they generally excel by virtue of the range of choices offered. The color selection for everything from lipsticks to foundations is exceptional. Most of the makeup brushes are beautiful, full, and soft, as well as properly sized to fit the contours of the face and eyes.

When it comes to skincare you may be tempted to dismiss the small assortment M.A.C. offers and skip right to their makeup with its well-earned positive reputation. But doing so would mean missing a handful of beautifully formulated products that are worth trying. By no means is M.A.C.'s skin-care line one-stop shopping (at least not if you have blemishes, skin discolorations, or require more than a couple options per category), but you'll find more than just the color products impressive here, and the prices aren't unreasonable either!

M.A.C.'s salespeople are often trained makeup artists, too. This is especially true in the freestanding M.A.C. boutiques, where the staff tends to be true makeup artists.

Note: M.A.C. sets itself apart from other beauty brands by staying ahead of the curve by launching a seemingly-constant rotation of impressive limited edition products, usually with fashion-forward themes. Though it's impossible to review every limited edition product, many of M.A.C.'s are as impressive as those in their permanent collection.

Strengths: Some impressive moisturizers; praiseworthy foundations in a mostly gorgeous range of shades; good concealers; several great powder-based products including blush, bronzer, and eyeshadow in various finishes; dizzying array of lipstick shades in mostly sumptuous formulas; several very good mascaras (regular and waterproof); top-notch makeup brushes; many of the Prep + Prime products work as claimed.

Weaknesses:A few products with high levels of potential skin irritants.

For more information about M.A.C. Cosmetics call (800) 588-0070 or visit www.maccosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.15.2015
Removes makeup best

Best wipes I've used for removing makeup, even stubborn longwear foundation or waterproof mascara. It does leave a film so I follow up with a gentle cleanser. Pricey.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Abby F.
05.04.2015
good

Great product that removes my makeup immediately and gently. Although I don't remember the exact price, but i bought a pack of 45 wipes for about 28 dollars(Canadian dollars). I think the package of 100 wipes worths a better deal

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.04.2014
Okay but the fragrance

These wipes took of my make up gradually, but it was a battle. The fragrance and the tight sting felt uncomfortable to continue using. The wipes can dry out quickly. For the price I would not recommend it if you have sensitive skin.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
M. Keo
08.23.2014
Dry!

They're never moisturizing enough at home. Eventhough I turn them back and forth. On one side during the day and flip them at night.I ended up giving up on them and wasting my money.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
AnnetteD.
03.26.2014
LOVE M.A.C. Wipes!

Really the "Best" wipes! Really remove all makeup (I don't use this on my eyes to remove makeup...face only)! I love to use them as my first step before cleansing my face with the Clarisonic Mia 2 and a gentle facial cleanser and followed by the M.A.C. Lightful Softening Lotion. I enjoy using them as a refresh wipe on days I don't wear any makeup. As a bonus...this purchase contributes to my Back 2 M.A.C.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Aleksandra M.
04.30.2013
Sting

The wipes removed most, but not all of the eye makeup I had on so only a 3 for results. They are sort of pricey, so a three there. Mostly, they stung and burned my skin! Hence, the 1 on recommending these.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Barbara C.
01.07.2013
Makeup Miracle Wipes

Note that MAC Wipes also come in a package of 100 for $29. In that size these are a good bargain, and less expensive per wipe than the Lumene wipes listed here as inexpensive. I go camping and travel a lot, so i always keep facial wipes with me for no or low water situations. I'm not totally crazy about the scent of these wipes, but it's not as strong or unpleasant as the fragrances in most Olay products. And they really get off dirt and every kind of make up better than any other i've tried, and I've tried a lot of wipes. I have dry, somewhat sensitive skin and these do not irritate my face or dry it out, as some other wipes i've tried have. I especially reach for these when i'm wearing a lot of eye makeup. MAC Wipes get off mascara and waterproof eyeliner even better than most of the makeup removers i've tried. And you don't have to take the whole heavy pack with you for a few days of travel - just pull out the number you think you'll need, plus a few more just in case, and put them in a zip-sealing plastic bag.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Ellen P.
12.03.2012
My new favorite cleansing cloths

My old favorite wipes (made by Dove) seem to have been discontinued so based on Paula's strong review, I decided to give these a try. I like them a lot. Wish they were dry instead of wet (easier and lighter to travel with dry wipes) but they remove makeup, including mascara, well and don't leave an oily film on my skin. Yes, they are expensive but the convenience makes them worth it for me. Highly recommended.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Susanna in Seattle
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Nordstrom.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.411 8/29/2015 10:10:29 AM