HD Invisible Cover Foundation

Price:
$42 
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products > Foundations without Sunscreen > Liquid Foundation
Last Updated:
9/16/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This water- and silicone-based liquid foundation is among the best of the best, assuming your preferences mesh with what it provides. The creamy, fluid texture has great slip, but not so much that blending is a problem. It sets to a natural matte finish that looks incredibly skin-like, while offering medium to almost full coverage. The pigment technology behind this makeup, like many of today’s best foundations, allows it to blur imperfections and improve skin tone without feeling or looking like a mask.

The selection of shades is staggering, and staggeringly good, too. The range offers options for fair to very dark skin tones, and the pump-bottle packaging is sleek and easy to use.

As is often the case when a product has more than two dozen shades, not all of them are slam dunks. The following shades are not recommended because they are too rose, pink, orange, or peach: 135 Vanilla, 145 Neutral, 150 Pink Beige, 160 Golden Beige, 170 Caramel, and 165 Honey Beige. The shades 177 Cognac, 178 Chestnut, and 180 Brown are beautiful dark tones; 125 Sand is slightly peach, but still worth considering; and 130 Warm Ivory is slightly pink, but may work for some light skin tones.

Whether you choose this for day-to-day or on-camera use, its skin-perfecting qualities are exemplary. The finish of this formula (satin-matte), is generally best for normal to very oily skin as those with dry skin may prefer a more emollient finish.

While the ingredient list does note fragrance, it is almost undetectable and shouldn't be problematic for most.

Note: This foundation is also labeled as HD High Definition Foundation.

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Talc, Mica, Phenyl Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Lauroyl Lysine, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, Propylene Carbonate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Fragrance, Butylene Glycol, Benzyl Alcohol, Pentylene Glycol, Benzoic Acid. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.

This Paris-based makeup collection traces its roots to theatrical and fashion makeup, building on the concept that a professional makeup artist not only desires, but also needs, every conceivable color and texture to create the broadest range of looks. Since 1984, Make Up For Ever creators Dany Sanz and Jacques Waneph have been doing their best to meet these criteria. Through the years, this line has gone from offering a tremendous array of colors in their own European boutiques to a more streamlined, "everyday" collection of products in selected department stores and (primarily) Sephora, whose parent company, LVMH, has owned Make Up For Ever since 1999.

The color line presents an intriguing blend of classic, workable shades positioned next to some truly unique hues and finishes that only those involved with theater or the most flamboyant "anything goes" makeup artist (or diva) would covet. A major plus for this line is that the majority of colors are densely pigmented and work beautifully on medium to deep skin tones. The drawback is that fair and lighter skin tones may be left feeling that most of the color choices are too intense for them, especially if their goal is a soft, natural makeup application—though the choices in that regard are becoming more plentiful. For those who literally want it all when it comes to possible shades, this line more than delivers what it takes to please.

An interesting aspect of this line is that, category to category, there's often a similar pattern: one or two extraordinary to very good products, followed by mediocrity. It is the average products (and a correspondingly fewer number of poor ones) that tarnish this line and make its prices seem too inflated. However, if you pay attention (and purchase) the products Make Up For Ever does best, you will undoubtedly be pleased.

For more information on Make Up For Ever, call (877) 757-5175 or visit www.makeupforever.com.

Note: The product assortment below is typical of what you will find at Sephora boutiques across the country. If you wish to view the complete collection of Make Up For Ever, the only place to do that is at their freestanding stores in New York City or Los Angeles (or their European stores).

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Sherry, D
    Reviewed on Friday, August 01, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Would be amazing if it didn't have fragrance
    • I love the coverage and feel of this foundation. Also as someone with yellow-undertoned fair Asian skin, this was one of the few foundations that actually matched my skin tone and didn't oxidize or turn pink/orange over the course of the day. Sadly, as someone sensitive to fragrance, I would get a headache before the day was over and had to stop using it. If they made a fragrance-free version I would return to this product in a heartbeat.

  2. Janette
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 29, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Not a fan
    • I'm surprised this foundation is in the "best" category for oily skin. I got this for my upcoming wedding because I heard great reviews about this photographing beautifully. I have oily skin & have tried several primers, finishing powders, setting sprays all w/ the same results (oil slick after an hour). It claims to be medium to full coverage, but I err on the side of medium after 2 layers over problem areas. Disappointed!

  3. Danielle E.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 21, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Doesn't Stop Oil
    • CONS: I have a very oily t-zone, and after a few hours my face gets very shiny with this foundation (but it doesnt break down on my skin). It is very expensive (over $50). PLUSES: Its full coverage and blends seamlessly. I have moderate acne and it does a good job hiding all the redness and it doesnt make me break out. Also, it doesnt make dry spots look flakey! My color is 110 so while I wish it kept me matte longer, I'll keep using it because no other decent foundation has a shade light enough

  4. Elisse L
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    not for oilier skins
    • I have oily/combination skin and have not been happy with the way this foundation looks an hour or so after application. I've tried it with primer and without. It seems to settle in all the lines and pores on my face and gives my skin a chalky appearance. I purchased this after reading rave reviews but would suggest oilier skin types to stay away. Now I use PurMinerals tinted moisturizer (also a BEST on Beautypedia) with MAC studio fix to set it. Much better coverage and staying power.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    just ok
    • The foundation provided light coverage (buildable to medium coverage) and felt light and comfortable on my skin. Unfortunately, this foundation tended to flake within a few hours over any small spots of dry skin. Also, it required touch ups within 8 hours. Seems like there's got to be something better out there for this price.

  6. SHEKINAH R S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Not Quite Worth The Hype
    • I used to wear Prescriptives foundation, then MAC, and switched back to Px when I quit working for MAC. When Px went out of business I went back to MAC but was never happy w/ the unnatural undertones in their foundations. After hearing so much about MUFE HD foundation I finally gave it a try last summer. The good: almost as many shades as Px had so I finally had an exact match. The bad: not the miracle I was expecting. It's a little heavier than I wanted. Not sure if I'll buy it again.

  7. Marielle
    Reviewed on Monday, November 18, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Good, but nothing exceptional
    • I heard so many great things about this foundation that I finally decided to give it a try. I received an extremely generous sample of it at Sephora, but I will not be buying it... It is a good foundation, but nothing outstanding. The color matched my skin exactly, it is nice and silky with medium coverage. However, it's still not worth the price; I have had better looking foundations from MAC or Clinique, to name a few, which included sunscreen and cost less. This one is quite overrated...

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Can't live without this!
    • I have combination skin with some remaining acne scars and need pretty full coverage. While I love Paula's foundations, they just don't provide enough coverage. I had seriously considered trying Dermablend, then read Paula's review of this foundation and decided to give it a go. I went to my local Sephora store and a rep immediately found one that was a near-perfect match for my skin tone. I barely feel this on my skin and it makes my skin look great.

  9. CHERYL G.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 09, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    HD For Ever Foundation
    • Love this! Have been looking for just the right foundation. Went from Estee double wear foundatin to this:NO COMPARISON! Went back one day to Estee, and felt like I was wearing a mask. This is a MUST HAVE!

  10. DIANA D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 17, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Paula gets it right again
    • This is great for my DRY skin; I notice the neg comments on this on other sites or those that have oily skin; but that skin is difficult to make happy! This is an excellent fdtn and you WILL find your color unless you are super light. The silicone is not too much so it does "set" but makes for a less than matte look, better for dry and aging skin I think. Paula recommends it for oily skin but I have dry and w/ her skin recover serum or Dr. Denese's Hydroshield it is perfect. Looks silky

  11. Darla
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Flawless
    • Skin looks flawless after application. Noticeable on the skin for the first hour or two, then settles in and looks very natural, but needs touched up by about 5 hrs.

  12. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 26, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Some of us are pink!
    • I note that you criticize the two colors I purchased due to them being "too pink." I have been one of the women left behind in the frenzy to make all foundations gold based. I have no yellow tones in my skin, whatsoever, and N115 and N135 are perfect matches for my skin - the lighter one for winter, the darker for summer. They look like they were made specifically for me. Yellow based foundations make me look sick. Yes, they hide red, but so do these MUFE foundations - they just disappear on my skin. There are those of us who are pink, and if we used yellow-based foundations, they show very clearly. I was very pleased with the purchase, and had to do no color correcting whatsoever after applying these colors. All that glitters is not gold if you have a Celtic background - and trust me, I've searched for the perfect foundation for literally 30 years. I found it, and I would be very upset if they quit making the foundations with pink undertones. I have rosacea as well, and it is hidden perfectly by this formula.

  13. oberz3
    Reviewed on Friday, January 25, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    HORRIBLE!
    • I tried this foundation and after 3 days of testing it out, I just couldn't stand it! Yes, it felt smooth going on, but after about 3-4 hours, it felt slick and greasy on my face. My hand kept going to my face thinking something was running down it. It was gross. Took it back to the store and got Clinique instead. MUCH better!

  14. Callie
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 27, 2012
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Definitely worth considering
    • I finally purchased this foundation after sampling MANY different high end foundations including Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk foundation as well as a few drug store foundations. I chose this foundation, ultimately, because I loved the way my skin looked when I put it on, but also because it was one of the few foundations that did not oxidize on my skin.. I found that many foundations that seemed to be the right colour ended up turning peachy after application. The MUFE HD colour selection is amazing. I am fair and found my PERFECT match #117. This foundation does have a light to medium coverage, but is buildable. Just be sure to blend. Personally, I don't want to look like I'm wearing foundation. I just want it to even out my T-zone and diffuse any redness, which it does nicely (I don't apply foundation to my cheeks). The finish is very natural, doesn't look heavy but gives decent coverage. It won't last 12 hours, but lasts long enough for me with a touch up of powder. For me, this was the best foundation I tested. The finish is beautiful and very natural looking. Note: This may not be the best foundation if you are very oily, but for someone with combination skin, this is perfect.

  15. Liz
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 25, 2012
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Overrated
    • Not sure what all the hype is about with this foundation. I found it clings to any dry patches of skin and draws attention to those areas. Also found it very difficult to blend around the hairline and eyebrows, it seemed to sit on top of the skin around my hairline and look very obvious. The other problem with this foundation is that it doesn't wear well throughout the day. I applied it to my dark under eye circles and a few hours later it settled into the creases around my eyes and looked awful! What this foundation does do well is make the pores on your T-zone disappear. As long as you have no dry patches of skin, it will make your T-zone appear flawless while also looking extremely natural.Coverage is on the lighter side, I would say you have to apply more than usual to get medium coverage, especially if you want to cover redness. For me this is definitely not an all-purpose foundation, the only way I would use it again is on my t-zone only, in conjunction with another foundation for the rest of my face,but that's more effort than it's worth really.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.348 11/1/2014 1:56:03 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.