11.26.2014
23
2192
HD Invisible Cover Foundation
Rating
$42
Category:Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products > Foundations without Sunscreen > Liquid Foundation
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This water- and silicone-based liquid foundation is among the best of the best, assuming your preferences mesh with what it provides. The creamy, fluid texture has great slip, but not so much that blending is a problem. It sets to a natural matte finish that looks incredibly skin-like, while offering medium to almost full coverage. The pigment technology behind this makeup, like many of today’s best foundations, allows it to blur imperfections and improve skin tone without feeling or looking like a mask.

The selection of shades is staggering, and staggeringly good, too. The range offers options for fair to very dark skin tones, and the pump-bottle packaging is sleek and easy to use.

As is often the case when a product has more than two dozen shades, not all of them are slam dunks. The following shades are not recommended because they are too rose, pink, orange, or peach: 135 Vanilla, 145 Neutral, 150 Pink Beige, 160 Golden Beige, 170 Caramel, and 165 Honey Beige. The shades 177 Cognac, 178 Chestnut, and 180 Brown are beautiful dark tones; 125 Sand is slightly peach, but still worth considering; and 130 Warm Ivory is slightly pink, but may work for some light skin tones.

Whether you choose this for day-to-day or on-camera use, its skin-perfecting qualities are exemplary. The finish of this formula (satin-matte), is generally best for normal to very oily skin as those with dry skin may prefer a more emollient finish.

While the ingredient list does note fragrance, it is almost undetectable and shouldn't be problematic for most.

Note: This foundation is also labeled as HD High Definition Foundation.

Claims
Ingredients

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Talc, Mica, Phenyl Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Lauroyl Lysine, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, Propylene Carbonate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Fragrance, Butylene Glycol, Benzyl Alcohol, Pentylene Glycol, Benzoic Acid. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.

Brand Overview

Make Up For Ever At-A-Glance

Strengths: The newer foundations have many wonderful qualities; impressive options (and shade ranges) for powders, powder blush, and powder eyeshadow; some extraordinary lip glosses and lipstick/lip color options (and again, the shade ranges are remarkable); a few formidable mascaras; good shimmer options; huge selection of praiseworthy makeup brushes.

Weaknesses: Expensive; a few products suffer from needlessly irritating ingredients; average toner; the foundations and concealers that have been in this line longest are behind the times; mostly average eye and lip pencils; mostly lackluster specialty products.

This Paris-based makeup collection traces its roots to theatrical and fashion makeup, building on the concept that a professional makeup artist not only desires, but also needs, every conceivable color and texture to create the broadest range of looks. Since 1984, Make Up For Ever creators Dany Sanz and Jacques Waneph have been doing their best to meet these criteria. Through the years, this line has gone from offering a tremendous array of colors in their own European boutiques to a more streamlined, "everyday" collection of products in selected department stores and (primarily) Sephora, whose parent company, LVMH, has owned Make Up For Ever since 1999.

The color line presents an intriguing blend of classic, workable shades positioned next to some truly unique hues and finishes that only those involved with theater or the most flamboyant "anything goes" makeup artist (or diva) would covet. A major plus for this line is that the majority of colors are densely pigmented and work beautifully on medium to deep skin tones. The drawback is that fair and lighter skin tones may be left feeling that most of the color choices are too intense for them, especially if their goal is a soft, natural makeup application—though the choices in that regard are becoming more plentiful. For those who literally want it all when it comes to possible shades, this line more than delivers what it takes to please.

An interesting aspect of this line is that, category to category, there's often a similar pattern: one or two extraordinary to very good products, followed by mediocrity. It is the average products (and a correspondingly fewer number of poor ones) that tarnish this line and make its prices seem too inflated. However, if you pay attention (and purchase) the products Make Up For Ever does best, you will undoubtedly be pleased.

For more information on Make Up For Ever, call (877) 757-5175 or visit www.makeupforever.com.

Note: The product assortment below is typical of what you will find at Sephora boutiques across the country. If you wish to view the complete collection of Make Up For Ever, the only place to do that is at their freestanding stores in New York City or Los Angeles (or their European stores).

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.02.2015
tested at sephoria - very nice!

#120

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Margaret M.
03.23.2015
N135 is a great color!

Please don't counsel against pinker foundations!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Paisley Ize
02.10.2015
Great for normal to dry skin

sephora recommended this for my skin type which is normal to dry. I really like the texture, it is creamy and covers very nicely. It most certainly does not make my skin feel dry but instead very hydrated. if you have normal to dry, you should give this a try. I know that Paula's team recommends this for normal to very oily skin but it works great on my skin type. I will be using it for now.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.25.2015
Great foundation

I have combination skin and some slight lines and discoloration (I just turned 40). I have tried sooo many foundations but this is the first one that really builds to the coverage I want in certain areas but looks very natural yet even. It works very well for me regardless of the season or activity and has great staying power without oxidizing or settling into lines. One complaint is the packaging: the shade number printed on the glass bottle always rubs off-not great for buying the same shade.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
virginia c.
01.20.2015
Agree that this is NOT for oily skin

As so many other reviewers stated, this did NOT work with my oily skin. It has no SPF either so I have to wear something under it, completely negating the point that it may be something worn under the foundation is causing the oil slick. Hence, how is this getting a "best" rating? It made my skin so oily and oxidized so badly. It also felt heavy and didn't look natural. This should be in the "worst" category IMHO. Horrible, just horrible.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Dara M.
01.13.2015
Not for the oily..or slightly oily

I thought I would love this, and at first I did. It does give a beautiful flawless finish to skin. After about 2 weeks, my skin became SO oily. After a couple hours I was basically an oil slick, which I have NEVER been. Blotting non stop during the day, then the breakouts started. I ended up exchanging it for their Matte Velvet, and several employees at the store told me they had the same issue (oily) and a lot of online reviews say the same.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Christine H
01.13.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Thanks for your comments! We did not find this liquid foundation to be a problem for oily skin, and it doesn't contain any ingredients capable of making skin feel oily. What we suspect is happening is that people who find this makes their skin oily are getting the oil from the combination of the foundation with their other products. Also, this liquid foundation isn't good at controlling excess oil, so if that's your issue you'll still need a mattifier or powder.

—Admin
12.14.2014
I LOVED this but it made my skin peel

I thought I'd finally found THE foundation for me, but it made my skin peel - something I've NEVER had happen (well, since sunburn). The range of colors (I'm pinkish, so have problems with most makeup being yellow-ish), weight, spreadability were all just what I was looking for. I returned it last night and was told it must be the combination of my sunscreen (Paula's Choice hydralight) with the product. They sold me Josie Maran tinted moisturizer, which is very pretty but I suspect too oily.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Nancy E
11.05.2014
I don't understand the hype!

I don't get the hype. After much research I finally bought this since it was time to switch to a paler winter foundation. I cannot believe Paula has recommended it for oily skin types. I don't know if it's the silicone or what but after I've had this one for 4 hrs or so it's literally melting off my face. I get the tiniest dry patches around my nostrils/corners of mouth (we're talking minuscule) and somehow this makes these areas 10 times more pronounced. It's going back to Sephora immediately.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kristy, B
11.05.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

We're sorry this foundation didn't work for you. It may have to do with other products you applied beforehand, as the formula is truly good for oily skin and this remains one of our favorite foundations, along with one many of our readers swear by. But hey, your experience is a big reason there are so many different types of foundations out there!

—Admin
08.01.2014
Would be amazing if it didn't have fragrance

I love the coverage and feel of this foundation. Also as someone with yellow-undertoned fair Asian skin, this was one of the few foundations that actually matched my skin tone and didn't oxidize or turn pink/orange over the course of the day. Sadly, as someone sensitive to fragrance, I would get a headache before the day was over and had to stop using it. If they made a fragrance-free version I would return to this product in a heartbeat.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Sherry, D
06.29.2014
Not a fan

I'm surprised this foundation is in the "best" category for oily skin. I got this for my upcoming wedding because I heard great reviews about this photographing beautifully. I have oily skin & have tried several primers, finishing powders, setting sprays all w/ the same results (oil slick after an hour). It claims to be medium to full coverage, but I err on the side of medium after 2 layers over problem areas. Disappointed!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Janette
06.21.2014
Doesn't Stop Oil

CONS: I have a very oily t-zone, and after a few hours my face gets very shiny with this foundation (but it doesnt break down on my skin). It is very expensive (over $50). PLUSES: Its full coverage and blends seamlessly. I have moderate acne and it does a good job hiding all the redness and it doesnt make me break out. Also, it doesnt make dry spots look flakey! My color is 110 so while I wish it kept me matte longer, I'll keep using it because no other decent foundation has a shade light enough

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Danielle E.
04.15.2014
not for oilier skins

I have oily/combination skin and have not been happy with the way this foundation looks an hour or so after application. I've tried it with primer and without. It seems to settle in all the lines and pores on my face and gives my skin a chalky appearance. I purchased this after reading rave reviews but would suggest oilier skin types to stay away. Now I use PurMinerals tinted moisturizer (also a BEST on Beautypedia) with MAC studio fix to set it. Much better coverage and staying power.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Elisse L
12.11.2013
just ok

The foundation provided light coverage (buildable to medium coverage) and felt light and comfortable on my skin. Unfortunately, this foundation tended to flake within a few hours over any small spots of dry skin. Also, it required touch ups within 8 hours. Seems like there's got to be something better out there for this price.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.05.2013
Not Quite Worth The Hype

I used to wear Prescriptives foundation, then MAC, and switched back to Px when I quit working for MAC. When Px went out of business I went back to MAC but was never happy w/ the unnatural undertones in their foundations. After hearing so much about MUFE HD foundation I finally gave it a try last summer. The good: almost as many shades as Px had so I finally had an exact match. The bad: not the miracle I was expecting. It's a little heavier than I wanted. Not sure if I'll buy it again.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
SHEKINAH R S.
11.18.2013
Good, but nothing exceptional

I heard so many great things about this foundation that I finally decided to give it a try. I received an extremely generous sample of it at Sephora, but I will not be buying it... It is a good foundation, but nothing outstanding. The color matched my skin exactly, it is nice and silky with medium coverage. However, it's still not worth the price; I have had better looking foundations from MAC or Clinique, to name a few, which included sunscreen and cost less. This one is quite overrated...

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Marielle
09.07.2013
Can't live without this!

I have combination skin with some remaining acne scars and need pretty full coverage. While I love Paula's foundations, they just don't provide enough coverage. I had seriously considered trying Dermablend, then read Paula's review of this foundation and decided to give it a go. I went to my local Sephora store and a rep immediately found one that was a near-perfect match for my skin tone. I barely feel this on my skin and it makes my skin look great.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.09.2013
HD For Ever Foundation

Love this! Have been looking for just the right foundation. Went from Estee double wear foundatin to this:NO COMPARISON! Went back one day to Estee, and felt like I was wearing a mask. This is a MUST HAVE!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
CHERYL G.
03.17.2013
Paula gets it right again

This is great for my DRY skin; I notice the neg comments on this on other sites or those that have oily skin; but that skin is difficult to make happy! This is an excellent fdtn and you WILL find your color unless you are super light. The silicone is not too much so it does "set" but makes for a less than matte look, better for dry and aging skin I think. Paula recommends it for oily skin but I have dry and w/ her skin recover serum or Dr. Denese's Hydroshield it is perfect. Looks silky

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
DIANA D.
03.05.2013
Flawless

Skin looks flawless after application. Noticeable on the skin for the first hour or two, then settles in and looks very natural, but needs touched up by about 5 hrs.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Darla
01.26.2013
Some of us are pink!

I note that you criticize the two colors I purchased due to them being "too pink." I have been one of the women left behind in the frenzy to make all foundations gold based. I have no yellow tones in my skin, whatsoever, and N115 and N135 are perfect matches for my skin - the lighter one for winter, the darker for summer. They look like they were made specifically for me. Yellow based foundations make me look sick. Yes, they hide red, but so do these MUFE foundations - they just disappear on my skin. There are those of us who are pink, and if we used yellow-based foundations, they show very clearly. I was very pleased with the purchase, and had to do no color correcting whatsoever after applying these colors. All that glitters is not gold if you have a Celtic background - and trust me, I've searched for the perfect foundation for literally 30 years. I found it, and I would be very upset if they quit making the foundations with pink undertones. I have rosacea as well, and it is hidden perfectly by this formula.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.25.2013
HORRIBLE!

I tried this foundation and after 3 days of testing it out, I just couldn't stand it! Yes, it felt smooth going on, but after about 3-4 hours, it felt slick and greasy on my face. My hand kept going to my face thinking something was running down it. It was gross. Took it back to the store and got Clinique instead. MUCH better!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
oberz3
12.27.2012
Definitely worth considering

I finally purchased this foundation after sampling MANY different high end foundations including Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk foundation as well as a few drug store foundations. I chose this foundation, ultimately, because I loved the way my skin looked when I put it on, but also because it was one of the few foundations that did not oxidize on my skin.. I found that many foundations that seemed to be the right colour ended up turning peachy after application. The MUFE HD colour selection is amazing. I am fair and found my PERFECT match #117. This foundation does have a light to medium coverage, but is buildable. Just be sure to blend. Personally, I don't want to look like I'm wearing foundation. I just want it to even out my T-zone and diffuse any redness, which it does nicely (I don't apply foundation to my cheeks). The finish is very natural, doesn't look heavy but gives decent coverage. It won't last 12 hours, but lasts long enough for me with a touch up of powder. For me, this was the best foundation I tested. The finish is beautiful and very natural looking. Note: This may not be the best foundation if you are very oily, but for someone with combination skin, this is perfect.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Callie
12.25.2012
Overrated

Not sure what all the hype is about with this foundation. I found it clings to any dry patches of skin and draws attention to those areas. Also found it very difficult to blend around the hairline and eyebrows, it seemed to sit on top of the skin around my hairline and look very obvious. The other problem with this foundation is that it doesn't wear well throughout the day. I applied it to my dark under eye circles and a few hours later it settled into the creases around my eyes and looked awful! What this foundation does do well is make the pores on your T-zone disappear. As long as you have no dry patches of skin, it will make your T-zone appear flawless while also looking extremely natural.Coverage is on the lighter side, I would say you have to apply more than usual to get medium coverage, especially if you want to cover redness. For me this is definitely not an all-purpose foundation, the only way I would use it again is on my t-zone only, in conjunction with another foundation for the rest of my face,but that's more effort than it's worth really.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Liz
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.389 4/27/2015 7:22:56 AM