11.26.2014
27
2283
HD Invisible Cover Foundation (Discontinued)
Rating
$43
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This water- and silicone-based liquid foundation is among the best of the best, assuming your preferences mesh with what it provides. The creamy, fluid texture has great slip, but not so much that blending is a problem. It sets to a natural matte finish that looks incredibly skin-like, while offering medium to almost full coverage. The pigment technology behind this makeup, like many of today’s best foundations, allows it to blur imperfections and improve skin tone without feeling or looking like a mask.

The selection of shades is staggering, and staggeringly good, too. The range offers options for fair to very dark skin tones, and the pump-bottle packaging is sleek and easy to use.

As is often the case when a product has more than two dozen shades, not all of them are slam dunks. We recommend testing the following shades in person before purchasing them to make sure that they will work for you: 135 Vanilla, 145 Neutral, 150 Pink Beige, 160 Golden Beige, 170 Caramel, and 165 Honey Beige. The shades 177 Cognac, 178 Chestnut, and 180 Brown are beautiful dark tones; 125 Sand is slightly peach, and worth considering; and 130 Warm Ivory is slightly pink, and may work for some light skin tones.

Whether you choose this for day-to-day or on-camera use, its skin-perfecting qualities are exemplary. The finish of this formula (satin-matte), is generally best for normal to very oily skin as those with dry skin may prefer a more emollient finish.

While the ingredient list does note fragrance, it is almost undetectable and shouldn't be problematic for most.

Note: This foundation is also labeled as HD High Definition Foundation.

Claims
Ingredients

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Talc, Mica, Phenyl Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Lauroyl Lysine, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, Propylene Carbonate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Fragrance, Butylene Glycol, Benzyl Alcohol, Pentylene Glycol, Benzoic Acid. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.

Brand Overview

Make Up For Ever At-A-Glance

Strengths: Wonderful foundations; impressive options (and shade ranges) for powders, powder blush, and powder eyeshadow; some extraordinary lip glosses and lipstick/lip color options (and again, the shade ranges are remarkable); a few formidable mascaras; good shimmer options.

Weaknesses:Can be expensive; a few formulas contain needlessly high amounts of fragrance.

This Paris-based makeup collection traces its roots to theatrical and fashion makeup, building on the concept that a professional makeup artist not only desires, but also needs, every conceivable color and texture to create the broadest range of looks. Since 1984, Make Up For Ever creators Dany Sanz and Jacques Waneph have been doing their best to meet these criteria. Through the years, this line has gone from offering a tremendous array of colors in their own European boutiques to a more streamlined, "everyday" collection of products in select department stores and (primarily) Sephora, whose parent company, LVMH, has owned Make Up For Ever since 1999.

The color line presents an intriguing blend of classic, workable shades positioned next to some truly unique hues and finishes that only those involved with theater or the most flamboyant "anything goes" makeup artist (or diva) would covet. A major plus for this line is that many of the colors are densely pigmented, working beautifully on medium to deep skin tones. The drawback is that fair and lighter skin tones may find their choices more limited in a few areas of the brands’ ranges. However, for those who want it all when it comes to possible shades, this line more than delivers what it takes to please.

An interesting aspect of this line is that, category to category, there are mostly exceptional choices, with products that we found to be average—certainly falling short of what we know Make Up For Ever to be capable of. However, if you are cautious of those few pitfalls (fortunately, there are an abundance of testers to experiment with at Sephora or the brand’s standalone boutiques) you will undoubtedly be pleased with those products that Make Up For Ever does best.

For more information on Make Up For Ever, call (877) 757-5175 or visit www.makeupforever.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
07.29.2015
Why the highest rating with Talc & fragrance

PC rates other products with fragrance not the highest so not sure why they rated this highest & it has talc too. Don't know how PC rates but disappointed to see inconsistencies. Tried this out due to the highest rating & it broke me out so badly on just one application. Gave me the worst acne breakout I have had with any foundation. I guess from now on, I can't just try it solely based on PC's highest rating.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Maria
07.29.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello there, and thanks for your feedback!  We're so sorry that you didn't love this product as much as we did.  Beautypedia does not downgrade products for the inclusion of talc as it is a good ingredient.  We have also rated many other foundations with fragrance highly but do typically make note of its inclusion in the body of the review, particularly in our newer reviews.  If you are curious about what our criteria is when we rate foundations, if you head back to the main page of the category (by clicking on Makeup, then Foundations Without Sunscreen), there should be a header at the top of the screen that is a hot pink box with white text that states "Foundations Without Sunscreen" and then includes a link where you can click on "Learn More" to see the details.  Also, The Paula’s Choice Research Team no longer reviews products for Beautypedia, and while The Beautypedia Team is still a part of Paula’s Choice Skincare, what’s new—and you may not yet have known—is that now we have two teams working independently to bring you the best quality reviews, products, and  research-supported expert advice you know and love. One team is dedicated to Beautypedia and product reviews from other brands; the other is dedicated to Paula’s Choice skincare and its unique combination of expertly formulated products and advice on a wide range of beauty-related topics.

—Admin
07.26.2015
Discontinued

I LOVE this product and just found out that it is discontinued :( Any suggestions to something similar? I wore color 118..

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
AC
07.30.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Make Up For Ever does have a new foundation -- Ultra H.D. Invisible Cover Foundation.  Beautypedia is currently in the process of reviewing it, so check back in a few weeks for the full review!

—Admin
06.04.2015
Coverage + staying power = worth it!

Yes, it's spendy but the results are worth it. I have melisma, and I've undergone laser and use acids to control it. But it still gets darker and splotchy during sunny weeks, even with sunblock and hats. I use shade 172 on and around the melisma on my cheeks, buff with a stipple brush, and the darkening patch is blurred and blended away, thanks to the effective coverage. Not only do you get the great coverage, you get the staying power. It defied sweat on a hot day.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Al
05.13.2015
Confused

I'm surprised that talc and mica weren't listed under the "weakness" factor. Many people have sensitivity to these ingredients.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Evan S.
04.02.2015
tested at sephoria - very nice!

#120

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Margaret M.
03.23.2015
N135 is a great color!

Please don't counsel against pinker foundations!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Paisley Ize
02.10.2015
Great for normal to dry skin

sephora recommended this for my skin type which is normal to dry. I really like the texture, it is creamy and covers very nicely. It most certainly does not make my skin feel dry but instead very hydrated. if you have normal to dry, you should give this a try. I know that Paula's team recommends this for normal to very oily skin but it works great on my skin type. I will be using it for now.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.25.2015
Great foundation

I have combination skin and some slight lines and discoloration (I just turned 40). I have tried sooo many foundations but this is the first one that really builds to the coverage I want in certain areas but looks very natural yet even. It works very well for me regardless of the season or activity and has great staying power without oxidizing or settling into lines. One complaint is the packaging: the shade number printed on the glass bottle always rubs off-not great for buying the same shade.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
virginia c.
01.20.2015
Agree that this is NOT for oily skin

As so many other reviewers stated, this did NOT work with my oily skin. It has no SPF either so I have to wear something under it, completely negating the point that it may be something worn under the foundation is causing the oil slick. Hence, how is this getting a "best" rating? It made my skin so oily and oxidized so badly. It also felt heavy and didn't look natural. This should be in the "worst" category IMHO. Horrible, just horrible.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Dara M.
01.13.2015
Not for the oily..or slightly oily

I thought I would love this, and at first I did. It does give a beautiful flawless finish to skin. After about 2 weeks, my skin became SO oily. After a couple hours I was basically an oil slick, which I have NEVER been. Blotting non stop during the day, then the breakouts started. I ended up exchanging it for their Matte Velvet, and several employees at the store told me they had the same issue (oily) and a lot of online reviews say the same.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Christine H
01.13.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Thanks for your comments! We did not find this liquid foundation to be a problem for oily skin, and it doesn't contain any ingredients capable of making skin feel oily. What we suspect is happening is that people who find this makes their skin oily are getting the oil from the combination of the foundation with their other products. Also, this liquid foundation isn't good at controlling excess oil, so if that's your issue you'll still need a mattifier or powder.

—Admin
12.14.2014
I LOVED this but it made my skin peel

I thought I'd finally found THE foundation for me, but it made my skin peel - something I've NEVER had happen (well, since sunburn). The range of colors (I'm pinkish, so have problems with most makeup being yellow-ish), weight, spreadability were all just what I was looking for. I returned it last night and was told it must be the combination of my sunscreen (Paula's Choice hydralight) with the product. They sold me Josie Maran tinted moisturizer, which is very pretty but I suspect too oily.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Nancy E
11.05.2014
I don't understand the hype!

I don't get the hype. After much research I finally bought this since it was time to switch to a paler winter foundation. I cannot believe Paula has recommended it for oily skin types. I don't know if it's the silicone or what but after I've had this one for 4 hrs or so it's literally melting off my face. I get the tiniest dry patches around my nostrils/corners of mouth (we're talking minuscule) and somehow this makes these areas 10 times more pronounced. It's going back to Sephora immediately.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kristy, B
11.05.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

We're sorry this foundation didn't work for you. It may have to do with other products you applied beforehand, as the formula is truly good for oily skin and this remains one of our favorite foundations, along with one many of our readers swear by. But hey, your experience is a big reason there are so many different types of foundations out there!

—Admin
08.01.2014
Would be amazing if it didn't have fragrance

I love the coverage and feel of this foundation. Also as someone with yellow-undertoned fair Asian skin, this was one of the few foundations that actually matched my skin tone and didn't oxidize or turn pink/orange over the course of the day. Sadly, as someone sensitive to fragrance, I would get a headache before the day was over and had to stop using it. If they made a fragrance-free version I would return to this product in a heartbeat.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Sherry, D
06.29.2014
Not a fan

I'm surprised this foundation is in the "best" category for oily skin. I got this for my upcoming wedding because I heard great reviews about this photographing beautifully. I have oily skin & have tried several primers, finishing powders, setting sprays all w/ the same results (oil slick after an hour). It claims to be medium to full coverage, but I err on the side of medium after 2 layers over problem areas. Disappointed!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Janette
06.21.2014
Doesn't Stop Oil

CONS: I have a very oily t-zone, and after a few hours my face gets very shiny with this foundation (but it doesnt break down on my skin). It is very expensive (over $50). PLUSES: Its full coverage and blends seamlessly. I have moderate acne and it does a good job hiding all the redness and it doesnt make me break out. Also, it doesnt make dry spots look flakey! My color is 110 so while I wish it kept me matte longer, I'll keep using it because no other decent foundation has a shade light enough

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Danielle E.
04.15.2014
not for oilier skins

I have oily/combination skin and have not been happy with the way this foundation looks an hour or so after application. I've tried it with primer and without. It seems to settle in all the lines and pores on my face and gives my skin a chalky appearance. I purchased this after reading rave reviews but would suggest oilier skin types to stay away. Now I use PurMinerals tinted moisturizer (also a BEST on Beautypedia) with MAC studio fix to set it. Much better coverage and staying power.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Elisse L
12.11.2013
just ok

The foundation provided light coverage (buildable to medium coverage) and felt light and comfortable on my skin. Unfortunately, this foundation tended to flake within a few hours over any small spots of dry skin. Also, it required touch ups within 8 hours. Seems like there's got to be something better out there for this price.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.05.2013
Not Quite Worth The Hype

I used to wear Prescriptives foundation, then MAC, and switched back to Px when I quit working for MAC. When Px went out of business I went back to MAC but was never happy w/ the unnatural undertones in their foundations. After hearing so much about MUFE HD foundation I finally gave it a try last summer. The good: almost as many shades as Px had so I finally had an exact match. The bad: not the miracle I was expecting. It's a little heavier than I wanted. Not sure if I'll buy it again.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
SHEKINAH R S.
11.18.2013
Good, but nothing exceptional

I heard so many great things about this foundation that I finally decided to give it a try. I received an extremely generous sample of it at Sephora, but I will not be buying it... It is a good foundation, but nothing outstanding. The color matched my skin exactly, it is nice and silky with medium coverage. However, it's still not worth the price; I have had better looking foundations from MAC or Clinique, to name a few, which included sunscreen and cost less. This one is quite overrated...

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Marielle
09.07.2013
Can't live without this!

I have combination skin with some remaining acne scars and need pretty full coverage. While I love Paula's foundations, they just don't provide enough coverage. I had seriously considered trying Dermablend, then read Paula's review of this foundation and decided to give it a go. I went to my local Sephora store and a rep immediately found one that was a near-perfect match for my skin tone. I barely feel this on my skin and it makes my skin look great.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.09.2013
HD For Ever Foundation

Love this! Have been looking for just the right foundation. Went from Estee double wear foundatin to this:NO COMPARISON! Went back one day to Estee, and felt like I was wearing a mask. This is a MUST HAVE!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
CHERYL G.
03.17.2013
Paula gets it right again

This is great for my DRY skin; I notice the neg comments on this on other sites or those that have oily skin; but that skin is difficult to make happy! This is an excellent fdtn and you WILL find your color unless you are super light. The silicone is not too much so it does "set" but makes for a less than matte look, better for dry and aging skin I think. Paula recommends it for oily skin but I have dry and w/ her skin recover serum or Dr. Denese's Hydroshield it is perfect. Looks silky

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
DIANA D.
03.05.2013
Flawless

Skin looks flawless after application. Noticeable on the skin for the first hour or two, then settles in and looks very natural, but needs touched up by about 5 hrs.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Darla
01.26.2013
Some of us are pink!

I note that you criticize the two colors I purchased due to them being "too pink." I have been one of the women left behind in the frenzy to make all foundations gold based. I have no yellow tones in my skin, whatsoever, and N115 and N135 are perfect matches for my skin - the lighter one for winter, the darker for summer. They look like they were made specifically for me. Yellow based foundations make me look sick. Yes, they hide red, but so do these MUFE foundations - they just disappear on my skin. There are those of us who are pink, and if we used yellow-based foundations, they show very clearly. I was very pleased with the purchase, and had to do no color correcting whatsoever after applying these colors. All that glitters is not gold if you have a Celtic background - and trust me, I've searched for the perfect foundation for literally 30 years. I found it, and I would be very upset if they quit making the foundations with pink undertones. I have rosacea as well, and it is hidden perfectly by this formula.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.25.2013
HORRIBLE!

I tried this foundation and after 3 days of testing it out, I just couldn't stand it! Yes, it felt smooth going on, but after about 3-4 hours, it felt slick and greasy on my face. My hand kept going to my face thinking something was running down it. It was gross. Took it back to the store and got Clinique instead. MUCH better!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
oberz3
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.411 8/29/2015 7:56:47 AM