04.06.2015
1
13
Perfect Prep Poreless Primer
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $35
Last Updated:04.06.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Perfect Prep Poreless Primer has the silky texture common of many primers, but unlike most this formula combines silky-finish silicones with a variety of moisturizing ingredients. The end result is a primer that works well for those with normal to dry skin, helping to smooth out rough areas or those that are slightly flakey.

Mally Beauty recommends this for any skin type, but we would recommend avoiding it if you have oily or very oily skin, as the oils and other moisturizing agents won't do your shiny areas any favors. We should mention that despite the fact this contains several beneficial ingredients, it’s packaged in a jar, which means those air-sensitive ingredients won’t remain stable after you open the product (see More Info to find out why). However, if you are in the market for a makeup primer for normal to dry skin, this is certainly a good option to consider—just don't depend on the benefits of its anti-aging ceramides and peptides.

Pros:

  • Silky, moisturizing texture.
  • Adds radiance to dull complexions.
  • Fragrance-free.

Cons:  

  • Jar packaging won’t keep the beneficial ingredients stable once opened.
  • Pricey.

More Info:

The fact that this primer is packaged in a jar means the beneficial ingredients won't remain stable once it is opened. All plant extracts, vitamins, antioxidants, and other state-of-the-art ingredients break down in the presence of air, so once a jar is opened and lets the air in, these important ingredients begin to deteriorate. Jars also are unsanitary because you’re dipping your fingers into them with each use, adding bacteria, which further deteriorate the beneficial ingredients (Sources: Free Radical Biology and Medicine, September 2007, pages 818–829; Ageing Research Reviews, December 2007, pages 271–288; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314–321; International Journal of Pharmaceutics, June 12, 2005, pages 197–203; Pharmaceutical Development and Technology, January 2002, pages 1–32; International Society for Horticultural Science, www.actahort.org/members/showpdf?booknrarnr=778_5; Beautypackaging.com, and www.beautypackaging.com/articles/2007/03/airless-packaging.php).

Claims
Ingredients

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Silica, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Cyclomethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Tribehenin, Ceramide-2, PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Dimethyl Silylate, Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate, Atelocollagen, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Bismuth Oxychloride, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Benzoic Acid, Sorbic Acid, Butylene Glycol May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Red 17

Brand Overview

Mally Beauty At-A-Glance

Strengths: Impressive concealers; the City Chick Smokey Eye Kit performs beautifully; Evercolor Poreless Face Defender is an excellent alternative to traditional face powder; some good lip color options; Volumizing Mascara; Evercolor Lasting Eyeliner goes beyond typical liquid eyeliners with outstanding staying power; good brow products.

Weaknesses: Couture Color Custom Blush and powder foundation can be difficult to use; potentially irritating makeup remover; the Perfect Prep Soothing Eye Gel is disappointing.

Mally Roncal is a celebrity makeup artist who has worked on some of the most famous faces in Hollywood, not to mention numerous spreads in fashion magazines. After much success as a makeup artist, Roncal launched Mally Beauty—her namesake line of makeup and limited skin-care products—with the guiding philosophy that "the things that make us different are the qualities that make us beautiful." That’s a great philosophy, but the question is: Are these quality products with a difference that will help you look and feel more beautiful?

As might be expected, Mally Roncal's celebrity cache created buzz when her line launched, and the chatter has led to a strong following on the QVC shopping channel, which is the primary home of her products. While Roncal knows how to sell a product (She is quite the cheerleader on air!) and she has worked with celebrities, that doesn't automatically mean all the Mally Beauty products are worth buying.

Although there are some well-formulated and innovative products to be found, Mally Beauty has a few misses. The majority of Mally Beauty's eye makeup and eyebrow products perform quite well, they feature a spectacular concealer with sunscreen and there are some good lip color options as well. Mally's Cancellation Conditioning Concealer and Evercolor Poreless Face Defender are top notch worthy of special mention.

On the flipside, Mally Beauty misses the mark with a few of the foundations, primers, and blushes we tried. The foundation we experimented with was especially disappointing because Mally Roncal is known for creating the illusion of perfect, dewy-looking skin, which her Ultimate Performance Professional Foundation didn't accomplish with our team.

We have to give Mally Beauty praise for including helpful application tips, demonstration videos, and full ingredient lists on the company website, and for their wonderful team who was more than helpful in sending products for The Paula's Choice Research Team to experiment with. There are some strong options to be found here, as well as others we would recommend skipping and our reviews will steer you toward what’s worth your time and money.

For more information about Mally Beauty, call 1-855-625-5948 or visit www.mallybeauty.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.08.2015
VERY DISSAPOINTED

Ms. Mally, why are these instruations not mention on the air. I'm paying 70.00 and when I open this product,I will lose the ingredients that I'm want to work on my face. This is so sad. Especially for me, since, I'm in a fixed income. Wow, hard to believe, you don't mention this! And here I trusted you.. Gosh... Irene Corona

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Irene Corona
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.411 8/5/2015 1:34:21 AM