12.05.2014
7
6
Mario Badescu
Control Cream (Discontinued)
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $26
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:12.05.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:No
Overview

Control Cream contains balsam peru, which is sensitizing and can cause a phototoxic reaction. This is a terrible product for anyone dealing with a reddened complexion, including rosacea. Among 3,000 known allergens, balsam peru is ranked in the top ten among the most frequent offenders (Source: Deutsche Medizinische Wochenschrift, July 2006, pages 1584–1589).

Claims

Our famous anti-redness cream that works best for red, rashy, flaky and irritated skin types and Rosacea sufferers. Balsam Peru is the active, soothing botanical ingredient that will make a visible difference immediately upon application.

Ingredients

Water, Carnation Oil, Polyglycerylmethacrylate, Propylene Glycol, Seamollient, Balsam Peru

Brand Overview

Mario Badescu At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; the company includes complete ingredient lists on their website (though many of the ingredient lists don't follow FDA labeling requirements); most of the products are fragrance-free; a few good cleansing options.

Weaknesses: Repetitive, lackluster moisturizer formulas; terrible products for acne; the daytime moisturizers cannot be relied on for sun protection; poorly formulated exfoliants and scrubs; mostly irritating masks; boring toners; several moisturizers contain irritating ingredients.

Fashion magazines have been mentioning Mario Badescu products for some time, and in New York the Badescu salon has been around since 1967. Unfortunately for your skin, most of the products seem to be stuck in that era, when the state of skin-care knowledge was vastly different (meaning backward, simple, and naive) from what it is today. The company claims to use natural ingredients with advanced technology, but the formulas only support a small part of that assertion.

A tempting hook for this line is the number of celebrities and models who not only have facials and other services performed at the Mario Badescu Salon but also claim to use the products. We can't confirm whether or not celebrities really use these products, but even if there are some who do, plenty of other celebrities are using lots of different products, so that's no way to make an educated skin-care decision.

It probably goes without saying, or at least you won't be surprised when we mention it, that none of these products are natural in the least. They contain all the same old standard ingredients that show up throughout the cosmetics industry. The prices are more than reasonable, especially in comparison to other spa or boutique skin-care lines, but products that leave skin vulnerable to sun damage or cause irritation are never a good idea at any price. The sparse amounts of skin-identical ingredients, antioxidants, and anti-irritants included in the preponderance of products here is not in line with current skin-care science. The cleansers are unimpressive, the acne products are an irritation waiting to happen, and the AHA moisturizers either don't contain AHAs, don't have enough of the ingredient, or have a pH too high for them to be effective as exfoliants.

Several of the Badescu products contain an ingredient called "seamollient." As exotic as the name sounds, it's just a fancy term for water and algae. Given that the Creme de la Mer products also brag about algae—and charge an astronomical sum for it—if you want algae on your skin, you may as well put it there via the Badescu products for far less money. (Actually, algae is not the fountain of youth for anyone's skin, which is why its continuing popularity befuddles me.)

As consumers become more savvy about ingredients and insist on examining a product's contents before purchasing, it should be pointed out that the Mario Badescu products engage in a bit of deception by disguising their use of commonplace ingredients such as mineral oil and petrolatum with trade names. For example, rather than listing mineral oil or Vaseline in their products, Badescu uses trade names such as Sonojell or Protol. Further, and most distressing, is that doing this means Badescu's products fail to meet either FDA or European labeling requirements. This act of cloaking ingredients in trade names and ignoring FDA labeling guidelines doesn't help the consumer, though it does help the cosmetics companies make their ordinary products sound more mysterious and natural.

For more information about Mario Badescu, call (800) 223-3728 or visit www.mariobadescu.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
10.26.2013
Very sad

The MB Control Cream had steroids in it for all those years . When MB were busted by the Koreans for their 'secret ingredient', MB removed the steroids from the cream. The flow on effect was that the faithful users, unbeknownst to them, went cold turkey and had massive breakouts and severe side effects and now have long term issues. I lived through it with my poor wife earlier this year.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Justin Nicholas
09.19.2013
it just works

I discovered Control Cream when I was searching online for a solution to my red, puffy, sore, itching eyelids. Because of Sjogren's Syndrome I have had all 4 tear ducts blocked to try to keep my eyes moist. But when tears overflow and evaporate on my skin the salt is left behind and causes irritation. I had tried several other creams and ointments to get relief but none helped and some made it worse. When I applied the Control Cream I started to feel immediate relief.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Vicki J
06.26.2013
Perfect for me until they reformulated it

Control Cream was the ONLY product I've ever used that kept my skin soft and moisturized, but didn't cause me to break out. I'm surprised that it got such a bad Cosmetics Cop Review. However, as of this writing (June 26, 2013), the product is off the shelves. Apparently they changed manufacturers and had a problem with the latest batch. I'm giving it 4 stars based on my success with the product in the past. I hope they are able to get it back on the market soon!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Pamela S
03.15.2013
This stuff works!!!

I have sensitive skin, prone to redness from sun damage. I also have patches of psoriasis. I had dry, flakey eyelids for years and used elidel cream which would reduce the redness for a day or two but it never completely cleared up. I used other creams and gels, including aloe and hydrocortisone, on the advice of my Derm. Nothing stopped the itching and flaking cycle. After searching online I found out about Control Cream for this problem. My lids are completely free and clear!!!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Julie
03.06.2013
Control cream

I have sensitive acne prone skin that also gets dry and scaly in certain areas. I have spent years and lots of money trying just about every drugstore product, as well as, some expensive Dept. store lines (Clinique/Lancome) and have never had as much luck as i have had with this line of products. This Control Cream is great for me! No breakouts and my flakiness cleared up within 2 days of using this cream. My skin also looks more even. Curious why it works for some of us? Like the price too.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.25.2013
Why does it seem to work?

Although I've never used this product myself, I've read lots of reviews for it about how much it has helped people who suffer from rosacea and eczema but I don't understand why that is if it contains such an irritating ingredient? how does it work for so many people?! I'm really curious!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.01.2013
This product saved my face.

I have rosacea, which as anyone with it knows is a daily battle, and Control Cream works incredibly for me where even prescription drugs did not. The skin around my left eye was swollen with rosacea for months and my dermatologist was unable to help reduce it, although Metrogel was somewhat helpful with other areas affected. Within one day of applying this product around my affected eye, the scaling and swelling was reduced enormously; within three days the skin was back to normal. Daily applications have keep the scaling/swelling away from my eye area and cheeks. I have seen similar "warnings" about this product to what was posted here, and skincare is a very personal thing, but I will never be without this amazing product and recommend it to every rosacea sufferer to at least try. It is less than $20 and lasts a long time. I am so grateful for it!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Scarlett
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.376 3/6/2015 3:09:00 AM