12.30.2014
7
Mario Badescu
Drying Lotion
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $17
Category:Skin Care > Sensitive Skin Products > Blemish/Acne Treatments > BHA
Last Updated:12.30.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:No
Overview

Drying Lotion is an incredibly accurate name for this product, which contains mostly alcohol, calamine, camphor, and sulfur, all exceedingly drying and consummately irritating ingredients. You can’t heal skin by drying and irritating it; that only hinders the skin’s healing process. Plus, these ingredients will only make skin red and risk causing capillaries to surface. Calamine, by the way, contains about 5% zinc oxide (which can clog pores) and a good deal of phenol, which is extremely toxic to skin. In 1992, the FDA actually tried to ban calamine altogether, but that didn’t happen. Instead, it is classified as a skin protectant (due to its relation to zinc oxide) with usage restrictions (Source: Code of Federal Regulations, Title 21, volume 5, April 2006). Absorbing oil and reducing the swelling of blemishes is impossible with these ingredients.

Claims

Our best selling Drying Lotion is an excellent spot treatment made with a blend of Calamine and Salicylic Acid to clear up and soothe unsightly whiteheads overnight. A dab of this lotion will heal and dry pimples quickly.

Ingredients

Isopropyl Alcohol, Deionized Water, Calamine, Camphor, Colloidal Sulfur, Salicylic Acid, Glycerine, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Talc

Brand Overview

Mario Badescu At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; the company includes complete ingredient lists on their website (though many of the ingredient lists don't follow FDA labeling requirements); most of the products are fragrance-free; a few good cleansing options.

Weaknesses: Repetitive, lackluster moisturizer formulas; terrible products for acne; the daytime moisturizers cannot be relied on for sun protection; poorly formulated exfoliants and scrubs; mostly irritating masks; boring toners; several moisturizers contain irritating ingredients.

Fashion magazines have been mentioning Mario Badescu products for some time, and in New York the Badescu salon has been around since 1967. Unfortunately for your skin, most of the products seem to be stuck in that era, when the state of skin-care knowledge was vastly different (meaning backward, simple, and naive) from what it is today. The company claims to use natural ingredients with advanced technology, but the formulas only support a small part of that assertion.

A tempting hook for this line is the number of celebrities and models who not only have facials and other services performed at the Mario Badescu Salon but also claim to use the products. We can't confirm whether or not celebrities really use these products, but even if there are some who do, plenty of other celebrities are using lots of different products, so that's no way to make an educated skin-care decision.

It probably goes without saying, or at least you won't be surprised when we mention it, that none of these products are natural in the least. They contain all the same old standard ingredients that show up throughout the cosmetics industry. The prices are more than reasonable, especially in comparison to other spa or boutique skin-care lines, but products that leave skin vulnerable to sun damage or cause irritation are never a good idea at any price. The sparse amounts of skin-identical ingredients, antioxidants, and anti-irritants included in the preponderance of products here is not in line with current skin-care science. The cleansers are unimpressive, the acne products are an irritation waiting to happen, and the AHA moisturizers either don't contain AHAs, don't have enough of the ingredient, or have a pH too high for them to be effective as exfoliants.

Several of the Badescu products contain an ingredient called "seamollient." As exotic as the name sounds, it's just a fancy term for water and algae. Given that the Creme de la Mer products also brag about algae—and charge an astronomical sum for it—if you want algae on your skin, you may as well put it there via the Badescu products for far less money. (Actually, algae is not the fountain of youth for anyone's skin, which is why its continuing popularity befuddles me.)

As consumers become more savvy about ingredients and insist on examining a product's contents before purchasing, it should be pointed out that the Mario Badescu products engage in a bit of deception by disguising their use of commonplace ingredients such as mineral oil and petrolatum with trade names. For example, rather than listing mineral oil or Vaseline in their products, Badescu uses trade names such as Sonojell or Protol. Further, and most distressing, is that doing this means Badescu's products fail to meet either FDA or European labeling requirements. This act of cloaking ingredients in trade names and ignoring FDA labeling guidelines doesn't help the consumer, though it does help the cosmetics companies make their ordinary products sound more mysterious and natural.

For more information about Mario Badescu, call (800) 223-3728 or visit www.mariobadescu.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Doesn't work

Does not work. Don't waste your money.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Laura
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Needs a RE-Review

I just started my daughter on this program and the results are amazing. The original review was from 2009!!! I think a re-review is in order. There are too many positive reviews to warrant such a harsh evaluation. I will continue to have my daughter use it, seeing is believing.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Paula's Choice Research Team Response
Replied on: Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Thanks for your comments! We checked to ensure this product's price and ingredient list was the same, and it is. Unfortunately, the seeing is believing mentality doesn't always translate to good skin care. That's because skin can be very good at hiding when it is being irritated, not to mentoin drying a breakout isn't a good way to control acne (acne isn't about skin being wet). The isopropyl alcohol, camphor, and sulfur this contains ends up being an exceedingly irritating combination. Getting back to the seeing is believing: Think of how sun damage is cumulative. If you tan easily, you will likely go years without seeing the damage, so you'd naturally believe that tanning is just fine because you see great results but don't feel the damage happening beneath skin's surface.

—Admin
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
FANTASTIC

This product works really well. Myself and my 2 girls have used it and had great results with no irritation at all. do not understand the bad rating as well.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
TRUDY I
Saturday, October 11, 2014
It works.

It works. Use it as instructed and white heads dry overnight or two. Big eruptions may take a couple of nights longer but you can expect them to dry out and, almost always, come off with healed skin underneath. For some discoloration after, I've found that a good vit. c based mask & diligent sensible skin care handles that. In a couple of months, no trace is left. I'm over 40 and have had this in my cabinet, on call, for the past 2 years.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Maria T.
Thursday, July 17, 2014
Emma

I'm with the above reviewer in that I don't understand the poor rating. This product is extremely cheap for the results it offers and not only does it kill off whiteheads overnight for me, it doesn't make my skin red and irritated like many acne products tend to do. Really recommend this product!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Emma P
Sunday, June 15, 2014
Sounds like cancer to me!

Drying alcohol as the first ingredient? Man you suck! Mario B. I don't like to be in pain that much. I'll pass thank you very much.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Annette D.
Thursday, December 26, 2013
Bad Rating, But It Works

I don't really understand this rating. The review says the ingredients are very bad and will impede skin healing, but I've never seen an acne spot treatment that works this well. Dab a little on your spots at night, wash it off in the morning, and you'll see visible results. Doesn't completely get rid of your worst spots, but it does a very good job of reducing the severity of them, making it much easier to then conceal them, for example.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.369 2/28/2015 8:04:55 AM