12.19.2014
8
31
TimeWise Night Solution
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $32
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime)
Last Updated:12.19.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

TimeWise Night Solution is a clear, slightly tacky serum that’s loaded with antioxidants and peptides. The Poor rating is because these ingredients are joined by several fragrant plant extracts that cause irritation, including geranium, wild mint, rose, orange, and jasmine. The tingling sensation this causes is not good news for aging skin.

Claims

A unique delivery system of encapsulated vitamins and antioxidants combined with collagen-enhancing peptides help fade away deep lines and wrinkles. Nutribeads microcapsules are even more vitamin-packed. Rest assured your skin is being revitalized while you sleep.

Ingredients

Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, 1-Methylhydantoin-2-Imide, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-3, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Geranium Maculatum Extract, Mentha Arvensis Leaf Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Rosa Centifolia Flower Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Flower Extract, Jasminum Officinale (Jasmine) Extract, Ferula Galbaniflua (Galbanum) Gum Extract, Cananga Odorata Flower Extract, Ribes Nigrum (Black Currant) Fruit Extract, Propylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Mannitol, Acrylates/Vinyl Isodecanoate Crosspolymer, Cellulose, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Triethyl Citrate, Acrylates/Ammonium Methacrylate Copolymer, Polysorbate 20, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Disodium Edta, Talc, Methylparaben, Dmdm Hydantoin, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Ultramarines, Red 30

Brand Overview

Mary Kay At-A-Glance

Strengths: Most of the products are fragrance-free; packaging that keeps light- and air-sensitive ingredients stable during use; a handful of well-formulated moisturizers; very good eye-makeup remover; effective wrinkle filler; excellent cream blush and several other impressive makeup products.

Weaknesses: The overall collection is a mixed bag of exciting and disappointing products; several outdated moisturizers and cleansers; no AHA or acceptable BHA products; the CC Cream doesn't provide good enough UVA protection; some lackluster makeup products.

The last few years haven't been glamorous for one of the world's largest direct sellers of cosmetics. Mary Kay lost a lawsuit filed by TriStrata, the company whose founders hold over 100 patents on the use of AHAs in skin-care products. It was revealed that Mary Kay's former AHA products infringed on three of these patents, and, after some back-and-forths in court, Mary Kay ended up paying royalties of over $40 million (interest included) to TriStrata. Perhaps because they're still licking their wounds after this defeat, the company has not launched any new AHA products, and no longer sells the ones that were in question during the legal battle (Source: www.bizjournals.com/dallas/stories/2006/04/03/daily26.html).

However, the company's spin on the issue of AHAs is that they no longer use them because skin-care technology has advanced. That's an interesting twist, but the fact of the matter is that AHA products, when well-formulated, are still considered advanced and capable of doing far more for skin than the alternatives Mary Kay has devised (including an at-home microdermabrasion scrub and products with vitamin C derivatives).

Although they're not a company for you if you are looking for exfoliants (though you should be looking for a good exfoliant), Mary Kay has recently developed a surprising number of excellent products. With over 1.6 million Mary Kay consultants selling products in 30 countries, this family-owned company (founder Mary Kay Ash passed away in 2001) has slowly been proving that they intend to remain competitive with the best of the best. A refreshing change of pace is the omission of fragrance from almost all of the products. Now that is what we call progress!

Despite its size and capital (wholesale figures were $3 billion in 2012), Mary Kay still has a lot to learn. For instance, although their guiding philosophy of empowering women is admirable, the assortment of products still leaves much to be desired. Yes, things are looking up, but there are several weak spots that keep Mary Kay from being in the same league as Avon, Estee Lauder, Procter & Gamble (Olay), and Johnson & Johnson (Neutrogena, Aveeno, RoC). These include outdated cleansers, toners, and moisturizers, along with letdowns in products designed for oily, blemish-prone skin. The TimeWise product range has expanded considerably, and offers a few state-of-the-art products worthy of its name (although, as with all skin-care products, they're not going to turn back the hands of time and erase all signs of aging).

If improvements like those in Mary Kay's latest products were translated to the entire line, it would be standing much taller, at least as far as what current, substantiated skin-care research indicates is optimum for creating and maintaining healthy skin. As is, this is a line to approach with a keen understanding of what to focus on and what to avoid. One last bit of good news: Mary Kay offers well-packaged samples of selected products, either directly or from your consultant.

Unless mentioned otherwise, all Mary Kay products are fragrance-free.

Note: Mary Kay is categorized as a brand that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Mary Kay does not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Paula’s Choice Research Team.

For more information about Mary Kay, call (800) 627-9529 or visit www.marykay.com

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.28.2015
Not Impressed

I used this for 2 nights (in addition to the other MK smin products). I love their make up and thougt I would try their skin care line. I have not been impressed with any of it. I have dry skin with many allergies including my eyes. This night solution made my skin all tingly (followed by the moisturizer) which I did not like. After 2 days my skin was turning red, felt chapped and tight. I discontinued the night solution asap. Im still holding out on the other products.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Sarah A.
01.23.2015
i dont understand

I do not understand how a product set time wise that is made for sensitive and Redskins have irritant. It is true that irritate? I personally do not irritate me anything and I have sensitive skin.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Jose A.
11.04.2014
Love the Product/wish it had no red dye.

I have been looking for a product like this and I love it! Problem is, it is expensive, and I cannot afford it. Why do you put red dye into it? Is it necessary? It would be nice if you left samples at the dermatology offices. The doctors do promote the ones they like. So far its been Eucerin, Cepatol, I guess the ones you find at Walmart or Walgreens. TimeWise Night Solution really works and doesn't break me out or make my skin oily. It is soothing, light and looks wonderful on my skin!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Leslie
06.19.2014
The best

The best night solution hands down. I use it with the day solution and anti aging lotion. as well. I have used many products and even I use these is when I see actual results. Everything else irritates my skin. Zero breakouts and I'm preventing wrinkles. And I dare u to find a product within this price range with that many antioxidants and peptides.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
mary w
06.01.2014
Not good anymore

I agree with the poor rating. I used to love this product but the company must have changed the ingredients in the last couple of years because I've suddenly become very allergic to it.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.04.2014
This product is not good

The irritating plant extracts are no good in this product. They serve no point to help skin but add fragrance which I hate in skin care. Fragrance free is the way to go. It's a shame too because there's so much goodness in this product but fragrance irritates my skin. If they would take it out then I would use it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Sam M.
03.16.2014
Very good night serum

I also have to disagree with your Poor rating of this product. I have extremely sensitive skin and have allergic reaction to many products (including the ones rated Good by PC), but I do not feel any tingling or irritation from this serum, and I wake up with my skin feeling very soft and radiant. It works very well for me.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.19.2013
Mrs.

I strongly disagree with your rating on this product. I have roscea and I have had a very hard time finding a nigh solution for my face. Since using this I wake up and my face is no longer red or irritated. I strongly recommend it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Jennifer
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.405 8/1/2015 1:08:24 AM