12.02.2014
10
2643
Define-A-Brow Eyebrow Pencil
Rating
$6.99
Category:Makeup > Eyebrow Fillers & Shapers
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Define-A-Brow Eyebrow Pencil is an ultra-thin, automatic, non-retractable brow pencil that comes in a terrific range of shades, including two options for blonde brows. Even better, this does everything a stellar brow pencil should, while offering an exemplary texture and long wear. The component includes a useful brow comb for tidying the results. This is definitely one of the better brow pencils at the drugstore!

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Maybelline New York At-A-Glance

Strengths: At least one excellent product (if not several) in almost every category; many excellent foundations; superior mascaras; inexpensive makeup brushes; some terrific concealers, powders, blush, and lip color options.

Weaknesses: Lips balms tend to be a letdown; a few of the Great Lash mascaras are surprisingly average compared to other Maybelline formulas.

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996, and that's when things really started coming together for the Maybelline brand.

Specializing in a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, there is a lot to love from this drugstore brand. Many of their foundations are exceptional, and their powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor collection impressed us by offering a high degree of quality for their inexpensive price point.

Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Smart shoppers will note the similarities of a few of Maybelline’s formulas to products from high-end brands that are also owned by parent company L’Oreal. That just goes to show conscientious shopping can really save you money—without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
01.05.2015
Waste of product and money

The biggest thumbs up that I can give this product is for the color especially if you have medium ash blonde hair. However there is very little product contained in this pencil, it is very brittle and breaks off extremely easily and leaves little pieces of material in the Brows.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Diane M
10.21.2014
Too Brittle, just breaks off

The crayon is too thin and brittle. Just the slightest pressure drawing it on your eyebrow and it snaps off. Complete waste of money and has wrecked my carpet!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Karen
09.20.2014
Why did they discontinue Dark Brown

I used to love this pencil for years until they discontinued the dark brown color. Now I'm the only colors available are for light skin tones. Therefore I gave up with Maybelline on pencils altogether now I use Almay, who makes a thin dark brown eyebrow pencil, they are just hard to find.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.14.2014
Two Thumbs UP

I have been using this brow pencils for years, since you recommended it and I absolutely love it. Since this is a thin penicl I have more control on applying. The trick is not to be too heavy handed. I lightly fill in my brows so they still look natural and I can control how dark my brows are. I have never had the pencil lead break on me, not once in years. You just twist it up a bit at a time. Over the years I have tried others just to see and always come back to this pencil

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Darlene
05.08.2014
HG

I've used this for over 10 years. Dark blonde is perfect for my dark blonde brows, and this color seems not to exist in any other brand. I've tried Anastasia brow products, which are supposed to be the best, but I always come crawling back to this. Pretty much the only product from a major drugstore brand I still use.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
JULIA E.
03.06.2014
Loved the Light Blonde Pencil

This was my go to eye brow pencil. The light blonde 647 was perfect for a natural looking color. However this color has since been discontinued and sells on amazon and eBay for something like $25. I loved the twist to sharpen feature and the thinness of the actual color. It provided ease of use with no pencil shavings and percision color that went on smooth.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Lindsay F.
03.27.2013
Disappointed

This pencil was so fragile more broke off than I was able to use. It is too thin & dry/hard. It was difficult to find the balance of using enough pressure to actually get the product to show up on the brows without breaking it. More often than not it did break. This was very wasteful & the product was "gone" too quickly. Prior I was using Smashbox's Brow Tech To Go, and although it cost more, it lasted 6 times as long. Considering that, the higher end products cost me less money in the end.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Stacy S.
01.28.2013
Disappointed, Pencil Broke

Disappointed in this product, esp after the very high rating it received. The pencil broke while applying with a light hand. Did not press hard, of course. Thinking that was a fluke, I bought more in the same color and had the same problem.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
ANNE M.
01.24.2013
Good product, but not a good value for the money

This is a good eyebrow pencil. The lightest color looks very neutral on my almost blond brows. It is very similar to Clinique's or MAC's brow pencils. However, it is less than a third of the product you get from other brands, so unfortunately, it's not a good value for the money. Luckily, I always do my own math and make sure I compare sizes of products from different brands before purchasing.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
ANETA D.
01.05.2013
Not for me

The best part of this pencil for me was the thinness of the pencil. On me it matted/clumped and did not wear well at all. This one went in the trash after about a week of using it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Peggy
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.405 7/30/2015 10:13:15 PM