12.02.2014
12
Maybelline New York
Dream Smooth Mousse Foundation
Rating
$8.99
Category:Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products > Foundations without Sunscreen > Cream-to-Powder Foundation
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:Yes
Overview

Like most of Maybelline’s Dream Mousse products, this addition to their growing collection is outstanding and an exceptional value. Although the texture of this cream-to-powder foundation isn’t as fluffy as other products in the Dream Mousse line, application is still even, smooth, and effortless. What’s most impressive (and surprising, given this product’s claims that it’s “ultra-hydrating,” which it isn’t) is the smooth, powdery matte finish that looks amazingly natural. This foundation isn’t one that those with dry skin should avoid; however, they should prep their skin first with a moisturizing broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater. (Maybelline didn’t include sunscreen in this foundation, but that’s not a deal-breaker by any means.) The blend of silicones in this foundation means that it will stay put on skin and will even withstand moderate moisture, like a light sweat. Of the 10 shades available, there are options for fair to medium (but not dark) skin tones, with Pure Beige standing out as the only iffy shade because it has noticeably peach undertones.

Claims
Ingredients

Water, Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Isotridecyl, Isononanoate, Glycerin, Dipropylene Glycol, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Candelilla Cera Wax, PEG-9 Polydimethylxiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Caprylyl Glycol, Disodium Stearoyl, Glutamate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Tocopherol, Propylene Glycol, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Tocopherol, Propylene Glycol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Citric Acid, Royal Jelly, Royal Jelly Extract, Chamomilla Recutita Extract/Matricaria Flower Extract

Brand Overview

Maybelline New York At-A-Glance

Strengths: At least one excellent product (if not several) in almost every category; many excellent foundations; superior mascaras; inexpensive makeup brushes; some terrific concealers, powders, blush, and lip color options.

Weaknesses: Some of the foundations with sunscreen lack the right UVA-protecting ingredients; disappointing lip balms; the Great Lash mascaras tend to be mediocre to downright bad.

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996 and that's when things really started getting much better. Both companies specialize in offering a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, and many of their foundations have the same strengths and weaknesses (smooth textures and finishes plus the inclusion of sunscreens that are often without much-needed UVA-protecting ingredients).

The powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor are impressive and inexpensive. Although L'Oreal remains the more sophisticated and refined of the two lines (and now they have credible products, not just sleek ads, to back this assertion), Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Price-wise, Maybelline is the least expensive of the L'Oreal-owned cosmetic lines (which also includes Lancome, Biotherm, Vichy, and Kiehl’s), and smart shoppers will note the similarities among brands that, with conscientious shopping, can really save you money without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Used to love it...

For a couple of years I have used this faithfully and LOVED it. However, my most recent purchase seems different. It is not as smooth and doesn't go on as nicely. The sponge is noticeably smaller, but I can't tell if the texture has changed as well. I hope this is an anomaly and that they haven't changed the formula. This used to be a fabulous buy.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Can't get it to last all day

I just can't get this to last all day. Some days I work 14 hour days, but by the 6th hour this foundation is fading fast. It goes on nicely and has good coverage. Color is good for my fair skin. I've slightly oily combo skin. Maybe it will be better in the winter?

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Kate
Monday, August 18, 2014
Lovely finish, not enough coverage

It does indeed have a very nice finish, and blends easily. Great product, but it wasn't enough coverage for me...and the lightest shade is almost too dark for me too. Tried to layer it for more coverage which didn't really work, it just kind of looked greasy. But, if coverage isn't as important as texture to you, give this a try...as far as cream foundations go it's a great option.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jenny W
Wednesday, July 30, 2014
hello, whiteheads

blends really nicely and has a lovely finish, but everytime I wear it, I get several whiteheads. I've always used bobbi brown and never had this problem, even when I forget to wash my face at night, but this product leads to breakouts every single time I've tried it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
DarlingNikki
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
easy does it!

This is a very smooth foundation with great coverage. The key is to apply just a little at a time and blend with fingers, then go over with the enclosed sponge to ensure there is no excess and for a barely noticeable finish. Applying too much can result in a heavy, somewhat greasy look.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Shelley d.
Saturday, February 08, 2014
One of my favorites for flakey combo skin

Normally I use True Match for my combo skin, but acne rx products are causing occasional flakes. This foundation doesn't highlight flakes as much as other foundations. The cake/cream mousse goes on smoothly, blends beautifully, is buildable with light/med coverage and has more staying power than the liquid mousse version in oily areas. Hasn't caused breakouts. I apply with a foundation brush over PC Hydralight SPF 30, followed by PC healthy finish pwdr. Very happy with this product.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
H
Friday, December 20, 2013
Not a dream for me.

I got this in two shades and the application was a bit thick, used a brush to stipple it and that was better. The finish was on the matte side however, my T-Zone became shiner and slicker as this wore on. For the record my skin is dry.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
KT L.
Monday, December 16, 2013
Not for really fair skin

Easy application and excellent price but the lightest color they offer Is still not a good match for very fair ( think Scandinavian) skin. Color is too yellow. Too bad! I would recommend this Product if you can find a color that matches your skin tone.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Missy
Saturday, December 14, 2013
Animals ????

Maybelline still testing on animals??? I did not know. I will return this product

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Poodlegirl
Monday, March 04, 2013
Wyssa

This is my favorite foundation by far. The only problem is, that I get really oily during the day and if I bump anything with my face, it leaves a nice light peach print. So its definitely not as matte as they say it is. But, it looks absolutely flawless on my face, and looks very very natural. I can get by with just blotting my face a few times, but I would prefer a foundation that doesn't leave so much residue.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Thursday, February 28, 2013
Limited shade range

Beautiful foundation; however, they skipped certain important shades such as natural ivory. Also, when I called Maybelline for shade help, they were clueless and suggested that I talk to the beauty adviser in the drugstore. (Hah!) Try this to see if you can find a good shade. I really can't because the pinker shade is very light and the others run yellow on me, emphasizing sallowness. Sad... It's a great, great buy.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
LINDA F.
Friday, February 01, 2013
Great

Best foundation I have used,goes on nicely and is perfect for my dry skin. Lasted all day and it had a beautiful medium even coverage.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kat
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.369 3/2/2015 1:42:33 AM