Dream Liquid Mousse Airbrush Finish

Price:
$8.99 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products > Foundations without Sunscreen > Liquid Foundation
Last Updated:
12/26/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

The name for this foundation makes it seem as though flawless skin is within your reach, and guess what? That’s not too far from the truth! This liquid foundation is dispensed via an elegant pump and has a luxuriously silky texture that meshes so well with skin it looks like a second skin. In that sense, and because this offers light to medium coverage, it’s not going to conceal moderate to glaring flaws. However, it will blur minor flaws and discolorations and leave your skin with a luminous matte finish that’s very attractive. The formula is best for normal to oily skin, but those with dry areas will do fine with this foundation as long as they prep their skin with a moisturizer (preferably one that contains sunscreen). The range of shades is commendable and includes options for fair to dark (but not very dark) skin tones. Avoid Honey Beige and Pure Beige because both lean toward being too peach for medium skin tones. All told, this is another winner from Maybelline New York!

Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Phenoxyethanol, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, PEG-9, Aluminum Hydroxide. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996 and that's when things really started getting much better. Both companies specialize in offering a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, and many of their foundations have the same strengths and weaknesses (smooth textures and finishes plus the inclusion of sunscreens that are often without much-needed UVA-protecting ingredients).

The powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor are impressive and inexpensive. Although L'Oreal remains the more sophisticated and refined of the two lines (and now they have credible products, not just sleek ads, to back this assertion), Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Price-wise, Maybelline is the least expensive of the L'Oreal-owned cosmetic lines (which also includes Lancome, Biotherm, Vichy, and Kiehl’s), and smart shoppers will note the similarities among brands that, with conscientious shopping, can really save you money without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Julia
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 01, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Not impressed
    • Doesn't cover pores all that well and gets shiny very quickly. Best for dryer skin types I would think, not combo. Medium coverage.

  2. Lauran M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 16, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Nice foundation but oily T zone
    • This is a very nice foundation, but shows more oily skin than other foundations so be prepared to compensate for this. Medium coverage.

  3. jen
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 25, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    one more thing...
    • I wouod add that I wish Maybelline could provide a way to try the different colors before buying the product. It's difficult to know what matches skin tone if you can't try it first.

  4. jen
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 25, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Finally!
    • My favorite foundation was discontinued from Clinique so I have been franctically looking for another one that gives a dewy but not oily finish. I am not kidding when I say I have probably 20+ samples of the department store products that I've tried. Nothing looked natural. Finally my friend suggested to look at the drug store world. The name "dream mousse airbrush finish" sounded good so I tried it. Absolutely great! Not dryng but not oily. Gives a beautiful natural look and stays on.

  5. Katie
    Reviewed on Monday, January 20, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Lovely foundation!
    • I love this and trust the team's reviews as they always seem to work! This foundation is so smooth and applies perfectly with a brush. I use the Sephora foundation brush. It looks natural and semi-matte. It is alcohol and fragrance free. Great price! This and Urban Decay's Naked Skin are my favorites!

  6. H
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 29, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Love this stuff
    • Goes on smoothly, blends easily and seems to disappear into the skin. Does not settle in my pores like some other foundations. My only complaint is that it disappears by mid afternoon. I believe the humid climate I live in and my oily t-zone are the culprits. Wish it had more staying power for my skin type/climate and sunscreen! Great quality foundation at a bargain Drugstore price!

  7. Alexandra M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 21, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    One of the best foundations at the drugstore
    • This delightful foundation applies easily and smoothly and looks very skin like and not at all heavy. It does not exagerate wrinkles and fine lines. It gives light to medium coverage which can be easily layered to cover imperfections. It wears well for hours and removes easily. I have bought department store foundations for four times the price that didn't look half as good as this one.

  8. Audrey P.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 09, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Absolutely gorgeous foundation!
    • I have tried sooooo many foundations! Usually expensive department store brands. This one I like better than anything I've bought from Chanel, Laura Mercier, etc. I feel like it makes my skin look flawless without feeling or looking heavy. I use Smashbox photo finish foundation primer underneath. I have combo skin and it's perfect! Highly recommend!

  9. JoAnne D
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great foundation!
    • Seeing this foundation listed as BEST, I had to give it a try. It is a great foundation! I currently use the Light 5 shade for my fair to medium skin tone. As summer goes on though, this color will become to light for my skin tone. I have some old scarring from adult acne in my 30's & early 40's and this foundation does decently well with coverage to minimize their appearance (not cover mind you). Great price point as well! My oily skin does need powder to set during the warmer months.

  10. Janetgemstone
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 20, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Beautiful skin!
    • After trying two very expensive foundations (and not being impressed), I discovered Paula's reviews and decided to try a drugstore foundation that was rated high. As an added bonus, it was on sale where I found it! I am fair/ pinkish colouring with combination skin. This product blends incredibly well and you have time to work it in before it sets. I would call the coverage light to medium with a perfect natural finish. Not too dewy like some foundations but not flat either. Both times I have worn it I have been given compliments on my skin. First time I wore it I powdered my t zone out of habit- wore perfectly through the day. Second time I didn't powder my t zone and was happy to find that it doesn't promote oil break through like some foundations I've tried. Very happy with this inexpensive discovery!! Thanks for your website- it's nice to not waste money on beauty products )

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.