11.26.2014
21
3636
Dream Liquid Mousse Airbrush Finish
Rating
$8.99
Category:Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products > Foundations without Sunscreen > Liquid Foundation
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

The name for this foundation makes it seem as though flawless skin is within your reach, and guess what? That’s not too far from the truth! This liquid foundation is dispensed via an elegant pump and has a luxuriously silky texture that meshes so well with skin it looks like a second skin. In that sense, and because this offers light to medium coverage, it’s not going to conceal moderate to glaring flaws. However, it will blur minor flaws and discolorations and leave your skin with a luminous matte finish that’s very attractive. The formula is best for normal to oily skin, but those with dry areas will do fine with this foundation as long as they prep their skin with a moisturizer (preferably one that contains sunscreen). The range of shades is commendable and includes options for fair to dark (but not very dark) skin tones. Avoid Honey Beige and Pure Beige because both lean toward being too peach for medium skin tones. All told, this is another winner from Maybelline New York!

Claims
Ingredients

Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Phenoxyethanol, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, PEG-9, Aluminum Hydroxide. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.

Brand Overview

Maybelline New York At-A-Glance

Strengths: At least one excellent product (if not several) in almost every category; many excellent foundations; superior mascaras; inexpensive makeup brushes; some terrific concealers, powders, blush, and lip color options.

Weaknesses: Lips balms tend to be a letdown; a few of the Great Lash mascaras are surprisingly average compared to other Maybelline formulas.

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996, and that's when things really started coming together for the Maybelline brand.

Specializing in a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, there is a lot to love from this drugstore brand. Many of their foundations are exceptional, and their powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor collection impressed us by offering a high degree of quality for their inexpensive price point.

Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Smart shoppers will note the similarities of a few of Maybelline’s formulas to products from high-end brands that are also owned by parent company L’Oreal. That just goes to show conscientious shopping can really save you money—without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.16.2015
fantastic

My new favorite summer foundation. Light coverage that feels like I am wearing nothing. I'm oilier in summer and it works well. I don't think it will work as well when my skin is dry in winter. I took the lightest shade and I'm not very light. Fantastic value.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
KAREN C.
04.24.2015
Gorgeous light to medium coverage

Lovely foundation, matte without being flat. Pairs very well with Chanel loose powder. Not a ton of coverage. I wear this for casual days when you do not want to look "made up" but do want to look polished. An incredible bargain! I use MAC Studio Fix Fluid when I need medium coverage.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
SUE M.
04.15.2015
Great for covering pores but a bit heavy

I have oily skin with large pores, and I was convinced to try it. Pros: Very easy to apply on skin, blends in well Makes large pores looks smaller Cons: Feels heavy on wearing it

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Mia
02.25.2015
Didn't like this one

I found this foundation emphasized my pores and fine lines, didn't conceal anything and I just wasn't happy with it. Also the color selection is terrible. I got the lightest shade, porcelain ivory and it definitely had a pink tinge to it, the next shade up classic ivory had a yellow tinge. Won't buy this again.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jenn
02.07.2015
Fabulous Finish

This foundation covers and blends well. The finish is natural and really pretty. My only issue is that is doesn't seem to last more than a few hours. My skin is normal and do not have a problem with oil.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Susan B
02.04.2015
Not for fair skin

Like the formulation enough, but even the lightest shade wasn't light enough for me. I usually match well to the lightest one or two shades in PC foundations.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Casey F.
12.05.2014
Favorite!

I've tried A LOT of foundations, pro and drugstore types. My skin is very dry around the mouth and regular in my t-zone. This foundation blends in so nice and doesn't have much "feel" once it's on the skin. I've finally found a winner at the drugstore! For an all day-it's sweaty hot outside-I have to use Prolongwear Foundation from M.A.C.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Kayla V.
11.05.2014
Favorite Foundation

I've had several favorite foundations over the years, but I have to say that this one is my ultimate favorite. Paula's review was right on the money. There is something about the finish of this foundation that is so natural and beautiful. It's not too matte or too dewy. I have oily skin and no wrinkles at age 56. However, I have a friend who does have wrinkles and this foundation makes her skin look smoother and more refined. I've never seen her look better.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
L.L.
10.21.2014
Looks good rubs off

It looks lovely but transfers on everything it touches. I guess I was spoiled by the Revlon colorstay and Estée Lauder double wear products. I was nervous wearing this foundation because I got it on my granddaughters clothes hugging her and I hate that. Hate leaving a makeup trail. If they fix that issue I might try it again.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Joy R
09.20.2014
Surprised and Impressed

I have been wearing high end foundations my whole life, so based on Paula's Best of the Best, I decided to try this foundation in a store that honors returns in case this didn't work for me. Anyway, this is a fabulous foundation for my dry skin! My skin looks airbrushed, I use Sandy Beige, perfect for my NC 30 skin tone. Thanks Paula!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Janice C
08.24.2014
Great Foundation for Less!

I have been a Bobbi Brown makeup user for several years. However, as her cost keeps rising, I no longer can justify paying so much for the foundation and decided it was time for a change . I read Paula's reviews on different foundations and decided to try this Airbrush foundation and I really love it! It gives me just enough coverage, doesn't feel heavy and goes on smoothly. I have oily/combo skin and it works well for me. I'm very happy with the results!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Robin P.
04.01.2014
Not impressed

Doesn't cover pores all that well and gets shiny very quickly. Best for dryer skin types I would think, not combo. Medium coverage.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Julia
02.16.2014
Nice foundation but oily T zone

This is a very nice foundation, but shows more oily skin than other foundations so be prepared to compensate for this. Medium coverage.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lauran M.
01.25.2014
one more thing...

I wouod add that I wish Maybelline could provide a way to try the different colors before buying the product. It's difficult to know what matches skin tone if you can't try it first.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
jen
01.25.2014
Finally!

My favorite foundation was discontinued from Clinique so I have been franctically looking for another one that gives a dewy but not oily finish. I am not kidding when I say I have probably 20+ samples of the department store products that I've tried. Nothing looked natural. Finally my friend suggested to look at the drug store world. The name "dream mousse airbrush finish" sounded good so I tried it. Absolutely great! Not dryng but not oily. Gives a beautiful natural look and stays on.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
jen
01.20.2014
Lovely foundation!

I love this and trust the team's reviews as they always seem to work! This foundation is so smooth and applies perfectly with a brush. I use the Sephora foundation brush. It looks natural and semi-matte. It is alcohol and fragrance free. Great price! This and Urban Decay's Naked Skin are my favorites!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Katie
09.29.2013
Love this stuff

Goes on smoothly, blends easily and seems to disappear into the skin. Does not settle in my pores like some other foundations. My only complaint is that it disappears by mid afternoon. I believe the humid climate I live in and my oily t-zone are the culprits. Wish it had more staying power for my skin type/climate and sunscreen! Great quality foundation at a bargain Drugstore price!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
H
09.21.2013
One of the best foundations at the drugstore

This delightful foundation applies easily and smoothly and looks very skin like and not at all heavy. It does not exagerate wrinkles and fine lines. It gives light to medium coverage which can be easily layered to cover imperfections. It wears well for hours and removes easily. I have bought department store foundations for four times the price that didn't look half as good as this one.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Alexandra M.
09.09.2013
Absolutely gorgeous foundation!

I have tried sooooo many foundations! Usually expensive department store brands. This one I like better than anything I've bought from Chanel, Laura Mercier, etc. I feel like it makes my skin look flawless without feeling or looking heavy. I use Smashbox photo finish foundation primer underneath. I have combo skin and it's perfect! Highly recommend!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Audrey P.
06.19.2013
Great foundation!

Seeing this foundation listed as BEST, I had to give it a try. It is a great foundation! I currently use the Light 5 shade for my fair to medium skin tone. As summer goes on though, this color will become to light for my skin tone. I have some old scarring from adult acne in my 30's & early 40's and this foundation does decently well with coverage to minimize their appearance (not cover mind you). Great price point as well! My oily skin does need powder to set during the warmer months.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
JoAnne D
01.20.2013
Beautiful skin!

After trying two very expensive foundations (and not being impressed), I discovered Paula's reviews and decided to try a drugstore foundation that was rated high. As an added bonus, it was on sale where I found it! I am fair/ pinkish colouring with combination skin. This product blends incredibly well and you have time to work it in before it sets. I would call the coverage light to medium with a perfect natural finish. Not too dewy like some foundations but not flat either. Both times I have worn it I have been given compliments on my skin. First time I wore it I powdered my t zone out of habit- wore perfectly through the day. Second time I didn't powder my t zone and was happy to find that it doesn't promote oil break through like some foundations I've tried. Very happy with this inexpensive discovery!! Thanks for your website- it's nice to not waste money on beauty products )

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Janetgemstone
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.401 7/4/2015 5:16:13 AM