Unstoppable Smudge-Proof Waterproof Eyeliner

Price:
$7.23 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Eyeliners > Waterproof Eyeliner
Last Updated:
4/15/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Unstoppable Smudge-Proof Waterproof Eyeliner is an automatic, retractable pencil that applies swiftly without skipping and really doesn’t smudge, even with provocation. It’s waterproof, too, yet removes easily. The only drawback is its slightly tacky finish. That’s a minor issue for such an outstanding pencil, and with the exception of Jade, the color selection is reliable. Note: Maybelline does claim that this product is "self-sharpening"; to clarify, there is no sharpening mechanism in this eyeliner. The tip twists up, and can be twisted back down.

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996 and that's when things really started getting much better. Both companies specialize in offering a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, and many of their foundations have the same strengths and weaknesses (smooth textures and finishes plus the inclusion of sunscreens that are often without much-needed UVA-protecting ingredients).

The powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor are impressive and inexpensive. Although L'Oreal remains the more sophisticated and refined of the two lines (and now they have credible products, not just sleek ads, to back this assertion), Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Price-wise, Maybelline is the least expensive of the L'Oreal-owned cosmetic lines (which also includes Lancome, Biotherm, Vichy, and Kiehl’s), and smart shoppers will note the similarities among brands that, with conscientious shopping, can really save you money without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Liz B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 14, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Smudges
    • I have given this liner a try for many months. Within 3 hours, the liner smudges down my eyes and practically disappears by lunch time. This does not last all day like I need it to while at work.

  2. Carol C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 12, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Doesn't Last
    • I have oily eyelids as well. Application is easy and looks good immediately after, but after an hour or so begins to melt off. Still on a quest for liner that lasts on oily eyelids...this liner could possibly work for someone with dry skin.

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Maybe not for oily eyelids
    • I have very oily eyelids, so maybe that's why this product lasted about 2 hours. It does go on easily and makes a nice line, so maybe this would work well for someone without oily skin.

  4. Sandy E.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Disappointed
    • I was disappointed in this eye liner. Yes, it does go on in a smooth line and holds well on the eyelid but after I took an unscheduled nap, I had smudges under my eyes and I know it was the eye liner since I bought Sapphire and the smudges were blue. This was after it had been on all day too.

  5. Aneta
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Another fabulous product from Maybelline
    • This eye liner is the best! It is identical to, if not better than Lancome's Le Stylo Waterproof that I used to buy (and overspend on) for years. It goes one easily, even slightly creamy, but it wears well throughout the day and doesn't smear. The black and couple of brown colors are great. This pencil and Lancome's Le Stylo must be made by the same manufacturer...

  6. DANA M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great automatic waterproof eyeliner
    • I tried this product in Nov 2012 in expresso & cinnabar brown. I am fair skinned have 38 yr old slightly oily, wrinkly eyelids, crowsfeet w/sensitive eyes that don’t water. I was excited at the price & waterproof aspect & this did not disappoint! This In fact for special occasions you could apply to your inner rim waterline & it doesn’t burn during application. It also stays put & wears for hours YIPPEE! I preferred the darker brown of expresso to the lighter cinnabar but I have & like both. Please note Cinnabar is too light for the inner rim-waterline & I am fair skinned. This product received an Paula’s rating of BEST. A similar product just in case they are out of your preferred color is Rimmel Exaggerate Waterproof eye definer which received an Paula’s rating of BEST & comes with a built in sharpener even though this is an automatic pencil so you can obtain a precise tip.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.344 10/22/2014 10:33:59 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.