12.02.2014
15
Maybelline New York
Volum’ Express Mascara The Falsies Big Eyes
Rating
$7.99
Category:Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:Yes
Overview

Maybelline scores again with another remarkable mascara! Further proof that some of the best mascaras can be found at the drugstore, this is actually two mascaras in one, though each shares the same formula. The dual-sided component has an "upper lashes" mascara at one end and a "lower lashes" mascara on the other. As we mentioned, the mascara formula is the same—the difference is the brush size.

The brush for the upper lashes is standard size and has variegated bristles with make it easy to get clump-free length and a good amount of thickness. A few coats with this brush produces seriously big, full lashes that, yes, approach the look of false eyelashes, no adhesive required!

The brush for lower lashes is ideally suited for those tiny, feather-like lashes. It's very small and thin, so you can get in between lower lashes whether you use a gentle back-and-forth swiping motion with the brush held vertically or whether you simply sweep it on holding the brush horizontally. Granted, you may not want to put mascara on lower lashes at all (many women can get away without mascara on these lashes) but if you're going for a more dramatic, false lash look, applying this to lower lashes is a must to complete the picture.

Overall, this is easy to apply, doesn't flake, and holds up well throughout the day. Note that if you apply a creamy concealer or eye cream around your lower lashes, it can cause this to smear, but that's not the fault of this particular mascara—any rich product applied around the eyes will cause the ingredients in mascara to break down.

As is true for most mascaras, this is fragrance-free.

Pros:
  • One formula, two brushes—and the brush for lower lashes is excellent.
  • Quickly lengthens and thickens lashes for dramatic results without clumps.
  • Wears without flaking.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Maybelline New York At-A-Glance

Strengths: At least one excellent product (if not several) in almost every category; many excellent foundations; superior mascaras; inexpensive makeup brushes; some terrific concealers, powders, blush, and lip color options.

Weaknesses: Some of the foundations with sunscreen lack the right UVA-protecting ingredients; disappointing lip balms; the Great Lash mascaras tend to be mediocre to downright bad.

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996 and that's when things really started getting much better. Both companies specialize in offering a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, and many of their foundations have the same strengths and weaknesses (smooth textures and finishes plus the inclusion of sunscreens that are often without much-needed UVA-protecting ingredients).

The powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor are impressive and inexpensive. Although L'Oreal remains the more sophisticated and refined of the two lines (and now they have credible products, not just sleek ads, to back this assertion), Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Price-wise, Maybelline is the least expensive of the L'Oreal-owned cosmetic lines (which also includes Lancome, Biotherm, Vichy, and Kiehl’s), and smart shoppers will note the similarities among brands that, with conscientious shopping, can really save you money without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Great washable mascara

This is a great masacara, comparable to much pricier, high end ones. It doesn't clump if you are carefull. The tiny, bottom lash brush can also be used for precise application on top lashes that the bigger brush hasn't caught. It stays on with very little fallout. But what I love about this mascara is how easy you can wash it out in the evening, without a special remover! I usually take it off while washing my face, using my regular cleanser!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Audrey
Monday, February 09, 2015
Such potential.

This mascara has potential but I think the big brush ruins what positives there are about the mascara itself. The tiny bottom-lash brush is AMAZING and it separates and defines lashes wonderfully. I've used the small brush on my upper lashes as well and while it doesn't add enough of the product to make an impact it has potential. Unfortunately the brush intended for the upper lashes makes the same product clump and glob so that two coats is impossible, it just looks slept-in and cakey

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Tracy G.
Monday, November 17, 2014
Worst mascara award 2014

I bought this because of the best of 2014 pick review and it has to be the worst mascara I've tried. After trying this off and on for weeks and ruining my eye makeup a few times, this went right in the garbage. Wet, gloppy, clumpy and heavy even with one coat...forget the 2nd one it just gets horribly worse. Combing to get clumps out produces flakes all over and unevenly coated lashes that look horrible. So frustrating I wanted to scream! Wrong pick on this PC!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rebecca
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
dry and clumpy

The only thing I liked about this mascara was the small brush for lower lashes. That part is actually ingenious and works great. Other than that, I wasn't happy with this mascara. It comes out clumpy on the brush and requires many, many coats to get good length or volume. Unfortunately (in this case), it also dries very quickly, leaving little time to fix the clumps. It made my lashes feel dry and brittle.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Laura H.
Monday, September 22, 2014
Not Impressed

I was not overly impressed by this product. I was expecing nice long lashes, but did not get that at all. I found it was normal mascara. Although I did like the brush for the bottom lashes.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Patricia
Monday, July 28, 2014
does what it says

I have tried many of Paula's recommendations for mascara. This one is a winner for me! I love the application..it gives me long volumized lashes quickly and it does not flake, smear or clump on me. If there are any clumps it is easily smoothed out with my metal eyelash comb.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Lisa B.
Sunday, June 29, 2014
Shocked this is best of the best

This mascara is awful. It clumps and flakes no matter how many times I wiped the wand. Throughout the day it leaves little specs under my eyes. It smears across my eyelid while applying. I'm not sure if I got a dud tube but I will not ever buy this mascara again.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Lauren
Monday, April 28, 2014
Finally Me Too

I'm 73. I stopped wearing mascara because my eyes started itching immediately and no mascara has ever made by lashes look better. Then i saw this one on Paula's Best of the Best list, bought it (I'm obsessive about her recommendations) and LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I look good again! Thanks to Paula and her Team.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Pat M
Sunday, April 06, 2014
Returned it

After about 2 hours of applying this mascara, it started flaking off. Small black specs fell off onto my skin under my eyes. I had to check in the mirror every hour to remove more black specs. Would not recommend this product.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
TK
Friday, April 04, 2014
Clumpy

I trust Paula's reviews, but this mascara was a waste of money. It clumped and flaked. I used it twice and then set it aside. :(

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Thursday, October 17, 2013
I returned it

I tried this mascara after reading not only Paula's review but those of others as well. It took me visiting 3 different stores to finally find it (and according to the store I found it at - it was new for fall of '13). First time I pulled the regular wand out of the tube the mascara was clumpy, so I took a tissue and wiped it off and tried again - clumpy still. The smaller wand and product were fine but I didn't buy this to just use one end of the wand. Returned 2 days later.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Peggy F.
Thursday, September 19, 2013
Fantastic mascara

I am thrilled with this mascara! No clumping or flaking, easy application and great long and thick lashes. A great price as well. I will definitely be getting this one again.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
STACEY P.
Sunday, September 08, 2013
Best tried yet

Paula is right, this mascara makes me look as if I have false lashes! I only use the wand for my top lashes since I don't like mascara on the bottom lashes, but I don't care that I am only using half of the product. This wears all day without smearing, flaking, or traveling. Plus, I can get it for around $7 at some stores!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Debra C.
Monday, August 12, 2013
Finally

No mascara has ever worked for me. This one does.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Lisa H.
Sunday, June 23, 2013
big o eyes

I simply love what it does. i a great mascara. it does make my eyes and eyelashes very big 100%.thank you mayb.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
maria r
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.369 3/2/2015 2:47:50 PM