Volum’ Express The Falsies Mascara Black Drama

by Maybelline New York   Volum' Express
Price:
$6.99 
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:
3/24/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This excellent mascara demands careful application to avoid getting excess product above and below your lashline, but it produces big, long lashes with decent thickness. You’ll see some slight clumping but it’s easily combed out. The results are made more dramatic because the “black drama” color is so inky-dark. Although this doesn’t replace the effect false lashes can have, it comes close—and is much easier to apply and remove than falsies!

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996 and that's when things really started getting much better. Both companies specialize in offering a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, and many of their foundations have the same strengths and weaknesses (smooth textures and finishes plus the inclusion of sunscreens that are often without much-needed UVA-protecting ingredients).

The powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor are impressive and inexpensive. Although L'Oreal remains the more sophisticated and refined of the two lines (and now they have credible products, not just sleek ads, to back this assertion), Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Price-wise, Maybelline is the least expensive of the L'Oreal-owned cosmetic lines (which also includes Lancome, Biotherm, Vichy, and Kiehl’s), and smart shoppers will note the similarities among brands that, with conscientious shopping, can really save you money without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. JOANN K.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 29, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Figured out how ti use this mascara
    • Not wanting to use a waterproof mascara, I have been using Cover Girl's Clump Crusher water resistant but wanted more oomph. I use CG on my lower lashes first and then it's my "base coat" on top lashes. Then I go over my upper lashes with the Black Drama, pushing my lashes up, holding my finger there for a five to ten seconds as this mascara is wetter than CG's. But it's a super black nascara and my skimpy, short lashes are visible, with curled lashes that hold up all day! Love it! Try it!

  2. LGW
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 12, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Looks cheap
    • It is messy, it clumps and flakes. Couldn't wait to get back home to wash it off. It is cheap and it looks cheap!

  3. K. T.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 28, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    doesn't work for me
    • This mascara begins chipping off when I am applying it. By the end of the day, I have flakes of mascara all around my eyes. Even though it makes my lashes look fairly thick, the mess it makes is not worth it.

  4. MarinaD
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Good product
    • While it gives appreciable length and volume, the inky black color is the icing on the cake. The only minor caveat is that you have to apply it with

  5. LL
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    I take back my last review
    • Don't know what they did to the formula (even the brush feels more stiff/plastic like), did not give the high drama falsie look...& worse, it was a smeary mess within 2hours. Boo hoo:(

  6. Aimee M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Flakes off
    • I had high hopes for this mascara, but I have to agree with the reviewer who complained about the product clumping and flaking off during the day. I wiped the brush quite a bit before applying, but it still clumped and left residue on my face throughout the day. I loved the Full n Soft, which I think is discontinued. Hate to say it, but I think I'm giving up on drugstore mascaras. Clinique makes great mascara, and at $16 it's really not that expensive.

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 06, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Bad Mascara
    • I review BEFORE I buy..........I agree with most product reviews. Unfortunately, I do not think the mascara is worthwhile. FIRST of all, the brush is loaded with the product, the mascara goes on clumpy and throughout my day - the mascara flaked. I only used one coat. I would not recommend this mascara and I will buy another BEST product today. I really appreciate this site and all the research that has been done. I am done buying products that do not work.

  8. SARA
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Great results, but inconsistent.
    • i used to love this mascara, but lately every tube clumps and flakes within a few weeks of opening. I've tried various iterations of the Falsies line, and they all seem to do the same thing of late. However, this is a recent development, and prior to that, I LOVED this mascara - seriously nothing like it. If you can find a tube that doesn't dry out/flake, it's worth it. The most dramatic lashes I've ever seen without false lashes added.

  9. LL
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Awesome False Eyelash look!
    • Wow--Pleasantly Surprised...I buy Trish McEvoy High Volume but when in a pinch, this is definitely my go-to..it gives extraordinary lush ong big fat lashes that last all day. I'd use it more often but I hate bothering w/ eye makeup remover..& although removes easily, definitely needs the help of a remover.

  10. Savvy
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 23, 2012
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love it
    • This is the only mascara I have repurchased over and over again. For me, it gives my lashes length and volume. The thing I think is cool about it is it starts to get thick after three months, which is when you should replace it. I seriously recommend this to all of my friends. For some reason, nothing else comes close. However, I should say that my lashes are naturally long so I don't really need a lengthening mascara. If you have lashes like me, and just want some luscious volume so your lashes don't get lost in your dramatic eye looks (or even on it's own without eyeshadow), this is absolutely perfect. MY FAVE!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.355 11/27/2014 3:32:00 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off + FREE Shipping on Everything   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.