06.27.2013
2
0
Complete Reform
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $69
Category:Skin Care > AHA Exfoliants > AHA
Last Updated:06.27.2013
Jar Packaging:No
pH:3.60
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This alpha hydroxy acid (AHA) lotion exfoliant contains approximately 10% glycolic acid and it's pH is within the range needed for exfoliation to occur. The lightweight formula also contains some anti-irritants and several antioxidants, including some that you don't often see in skin-care products. All of this is what you want from a well-formulated AHA product, so why the POOR rating? Lavender oil. This fragrant plant oil can cause cell death and oxidative damage even when present in small amounts, so it's a deal-breaker in any leave-on product (Sources: Contact Dermatitis, September 2008, pages 143–150; and Cell Proliferation, June 2004, pages 221–229).

Given the number of effective (and less expensive) AHA products that omit this and other irritants, why go for one that puts your skin at risk instead of providing the best possible care?

Pros:
  • Contains an effective amount of AHA glycolic acid formulated within the correct pH range for efficacy.
  • Anti-irritants and antioxidants provide further benefit to aging skin.
Cons:
  • Expensive.
  • Lavender oil may smell soothing, but fragrance isn't skin care, and lavender oil is a proven skin irritant.

More Info:

Lavender oil's irritation factor for skin is high even when present in low amounts. The irritation it causes can impair your skin's healing process and ability to produce healthy collagen. Please see our list of Best AHA Exfoliants for superior options.

Claims

A patented, multi-benefit treatment that transforms skin by increasing firmness 61% after just one application while also improving skin texture to reveal softer, smoother skin.

Ingredients

Water, Glycolic Acid, PPG-12/SMDI Copolymer, Sodium Hydroxide, Sclerotium Gum, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour, Dicaprylyl Maleate, Xanthophyll, Astaxanthin, Beta-Carotene, Zea Mays (Corn) Oil, Hydrolyzed Soybean Fiber , Punica Granatum Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Pollen Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil Unsaponifiables, Olea Europaea (Olive) Oil Unsaponifiables, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil Unsaponifiables, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Ascorbic Acid, Butylene Glycol, Chitosan, Propyl Gallate, Zinc Gluconate, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Sodium PCA, Proline, Sodium Lactate, Sorbitol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Linalool, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Titanium Dioxide

Brand Overview

Murad At-A-Glance

Strengths: A few good cleansers; a selection of well-formulated AHA products centered on glycolic acid; most of Murad's top-rated products are fragrance-free; the sunscreens go beyond the basics and include several antioxidants for enhanced protection.

Weaknesses: Expensive; no other dermatologist-designed line has more problem products than Murad; irritating ingredients are peppered throughout the selection of products, keeping several of them from earning a recommendation; the skin-lighteners are not well-formulated.

Dr. Murad was one of the first doctors to appear on an infomercial selling his own line of skin-care products, and quite successfully so, at least the second time around. This was largely because the company paid for independent clinical studies to establish the efficacy of Dr. Murad's products. There's no question that AHA products, when well-formulated, can be a powerful ally to create healthier, radiant skin. But in terms of independent clinical studies, we're skeptical, given that there are countless labs that exist solely to perform such studies in strict accordance with how the company wants the results to turn out. Murad certainly wouldn't mention in an infomercial that the clinical studies for his AHA products weren't as impressive as, say, those for Neutrogena's AHA products, or any other line for that matter. And what about BHA products? Clinical studies and testimonials may have prompted consumers to order, but the results from Murad's AHA products are hardly unique to this line.

Although this is a skin-care line to consider for some good AHA options, the majority of the products are nothing more than a problem for skin. Murad may have been one of the first dermatologist-developed skin-care lines, but by today's standards his line is deplorable. This is largely due to a preponderance of irritating ingredients that show up in product after product. Any dermatologist selling products that include lavender, basil, and various citrus oils plus menthol and other irritants doesn't deserve to be taken seriously. The same goes for Murad's overuse of alcohol and his preference for treating acne with sulfur, both factors that keep some of his otherwise well-formulated, efficacious products from earning a recommendation.

Yet what is most objectionable is the endless parade of products claiming they can stop, get rid of, or reduce wrinkles and aging. Regardless of whether dermatologists know best about lotions and potions, no conscientious doctor would or should be selling products using the ludicrous claims Murad makes. Most of the anti-aging products have the same hype, the same unsubstantiated claims, and the same exaggeration about the beneficial effects of ingredients that are often present only in the tiniest amounts, without even a mention of the standard or potentially irritating ingredients that are also present. Dr. Murad’s skin-care philosophy, stated on his Web site, includes the following statement: "Take all the necessary steps to achieve healthy skin—including the right products, the proper nutrients (from both food and supplements) and positive lifestyle choices." That's an excellent piece of advice; the problem is that it is contradicted by Murad’s own products, most of which are far from the "right" options for all skin types.

For more information about Murad, call (888) 996-8723 or visit www.murad.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
10.12.2014
So far, so good

I've only been using this for a week, and I am already noticing a more even tone, and smoothness to the skin. I hope it will help with some scars, we shall see. The texture is nice and a little goes a long way, 1 pump will do your face and neck generously. I feel its a little on the high priced, but it's good stuff! One thing for me, I only use this at night. I tried it one morning after shaving and wowza did that sting! (I'm a 31 male).

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Collin
09.25.2014
Not impressed with Murad at all!

I could only find the tester so I tried it with out knowing the ingredients. I wasn't impressed. I paired it with hydro-dynamic moisturizer and that has drying alcohols not a big fan of that product either. Very over-priced. Not a fan really of murad. 3 of 3 products I tried so far are misses for me.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Annette D.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.399 6/29/2015 10:34:48 PM