12.02.2014
11
1280
Sheer Glow Foundation
Rating
$44
Category:Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This liquid foundation has one of the best, most extensive range of shades we've seen in a long time! Whether your skin is porcelain, ebony, or somewhere in between, you’re likely to find a good match from this silky liquid foundation. Its silicone-enhanced base has a good amount of slip for precise, controlled blending and it sets to a soft matte finish that looks quite natural.

Despite the name, this is neither sheer nor all that glow-y on skin. Coverage is in the light to medium range, and getting to medium coverage doesn’t require much foundation. Sheer Glow Foundation is best for normal to oily skin, including breakout-prone skin. The formula contains a tiny amount of antioxidants, but they’re not going to impart much benefit to skin. With such a vast array of shades, you're bound to find an ideal match. Overall, well done, NARS!

Claims
Ingredients

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Butylene, Glycol, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethylhexanoin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Bis-butydimethicone Polyglyceryl-3 Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Glutamate, Sorbitan Sesquiisostearate, 1-Methylhdantoin-2-Imide, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Polysilocone-2, Serralysin, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract, Glycuosyl Hesperidin, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Tocopherol May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides

Brand Overview

NARS At-A-Glance

Strengths: Superior foundations and foundation shade options; excellent blushes; splurge-worthy lipsticks; beautiful bronzers and consistently impressive color products.

Weaknesses:Can be expensive; a few skincare formulas contain high amounts of fragrance.

Frenchman Francois Nars has been painting the faces of New York's top models since arriving in the United States in 1984. Their images and his handiwork have been seen on the covers of countless fashion magazines, most notably Vogue and Elle. As the story often goes for the talented makeup artists who have become celebrities in their own right, Nars became frustrated with the state of available makeup and, surprise, another cosmetic line was born.

Beginning (as Bobbi Brown did) by launching a small collection of lipsticks in 1994, the clamor for the colors was incredible, and demand for more NARS products from the artist grew. Shortly thereafter an entire product line followed, gaining attention with vibrant, deeply pigmented colors, sleek, tactile-enhanced packaging and risqué shade names.

As an overview, NARS makeup has many strengths—it reaches its zenith with blushes, tinted moisturizer, foundations, brushes, and lipsticks. If you’re a fan of bold colors, you’ll find them here, and the brand offers consistently impressive foundations and concealers. NARS consistently impresses when it comes to offering a wide range of shades to suit nearly any skin tone.

Where NARS often falls short is in the amount of fragrance added to many of their skincare formulas. In some cases, the amount and specific fragrance ingredients chosen outweigh the potential benefits, so be sure to double check their review before buying. Overall, NARS offers a lot to love, and if you don’t mind splurging a bit (as their prices can be on the spendy side) there are quite a few makeup picks that come with our highest recommendations.

For more information about NARS, owned by Shiseido, call (888) 788-6277 or visit www.narscosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.17.2015
Nice, but...

This makeup has a lovely texture and silky feel when on the face. I was skeptical because of the name, associating glow with shiny, but not so. It's very liquid, and doesn't make sense for NARS to make you pay an extra $6 for the pump! So I don't plan to buy it. :-(

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
MARY S.
06.05.2015
Is the turmeric in this foundation an irritant?

Turmeric is listed as an ingredient. In your site's ingredient dictionary, turmeric is categorized as an "anti-irritant," but in the description you write "Because it is a potent spice, it also may have irritating properties." I am confused. I have rosacea and have used a sample of this foundation for less than a day, without irritation, but now I am wondering if I should continue?

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
M
06.05.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  In small amounts, such as in this foundation, turmeric has anti-irritant properties and you should be absolutely fine using it!  If it were in a high concentration, we'd recommend those with sensitive skin skip it.  

—Admin
05.11.2015
NEEDS A PUMP

This really needs a pump. its not easy to try and get out of the bottle. very frustrating. I love the natural finish. The shade range is wonderful and i finally found a foundation that matches perfect. Would like more of a 'glow' though , especially since that is the name.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.28.2015
Not Sheer / No Glow / No PUMP / NO GO

Color is the only good thing I can say about this VERY Expensive foundation. It is supposed to be sheer, glow, good for dry skin. It makes me dry, picks up every flake, there is no glow and it is not sheer. I call that False Advertising. NO PUMP. You have to pay more for a pump. Seriously, I can get a better foundation at the drugstore.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.29.2014
Good foundation

This foundation truly looks like skin. I am very confused by the name because it is neither sheer nor glowy. It is very lightweight yet has good coverage that is quite matt after it sets. Actually, you can build it up to pretty full coverage and I don't even need to set it with powder because of the dry finish. However, for this much money Nars could have included a pump and sunscreen!! Even drugstore brands include pumps with their foundations nowadays...

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
ANETA D.
10.30.2014
Best shade range ever!

I agree with Paula that this foundation is not glow-y and that it highlights any dry areas that aren't moisturized enough. However, I find this foundation to be very sheer in coverage. I started light and kept adding layers but it wasn't covering much. The shade range is astounding! The colors are all very real and there are so many wonderful shades for very fair skin. The color I got, siberia, is a perfect match for me which I've never had before, so I'm not sure if I am keeping it or not.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lauren
08.07.2014
An attractive foundation !

I like how foundation looks on. I just don't like the price tag. I'm finding you get what you pay for to a point. The make-up that I have that I really appreciate are not cheap.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Annette D.
03.17.2014
Decent but not a 5-star foundation

Great blendability but looks makeup-y on face...almost felt-like. I would choose Lancome Renergie over this foundation. Glad the other reviewers like but my results weren't as impressive. Be careful to test as many of the shades run very yellow or pink. Test at Sephora.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
LL
03.01.2014
LOVE THIS!!!

THIS IS THE BEST FOUNDATION EVER! I am 48 and this foundation just compliments my skin beautifully! I also use the Nars loose powder!! Perfect combo.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.06.2014
It's a "Wow"!

I was happy with MUFE hi def makeup for years, but I was "just looking" to make sure there wasn't something better I was missing. At sephora I asked for a more radiant look for my over 50 complexion. I tried a sample of this Nars one & couldn't believe how it melted in to my skin but made it look pretty flawless without that dry look! I am now sold! By the way, it holds up well for many hours too. Love this stuff!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Linda R
05.03.2013
Thrilled to find this!

This foundation looks so natural and goes on easily. You would not believe how many foundations I have gone through this year, trying to find the one that works best with my moisturizer with sunscreen. This may seem pricey, buy I have tried some that cost more, and some that cost less, and this is the clear winner! I have combination skin, and I am 61 years old, so I am having problems with make-up settling in lines, this DOESN'T! It's not greasy looking either. Highly recommend!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Carolyn M.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Beauty.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.405 7/31/2015 4:32:58 AM