11.26.2014
68
17
Nerium AD
Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $80
Category:Skin Care > Serums > Serums
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Overview

Lots of you have been asking about Nerium AD, possibly because you know someone who sells it or perhaps you stumbled across web sites selling it while searching for anti-aging skin care online. However you found out about it, we're here to tell you to forget about it. Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment is not the anti-wrinkle answer. It's also not the solution for hyperpigmentation, uneven skin tone, or enlarged pores.

As the story (often) goes, the key ingredient in this serum (a plant known as Nerium oleander) was being researched for other purposes when it was discovered to have so-called miraculous skin care benefits. The company behind this product (Texas-based Nerium International) didn't need long to realize they could use this discovery to get a toehold in the burgeoning anti-aging skin care market, and thus another allegedly amazing anti-wrinkle product with "real results" was born.

Nerium International is a direct sell, multi-level marketing business, which means you can sign up to sell Nerium AD to others (friends, family, co-workers) and then recruit these people to be part of your team, where you earn a portion of their commission. These "brand partners" are paid commission and can earn incentives (like a free iPad) for their sales, similar to the business model of brands such as Amway (Quixtar). There's nothing wrong with selling product this way, if what you're selling is worth buying!

Nerium International only makes one skin-care product, and Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment is it. The product is supposedly for all skin types, and, for the most part, the ingredient list bears that out. But the ingredient list also makes a few mistakes in terms of how ingredients are disclosed. For example, "NAE-8"; is a trademarked ingredient blend that contains aloe and the allegedly superior nerium oleander leaf. Those ingredients should be listed by themselves, not preceded by "NAE-8";—but it does make the formula see more technical and special. Other than nerium oleander leaf (discussed below) this serum's ingredients are fairly commonplace: aloe, some skin-repairing ingredients, slip agent, plant oil, several thickeners, preservatives, fragrance, and vitamin E.

Although the product will hydrate and make skin feel smoother and softer, so will countless other skin-care products that don't have Nerium AD's price tag or unsupported claims. Also, please know that the collagen and elastin in this product cannot fuse with or shore up these substances in your skin. They simply do not work this way, nor would you want them to (because over time you'd be applying enough collagen and elastin to leave you with lumpy, uneven skin where areas had too much collagen and elastin built).

Back to nerium oleander leaf: it's poisonous and potentially fatal if consumed orally, which isn't how this product should be used but using any plant on your face with that kind of toxic profile should give you pause. Specific to topical use, there is no published, substantiated research proving this plant extract has any special or unique properties for aging skin, uneven skin tone, or large pores. There was one animal study showing oleander's anti-inflammatory benefit, but lots of plants offer this benefit without the risks involved with oleander.

Other research has shown is that nerium oleander leaf is a potent insecticide and it interrupts the cellular process known as mitosis, a process of cellular division that affects the body's chromosomes. None of this is appealing when we're talking skin care and the risks involved make nerium oleander a plant to leave off your skin (Sources: Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, March 2004, pages 361-369; Veterinary and Human Toxicology, February 1999, pages 9–15; and www.naturaldatabase.com).

Bottom line: although this product contains some beneficial ingredients, what makes it unique is also what makes it potentially problematic—and there is no reliable research to support the wonderful things that plant is said to do for skin. If you want the anti-aging benefits of plants, there are many others to choose from that don't have much better safety and, even better, skin-improving profiles.

More information explaining the problems nerium oleander presents can be found here.

Claims

REAL RESULTS IN JUST DAYS! Have you heard Nerium AD is taking the anti-aging skin care treatment market by storm! Nerium harnesses the power of the unique nerium oleander plant. Scientists accidentally discovered neium oleander extracts to have miraculous results on your skin! Say bye bye to wrinkles, safely and effectively, naturally and safely.

Ingredients

NAE-8™ Proprietary Blend (Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Liquid, Nerium Oleander Leaf), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Liquid, Proprietary Protein (Collagen, Elastin, Glycosaminoglycans), Glycerin, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil, Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, C14-22 Alcohols, C12-20 Alkyl Glucoside, Cetearyl Glucoside and Cetearyl Alcohol, Vegetable Oil, Dicaprylyl Ether, Sodium Borate, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan) Powder, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Sodium Isostearoyl Lactylate, Dimethicone, Sodium PCA, Proprietary Blend (Caprylyl Glycol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Caprylate, Phenylpropanol), Fragrance, Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate, Tocopherol (Vitamin E)

Brand Overview

Nerium AD At-A-Glance

Strengths: None.

Weaknesses: Expensive; anti-wrinkle results not supported by substantiated research; product ingredient list does not follow FDA guidelines for ingredient disclosure (sorry, trade name mixtures are not allowed); "key" ingredient oleander leaf is a skin irritant; the formula pales when compared to today's best serums.

For details of the single product this brand sells, please see the review. For more information about Nerium AD, please call 835-463-7486 or visit www.nerium.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
03.06.2015
Nerium AD

Not being rude, but you couldn't be more wrong!! I have used it for a little over three weeks and the results are startling! Lines are diminished, eyelids are lifted, skin is brighter and firmer!!! Did you even try it?! And for those siting dryness and thickness....product is water and air activated. The more hot water the better!! It does have a tightening effect, not to be confused with dryness. So...bottom line...it works. I am proof.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.05.2015
I like Nerium

My skin looks great after using this product for a few months. The lines in my forehead are gone and my skin is soft and even. I only use 2 pumps of night cream on damp skin and the bottle lasts me 2 months.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Michelle
03.01.2015
Educate yourself about MLMs

*Please delete my previous comment. I feel badly calling Nerium a cult because the people who get sucked in are not bad people, just misinformed and brainwashed. Here is a better comment- I've seen good results with Nerium but the business behind it is questionable.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Mary
02.27.2015
SCIENCE!!

Okay....lets pretend that science and fact don't matter and don't exist. You can love it all you want.....just don't get it in your body ....it is poison. FACT....can't erase that with all the I LOVE ITS!! People are either not informed, blind to the facts, or reps for the product who are caught up in the pyramid scheme.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kathleen
02.27.2015
Greatest Results!

This by far is the only thing I've ever had any real results with that didn't cost me over $150. It takes some time, no over night miracles, patience is virtue but well worth the wait. It's taken away my wrinkled "tissue paper" looking skin and has smooth away the sun damage on my chest and shoulders. There is NO plumping or filling of the skin to create a facade. Read the directions people! Add water so it's not thick. It has a tightening effect at first so don't confuse w/dryness. I Love it!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
suz
02.25.2015
Changed my Life

I have been using this product for 16 months. I am 57 years old and had tried all the over the counter products for my dry skin. Within the first month I could tell a remarkable difference, and signed up to sell. Today, I wouldn't do without it. It Delivers! To those that said it was to thick...you must add water. To the ones that think its poisonous...it's not. On the official Nerium website you can find information on the safety of the product. 30% results. Box store results 4-6% results!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Stephanie E
02.25.2015
Definitely a Fail

I tried this product before Paula's Choice had reviewed it. I gave it a full 90 days. I took bare faced, unposed before and after photos and even did the one hand but not the other test. Nada! I liked the scent, it went on easily after I misted my face with water, but it didn't live up to the hype. The only change I detected was the texture of my skin was rougher. I had to return to what I knew worked to get my skin texture back to normal...4 months later.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Kelly H
02.23.2015
Very thick and drying

I bought this from a friend trying to help her out and wanting better skin…eh. Not for me. First, it's SUPER thick to the point where I found it difficult to apply. Second, my skin was extremely dry after using it and it actually made my skin appear worse with wrinkles after 2 weeks. After visiting my dermatologist….she agreed with Paula. Basically a waste of money. Buyer beware of the "positive" reviews, they likely come from sales representatives.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Danielle D
02.22.2015
Too late

You are to late to try and discount what this product can do it took 10 years off my face I love it!!!!!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lmorton
02.19.2015
Be your own judge

Be your own judge, I have tried thousands of dollars over the years of the "miracle" cream, lotion or serum. We all have skin and no one wants it to age. I loved the way NeriumAD felt on my skin just after 7days.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.16.2015
Temporary

Worked great for the first few months. Has done nothing for wrinkles or long term.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
K.A.
02.16.2015
Doesn't work

I've been using Narium for almost a year....I guess I expected miracles. Bottom line: It is very drying to skin and I have not seen any results in my skin, wrinkles, texture and especially pore size. A dermatologist told me that only Retin A products really work. I would not recommend this product.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.13.2015
Money Pit

Became a distributor in March, used the product for 6 months. I notice a difference the first month, and then nothing....needless to say I quit the business. I ran into a friend that I hadn't see in a while, and skin looked great, she told me she takes vitamins, and minerals,(Selenium). Uses Coconut oil on her face. Lets see

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.09.2015
Be VERY aware of possible reaction

Suffered terribly for over a wk after trying it for first time overnight. My skin literally lifted off my nose and other areas of my face resulting in what seemed to be a chemical burn. Horribly painful, I realize that I must be allergic to the Oleander. My biggest issue is that there needs to be an emphasis on possible negative reaction. I was given no warning, no instructions other than how to use it nor help when I called looking for advice on how to treat my raw, oozing sores. Be careful!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Kara C
02.09.2015
Don't waste your money

I tried it for 60 days (2 bottles) and did not see any results. Looking at my friends who sell it, I can't tell their skin looks any different either. Still have deep lines and discoloration. Please don't invest in the business or product.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.07.2015
Sorry Paula, You are dead wrong

I have tried almost every skin care product on the market. After spending 1,000s over the last 20 years, this product works! It must be used correctly and consistently. There is a small % of people that have allergies that it may not work for. As far as being poisonous, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to realize almost everything we put on our skin, wash our hair with (sulfates) or put on our fingernails (chemicals)shouldn't be ingested & is considered poisonous!My botox use just ended=Love!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.28.2015
Utahans are the most desperate & dumbest!

The good reviews come in Jan of course. It takes a elitist culture of membership seekers wanting to belong to the majority crowd to be so easily suckered into popular thinking that this product with no scientific proof would work especially when the major players are cosmetically altered head-to-toe. Utahans are so naive and driven to keep with the Jonses, and thy brother and sister. Watch the pyramid rise and fall. It's OK, next....

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
C. K
01.16.2015
Loved it

I love this product. Try it for yourself and make your own decision. FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS. I do not look my age, and credit that to great skin and good skincare practices. I tried this product and was amazed at the results in just 14 days. I am neither a preferred customer or a brand partner, just curious.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
MB
01.15.2015
Surprised

Nerium AD is an outstanding and amazing product. I 100% recommend this day/night creme. No matter where I discovered it I highly recommend this product and give it a top notch rating.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Maryanne C
01.13.2015
skeptical

I was very much a skeptic have tried the product for 8 months now and am please the most amazing result I got was I did one hand and not the other and received fantastic results everyone could not believe it. I have never had a dishwasher and believe me I have done more than my share of dishes over the years I am 64 yes old

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Dianne D
01.08.2015
I love nerium

I was shown nerium I am a skeptic. Was considering botox that is very expensive. I have deep wrinkles and large pores 45 yrs old. Took pic first night. On 7th night took pic. Big differnce in depth of wrinkles and pore size. Fell in love. So became a brand partner only because product works. Yes some people get rash maybe they quit to soon as it would stop. Nerium firm works wonders also. I tried many products that cost more and didnt have results.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Toni D
01.06.2015
AMAZING PRODUCT!!!

As many users, I was also skeptical at first when one of my co workers informed me of Nerium Ad. I read the reviews and after two years or so of contemplating and trying other products such as skinmedica, I went a head and give Nerium day and night cream. I have acne proned, oily and large pores and tried so many skin products that were so so. After one to two weeks of using Nerium, my complexion is much better, my skin looks tighter as well. I look more refreshed. And no more cyclic acne!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Nan
01.04.2015
AMAZING PRODUCT!

I have always had very sensitive skin - almost every product I've tried I break out... I don't even wear makeup because of it. I tried Nerium because my MUA for my photography business was a Brand Partner... after 6 days I became a preferred customer. I have never had anything work this well - ever... and now I've been using it for 5 months. I will 100% refer this to any of my clients, friends or family. LOVE!!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
JeanT.
12.30.2014
Skin Reacted within Minutes of Application

Luckily a friend let me try some so I didn't waste my money. I don't have sensitive skin and have used over the counter products my whole life and never had a reaction to anything applied to my skin. Within 5 minutes of applying Nerium, I broke out in a rash. It took over 12 hours for the little bumps and redness to go away! Thank goodness I did not invest in this garbage.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Rose J
12.04.2014
review

I've been using it for a little over 120days and have watched my crows feet fade away, and pore size shrink. I like that it is all natural and simple to use.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tom S
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.376 3/6/2015 3:51:14 PM