11.26.2014
115
19
Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $80
Category:Skin Care > Serums > Serums
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Lots of you have been asking about Nerium AD, possibly because you know someone who sells it or perhaps you stumbled across web sites selling it while searching for anti-aging skin care online. However you found out about it, we're here to tell you to forget about it. Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment is not the anti-wrinkle answer. It's also not the solution for hyperpigmentation, uneven skin tone, or enlarged pores.

As the story (often) goes, the key ingredient in this serum (a plant known as Nerium oleander) was being researched for other purposes when it was discovered to have so-called miraculous skin care benefits. The company behind this product (Texas-based Nerium International) didn't need long to realize they could use this discovery to get a toehold in the burgeoning anti-aging skin care market, and thus another allegedly amazing anti-wrinkle product with "real results" was born.

Nerium International is a direct sell, multi-level marketing business, which means you can sign up to sell Nerium AD to others (friends, family, co-workers) and then recruit these people to be part of your team, where you earn a portion of their commission. These "brand partners" are paid commission and can earn incentives (like a free iPad) for their sales, similar to the business model of brands such as Amway (Quixtar). There's nothing wrong with selling product this way, if what you're selling is worth buying!

Nerium International only makes one skin-care product, and Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment is it. The product is supposedly for all skin types, and, for the most part, the ingredient list bears that out. But the ingredient list also makes a few mistakes in terms of how ingredients are disclosed. For example, "NAE-8"; is a trademarked ingredient blend that contains aloe and the allegedly superior nerium oleander leaf. Those ingredients should be listed by themselves, not preceded by "NAE-8";—but it does make the formula seem more technical and special. Other than nerium oleander leaf (discussed below) this serum's ingredients are fairly commonplace: aloe, some skin-repairing ingredients, slip agent, plant oil, several thickeners, preservatives, fragrance, and vitamin E.

Although the product will hydrate and make skin feel smoother and softer, so will countless other skin-care products that don't have Nerium AD's price tag or unsupported claims. Also, please know that the collagen and elastin in this product cannot fuse with or shore up these substances in your skin. They simply do not work this way, nor would you want them to (because over time you'd be applying enough collagen and elastin to leave you with lumpy, uneven skin where areas had too much collagen and elastin built).

Back to nerium oleander leaf: it's poisonous and potentially fatal if consumed orally, which isn't how this product should be used but using any plant on your face with that kind of toxic profile should give you pause. Specific to topical use, there is no published, substantiated research proving this plant extract has any special or unique properties for aging skin, uneven skin tone, or large pores. There was one animal study showing oleander's anti-inflammatory benefit, but lots of plants offer this benefit without the risks involved with oleander.

Other research has shown is that nerium oleander leaf is a potent insecticide and it interrupts the cellular process known as mitosis, a process of cellular division that affects the body's chromosomes. None of this is appealing when we're talking skin care and the risks involved make nerium oleander a plant to leave off your skin (Sources: Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, March 2004, pages 361-369; Veterinary and Human Toxicology, February 1999, pages 9–15; and www.naturaldatabase.com).

Bottom line: although this product contains some beneficial ingredients, what makes it unique is also what makes it potentially problematic—and there is no reliable research to support the wonderful things that plant is said to do for skin. If you want the anti-aging benefits of plants, there are many others to choose from that don't have much better safety and, even better, skin-improving profiles.

More information explaining the problems nerium oleander presents can be found here.

Claims

REAL RESULTS IN JUST DAYS! Have you heard Nerium AD is taking the anti-aging skin care treatment market by storm! Nerium harnesses the power of the unique nerium oleander plant. Scientists accidentally discovered neium oleander extracts to have miraculous results on your skin! Say bye bye to wrinkles, safely and effectively, naturally and safely.

Ingredients

NAE-8™ Proprietary Blend (Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Liquid, Nerium Oleander Leaf), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Liquid, Proprietary Protein (Collagen, Elastin, Glycosaminoglycans), Glycerin, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil, Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, C14-22 Alcohols, C12-20 Alkyl Glucoside, Cetearyl Glucoside and Cetearyl Alcohol, Vegetable Oil, Dicaprylyl Ether, Sodium Borate, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan) Powder, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Sodium Isostearoyl Lactylate, Dimethicone, Sodium PCA, Proprietary Blend (Caprylyl Glycol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Caprylate, Phenylpropanol), Fragrance, Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate, Tocopherol (Vitamin E)

Brand Overview

Nerium AD At-A-Glance

Strengths: None.

Weaknesses: Expensive; anti-wrinkle results not supported by substantiated research; product ingredient list does not follow FDA guidelines for ingredient disclosure (sorry, trade name mixtures are not allowed); "key" ingredient oleander leaf is a skin irritant; the formula pales when compared to today's best serums.

For details of the single product this brand sells, please see the review. For more information about Nerium AD, please call 835-463-7486 or visit www.nerium.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
05.16.2015
Made my skin breakout and oily

Used this for a month and it made my skin very oily, fine lines seem worse, and my face has broke out.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Annonymous
05.15.2015
Results vary

I'm "close" to this but not in it. I've seen over a hundred people try it and/or buy it. I've seem amazing results in a several, moderate results in many, no change in some, and bad results in a few. It isn't the "magic potion" the cult of Nerium thinks it is, but like a chili recipe, every person is different and will respond differently to various combinations of ingredients in various amounts. Like chili, one may or may not like it, but you have to try it to see if it's for you.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kian O'Connell
05.14.2015
No obvious results

I used this product for 100 days and saw NO change in my skin whatsoever. I was talked into it by a friend who is selling the product, and assured it would not only reduce wrinkles but eliminate/soften my age spots. Sadly, the product did not live up to any of the claims made and amazingly a new brown age spot appeared on my left temple in the middle of the regime! Not at all impressed with the product performance and sad that I wasted my money!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Mary B
05.14.2015
Nerium is a great product

I use Nerium and am a huge fan! My experience with Nerium is completely contrary to what is written in this article. It just flat out works! Nerium is backed by scientific results out of Princeton University. The products have also been through a rigorous clinical study that also proves the effects of the products! The information in this article is just plain incorrect!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
John C
05.09.2015
A Nerium fan...

Love it love it! The results are amazing.. I am 74 years old and using Nerium for about a year. My skin looks like I am 20 years younger!! Brighter, clearer, less lines and wrinkles on my neck area.... Must use on a clean damp face and massage it in. Never go to bed with make on!!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Nora F
05.06.2015
Not for me.

I have been using this product for 7 mo. and I haven't seen any positive results. I have noticed a lot of blackheads and pimples. I think my fine wrinkles are worse.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.05.2015
I love it

I used it for 3 days only and my skin looks like never before. It doesn't smell good and usually good creams/lotions don't smell good. Cleaning your face before with a good smelling cleanser it's going to reduce the smell of the cream.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.04.2015
Disappointed

Using for about 6 months, no better than Clinique or Estee, and much more expensive. Very disappointed.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Sharon B
05.04.2015
Unbiased

I took advantage of the 5 day free trial... both,u to lose, right? I refused to send the bottle back, and imimmediately became a Brand Partner. DEEP sun wrinkles ( I'm an avid golfer ) all but gone, fine wrinkles on forehead and cries feet around my eyes... bye bye! MAY not be for everyone, but it's darn sure for me. Going to share the product and the opportunity with whomever I can.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Jim K.
05.03.2015
bad product

None of the above no star for this product. My recommendation is don't buy it your in for the shock of your life. It not only does not work it gives you wrinkles you never had before....and it's expensive for the small amount you get this is my fourth bottle!!!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
bonnie sangster s
04.29.2015
skeptic

I would love this product to be a dream come true. One that really holds the answers to alt of the questions in today's skin technology. We all know that there are many other skin treatments that round up near the thousands. This product is relatively cheap and gives the prospect-full partner an opportunity to engage a friend they can sell to. I am not convinced this product is no good. all i read on this scientist is a bunch of bad mouthing of a product, which is typical!!!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
ocan
04.29.2015
From personal experience-SAY YES TO NERIUM!

I love Nerium! I'm using it, my mom, sister, husband, brother, brother-in-law, and my 94 year old grandmother. We all love it. The guys have noticed that their razor burns have gone away, my texture is smootherand my black head pores are smaller. My mom has recently been complimented on her skin since using Nerium, people stating "her skin looks healthy and younger." I would say not all the info is listed or been found, because I've seen plenty of science back this stuff up!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.27.2015
Liars

I agreed to the week trial, because I felt roped in by a friend. I used the product once during the week and hated the smell. I did not tell the salesperson that I only used it once and so she sent me the before/after photos claiming that all of these fine lines had softened, etc. etc. Well, they obviously doctor your after photos, because I have done nothing different to my skin, other than use the product once. This just seems like a dishonest marketing ploy and shameful to do to a friend.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.27.2015
Love the products but . . .

I'm 68. I've used MANY products,cheap to expensive - BTW, Nerium I in the middle on the $$ scale. IT IS NOT FOR EVERYONE However, NEITHER IS ANY OTHER PRODUCT!! The company DOES stand behind the product so if you don't like it fine but why bash the company when they are First Class. Prior to Nerium Used a 5 step system @ 3 x's the cost which never gave me anywhere near the results that Nerium has in just 6 months. Love my results.As with any new product - go slowly at first for compatibility!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Olivia A.
04.24.2015
Way too much money

Had couple questions. Waited over hour got upset and ended up canceling next order. Now to reopen account order will be like $30 more a month. Was told bottls for face would last 2 month than told 1. Young peoeustake way too much money if they can spend $160 a month just on face. Lots of hungery children out there.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Mary redman
04.24.2015
Great Product but expensive

I love the results of this product but it is very expensive. Many people have made comments about how good my skin looks after only a month of use. I would love to see something similar for less.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Christina
04.24.2015
Not sure of this product

I am not sure about this product. I am using it now and this is my third week. My skin gets extremely dry, crusty and itchy. I have red patches particularly in my jaw line. Not even sure if this is a normal reaction. Had been using Skinceutical products and never irritated my skin at all. Should I stop using the product now?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.20.2015
Nerium has Oleander - A Poison!

Nerium has Oleander in it. Oleander is TOXIC!!! Why would anyone use it? I thought great product had been invented until I read the ingredients. READ them for yourself & then stay far away from a product that could cause some serious damage over time.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.18.2015
Watch out your ignorance is showing

I've been using this product for 2 years and will not use anything else. For those that have had bad experiences, you should probably see a dermatologist, because a few of my friends who have very sensitive skin, had ZERO issues and are relieved to have found something that works. And as far as the MLM, every job is a MLM when you think about it, the big difference is you receive the same ol paycheck instead of being able to increase your income for the work you put into it.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
RR
04.17.2015
Love this product!!!

My neck and jaw line in lot tighter and smoother. I look and feel younger. Been using for two months.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Debra Cullen
04.16.2015
Be open minded

It is easy to bad mouth a any product with out doing researches or using the product for a while to see what it does. Do you really know what kind of ingredients in the product or how much? Did you ever use this product and have bad results? Do you have a prove that amount of Nerium which comes from oreander plant in the cream that can harm the skin? If it was as bad as claimed why it is the most selling anti aging cream on the market last three years?

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
MirayY
04.15.2015
Wondering

I just started it two days ago. The smell of the night cream smells like Mary Kay's Timewise Even Complexion Essence. What is the ingredient that gives them both the same smell?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Sharon L
04.28.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  The only ingredients that are reoccuring in the two products are glycerin, dimethicone, and sodium PCA - none of which should contribute to a scent, so we're unsure of what it may be.  Sorry!

—Admin
04.14.2015
Got good results

It has worked really well for me.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Maryp
04.14.2015
As one who tried to sell it and use it... BAD!

ZERO STARS! My clients hated it and it is an over priced rip off for the clients and the independent contractors trying to sell the horrible product! Stay away from selling it!! If you like your skin for $100 per month... good for you. DO NOT INVEST. What a typical online/mlm scam just like mailing envelops for money.... not happening. After two years they are still using my email address to solicit my contacts. What a company!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Todd
04.13.2015
worst product ever!!

After 7 mos This product ruined my skin! 0 stars

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Chris
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.394 5/26/2015 5:14:59 AM