Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment

by Nerium AD  
Price:
$80 - 1 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Serums > Serums
Last Updated:
11/6/2012
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Lots of you have been asking about Nerium AD, possibly because you know someone who sells it or perhaps you stumbled across web sites selling it while searching for anti-aging skin care online. However you found out about it, we're here to tell you to forget about it. Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment is not the anti-wrinkle answer. It's also not the solution for hyperpigmentation, uneven skin tone, or enlarged pores.

As the story (often) goes, the key ingredient in this serum (a plant known as Nerium oleander) was being researched for other purposes when it was discovered to have so-called miraculous skin care benefits. The company behind this product (Texas-based Nerium International) didn't need long to realize they could use this discovery to get a toehold in the burgeoning anti-aging skin care market, and thus another allegedly amazing anti-wrinkle product with "real results" was born.

Nerium International is a direct sell, multi-level marketing business, which means you can sign up to sell Nerium AD to others (friends, family, co-workers) and then recruit these people to be part of your team, where you earn a portion of their commission. These "brand partners" are paid commission and can earn incentives (like a free iPad) for their sales, similar to the business model of brands such as Amway (Quixtar). There's nothing wrong with selling product this way, if what you're selling is worth buying!

Nerium International only makes one skin-care product, and Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment is it. The product is supposedly for all skin types, and, for the most part, the ingredient list bears that out. But the ingredient list also makes a few mistakes in terms of how ingredients are disclosed. For example, "NAE-8"; is a trademarked ingredient blend that contains aloe and the allegedly superior nerium oleander leaf. Those ingredients should be listed by themselves, not preceded by "NAE-8";—but it does make the formula see more technical and special. Other than nerium oleander leaf (discussed below) this serum's ingredients are fairly commonplace: aloe, some skin-repairing ingredients, slip agent, plant oil, several thickeners, preservatives, fragrance, and vitamin E.

Although the product will hydrate and make skin feel smoother and softer, so will countless other skin-care products that don't have Nerium AD's price tag or unsupported claims. Also, please know that the collagen and elastin in this product cannot fuse with or shore up these substances in your skin. They simply do not work this way, nor would you want them to (because over time you'd be applying enough collagen and elastin to leave you with lumpy, uneven skin where areas had too much collagen and elastin built).

Back to nerium oleander leaf: it's poisonous and potentially fatal if consumed orally, which isn't how this product should be used but using any plant on your face with that kind of toxic profile should give you pause. Specific to topical use, there is no published, substantiated research proving this plant extract has any special or unique properties for aging skin, uneven skin tone, or large pores. There was one animal study showing oleander's anti-inflammatory benefit, but lots of plants offer this benefit without the risks involved with oleander.

Other research has shown is that nerium oleander leaf is a potent insecticide and it interrupts the cellular process known as mitosis, a process of cellular division that affects the body's chromosomes. None of this is appealing when we're talking skin care and the risks involved make nerium oleander a plant to leave off your skin (Sources: Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, March 2004, pages 361-369; Veterinary and Human Toxicology, February 1999, pages 9–15; and www.naturaldatabase.com).

Bottom line: although this product contains some beneficial ingredients, what makes it unique is also what makes it potentially problematic—and there is no reliable research to support the wonderful things that plant is said to do for skin. If you want the anti-aging benefits of plants, there are many others to choose from that don't have much better safety and, even better, skin-improving profiles.

More information explaining the problems nerium oleander presents can be found here.

REAL RESULTS IN JUST DAYS! Have you heard Nerium AD is taking the anti-aging skin care treatment market by storm! Nerium harnesses the power of the unique nerium oleander plant. Scientists accidentally discovered neium oleander extracts to have miraculous results on your skin! Say bye bye to wrinkles, safely and effectively, naturally and safely.

NAE-8™ Proprietary Blend (Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Liquid, Nerium Oleander Leaf), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Liquid, Proprietary Protein (Collagen, Elastin, Glycosaminoglycans), Glycerin, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil, Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, C14-22 Alcohols, C12-20 Alkyl Glucoside, Cetearyl Glucoside and Cetearyl Alcohol, Vegetable Oil, Dicaprylyl Ether, Sodium Borate, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan) Powder, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Sodium Isostearoyl Lactylate, Dimethicone, Sodium PCA, Proprietary Blend (Caprylyl Glycol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Caprylate, Phenylpropanol), Fragrance, Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate, Tocopherol (Vitamin E)

For details of the single product this brand sells, please see the review. For more information about Nerium AD, please call 835-463-7486 or visit www.nerium.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 2 Next »
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 20, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Nerium AD
    • Having a background in Dermatology, I was more than skeptical that a cream could do all it says it could. So, being the good skeptic I am, I used the product as instructed (with damp face & hands to apply the night cream). I applied it on my face, neck, chest & back of my hands. My results in less than 90-days was amazing. I took a photo when I started, and at 2 other times, again as I was instructed to do. When I did a side-by-side comparison, the results were undeniable. Take photos!!

  2. Sandy I
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Don't go near it!
    • My cousin sent me a bottle as it isn't available in the UK and I'm not surprised. Brought me out in a rash, smells awful. I don't recommend this and apparently it is sold through a pyramid scheme. Any positive reviews are more than likely agents that work for Nerium. This type of scheme is illegal in the UK.

  3. jess h
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Did nothing
    • Way over promoted. Did not help my skin whatsoever. I had some hormonal issues and dealt with post acne scarring. Tried Nerium for 90 days. I read some reviews and skin advice on here and created a great regiment. Thank you Paula! Just a few weeks in & off nerium and my skin is gorgeous. I don't like the cult like status or high pressure sales tactics either.

  4. Sally L
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 01, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great for rosacea
    • (I am NOT a sales rep for Nerium AD.) I was skeptical and afraid to try it because I have highly sensitive skin with rosacea. I love this stuff! My pores appear smaller, lines softened, skin tone more even, texture smoother. It has not irritated or triggered my rosacea. My skin is calm and redness reduced. It's a bit on the expensive side but with skin like mine, it's very difficult to find something that works, so it's worth it. They do offer opportunities to get it free.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 09, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Don't waste your $$ or time
    • What a waste, I decided to do a little research of my own over 30 days. 30 days with Nerium then 30 days with my $10 drugstore purchase [even took closeup photos] .. I didn't see any difference between Nerium and my $10 drugstore purchase. I think 90% of these positive reviews are brand reps.

  6. Michele W.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    NeriumAD BEST Product ever tried
    • Was skeptical at first - but after seeing my results after 7 days of using it - I LOVE IT. The way it has smoothed my skin, shrunk my pores, tightened and toned - and my neck and hands look and feel younger too! I admit the smell took a little getting used to but once it dries the smell goes away. I have paid as much as $700 for products that didn't even come close to doing what this did. As for it coming from Nerium Oleander leaves - my research says it is completely safe! Again LOVE it

  7. Kathleen M
    Reviewed on Monday, January 06, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    I love this cream!
    • I have had serious acne issues the last few years. The deep boil looking type. I have tried everything and nothing has resolved it. With only 10 days of using the cream I am 50% improved. I can't believe it! I am so grateful for this product. To me it is a Godsend. I wonder if the naysayers took the time to look at the third party clinical trials that are on the website and YouTube. The safety and science is well documented.

  8. M.E.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Horrible
    • Waste of money.

  9. Tracy S
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    THIS PRODUCT IS AMAZING!!!
    • Nerium has done wonders for my skin! Simply amazing! I'm confused by all the negativity regarding this treatment. It's super easy to use and works quickly. It's only thick & sticky if you're not using it right! It has to be used with dampened skin, and just glides right on. I've looked at the science information for Nerium and whole-heartedly believe in its safety. I recommend this product!

  10. Paula G
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 23, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    LOVE IT!!!
    • I have used various expensive, top of the line products (La Prairie, Perricone, etc.) for 30 years.I made a huge mistake not using these products on my neck and chest as advised, resulting in deep wrinkles on my chest, that no previous product could improve. Within a week of using Nerium the wrinkles were barely noticeable! I am disappointed that it hasn't faded the few small sun spots on my face. I've recently added the day cream to my regime. I'm hoping for further improvements with it.

  11. Karen M
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 21, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love the product
    • I love this product. I read some of the negative reviews and I would ask them if they took any before or after pictures. this is the true test of the r Within 2 weeks the darkness under my eyes was almost gone and my pores are tighter. After 60 days my crows feet are gone .At at first i did not like the smell l but I agreed to use it for 2 weeks instead of just 5 days. Within a week I found it to be a calming botanical smell and now don't even notice it. Awesome for the money.

  12. Monica A.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 04, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Not happy
    • I tried this product for a month and never noticed any changes. I liked that it was only two products, one at night and one in the morning instead of five steps but I could not stand the dry feeling every night and the smell is not good. I love the feel of Paula's Choice moisturizer and I know I'am getting a great product thats good for my skin and at a good price.

  13. Merry M.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 28, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great Product!!
    • Amazing results with this Nerium AD. Under eye bags are going away and skin is more supple and softer. I have tried products from expensive to inexpensive and have never had results like this. It is a good value since you can get bottles for free. I product vs 6 that cost more and are a pain to apply. I won't be giving this one up ever!

  14. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Skeptical
    • I was encouraged to try Nerium and did for one bottle....didn't think I saw a difference and quit using it and moved on to doing intensive research through this site and trying other stuff but I felt like my skin was getting worse. A plastic surgeon who opened a new med spa gave me complimentary bottles of the day and night cream.....and my skin looked and felt amazing after even just a few days back with Nerium. You get used to the smell and while strong isn't THAT bad! I don't sell it.....yet

  15. Susan R.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 14, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Did little, cost alot
    • This did nothing for me except make my oily skin feel dry and tight. I guess that I should've been happy that my skin was less oily, but it wasn't a good look or a good feeling. I used it for a little more than a month, and then discarded it.

  16. Emily
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 11, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Healthier skin thanks to Nerium
    • I have gladly used Nerium for 1 year and have had beautiful results. My skin is soft, bright, and the emerging lines that I began to see as I approach my early 30s have indeed diminished.

  17. MaureenC
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    No Difference
    • I went out on a limb and put the cream on half of my face every night following the instructions to the letter. After 4 weeks there was no visible change whatsoever. Of the few people whose opinions I asked, 2 chose the side I didn't put the cream on and 1 chose the side I did put the cream on.

  18. DebG
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Nerium AD
    • I was unable to use this product for the entire 5 day trial (I lasted 4 days) because of the burning rash that developed on my face. The smell was absolutely terrible... my husband's nose wrinkled anytime I came within 'sniffing' distance, and I actually woke up several times during the night thinking "I STINK!"

  19. Rebecca O.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Made my wrinkles look worse
    • The Nerium itself smells terrible, which they have tried to cover up with an equally terrible, floral fragrance. It was drying to my skin, which was supposedly the "tightening" effect it was having. This caused the very light lines I have between my eyebrows to look much more pronounced than they do when I am using Paula's hydrating serums. Add the price tag to that mix and you have a truly terrible product. (Fortunately a friend had given me a free sample or I would have wanted my money back).

  20. KathyL
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Waste of money and effort
    • What a waste of money! I went to a party, and all I heard about was how to sell the product and make money, not what the product could do for me. I've used it for 6 wks. now, and I realize my 1st instinct was correct - MLM scam! My skin is dry, now, and my spots are worse. My estheticians have not noticed any difference. You can go online to your "account' and simply delete the next scheduled shipment. So far, that has done the trick and no more bottles have been charged.

  21. Karren
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Nerium AD
    • The gals that love Nerium seem to have good results, but I sure didn't. My skin dried out. I couldn't wait to wash it off in the morning so I could apply my Paula's moisture products.

  22. KC
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 31, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Can't get past the smell
    • Can't get past the smell and the texture. It's obviously leaving a coating. The brand partner takes a very bad "before" picture of you then will take an "after picture. The lighting on the before picture was dreadful and made me look like I had a rash. We'll see what the after picture is. It makes my face feel like I have a mask on. I can't tell after several days if there is a difference. If there were I doubt I'd care based on price, smell and texture.

  23. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 28, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    AWFUL
    • I was invited to a party for these products and was told "NO PRESSURE"!! Well I have never had so much pressure to be a distributor for anything in my whole life! The lady offered a 3 day trial, take the bottle home, and nobody ever returns it because they all love it sooo much! I took it home and tried it, and my face got sooo dried out! I even got a red "scab" under my nose. My skin is not easily irritated. I returned it to the girl, who was extremely angry with me for not signing up.

  24. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, August 09, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Made My Face Dry As A Desert
    • Made my skin dry, dry dry.

  25. JenO
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 31, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Nerium AD saved my skin!!!
    • Nerium saved my skin. I had used a ton of other products on the market with several steps, each one doing it's own "job." I was never able to completely clear my skin of breakouts, old acne scars, etc. With Nerium, not only did my pores become smaller and normal in size, I was no longer needing to use foundation. My skin was more balanced as far as oily vs. dry. It seemed "normal." I know that is hard to explain. The cost was PERFECT! FREE! I haven't paid for one bottle since my first!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.