11.26.2014
98
19
Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $80
Category:Skin Care > Serums > Serums
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Lots of you have been asking about Nerium AD, possibly because you know someone who sells it or perhaps you stumbled across web sites selling it while searching for anti-aging skin care online. However you found out about it, we're here to tell you to forget about it. Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment is not the anti-wrinkle answer. It's also not the solution for hyperpigmentation, uneven skin tone, or enlarged pores.

As the story (often) goes, the key ingredient in this serum (a plant known as Nerium oleander) was being researched for other purposes when it was discovered to have so-called miraculous skin care benefits. The company behind this product (Texas-based Nerium International) didn't need long to realize they could use this discovery to get a toehold in the burgeoning anti-aging skin care market, and thus another allegedly amazing anti-wrinkle product with "real results" was born.

Nerium International is a direct sell, multi-level marketing business, which means you can sign up to sell Nerium AD to others (friends, family, co-workers) and then recruit these people to be part of your team, where you earn a portion of their commission. These "brand partners" are paid commission and can earn incentives (like a free iPad) for their sales, similar to the business model of brands such as Amway (Quixtar). There's nothing wrong with selling product this way, if what you're selling is worth buying!

Nerium International only makes one skin-care product, and Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment is it. The product is supposedly for all skin types, and, for the most part, the ingredient list bears that out. But the ingredient list also makes a few mistakes in terms of how ingredients are disclosed. For example, "NAE-8"; is a trademarked ingredient blend that contains aloe and the allegedly superior nerium oleander leaf. Those ingredients should be listed by themselves, not preceded by "NAE-8";—but it does make the formula seem more technical and special. Other than nerium oleander leaf (discussed below) this serum's ingredients are fairly commonplace: aloe, some skin-repairing ingredients, slip agent, plant oil, several thickeners, preservatives, fragrance, and vitamin E.

Although the product will hydrate and make skin feel smoother and softer, so will countless other skin-care products that don't have Nerium AD's price tag or unsupported claims. Also, please know that the collagen and elastin in this product cannot fuse with or shore up these substances in your skin. They simply do not work this way, nor would you want them to (because over time you'd be applying enough collagen and elastin to leave you with lumpy, uneven skin where areas had too much collagen and elastin built).

Back to nerium oleander leaf: it's poisonous and potentially fatal if consumed orally, which isn't how this product should be used but using any plant on your face with that kind of toxic profile should give you pause. Specific to topical use, there is no published, substantiated research proving this plant extract has any special or unique properties for aging skin, uneven skin tone, or large pores. There was one animal study showing oleander's anti-inflammatory benefit, but lots of plants offer this benefit without the risks involved with oleander.

Other research has shown is that nerium oleander leaf is a potent insecticide and it interrupts the cellular process known as mitosis, a process of cellular division that affects the body's chromosomes. None of this is appealing when we're talking skin care and the risks involved make nerium oleander a plant to leave off your skin (Sources: Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, March 2004, pages 361-369; Veterinary and Human Toxicology, February 1999, pages 9–15; and www.naturaldatabase.com).

Bottom line: although this product contains some beneficial ingredients, what makes it unique is also what makes it potentially problematic—and there is no reliable research to support the wonderful things that plant is said to do for skin. If you want the anti-aging benefits of plants, there are many others to choose from that don't have much better safety and, even better, skin-improving profiles.

More information explaining the problems nerium oleander presents can be found here.

Claims

REAL RESULTS IN JUST DAYS! Have you heard Nerium AD is taking the anti-aging skin care treatment market by storm! Nerium harnesses the power of the unique nerium oleander plant. Scientists accidentally discovered neium oleander extracts to have miraculous results on your skin! Say bye bye to wrinkles, safely and effectively, naturally and safely.

Ingredients

NAE-8™ Proprietary Blend (Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Liquid, Nerium Oleander Leaf), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Liquid, Proprietary Protein (Collagen, Elastin, Glycosaminoglycans), Glycerin, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil, Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, C14-22 Alcohols, C12-20 Alkyl Glucoside, Cetearyl Glucoside and Cetearyl Alcohol, Vegetable Oil, Dicaprylyl Ether, Sodium Borate, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan) Powder, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Sodium Isostearoyl Lactylate, Dimethicone, Sodium PCA, Proprietary Blend (Caprylyl Glycol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Caprylate, Phenylpropanol), Fragrance, Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate, Tocopherol (Vitamin E)

Brand Overview

Nerium AD At-A-Glance

Strengths: None.

Weaknesses: Expensive; anti-wrinkle results not supported by substantiated research; product ingredient list does not follow FDA guidelines for ingredient disclosure (sorry, trade name mixtures are not allowed); "key" ingredient oleander leaf is a skin irritant; the formula pales when compared to today's best serums.

For details of the single product this brand sells, please see the review. For more information about Nerium AD, please call 835-463-7486 or visit www.nerium.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
04.25.2015
brand partner

I love the product and became a BP.for tue 30 day money back guarantee it must be within the 30 days. A good bp will instruct use and issues to correct any problem. may need to use less product or more water. Unsatisfied users are usually not using product correctly. I have spent much more on wothless 5 step products. And I will be more then happy to help anyone with questions.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
tdraper9.nerium.com
04.20.2015
Nerium has Oleander - A Poison!

Nerium has Oleander in it. Oleander is TOXIC!!! Why would anyone use it? I thought great product had been invented until I read the ingredients. READ them for yourself & then stay far away from a product that could cause some serious damage over time.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.18.2015
Watch out your ignorance is showing

I've been using this product for 2 years and will not use anything else. For those that have had bad experiences, you should probably see a dermatologist, because a few of my friends who have very sensitive skin, had ZERO issues and are relieved to have found something that works. And as far as the MLM, every job is a MLM when you think about it, the big difference is you receive the same ol paycheck instead of being able to increase your income for the work you put into it.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
RR
04.17.2015
Love this product!!!

My neck and jaw line in lot tighter and smoother. I look and feel younger. Been using for two months.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Debra Cullen
04.16.2015
Be open minded

It is easy to bad mouth a any product with out doing researches or using the product for a while to see what it does. Do you really know what kind of ingredients in the product or how much? Did you ever use this product and have bad results? Do you have a prove that amount of Nerium which comes from oreander plant in the cream that can harm the skin? If it was as bad as claimed why it is the most selling anti aging cream on the market last three years?

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
MirayY
04.14.2015
Got good results

It has worked really well for me.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Maryp
04.14.2015
As one who tried to sell it and use it... BAD!

ZERO STARS! My clients hated it and it is an over priced rip off for the clients and the independent contractors trying to sell the horrible product! Stay away from selling it!! If you like your skin for $100 per month... good for you. DO NOT INVEST. What a typical online/mlm scam just like mailing envelops for money.... not happening. After two years they are still using my email address to solicit my contacts. What a company!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Todd
04.13.2015
worst product ever!!

After 7 mos This product ruined my skin! 0 stars

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Chris
04.13.2015
yobabe

I absolutely love Nerium...unbelievable results!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.13.2015
A-Mazing

This product/company are amazing!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tiffany R
04.13.2015
90 day results

It took 45 days for the results I was looking for.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Sam G
04.10.2015
love this product

I love this product. It has faded my brown spots!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Tammie S.
04.09.2015
Best results from face cream ever! Finally results from a cream!

Increased firmness,faded age spots,lines,love it!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Pennie P
04.07.2015
Interesting

I really like this product!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Kellie J.
04.06.2015
I liked it

I see improvements in 30 days :) . Yay

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Sandy A
04.06.2015
Debbid

Made me and my gf deathly ill if u have allergies

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Debra
04.04.2015
Nerium and hyperpigmentation

After 6 mos no difference for hyperpigmentation.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Norma P.
04.03.2015
Beware of pyramid sales

I would not buy anything sold in a pyramid fashion

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Lori, A
04.02.2015
Nerium is the #1 skin care cream

Nerium is the best. Night, day, and firm cream.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Deb
03.31.2015
Seriously people?

skin = biggest organ. need i say more?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Alyssa
03.29.2015
I don't need chemo on my face!

The worst product ever!!! Damaged my skin!!!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Donna D
03.24.2015
Good at first...

3 wk skin super irritated pores still large.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Haydi D
03.18.2015
Well, of course Paula isn't going to like it

She wants you to buy her products.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Connie
03.13.2015
GREAT!!!

I loved Nerium!! I seen amazing results on myself and others first hand that use it. I also applied it to the top of my arms where I had horrible bumps, redness, sun spots and it did wonders. The price is reasonable for the results because I have spent a lot of money on products that do not work... Everyones skin is different but if you have a good Brand Partner you would understand how to use Nerium. I just signed up to be a Brand Partner because I loved my RESULTS. My upline is supportive

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.11.2015
Worst product I have ever tried on my face

I do not recommend this product or anything made by this company. The products ruined my skin and the company does not stand behind their products as they say they do. they will not give you your money back even if it looks like acid was poured on your face. Stay away from this company!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Dissapointed
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.389 4/27/2015 1:51:09 PM