Nivea Creme

by Nivea  
Price:
$7.49 - 6.8 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:
6/17/2014
Jar Packaging:
Yes
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Nivea Creme remains one of the star products for this line, and Nivea describes it as “the mother of all modern creams”. First made available in 1911, the jar-packaged formula with its familiar scent is an exceptionally basic blend of mineral oil, Vaseline, glycerin, and wax. All of these standbys can make dry skin look and feel better, but there are many more ingredients that have significant benefit for skin—ingredients that weren’t even close to being options when Nivea Cream launched. Far from “unmatched”, there are dozens upon dozens of moisturizers that offer skin more than this cream does, and without the inclusion of sensitizing preservatives methylisothiazolinone and methylchloroisothiazolinone.

The review above pertains to the Nivea Creme sold in North America; the European version omits the problematic preservative and alcohol, but remains a basic, water and wax formula that is easily replaced by countless other hand and body creams. Still, unlike the North American version, the European version deserves a better rating, though NOT strong consideration.

The original Nivea Creme. A rich, creamy moisturizer that smoothes and softens every inch of skin. The unmatched moisturizer for even extremely dry skin.

Water, Mineral Oil, Petrolatum, Glycerin, Microcrystalline Wax, Lanolin Alcohol, Paraffin, Panthenol, Alcohol, Magnesium Sulfate, Decyl Oleate, Octyldodecanol, Aluminum Stearate, Fragrance, Citric Acid, Magnesium Stearate, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone

The ingredients for the European version of Nivea Creme are as follows: Aqua, Paraffinum Liquidum, Cera Microcrystallina, Glycerin, Lanolin Alcohol, Paraffin, Panthenol, Decyl Oleate, Octyldodecanol, Alumnium Stearate, Citric Acid, Magnesium Sulfate, Magnesium Stearate, Parfum, Limonene, Geraniol, Hydroxycitronellol, Linalool, Citronellol, Benzyl Benzoate, Cinnamyl Alcohol.

Nivea is a globally known brand owned by Beiersdorf, the same company behind department-store brand La Prairie and drugstore mainstay Eucerin. Among those three brands, Nivea's product selection is the weakest (which isn't saying much, because none of these lines have much of anything to offer skin). For Nivea, uninspired formulas abound, presenting limited options unless you have normal to dry skin, and even those have exceptionally inelegant formulas. The enduring popularity of this line has more to do with advertising and perhaps tradition (it has been around a long time) than with what any researcher would consider state-of-the-art.

In mid-2010 Nivea re-launched most of their Visage (facial care) products on the web site drugstore.com. These products present a few well formulated, inexpensive options that are worth your attention.For more information about Nivea, owned by Beiersdorf, call (800) 227-4703 or visit www.nivea.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Rachel V
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great, affordable emollient rich moisturiser!
    • The reasons why Paula doesn't like this product is because it contains the ingredients methylisothiazolinone/methylchloroisothiazolinone and it doesn't contain antioxidants. Well the German (not Mexican) Nivea creme does not contain these ingredients. Secondly, I can get antioxidants from serums that I can put on my skin before or mix in with my moisturiser. Therefore this product is a perfect emollient rich moisturiser that protects the skins barrier for a great price!

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 24, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    the iconic dark blue tub is a staple
    • this cream I only use it in the winter months as it is heavy for summer use. As much as I love using my expensive ones ... this one does just as well when my budget is tight . all though it has no fancy ingredients, it just works ! I just put on with a well formulated serum underneath and the cream on top. I agree with ZOE below, we are not referring to nivea soft big difference.. I am now looking for the one imported from Germany in Ontario.. so if you know let me know

  3. W
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 24, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great Moisturizer
    • This is probably the best moisturizer I've ever used. I have aging skin that's oily, dry in places and have had breakouts my entire life. Nivea (made in Germany) doesn't cause breakouts and makes my face look smooth. I've tried so many moisturizers and Nivea in the blue tub works the best for me. Paula should give this an excellent rating. It may be ordinary, but hey, it works!

  4. Beverly B
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great moisturizer, great price
    • I started using this after reading that the creme imported from Germany was very similar to La Mer (no petrolatum and no preservatives). A 400 g tub of Nivea cost me $15. Nivea is a great night cream. I prefer adding my active ingredients (Refissa and others) to my face, so a plain moisturizer suits me just fine. Nivea is great on heel, elbows, everywhere. I wake up with soft skin- no more tight morning face. Best used in the a.m. under powder foundation. This stuff deserves to be rated Best.

  5. zoe
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    confusing and not accurate
    • okay so you are talking about nivea creme but review folks talking about nivea soft. different product.? Nivea Créme is the dark blue one. And my pot is preservative free and doesn't list the ingredients the first site reviewer has mentioned. So I am very confused. Either way if this ingredient list has been the same for 100 years no one has died yet from nivea poisoning, it is seriously moisturising and I have no wrinkles at 40 plus I am sticking to it !

  6. Kristine C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    i like it a lot
    • I find it to be a good, basic, very rich emollient cream. Does what it says on the tin (literally). I don't need antioxidants or sunscreen when I'm slathering cream on my feet, so why would I pay for them? It makes my hands soft and my cuticles pretty,and it's cheap.

  7. BARBARA H.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 28, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Works for me....
    • Creamy, light, smells great, absorbs quickly, and the moisture lasts. And lasts. And it's CHEAP. I'm not sure why Paula doesn't like it.. It's been selling well for over 100 years, which tells you something.

  8. Shani A
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 20, 2012
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Ingredient Nivea Soft
    • Nivea Soft Water, Myristyl Alcohol, Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Alcohol Denatured, Stearic Acid, Petrolatum, Myristyl Myristate, Glyceryl Stearate, Hydrogenated Coco Glycerides, Dimethicone, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil (Jojoba), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Polyglyceryl 2 Caprate, Phenoxyethanol, Lanolin Alcohol, Fragrance, Carbomer, Sodium Hydroxide, Cetyl Phosphate, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben

  9. Shani A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 20, 2012
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Nivea Soft
    • I am rating highly the Nivea Soft version of Nivea Cream. Nivea Soft comes in a white container, not the iconic blue jar. While the ingredients of the Nivea Soft aren't groundbreaking or anything, the cream itself has a wonderful texture that's instantaneously soothing to dry, irritated skin. It's moisture seems to stay in my skin even after washing my hands. Nivea Soft is my favorite for hands because I wash my hands a lot and sometimes I feel like my skin is burning off my bones. Nivea Soft is cooling and it makes my sandpapery skin feel silky. I especially love that it soaks in to skin quickly without leaving any gooey or sticky residue. I just can't stand moisturizers that feel like they "coat" my skin, and Nivea Soft's light, fresh formula is wonderful. It's cheap, too, so I don't mind slathering it on hands and feel, but I do use it on my face on the rare occasions I need a moisturizer for my face. The Nivea in the blue jar gives me cystic acne, but Nivea Soft keeps my skin nice.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW4 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.