12.04.2014
15
8
Nivea Creme
Rating
6.8 fl. oz. for $7.49
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:12.04.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Nivea Creme remains one of the star products for this line, and Nivea describes it as “the mother of all modern creams”. First made available in 1911, the jar-packaged formula with its familiar scent is an exceptionally basic blend of mineral oil, Vaseline, glycerin, and wax. All of these standbys can make dry skin look and feel better, but there are many more ingredients that have significant benefit for skin—ingredients that weren’t even close to being options when Nivea Cream launched. Far from “unmatched”, there are dozens upon dozens of moisturizers that offer skin more than this cream does, and without the inclusion of sensitizing preservatives methylisothiazolinone and methylchloroisothiazolinone.

The review above pertains to the Nivea Creme sold in North America; the European version omits the problematic preservative and alcohol, but remains a basic, water and wax formula that is easily replaced by countless other hand and body creams. Still, unlike the North American version, the European version deserves a better rating, though NOT strong consideration.

Claims

The original Nivea Creme. A rich, creamy moisturizer that smoothes and softens every inch of skin. The unmatched moisturizer for even extremely dry skin.

Ingredients

Water, Mineral Oil, Petrolatum, Glycerin, Microcrystalline Wax, Lanolin Alcohol, Paraffin, Panthenol, Alcohol, Magnesium Sulfate, Decyl Oleate, Octyldodecanol, Aluminum Stearate, Fragrance, Citric Acid, Magnesium Stearate, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone

The ingredients for the European version of Nivea Creme are as follows: Aqua, Paraffinum Liquidum, Cera Microcrystallina, Glycerin, Lanolin Alcohol, Paraffin, Panthenol, Decyl Oleate, Octyldodecanol, Alumnium Stearate, Citric Acid, Magnesium Sulfate, Magnesium Stearate, Parfum, Limonene, Geraniol, Hydroxycitronellol, Linalool, Citronellol, Benzyl Benzoate, Cinnamyl Alcohol.

Brand Overview

Nivea At-A-Glance

Strengths: Budget-friendly; good makeup removers; a gentle scrub; some worthwhile lip balms.

Weaknesses: Several boring formulas; no products to treat breakouts or lighten skin discolorations; problematic toners; disappointing self-tanners; the anti-cellulite products are a joke.

Nivea is a globally known brand owned by Beiersdorf, the same company behind department-store brand La Prairie and drugstore mainstay Eucerin. Among those three brands, Nivea's product selection is the weakest (which isn't saying much, because none of these lines have much of anything to offer skin). For Nivea, uninspired formulas abound, presenting limited options unless you have normal to dry skin, and even those have exceptionally inelegant formulas. The enduring popularity of this line has more to do with advertising and perhaps tradition (it has been around a long time) than with what any researcher would consider state-of-the-art.

In mid-2010 Nivea re-launched most of their Visage (facial care) products on the web site drugstore.com. These products present a few well formulated, inexpensive options that are worth your attention.For more information about Nivea, owned by Beiersdorf, call (800) 227-4703 or visit www.nivea.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.08.2015
Why??

Most of the reviews above are 4 stars! Now tell me why this Nivea product comes out with a single star in the search results?? ... I noticed this in several other products reviews too. Also, I hate to say this, but I no longer trust this site.. btw, I LOVE this product. And 4 more stars added! you want it or not :P ~ Bye Paula's choice

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kelly M.
06.09.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Thanks for reaching out to us.  On Beautypedia, there are often two different ratings on each product.  At the top of the screen (near the product image and name) is the Beautypedia Team's Expert Rating.  This score will be from one to four stars, will always appear at the top and it reflects our professional review of the product.  Further down the screen (under our review) is another rating -- the member/reader rating.  This is where we give consumers the opportunity to voice their opinion about the product as well as provide their own rating.  So while a product may get a POOR (or one-star) review from the Beautypedia Team, it may be a favorite among readers, and we like to give them the ability to express how they feel about a product.  The scores (from one-star to four-stars) are then averaged to reflect how each group (Beautypedia or consumers) rated that individual product.  I hope that clears things up!  Also, The Paula’s Choice Research Team no longer reviews products for Beautypedia, and while The Beautypedia Team is still a part of Paula’s Choice Skincare, what’s new—and you may not yet have known—is that now we have two teams working independently to bring you the best quality reviews, products, and  research-supported expert advice you know and love. One team is dedicated to Beautypedia and product reviews from other brands; the other is dedicated to Paula’s Choice skincare and its unique combination of expertly formulated products and advice on a wide range of beauty-related topic.

—Admin
05.15.2015
Nivea creme

This product is so amazing and I love it.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
diane
04.29.2015
Nivea Creme

I began using Nivea Creme in the 1960's at the recommendation of my doctor. Now in my '70's, I continue to keep a jar beside my sofa so I can apply it when I am tired and sitting watching tv. I put it around my eyes and on my hands every day. People are always surprised when I tell them my age. I highly recommend Nivea for any age. Even my four year old grandson puts it on his hands when we come in from working outside on the farm. It's "good stuff!"

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Sandra S.
02.15.2015
Important to consider if purchasing German version...

PLEASE NOTE: They have 2 versions of German Nivea. When I was at Walmart, I saw that they had Made in Hamburg cremes for the North American market. These cremes have different ingredients than the European market versions and are not worth your money. If you wish to use Nivea Creme on your face please only use the European market version.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Spencer Y.
11.13.2014
Nivea Creme

Although Nivea is described as uninspired formula-wise, I don't think it's popular just for tradition. My skin is sensitive enough that even the mildest moisturizer will induce reaction. The Nivea creme, the traditional one, doesn't. It's the only creme I can apply to my skin after depilatory cremes which will not induce an immediate burning reaction and actually calm it. It's also the only creme that will hold my skin together in the winter. I just wish it felt less greasy.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anna D.
10.15.2014
It's cheap

I can buy this in Finland for the ridiculous price of EUR 4,00, when it's on sale even EUR 3,00. I've been using it mainly on my elbows and dry heels. Works well that way.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Maria S.
04.08.2014
Great, affordable emollient rich moisturiser!

The reasons why Paula doesn't like this product is because it contains the ingredients methylisothiazolinone/methylchloroisothiazolinone and it doesn't contain antioxidants. Well the German (not Mexican) Nivea creme does not contain these ingredients. Secondly, I can get antioxidants from serums that I can put on my skin before or mix in with my moisturiser. Therefore this product is a perfect emollient rich moisturiser that protects the skins barrier for a great price!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rachel V
11.24.2013
the iconic dark blue tub is a staple

this cream I only use it in the winter months as it is heavy for summer use. As much as I love using my expensive ones ... this one does just as well when my budget is tight . all though it has no fancy ingredients, it just works ! I just put on with a well formulated serum underneath and the cream on top. I agree with ZOE below, we are not referring to nivea soft big difference.. I am now looking for the one imported from Germany in Ontario.. so if you know let me know

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.24.2013
Great Moisturizer

This is probably the best moisturizer I've ever used. I have aging skin that's oily, dry in places and have had breakouts my entire life. Nivea (made in Germany) doesn't cause breakouts and makes my face look smooth. I've tried so many moisturizers and Nivea in the blue tub works the best for me. Paula should give this an excellent rating. It may be ordinary, but hey, it works!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
W
03.19.2013
Great moisturizer, great price

I started using this after reading that the creme imported from Germany was very similar to La Mer (no petrolatum and no preservatives). A 400 g tub of Nivea cost me $15. Nivea is a great night cream. I prefer adding my active ingredients (Refissa and others) to my face, so a plain moisturizer suits me just fine. Nivea is great on heel, elbows, everywhere. I wake up with soft skin- no more tight morning face. Best used in the a.m. under powder foundation. This stuff deserves to be rated Best.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Beverly B
02.12.2013
confusing and not accurate

okay so you are talking about nivea creme but review folks talking about nivea soft. different product.? Nivea Créme is the dark blue one. And my pot is preservative free and doesn't list the ingredients the first site reviewer has mentioned. So I am very confused. Either way if this ingredient list has been the same for 100 years no one has died yet from nivea poisoning, it is seriously moisturising and I have no wrinkles at 40 plus I am sticking to it !

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
zoe
02.10.2013
i like it a lot

I find it to be a good, basic, very rich emollient cream. Does what it says on the tin (literally). I don't need antioxidants or sunscreen when I'm slathering cream on my feet, so why would I pay for them? It makes my hands soft and my cuticles pretty,and it's cheap.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kristine C.
01.28.2013
Works for me....

Creamy, light, smells great, absorbs quickly, and the moisture lasts. And lasts. And it's CHEAP. I'm not sure why Paula doesn't like it.. It's been selling well for over 100 years, which tells you something.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
BARBARA H.
12.20.2012
Ingredient Nivea Soft

Nivea Soft Water, Myristyl Alcohol, Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Alcohol Denatured, Stearic Acid, Petrolatum, Myristyl Myristate, Glyceryl Stearate, Hydrogenated Coco Glycerides, Dimethicone, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil (Jojoba), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Polyglyceryl 2 Caprate, Phenoxyethanol, Lanolin Alcohol, Fragrance, Carbomer, Sodium Hydroxide, Cetyl Phosphate, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Shani A
12.20.2012
Nivea Soft

I am rating highly the Nivea Soft version of Nivea Cream. Nivea Soft comes in a white container, not the iconic blue jar. While the ingredients of the Nivea Soft aren't groundbreaking or anything, the cream itself has a wonderful texture that's instantaneously soothing to dry, irritated skin. It's moisture seems to stay in my skin even after washing my hands. Nivea Soft is my favorite for hands because I wash my hands a lot and sometimes I feel like my skin is burning off my bones. Nivea Soft is cooling and it makes my sandpapery skin feel silky. I especially love that it soaks in to skin quickly without leaving any gooey or sticky residue. I just can't stand moisturizers that feel like they "coat" my skin, and Nivea Soft's light, fresh formula is wonderful. It's cheap, too, so I don't mind slathering it on hands and feel, but I do use it on my face on the rare occasions I need a moisturizer for my face. The Nivea in the blue jar gives me cystic acne, but Nivea Soft keeps my skin nice.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Shani A.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.401 6/30/2015 5:29:04 AM