03.17.2015
3
1
The Original Deep Cleansing Cream, Jar
Rating
10.75 fl. oz. for $4.79
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:03.17.2015
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview
The Original Deep Cleansing Cream is a slightly modified version of the formula that started it all in 1914, when this product was launched with its “signature scent” of menthol, camphor, and eucalyptus oil. Those irritants are still present, but at least the phenol and lye aren’t included anymore. However, that doesn’t bring us any closer to recommending this product. To find out what we do recommend check out our Best Cleansers list on Beautypedia!
Claims
Deep cleans and dissolves oil while it conditions, leaving your skin soft and smooth-not overly dry. And its special blend of ingredients works to give you a tingle as invigorating as a good first date.
Ingredients
Water, Stearic Acid, Linseed Oil, Soybean Oil, Fragrance, Ammonium Hydroxide, Camphor, Menthol, Eucalyptus Oil, Propylene Glycol, Gelatin, Calcium Hydroxide
Brand Overview

Noxzema At-A-Glance

Strengths: None.

Weaknesses: Almost all products reviewed contain a blend of camphor, menthol, and eucalyptus oil; none of anti-acne or anti-blackhead products work as claimed; no topical disinfectant for acne-prone skin; no sunscreens; no moisturizers.

Your skin-care goal should never include causing needless irritation, but that's exactly what you'll get from almost all of the Noxzema products, and that seems to have been their theme for decades. Noxzema is proud of its history, but that pride is hollow because these products are a problem for any skin type. Also, what we know today about how to take the best possible care of skin is vastly different from what we knew when Noxzema first launched, and yet their formulas haven’t changed. Think of it like using a typewriter rather than a computer, why would you do that? Many of you may have nostalgic memories of Noxzema's recognizable scent, but that is the only way we'd recommend experiencing these products. With the exception of one standard clay mask and a couple of questionable cleansers, this line is one of the few that deserves complete avoidance.

For more information about Noxzema, call (800) 436-4361 or visit www.noxzema.com. As of late 2008, Noxzema is under the ownership of Alberto-Culver; it was formely owned by Procter & Gamble (Source: The Rose Sheet, September 15, 2008, page12).

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
01.28.2015
the best

Works wonders for my skin. I have tried tons of cleansers nothing has ever come close to what this product does for my skin. My extremely oily skin becoming more balanced, my skin is soft and supple, removes my makeup and cleanses well,love the scent,my skin clearer,and marks fading. I use day and night I love it. I highly doubt I will ever switch again. Working great for me.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Alicia l
01.01.2015
One of the best cleansers

I strongly disagree with Paula's Choice on this product. After having a massive breakout, this was the only product that calmed my skin down and reduced redness. I am not sensitive to menthol whatsoever and never notice irritation - everyone's skin is different. I'm easily irritated by cleansers with cetyl alcohol, so this cleanser is a godsend for me. Give this cleanser a chance if you're looking for something without cetyl alcohol - it is very affordable.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Ros D.
02.07.2014
Noxema original cleansing cream

I have used this since I was a young girl. I am now 50 and still use it. I have never had a problem with the ingredients in this product and I find that it works well for my skin. It removes all makeup easily and rinses off without leaving a residue. The scent may bother some as it can be a bit overpowering but it does what it is supposed to do. Because of the strong fragrance, it may not be suitable for sensitive skin but it gets the job done.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Laura C
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.401 7/6/2015 7:42:43 PM