02.06.2015
39
3
Skincerity Nightly Breathable Masque
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $129.95
Category:Skin Care > Facial Masks
Last Updated:02.06.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Unknown
Review Overview

The curiosity over this product has been nothing short of startling, especially when you consider the formula. Many of you have asked us about this roll-on mask that claims to tighten skin, reduce wrinkles and enlarged pores, and basically improve anything you don't like about your complexion. For what this costs, it better do all that and file our tax returns, too!

Before we get to the ingredients, it's worth mentioning that no single product can do it all. No question there are products out there that can tackle multiple skin concerns, but the gamut of claims for Skincerity Nightly Breathable Mask is over the top. This product is far from a transformative treatment for skin; in fact, regular use can be a big problem for all skin types, and many skin concerns!

The main ingredient in this "breathable" mask is acetone. You read that correctly, acetone, as in nail polish remover. This ingredient is, by nature, drying, not hydrating. It immediately damages substances (such as fatty acids) in skin that keep it smooth and healthy (Sources: Journal of Applied Toxicology, August 2012, pages 537–563; Skin Research and Technology, November 2007, pages 425–435; British Journal of Dermatology, April 1999, pages 739–748; and Microscopy Research and Technique, May 1997, pages 193–199). In short, this is not an ingredient you'd want to put all over your face nightly, or even once weekly.

Interestingly, the NuCerity website refers to the acetone in Skincerity as "medical-grade acetone". Although some companies do sell different grades of acetone, that doesn't make it a must for skin! Classifications of medical or pharmaceutical for acetone still come with rather dire warnings, such as "Vapors may cause flash fire or explosion" and, for skin contact, "Prolonged or repeated contact may result in defatting and drying of the skin, causing skin irritation and dermatits (rash." So much for medical-grade acetone being better! Simply put, acetone is acetone and it's a problem for skin.

The rest of the formula includes a polymer chemical often used in Teflon-coated cookware, vitamin E (tocopheryl acetate), a film-forming agent typically seen in hairsprays, water, grape oil, and fragrance. That's it!

Between the acetone and the film-forming agent you're getting the "breathable barrier" that is supposed to function like a second skin, but for the most part the formula deprives your skin of what it needs to look and act younger. A water- or silicone-based antioxidant serum loaded with skin-repairing and cell-communicating ingredients can do so much more, all without the problems acetone presents—and bear in mind that removing Skincerity requires effort; it won't just wash off with your cleanser.

We cannot express emphatically enough what a waste of time and money this product is, but even if you have all the time and money in the world, please don't bother with this product. The toning and tightening you'll feel is from the acetone, and that's due its damaging, dehydrating properties. The good ingredients this contains (including vitamin E and grape seed oil) are found in numerous other products that don't put your skin at risk for irritation and, in all likelihood, more problems.

Pros:
  • None.
Cons:
  • Contains a known skin irritant (acetone) as its main ingredient.
  • Overpriced.
  • Cannot deliver on its claims, other than the tight feeling acetone leaves (but that's not helpful for anyone's skin).
  • Sort of like rolling hairspray on skin.
  • Contains only a limited amount of proven beneficial ingredients.
Claims

Tones and tightens your skin. Smooths and brightens dull facial complexions. Reduces the appearance of skins fine lines,wrinkles, enlarged porse and also facial redness. It hydrates and nourishes dry damaged skin.

Ingredients

Acetone, Fluoropolymer, Tocopherol Acetate (Vitamin E), Acrylic Polymer, Water, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Fragrance

Brand Overview

NuCerity-At-A-Glance

Strengths: None.

Weaknesses: Their star product's main ingredient is acetone. That's nail polish remover, and that's bad for skin—especially in a facial product you're directed to leave on overnight!

Skincerity Nightly Breathable Masque is one of a handful of products sold by a company known as NuCerity International. For the time being, we are only reviewing their Skincerity product as it’s the one we’re asked about most (and one of the most shockingly bad formulas we’ve seen in years, but more on that in the review itself).

According to NuCerity's website, they offer "a comprehensive home-based business opportunity that can help you supplement your current income, replace it completely or build a solid business foundation that can set the stage for lasting wealth. It is a conscious decision that Nucerity has chosen person-to-person marketing as the optimal channel to distribute its leading-edge products." If their other products are anything like Skincerity (and there's no way to find that out unless you order them) then this is not a company we'd encourage anyone to get involved with. Simply clicking around their website can be confounding, as you run into dead ends and other impediments when trying to find out more than what the company wishes to make prominent.

This company is over the top in many ways, perhaps the least of which involves promises of long-term wealth and "a lasting legacy for your children and grandchildren". These are personal care products being sold, not feats of epic bravery or one-of-a-kind works of art! The superlatives may seem enticing, but think twice before getting on board Nucerity—as they say, don't quit your day job!

Note: Although we don't recommend Skincerity, you should know that unless you're purchasing online from a third-party supplier, you cannot order products from NuCerity's site unless you have a NuCerity sponsor and know that sponsor's ID and user name. Talk about not making it easier, and we strongly suspect any NuCerity sponsor you encounter will attempt to convince you to become a distributor too, because that's a big way they make money.

For more information about Skincerity by NuCerity, call (800) 961-2291 (but we do not advise any of our readers to sign up to sell this brand) or visit www.nucerity.net.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
06.30.2015
Only 3 days

After only 3 nights using the mask I had a glow to my face, soft skin and it had already started taking away the dark circles under my eyes! It is a little pricey, but I feel it's way worth the money!!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.25.2015
Love this product

I have used this for 11/2 years. Always had chapped lips and hangnails on my hands. Not anymore. I did break out after using for 2 weeks but it cleared up and my skin has never looked better.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Belle D
06.18.2015
Amazing Results

I am astounded with the results and notable improvements of my daughters psoriasis and better skin condition. Less than 3 weeks into treatment. The skincerity treatment in my opinion, has been extremely effective and notably better results than the medically prescribed routine that my daughter has been undertaking over the past year. I feel that the product works, and much improved skin appearance and my daughters confidence. Less pronounced blemishes and has improved the psoriasis.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Riccardo
06.08.2015
awesome maybe you should try it?

This product does definitely work,i used it on one hand with age spots for a year and left the other ,,,the results are amazing i have half the spots i used to have!! Also this product has never ever dried my skin out . love love love! Also i have spent tons offish on products that don't work,at least i get results from this!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
charlaine floerws
06.07.2015
Skincerity

I use Skincerity every night and have for 15 months. My skin has never been better, no acne and wrinkles on forehead are disappearing along with crows feet around eyes. Love it and won't stop using. Educate yourself on the products

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
David
06.03.2015
Try it another way

I think the biggest problem is that it works best using a moisturizer underneath the mask. It doesn't have to be their brand either, whatever you like using. The purpose of it is to hold the moisture in. Yeah, it does smell until it dries (about 1 minute), but for me and the 5 other people I know who use it this way, we are all amazed!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Dee
05.29.2015
I love it

I love this product. I wasted so much money on la prairie,la mer and my skin is still did not improve.skincerity is the best product I ever use and will continue using.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Rebecca Lawrence
05.15.2015
Worst product I've ever bought

This is by far the worst beauty product I've ever bought. The smell was horrible but I persevered only to end up with being diagnosed with dermatitis all over my face two weeks later by a dermatologist.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Aussie
05.12.2015
nucerty breathable mask

I am very disappointed in this product. It gives my skin a healthy glow but I use it to fade acne scars and brown spots and it has done neither. Not worth the money.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Betty B
05.07.2015
beauty therapist

I found it to be too drying for me and caused sensitivity and stripped my skin. It has not been approved by the TGA because of the Acetone. However my mum a demo for it to treat pigmentation and sundamage so will see

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
wendy
04.22.2015
It works

I am not in the company as of yet ,but was introduced to it ,I have used the bottle I bought of skincerity ,and did roll a person with eczema ,and saw improvement in one day ,they have highly sensitive skin ,also the rejuvenating barrier applied first ,then the mask would help a lot of you with the prob of dry skin .that you all say it gave you it holds the moisture in .people you prob drink alcohol that's definetly no good for your liver and causes internal damage .but you still do it .works!!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Viv c
04.21.2015
Not a creditable review from this person

Anytime I see another person with their OWN skincare line and their OWN agenda reviewing another companies product, it totally discredits their view for me!! I have personally tried this product and it HAS worked for me. I do not believe that you need 15 different products (which does get VERY expensive) for what this single product does very effectively.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.21.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

We're GLAD this product WORKED for you! However, it doesn't change what the research has shown to be true about the ingredients.

—Admin
04.18.2015
amezing

Its workd. Real its work this product.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Winnie O.
04.18.2015
amezing

Its workd.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Winnie O.
04.13.2015
You are a quack.

National Institute of Health Grants funded this.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.10.2015
what a rip off !

I paid $200 plus for masque and got red dry spots!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Kaye M
04.07.2015
Damaged my skin

Dry patches all my skin. I Would never recommend

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.10.2015
Anonymous

Terrible!! Dry patches like eczema after one week!! Why would you put yourself at risk?! It has nail polish remover in it!! It does not take a rocket scientist to understand you are destroying every cell in your face! Not natural folks.Vaseline does a better job repairing your face and is in just about every facial product there is anyway so why not use it instead?! 6 months might not be a long enough trial for some! Wait and see what happens when you don't use it & your face has to breathe!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
J
02.26.2015
Sincerity AMAZING results. love it

My personal experience with skincerity is very positive. My wife was given a bottle by her girlfriend/nurse for me to use on a large keloid scar after major surgery. The results are truely amazing. We both now use skincerity every night, it has saved me a fortune on make up for my wife, her skin is now so clear she only wears lipstick. I highly recommend everyone take the time to do your own research.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Paul
02.13.2015
Doesn't work for everyone

This product dried my skin and gave me fine lines on my cheeks...the first couple weeks were fine and then I started to notice how dry my skin was, and then noticed all the fine lines that appeared out of nowhere. I had signed up before I tried it and then dropped it like a hot potato! I totally agree with your assessment of the product.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
cruzeng
12.19.2014
Can't believe that people would or could ignore the evidence!

I have read the banter above and decided to see what all the cafufle is about. Bottom line is the stuff works even if we don't understand why or how. I don't understand how a space craft launches but it doesn't change the fact that it does. Come on everyone, open your eyes but be humble enough to admit the possibility that you may be wrong. The evidence is in so let it speak for itself! Thanks to those who created the uproar - I have discovered the product I've been looking for!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Leone Loechner
12.11.2014
You are wrong about Nucerity

I am 65 years old and was introduced to Nucerity about 6 months ago. I have tried so many products throughout the years and I have never found one I like as much as Nucerity. It almost immediately evened out my skintone. It has helped fade scars, bumps and fine lines. The acetone odor fades almost immediately. I think everyone should try this product. Yes it is fairly expensive but it WORKS. When I think of all the money I have waisted over the years on products that didn't work! Love it!!!!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Donna, H
11.28.2014
Love this product!:)

I LOVE this product and I don't find it pricey at all. Maybe if you're comparing to bar soap and water? Have a great day!:)

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Michelle T
11.25.2014
Love skincerity

I have been using skincerity on my skin for the last few months. I am from Australia by the way. And I had noticed results in the first week. I would recommend this product to anyone the price is great because the product works.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Joanne s
11.20.2014
AWFUL

Do not use this product! I have average skin (not very oily, but not dry either) but I decided to try this masque to see if it would help with a sudden breakout... NEVER AGAIN! It left my face dry and irritated. My once smooth skin is now rough and bumpy. The only way I would recommend this is if you have skin that drips with oil; otherwise save your money and your face. You're better off with soap and water.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Erika P
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.405 8/3/2015 2:31:03 PM