Skincerity Nightly Breathable Masque

by NuCerity  
Price:
$129.95 - 1 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Facial Masks > Moisturizing/Firming Masks
Last Updated:
11/29/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Unknown

The curiosity over this product has been nothing short of startling, especially when you consider the formula. Many of you have asked us about this roll-on mask that claims to tighten skin, reduce wrinkles and enlarged pores, and basically improve anything you don't like about your complexion. For what this costs, it better do all that and file our tax returns, too!

Before we get to the ingredients, it's worth mentioning that no single product can do it all. No question there are products out there that can tackle multiple skin concerns, but the gamut of claims for Skincerity Nightly Breathable Mask is over the top. This product is far from a transformative treatment for skin; in fact, regular use can be a big problem for all skin types, and many skin concerns!

The main ingredient in this "breathable" mask is acetone. You read that correctly, acetone, as in nail polish remover. This ingredient is, by nature, drying, not hydrating. It immediately damages substances (such as fatty acids) in skin that keep it smooth and healthy (Sources: Journal of Applied Toxicology, August 2012, pages 537–563; Skin Research and Technology, November 2007, pages 425–435; British Journal of Dermatology, April 1999, pages 739–748; and Microscopy Research and Technique, May 1997, pages 193–199). In short, this is not an ingredient you'd want to put all over your face nightly, or even once weekly.

Interestingly, the NuCerity website refers to the acetone in Skincerity as "medical-grade acetone". Unfortunately, there is no such ingredient or classification for acetone, at least, not that the FDA or our toxicologists have ever heard of. Simply put, acetone is acetone!

The rest of the formula includes a polymer chemical often used in Teflon-coated cookware, vitamin E (tocopheryl acetate), a film-forming agent typically seen in hairsprays, water, grape oil, and fragrance. That's it! Between the acetone and the film-forming agent you're getting the "breathable barrier" that is supposed to function like a second skin, but for the most part the formula deprives your skin of what it needs to look and act younger. A water- or silicone-based antioxidant serum loaded with skin-repairing and cell-communicating ingredients can do so much more, all without the problems acetone presents—and bear in mind that removing Skincerity requires effort; it won't just wash off with your cleanser.

We cannot express emphatically enough what a waste of time and money this product is, but even if you have all the time and money in the world, please don't bother using this product. The toning and tightening you'll feel is from the acetone, and that's due its damaging, dehydrating properties. The good ingredients this contains (including vitamin E and grape seed oil) are found in numerous other products that don't put your skin at risk for irritation and, in all likelihood, more problems.

Pros:
  • None.
Cons:
  • Contains a known skin irritant (acetone) as its main ingredient.
  • Overpriced.
  • Cannot deliver on its claims, other than the tight feeling acetone leaves (but that's not helpful for anyone's skin).
  • Sort of like rolling hairspray on skin.
  • Contains only a limited amount of proven beneficial ingredients.

Tones and tightens your skin. Smooths and brightens dull facial complexions. Reduces the appearance of skins fine lines,wrinkles, enlarged porse and also facial redness. It hydrates and nourishes dry damaged skin.

Acetone, Fluoropolymer, Tocopherol Acetate (Vitamin E), Acrylic Polymer, Water, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Fragrance

Skincerity Nightly Breathable Masque is one of a handful of products sold by a company known as NuCerity International. For the time being, we are only reviewing their Skincerity product as it’s the one we’re asked about most (and one of the most shockingly bad formulas we’ve seen in years, but more on that in the review itself).

According to NuCerity's website, they offer "a comprehensive home-based business opportunity that can help you supplement your current income, replace it completely or build a solid business foundation that can set the stage for lasting wealth. It is a conscious decision that Nucerity has chosen person-to-person marketing as the optimal channel to distribute its leading-edge products." If their other products are anything like Skincerity (and there's no way to find that out unless you order them) then this is not a company we'd encourage anyone to get involved with. Simply clicking around their website can be confounding, as you run into dead ends and other impediments when trying to find out more than what the company wishes to make prominent.

This company is over the top in many ways, perhaps the least of which involves promises of long-term wealth and "a lasting legacy for your children and grandchildren". These are personal care products being sold, not feats of epic bravery or one-of-a-kind works of art! The superlatives may seem enticing, but think twice before getting on board Nucerity—as they say, don't quit your day job!

Note: Although we don't recommend Skincerity, you should know that unless you're purchasing online from a third-party supplier, you cannot order products from NuCerity's site unless you have a NuCerity sponsor and know that sponsor's ID and user name. Talk about not making it easier, and we strongly suspect any NuCerity sponsor you encounter will attempt to convince you to become a distributor too, because that's a big way they make money.

For more information about Skincerity by NuCerity, call (800) 961-2291 (but we do not advise any of our readers to sign up to sell this brand) or visit www.nucerity.net.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Shannon R
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 11, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Personal choice
    • My 49 year old skin is healthier than when I was 25. It's mom and doctor approved!! I have used this product for 3 years if it dried out my skin I would not continue to use it. Be smart enough to give it a fair evaluation. Its different than anything you will ever try don't be scared of the technology it does work if you let it!!

  2. Marty
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Love it
    • I have seen amazing results. Personally and on my mother, husband and three children. It has faded scars, evened out my skin tone to name a few! I will not be able to live with out this product!

  3. Joanne D
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Not paying attention
    • I have friends marketing this product but really, they are marketing the business. The product is a way to deliver that. I agree with Paula's assessment. Never once did she say that vitamin E and grape oil applied faithfully to your skin wouldn't bring positive results. What I read is that the delivery method was flawed - both the application and the removal of the product. I also read that there are other, better products out there that will bring better results. I know, I use them!

  4. annie n
    Reviewed on Friday, January 10, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    wrong again
    • look Paula, you need to give up on the acetone argument cause that's all you've got here. this product is GREAT its reduced stretch marks, acne scars and blemishes. works on cuts, scratches, bug bites, bee stings, burns, you name it. Skincerity is a breathable liquid band aid. a mothers breast milk produces more acetone than what is in a bottle of skincerity. my whole family uses the product that's a 36 year old a 18 year old and a 14 year old all for different reasons. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, April 19, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Stinky, uncomfortable product
    • I have searched for years for a product that would lessen the bags under my eyes and help the scarring on my face from a car accident over a decade ago. I tried Skincerity for two weeks - the result was red skin, dry skin and an irritated husband from the stink of the acetone. I don't know what "medical grade" means when we're talking about smearing nail polish remover across your face - but I can't get my head around it.

  6. denise r
    Reviewed on Monday, March 11, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    your body produces acetone!
    • If you had bothered to do any research you would find that this is not the same acetone as in nail varnish! Acetone is used in babywipes you even produce acetone in your body. from Nucerity Website: The Skincerity pharmaceutical-grade acetone (2-Propanone) is non-toxic and does not dry the skin. The Skincerity acetone is used to prepare the skin, turn the liquid in the bottle into a clear masque, keep bacteria out of the bottle, and create skin healthy micro-porous breathing holes in the film.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 07, 2013
    Thank you for taking the time to comment! In terms of our review process, we absolutely do our research. It can be surprising, we know, that such a hyped product is fundamentally a bottle of nail polish remover. Acetone is acetone, regardless of the efforts of marketing to indicate otherwise. Per the FDA and our toxicologists, there isn't any such classification as "medical-grade acetone". Even if there were such an ingredient as medical-grade acetone, it wouldn't change the fact that acetone is damaging to skin. Yes, the body produces acetone, but the body also produces hydrochloric acid and that isn't something you want applied all over your face! Simply because the body produces a chemical doesn't mean it's beneficial to use in skin-care applications.
    —Admin
  7. Sue
    Reviewed on Friday, March 08, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Skincerity ?
    • Paula, I have not read anything negative other than your posting, so hard to make a decision yet. There must be something about this line of Nucerity that works from the people that I have talked to and seen the difference. Medical/science professionals and their wives are using this and very pleased with the results. I know that it sounds strange considering the product acetone. And they can afford any line if makeup/skin care products! I am just starting to use it and will see soon.

  8. Jan G
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 21, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    You're wrong on this one, Paula!
    • Hi Paula - I'm sorry, but you're really wrong on this review. My sister gave me a bottle of Skincerity to try and OMG I saw fantastic results. Definitely reduced fine lines around mouth and eyes, better tone, less age spots. I was curious and read a lot...think you should contact the company. You're description of the ingredients is too simplified and not correct...please give it another look because I've got friends who are also having amazing results with this product. Thanks!

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 07, 2013
    Thank you for your feedback! While we know it's hard to resist a product with such incredible claims, the facts are indisputable in terms of ingredients and the research that supports our assessment. Much like we wouldn't endorse smoking as a method of weight control (no matter how many of our friends swore by its effectiveness), we can't ignore the fact that Skincerity is essentially a $130 bottle of nail polish remover and hairspray-like ingredients. We absolutely understand how difficult it is to reconcile this with the marketing claims surrounding Skincerity, but there you have it. Thank you for sharing your experience and comments!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.