02.06.2015
25
3
Skincerity Nightly Breathable Masque
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $129.95
Category:Skin Care > Facial Masks > Moisturizing/Firming Masks
Last Updated:02.06.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Unknown
Review Overview

The curiosity over this product has been nothing short of startling, especially when you consider the formula. Many of you have asked us about this roll-on mask that claims to tighten skin, reduce wrinkles and enlarged pores, and basically improve anything you don't like about your complexion. For what this costs, it better do all that and file our tax returns, too!

Before we get to the ingredients, it's worth mentioning that no single product can do it all. No question there are products out there that can tackle multiple skin concerns, but the gamut of claims for Skincerity Nightly Breathable Mask is over the top. This product is far from a transformative treatment for skin; in fact, regular use can be a big problem for all skin types, and many skin concerns!

The main ingredient in this "breathable" mask is acetone. You read that correctly, acetone, as in nail polish remover. This ingredient is, by nature, drying, not hydrating. It immediately damages substances (such as fatty acids) in skin that keep it smooth and healthy (Sources: Journal of Applied Toxicology, August 2012, pages 537–563; Skin Research and Technology, November 2007, pages 425–435; British Journal of Dermatology, April 1999, pages 739–748; and Microscopy Research and Technique, May 1997, pages 193–199). In short, this is not an ingredient you'd want to put all over your face nightly, or even once weekly.

Interestingly, the NuCerity website refers to the acetone in Skincerity as "medical-grade acetone". Although some companies do sell different grades of acetone, that doesn't make it a must for skin! Classifications of medical or pharmaceutical for acetone still come with rather dire warnings, such as "Vapors may cause flash fire or explosion" and, for skin contact, "Prolonged or repeated contact may result in defatting and drying of the skin, causing skin irritation and dermatits (rash." So much for medical-grade acetone being better! Simply put, acetone is acetone and it's a problem for skin.

The rest of the formula includes a polymer chemical often used in Teflon-coated cookware, vitamin E (tocopheryl acetate), a film-forming agent typically seen in hairsprays, water, grape oil, and fragrance. That's it!

Between the acetone and the film-forming agent you're getting the "breathable barrier" that is supposed to function like a second skin, but for the most part the formula deprives your skin of what it needs to look and act younger. A water- or silicone-based antioxidant serum loaded with skin-repairing and cell-communicating ingredients can do so much more, all without the problems acetone presents—and bear in mind that removing Skincerity requires effort; it won't just wash off with your cleanser.

We cannot express emphatically enough what a waste of time and money this product is, but even if you have all the time and money in the world, please don't bother with this product. The toning and tightening you'll feel is from the acetone, and that's due its damaging, dehydrating properties. The good ingredients this contains (including vitamin E and grape seed oil) are found in numerous other products that don't put your skin at risk for irritation and, in all likelihood, more problems.

Pros:
  • None.
Cons:
  • Contains a known skin irritant (acetone) as its main ingredient.
  • Overpriced.
  • Cannot deliver on its claims, other than the tight feeling acetone leaves (but that's not helpful for anyone's skin).
  • Sort of like rolling hairspray on skin.
  • Contains only a limited amount of proven beneficial ingredients.
Claims

Tones and tightens your skin. Smooths and brightens dull facial complexions. Reduces the appearance of skins fine lines,wrinkles, enlarged porse and also facial redness. It hydrates and nourishes dry damaged skin.

Ingredients

Acetone, Fluoropolymer, Tocopherol Acetate (Vitamin E), Acrylic Polymer, Water, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Fragrance

Brand Overview

NuCerity-At-A-Glance

Strengths: None.

Weaknesses: Their star product's main ingredient is acetone. That's nail polish remover, and that's bad for skin—especially in a facial product you're directed to leave on overnight!

Skincerity Nightly Breathable Masque is one of a handful of products sold by a company known as NuCerity International. For the time being, we are only reviewing their Skincerity product as it’s the one we’re asked about most (and one of the most shockingly bad formulas we’ve seen in years, but more on that in the review itself).

According to NuCerity's website, they offer "a comprehensive home-based business opportunity that can help you supplement your current income, replace it completely or build a solid business foundation that can set the stage for lasting wealth. It is a conscious decision that Nucerity has chosen person-to-person marketing as the optimal channel to distribute its leading-edge products." If their other products are anything like Skincerity (and there's no way to find that out unless you order them) then this is not a company we'd encourage anyone to get involved with. Simply clicking around their website can be confounding, as you run into dead ends and other impediments when trying to find out more than what the company wishes to make prominent.

This company is over the top in many ways, perhaps the least of which involves promises of long-term wealth and "a lasting legacy for your children and grandchildren". These are personal care products being sold, not feats of epic bravery or one-of-a-kind works of art! The superlatives may seem enticing, but think twice before getting on board Nucerity—as they say, don't quit your day job!

Note: Although we don't recommend Skincerity, you should know that unless you're purchasing online from a third-party supplier, you cannot order products from NuCerity's site unless you have a NuCerity sponsor and know that sponsor's ID and user name. Talk about not making it easier, and we strongly suspect any NuCerity sponsor you encounter will attempt to convince you to become a distributor too, because that's a big way they make money.

For more information about Skincerity by NuCerity, call (800) 961-2291 (but we do not advise any of our readers to sign up to sell this brand) or visit www.nucerity.net.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.13.2015
You are a quack.

National Institute of Health Grants funded this.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.10.2015
what a rip off !

I paid $200 plus for masque and got red dry spots!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Kaye M
04.07.2015
Damaged my skin

Dry patches all my skin. I Would never recommend

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.10.2015
Anonymous

Terrible!! Dry patches like eczema after one week!! Why would you put yourself at risk?! It has nail polish remover in it!! It does not take a rocket scientist to understand you are destroying every cell in your face! Not natural folks.Vaseline does a better job repairing your face and is in just about every facial product there is anyway so why not use it instead?! 6 months might not be a long enough trial for some! Wait and see what happens when you don't use it & your face has to breathe!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
J
02.26.2015
Sincerity AMAZING results. love it

My personal experience with skincerity is very positive. My wife was given a bottle by her girlfriend/nurse for me to use on a large keloid scar after major surgery. The results are truely amazing. We both now use skincerity every night, it has saved me a fortune on make up for my wife, her skin is now so clear she only wears lipstick. I highly recommend everyone take the time to do your own research.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Paul
02.13.2015
Doesn't work for everyone

This product dried my skin and gave me fine lines on my cheeks...the first couple weeks were fine and then I started to notice how dry my skin was, and then noticed all the fine lines that appeared out of nowhere. I had signed up before I tried it and then dropped it like a hot potato! I totally agree with your assessment of the product.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
cruzeng
12.19.2014
Can't believe that people would or could ignore the evidence!

I have read the banter above and decided to see what all the cafufle is about. Bottom line is the stuff works even if we don't understand why or how. I don't understand how a space craft launches but it doesn't change the fact that it does. Come on everyone, open your eyes but be humble enough to admit the possibility that you may be wrong. The evidence is in so let it speak for itself! Thanks to those who created the uproar - I have discovered the product I've been looking for!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Leone Loechner
12.11.2014
You are wrong about Nucerity

I am 65 years old and was introduced to Nucerity about 6 months ago. I have tried so many products throughout the years and I have never found one I like as much as Nucerity. It almost immediately evened out my skintone. It has helped fade scars, bumps and fine lines. The acetone odor fades almost immediately. I think everyone should try this product. Yes it is fairly expensive but it WORKS. When I think of all the money I have waisted over the years on products that didn't work! Love it!!!!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Donna, H
11.28.2014
Love this product!:)

I LOVE this product and I don't find it pricey at all. Maybe if you're comparing to bar soap and water? Have a great day!:)

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Michelle T
11.25.2014
Love skincerity

I have been using skincerity on my skin for the last few months. I am from Australia by the way. And I had noticed results in the first week. I would recommend this product to anyone the price is great because the product works.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Joanne s
11.20.2014
AWFUL

Do not use this product! I have average skin (not very oily, but not dry either) but I decided to try this masque to see if it would help with a sudden breakout... NEVER AGAIN! It left my face dry and irritated. My once smooth skin is now rough and bumpy. The only way I would recommend this is if you have skin that drips with oil; otherwise save your money and your face. You're better off with soap and water.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Erika P
11.14.2014
Caprice

Hi. From Australia, I m just using the Roll on mask Fr Skincerity. I have bad habbit of picking my chin. My chin was all inflame , red spots . its looked terrible. My god did 'nt know what to use then I 've been given a sample of the roll on mask to try. I just can't believe how it help to heal the redness of my skin inthe next morning. I 've been using many many different products for healing and scar but THis one is the best , heal the wound just instant/. I love it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Kelly P
10.28.2014
Got my confidence back :)

Speaking from personal experience and actually using the product, this product has helped me with my breakouts and acne scars! I use to use medicated creams to help control my acne but they would make my skin sensitive and dry. I have used Skincerity for over 6 months with no irritation and no more acne! This has helped me get my confidence back.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Justyna R
09.25.2014
Love my Skincerity

The acetone used in Skincerity is to keep bacteria from entering the bottle and any bacteria off of your face! It evaporates within seconds of touching the skin - thats why anyone who has used it knows the smell of acetone is gone within seconds!! I have tried everything under the sun from naturopathy to Roaccutane to laser scar removal and NOTHING has worked like skincerity!!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
M, M
09.12.2014
Anonymous

Bad Bad Bad stuff. Made my skin red, sore and so so hot. Used it twice and one week later still my skin is inflamed. Don't use it. Dried my hands out and still can not get the moisture back into it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.16.2014
LOVE Skincerity!!

You compare the acetone found in Skincerity with the acetone in nail polish remover and state claims that it is terrible for the skin, even though it is naturally produced within the body. Sometimes things that could sound terrible are actually helpful. Nitroglycerin is used in making bombs. Who would want to ingest that? Yet it is widely used for heart attack patients. It works. Acetone is a needed ingredient of Skincerity and I wouldn't use this product without the cleansing it provides.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.14.2014
Absolutely disagree with your biased review

I am astounded that you gave such a fantastic product the reviews you did. I have been using the complete 5 product line for just 2 months and the deep acne scarring I have had for years ( even Retin-A could only do so much to fade) - and I have never gotten more compliments almost daily on my skin. Not only is my skin drastically almost flawless in color, tone, and texture, but a deep dash on the side of my face I have had for 25 years is almost gone. These products are incredible.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Clear Skin Gal
05.11.2014
Personal choice

My 49 year old skin is healthier than when I was 25. It's mom and doctor approved!! I have used this product for 3 years if it dried out my skin I would not continue to use it. Be smart enough to give it a fair evaluation. Its different than anything you will ever try don't be scared of the technology it does work if you let it!!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Shannon R
02.11.2014
Love it

I have seen amazing results. Personally and on my mother, husband and three children. It has faded scars, evened out my skin tone to name a few! I will not be able to live with out this product!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Marty
01.14.2014
Not paying attention

I have friends marketing this product but really, they are marketing the business. The product is a way to deliver that. I agree with Paula's assessment. Never once did she say that vitamin E and grape oil applied faithfully to your skin wouldn't bring positive results. What I read is that the delivery method was flawed - both the application and the removal of the product. I also read that there are other, better products out there that will bring better results. I know, I use them!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Joanne D
01.10.2014
wrong again

look Paula, you need to give up on the acetone argument cause that's all you've got here. this product is GREAT its reduced stretch marks, acne scars and blemishes. works on cuts, scratches, bug bites, bee stings, burns, you name it. Skincerity is a breathable liquid band aid. a mothers breast milk produces more acetone than what is in a bottle of skincerity. my whole family uses the product that's a 36 year old a 18 year old and a 14 year old all for different reasons. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
annie n
04.19.2013
Stinky, uncomfortable product

I have searched for years for a product that would lessen the bags under my eyes and help the scarring on my face from a car accident over a decade ago. I tried Skincerity for two weeks - the result was red skin, dry skin and an irritated husband from the stink of the acetone. I don't know what "medical grade" means when we're talking about smearing nail polish remover across your face - but I can't get my head around it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.11.2013
your body produces acetone!

If you had bothered to do any research you would find that this is not the same acetone as in nail varnish! Acetone is used in babywipes you even produce acetone in your body. from Nucerity Website: The Skincerity pharmaceutical-grade acetone (2-Propanone) is non-toxic and does not dry the skin. The Skincerity acetone is used to prepare the skin, turn the liquid in the bottle into a clear masque, keep bacteria out of the bottle, and create skin healthy micro-porous breathing holes in the film.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
denise r
05.07.2013
Beautypedia Team Response
Thank you for taking the time to comment! In terms of our review process, we absolutely do our research. It can be surprising, we know, that such a hyped product is fundamentally a bottle of nail polish remover. Acetone is acetone, regardless of the efforts of marketing to indicate otherwise. Per the FDA and our toxicologists, there isn't any such classification as "medical-grade acetone". Even if there were such an ingredient as medical-grade acetone, it wouldn't change the fact that acetone is damaging to skin. Yes, the body produces acetone, but the body also produces hydrochloric acid and that isn't something you want applied all over your face! Simply because the body produces a chemical doesn't mean it's beneficial to use in skin-care applications.
—Admin
03.08.2013
Skincerity ?

Paula, I have not read anything negative other than your posting, so hard to make a decision yet. There must be something about this line of Nucerity that works from the people that I have talked to and seen the difference. Medical/science professionals and their wives are using this and very pleased with the results. I know that it sounds strange considering the product acetone. And they can afford any line if makeup/skin care products! I am just starting to use it and will see soon.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Sue
02.21.2013
You're wrong on this one, Paula!

Hi Paula - I'm sorry, but you're really wrong on this review. My sister gave me a bottle of Skincerity to try and OMG I saw fantastic results. Definitely reduced fine lines around mouth and eyes, better tone, less age spots. I was curious and read a lot...think you should contact the company. You're description of the ingredients is too simplified and not correct...please give it another look because I've got friends who are also having amazing results with this product. Thanks!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jan G
05.07.2013
Beautypedia Team Response
Thank you for your feedback! While we know it's hard to resist a product with such incredible claims, the facts are indisputable in terms of ingredients and the research that supports our assessment. Much like we wouldn't endorse smoking as a method of weight control (no matter how many of our friends swore by its effectiveness), we can't ignore the fact that Skincerity is essentially a $130 bottle of nail polish remover and hairspray-like ingredients. We absolutely understand how difficult it is to reconcile this with the marketing claims surrounding Skincerity, but there you have it. Thank you for sharing your experience and comments!
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.389 4/21/2015 6:44:10 AM