12.31.2014
11
NYX Cosmetics
Doll Eye Mascara Longlash
Rating
$9.50
Category:Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:12.31.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:No
Overview

This mascara sells itself as a lengthening option, but it actually builds equal parts length and thickness. If really long lashes are what you want, NYX’s Doll Eye Mascara Volume is the one to choose. But this Longlash version is an excellent all-purpose mascara that wears without a hitch and is easy to remove with a water-soluble cleanser.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

NYX Cosmetics At-A-Glance

Strengths: NYX provides complete ingredient lists on its website; inexpensive for such quality makeup that rivals department store brands (yes, even M.A.C.); superior blush, gloss, and eyeshadow; several excellent mascaras.

Weaknesses: Many products are available only from the company's website, which means you can't see or test the colors in person (and the company doesn't offer samples); disappointing foundation primers.

This small Los Angeles–based makeup line was founded in 1999 by a woman named Toni Ko. The company's Web site is vague about Ko's background, merely stating that she developed an interest in cosmetics as a teenager (you know, just like about 99.9% of teenage women) and wanted to create her own line of cosmetics. Ko's goal was to produce high-quality products at affordable prices, and that's the draw of NYX (pronounced "nicks") Cosmetics. We are pleased to report that, for the most part, Ko succeeded in her childhood dream.

It is important to note that this line offers a full selection of makeup products, from foundations to lip gloss. However, the only place to access everything NYX Cosmetics has to offer is their Web site. The Ulta chain is the largest distributor of NYX Cosmetics products in the United States, but they carry a smaller selection of NYX products. The good news is that most of the few NYX products Ulta stocks are impressive, especially the powder eyeshadows, which compete evenly with eyeshadows that cost a lot more.

NYX Cosmetics customer service number is (866) 699-1004 or you can visit www.nyxcosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Thursday, February 19, 2015
builds well and still looks natural

When I wear this I don't exactly have the lashes of a doll, but what I DO have is natural-looking length, volume, and color. I have purchased this mascara twice now. I love that it builds well and I can apply it to my bottom lashes without smudging and flaking. The drier formula allows for better application control. My budget for mascara usually never exceeds $10 and this is the best drugstore option I have tried.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Elisse L
Thursday, December 25, 2014
One of the Best!

I've tried about 40 different mascaras in the last several years. This by far was in my top 5. I don;t need volume, but do need length. It is hard to find a mascara that just lengthens though many claim that is all they do. This mascara works wonders for me and is my go to for everyday use. I have tried the waterproof version and it is not at all waterproof which was disappointing, but this version rocks!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Nope

Maybe I got an old product, but this just didn't do it for me. Flakes easily and requires multiple, multiple coats to get anything remotely resembling length or volume. I was hoping for something more dramatic with a name like "Doll Eye," but this didn't cut it. Might work well for someone looking for a more natural, less dramatic look, but this didn't do it for me.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Laura H.
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Best Mascara!

I have purchased so many mascaras in my lifetime - the high end ones from Dior to Essence and everything in between. I have long lashes but they are thinner than I'd like. Mascara seems to make all the difference for me, so I continue searching and spending a ton of money trying to find one that gives me that "false eyelash" look, wears well, doesn't clump, doesn't smudge, doesn't flake and washes off with basic cleanser. Finally, I found one that does all this and for under $10! Thanks Paula

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
EmC
Wednesday, April 09, 2014
MY GO -TO MASCARA

I really like this mascara! Once again- I would not be aware of this product without Paula's Beautypedia- & its amazing comprehensive coverage of products. I like the way one side of the brush is flattened so that you can press the wand up against your lashes. It NEVER flakes-even if you fall asleep before taking it off. It does lengthen and thicken- even with one coat. If you have the patience to add more than one coat-results are even better. The price is great. Hope it's not discontinued!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Debra L.
Tuesday, October 29, 2013
makeup lover

I am absolutely in love with this mascara. There is nothing I don't like about it! Goes on great, wears great and washes off without pulling and tugging on lashs! Also holds curl!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
CATHY S.
Tuesday, September 24, 2013
Unexpected hit!

This definitely lengthened my lashes, didn't smudge during the day, washes off easily and wasn't irritating the way other mascaras can be. Great value, too! I will definitely buy it again.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Karin
Tuesday, September 17, 2013
Good hold

Good formula. Holds my lashes up and I don't even need an eyelash curler. The brush is not my favourite. I had to switch the spoolie. But for,ula is good and washes off well. It's been three months and no clumps.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
nY
Sunday, July 14, 2013
Great mascara

I wasn't sure about this at first. It seems very dry. However, the length and volume is excellent. You need to build the product up, but that gives you good control. Less expensive then even drugstore mascara.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Marsha H.
Monday, April 22, 2013
LOVE THIS MASCARA!

My short, sparse Asian eyelashes finally found a fantastic non-waterproof mascara that holds a curl (after eyelash curling). After two coats I get impressive length that I can actually see! I would definitely buy this again (and I have!). I have tried Cover Girl, Maybelline, Loreal, Revlon--no match for this mascara, according to my eyelashes!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
JoAnn K.
Friday, March 29, 2013
Not Impressive

I have long, sparse lashes. This mascara neither lengthens nor thickens lashes. They look short and sparse after applying two coats and using an eyelash curler. I think I will continue to use less expensive Maybelline mascaras.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Stacey M.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.369 3/1/2015 5:31:32 PM