Doll Eye Mascara Longlash

Price:
$9.50 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:
3/24/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

This mascara sells itself as a lengthening option, but it actually builds equal parts length and thickness. If really long lashes are what you want, NYX’s Doll Eye Mascara Volume is the one to choose. But this Longlash version is an excellent all-purpose mascara that wears without a hitch and is easy to remove with a water-soluble cleanser.

This small Los Angeles–based makeup line was founded in 1999 by a woman named Toni Ko. The company's Web site is vague about Ko's background, merely stating that she developed an interest in cosmetics as a teenager (you know, just like about 99.9% of teenage women) and wanted to create her own line of cosmetics. Ko's goal was to produce high-quality products at affordable prices, and that's the draw of NYX (pronounced "nicks") Cosmetics. We are pleased to report that, for the most part, Ko succeeded in her childhood dream.

It is important to note that this line offers a full selection of makeup products, from foundations to lip gloss. However, the only place to access everything NYX Cosmetics has to offer is their Web site. The Ulta chain is the largest distributor of NYX Cosmetics products in the United States, but they carry a smaller selection of NYX products. The good news is that most of the few NYX products Ulta stocks are impressive, especially the powder eyeshadows, which compete evenly with eyeshadows that cost a lot more.

NYX Cosmetics customer service number is (866) 699-1004 or you can visit www.nyxcosmetics.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Laura H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 15, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Nope
    • Maybe I got an old product, but this just didn't do it for me. Flakes easily and requires multiple, multiple coats to get anything remotely resembling length or volume. I was hoping for something more dramatic with a name like "Doll Eye," but this didn't cut it. Might work well for someone looking for a more natural, less dramatic look, but this didn't do it for me.

  2. EmC
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 24, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Best Mascara!
    • I have purchased so many mascaras in my lifetime - the high end ones from Dior to Essence and everything in between. I have long lashes but they are thinner than I'd like. Mascara seems to make all the difference for me, so I continue searching and spending a ton of money trying to find one that gives me that "false eyelash" look, wears well, doesn't clump, doesn't smudge, doesn't flake and washes off with basic cleanser. Finally, I found one that does all this and for under $10! Thanks Paula

  3. Debra L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    MY GO -TO MASCARA
    • I really like this mascara! Once again- I would not be aware of this product without Paula's Beautypedia- & its amazing comprehensive coverage of products. I like the way one side of the brush is flattened so that you can press the wand up against your lashes. It NEVER flakes-even if you fall asleep before taking it off. It does lengthen and thicken- even with one coat. If you have the patience to add more than one coat-results are even better. The price is great. Hope it's not discontinued!

  4. CATHY S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 29, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    makeup lover
    • I am absolutely in love with this mascara. There is nothing I don't like about it! Goes on great, wears great and washes off without pulling and tugging on lashs! Also holds curl!

  5. Karin
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 24, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Unexpected hit!
    • This definitely lengthened my lashes, didn't smudge during the day, washes off easily and wasn't irritating the way other mascaras can be. Great value, too! I will definitely buy it again.

  6. nY
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 17, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Good hold
    • Good formula. Holds my lashes up and I don't even need an eyelash curler. The brush is not my favourite. I had to switch the spoolie. But for,ula is good and washes off well. It's been three months and no clumps.

  7. Marsha H.
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 14, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great mascara
    • I wasn't sure about this at first. It seems very dry. However, the length and volume is excellent. You need to build the product up, but that gives you good control. Less expensive then even drugstore mascara.

  8. JoAnn K.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 22, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    LOVE THIS MASCARA!
    • My short, sparse Asian eyelashes finally found a fantastic non-waterproof mascara that holds a curl (after eyelash curling). After two coats I get impressive length that I can actually see! I would definitely buy this again (and I have!). I have tried Cover Girl, Maybelline, Loreal, Revlon--no match for this mascara, according to my eyelashes!

  9. Stacey M.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 29, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Not Impressive
    • I have long, sparse lashes. This mascara neither lengthens nor thickens lashes. They look short and sparse after applying two coats and using an eyelash curler. I think I will continue to use less expensive Maybelline mascaras.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.358 12/18/2014 7:40:19 AM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.