02.06.2014
5
2
Eyebrow Cake Powder
Rating
$6
Category:Makeup > Eyebrow Fillers & Shapers > Brow Powder/Wax
Last Updated:02.06.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This brow-enhancing palette includes two shades of powder and a setting wax. If you’re considering a brow powder, you’re better off using a well-chosen matte eyeshadow rather than this product, because, oddly enough, the setting wax tends to leak all over the powders. The mess is not surprising considering that this wax is extremely greasy and difficult to work with.

Pros:
  • None.
Cons:
  • Greasy setting wax separates and leaks inside the palette.
  • Matte brow powder is very basic, and you can easily substitute a matte powder eyeshadow for it.
  • Brush is far too small for accurate application.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

NYX Cosmetics At-A-Glance

Strengths: NYX provides complete ingredient lists on its website; inexpensive for such quality makeup that rivals department store brands (yes, even M.A.C.); superior blush, gloss, and eyeshadow; several excellent mascaras.

Weaknesses: Many products are available only from the company's website, which means you can't see or test the colors in person (and the company doesn't offer samples); disappointing foundation primers.

This small Los Angeles–based makeup line was founded in 1999 by a woman named Toni Ko. The company's Web site is vague about Ko's background, merely stating that she developed an interest in cosmetics as a teenager (you know, just like about 99.9% of teenage women) and wanted to create her own line of cosmetics. Ko's goal was to produce high-quality products at affordable prices, and that's the draw of NYX (pronounced "nicks") Cosmetics. We are pleased to report that, for the most part, Ko succeeded in her childhood dream.

It is important to note that this line offers a full selection of makeup products, from foundations to lip gloss. However, the only place to access everything NYX Cosmetics has to offer is their Web site. The Ulta chain is the largest distributor of NYX Cosmetics products in the United States, but they carry a smaller selection of NYX products. The good news is that most of the few NYX products Ulta stocks are impressive, especially the powder eyeshadows, which compete evenly with eyeshadows that cost a lot more.

NYX Cosmetics customer service number is (866) 699-1004 or you can visit www.nyxcosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
01.21.2015
Just great

I just love this product. I have to admit that I almost never use the wax, so can't say much about it. But the powder is easy to apply and stays all day long. You have to get used to a small brush, or you can buy an extra one. If you buy powder from Anastasia BH you don't get any brushes at all. You have to buy it separately. This NYX powder is one of the best selling eyebrow products in Germany.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
LA
10.30.2014
I'm surprised!

I love this product. I've had NO problem with leakage from the wax, and I'm not careful with this product at all. It bangs around in my makeup bag all day. I've had it for a year, and the wax and powder is in place and as effective as the day I bought it. I have a couple eyebrow pencils, one of which was very pricey, but this looks more natural. I love that it comes with the wax to set, and the little brushes it comes with are effective and convenient. Surprised by PC's negative review!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
corinna b.
09.03.2014
My Eyebrows Fell Out!!!!

I used this product to get a feel for shaping my brows. I have thin brows and they are very light brown (almost blonde). The color was a great match and although the brush was small I was able to use it with little to no problem. After a few months I noticed my eyebrows started to itch and were falling out in small patches!!!! I had to immediately stop using the product and am waiting for the hairs to fill in again. Not sure what the problem was but BEWARE

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
KJ
07.30.2014
THIS IS A GREAT EYEBROW POWDER,

I agree with the other reviewer, this is a great product and I've never had any problems with it. I have used regular matte eyeshadows before as a brow powder and yes they work well. This product, however, tends to stay on better than a regular eyeshadow. It is fantastic and my sparse brows really look great and very natural. I use a bigger brush to apply it in the morning and the brush it comes with for a touch up during the day if needed. It stays put very well! I would rate it Best!!!!!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Jody
07.27.2014
This product is fine...

Not sure why this product has such a poor rating - I bought it about three months ago and have not had problems with the wax leaking into the powder. The powder is very natural looking and I like the two tones. The wax can look a little greasy, so it needs a light touch when applying.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.389 4/26/2015 1:21:42 AM