12.18.2014
25
NYX Cosmetics
HD Eye Shadow Base
Rating
$7
Category:Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products > Eyeshadow > Eyeshadow Primers
Last Updated:12.18.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:No
Overview

This liquid eyeshadow base sets to a powder-like, matte finish that enhances shadow and liner application. The absorbent formula helps keep oily lids at bay and prevents creasing throughout the day. It applies smoothly and evenly with a sponge-tip wand.

HD Eye Shadow Base comes in a universal, light peach shade that is so sheer it hardly shows, so this is more about the powdery finish than adding color. It’s definitely worth considering if you find that using concealer or foundation as an eyeshadow base doesn’t do the trick for you.

Pros:

  • Sets to a powder-like, matte finish that enhances shadow and liner application.
  • Prevents oily lids and creasing throughout the day.
  • Universal peach shade goes on so sheer it’s hardly noticeable.
  • Applies smoothly with a sponge-tip wand.

Cons:

  • None.
Claims

Prep your eyelids with this lightweight eye makeup primer that makes skin appear smoother, more even toned, and ensures lasting makeup application. The High Definition Eye Shadow Base conceals creases and pumps up the vibrancy of your eye shadow.

Ingredients

Isododecane, Talc, Beeswax, Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, VP / Eicosene Copolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenoxyethanol / Methylparaben, Ethylparaben / Butylparaben, Propylparaben / Isobutylparaben, Colorant, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492 (Iron Oxide Yellow), CI 77499 (Iron Oxide Black), CI 77491 (Iron Oxide Red)

Brand Overview

NYX Cosmetics At-A-Glance

Strengths: NYX provides complete ingredient lists on its website; inexpensive for such quality makeup that rivals department store brands (yes, even M.A.C.); superior blush, gloss, and eyeshadow; several excellent mascaras.

Weaknesses: Many products are available only from the company's website, which means you can't see or test the colors in person (and the company doesn't offer samples); disappointing foundation primers.

This small Los Angeles–based makeup line was founded in 1999 by a woman named Toni Ko. The company's Web site is vague about Ko's background, merely stating that she developed an interest in cosmetics as a teenager (you know, just like about 99.9% of teenage women) and wanted to create her own line of cosmetics. Ko's goal was to produce high-quality products at affordable prices, and that's the draw of NYX (pronounced "nicks") Cosmetics. We are pleased to report that, for the most part, Ko succeeded in her childhood dream.

It is important to note that this line offers a full selection of makeup products, from foundations to lip gloss. However, the only place to access everything NYX Cosmetics has to offer is their Web site. The Ulta chain is the largest distributor of NYX Cosmetics products in the United States, but they carry a smaller selection of NYX products. The good news is that most of the few NYX products Ulta stocks are impressive, especially the powder eyeshadows, which compete evenly with eyeshadows that cost a lot more.

NYX Cosmetics customer service number is (866) 699-1004 or you can visit www.nyxcosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Monday, January 12, 2015
Uh Uh

This product just doesn't work. I let it dry for a couple of minutes because it goes on sticky and heavy. I checked my eyelids (still oily at 63) mid-way through the day and they looked like no primer had been used. Keep your money in your wallet.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Eileen G
Sunday, November 23, 2014
Sadly, not impressed

This product doesn't seem to make my eyeshadow last longer or prevent creasing. The price is great but the product itself is average. I have been using it for several months and it may do better than eyeshadow alone but not as effective as other primers I have used. I love NYX but this product is a disappointment.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jamie E.
Saturday, September 06, 2014
Does the trick!

I have the oilest of skin and this keeps my shadow in place until the end of the day. Way cheaper than other dept. store brands. Agree with either reviews that you must give it a few minutes "wait time" to dry and set. That is the only drawback.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
R. G
Wednesday, August 06, 2014
Let it set, then apply shadow.

I totally agree with the reviewer who said that this primer will settle into creases if not allowed to set prior to applying shadow. It is absolutely worth waiting for a half minute or so for best results. My lids tend to be oily, even at the age of 41. But my makeup looks great all day long, inside or in hot outdoor weather when I use this primer. I hope it's never discontinued. It's one of a handful of products that I can't imagine living without!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
M. M.
Monday, July 28, 2014
greasy mess

I have somewhat puffy eyelids that are very oily. When I used this primer after applying a silicone based waterproof eyeliner pencil, as soon as I opened my eyes, the eyeliner transferred to a big dark line in the crease of my eyelid. What a mess. I had to remove everything at start over. This primer doesn't ever seem to dry. Not recommended at all!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
K.T.
Friday, July 04, 2014
Really disappointing

I have hooded eyes and can't wear any eye makeup without a primer. Previously I've used eye primers from Palladio Beauty and other budget lines and was generally happy. This 1 was just awful. I knew it was trouble as soon as I applied it as it had an oily texture. Took about 10 minutes (!) to mostly dry. Put on my usual eyeshadow and sure enough, my eyelids turned into a creased, smudgy mess in about 30 minutes. Like the milk pencil, it also tends to mattify metallic or sparkly colors. Awful.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
lara j.
Monday, March 31, 2014
Works really well for me

I finally located this product in a store in Portland on vacation (couldn't find it anywhere in Seattle at any store). This really 'STICKS' and takes absolutely little to no product to do the job. I use way less than I expected and thus maybe that's why I don't have the issues with it being wet - I find it dries very quickly for me. I won't hesitate to order this product online when I run out and need more.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
AMY
Saturday, February 15, 2014
Greasy and Creasy

So wet it creased on itself when trying to apply. Color is great and eyeshadow really pops on top but I can't get the hang of application. Is probably okay for those who don't have any problems with eyeshadow already and can let it dry a long time. But really, who has that kind of time?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Erin G.
Saturday, September 14, 2013
Cannot be without

Love this and it lasts forever in the tube and really keeps shadow where I want it all day. Cannot be without it. A real MUST HAVE.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
DANA G.
Saturday, September 14, 2013
Good stuff!

Very good product for price. Lots of saturated color, so,do not need to use much, especially in the bright or dark colors. Biggest problem is that it is always out at ULTA or very low stock. I have never been there when it is,fully stocked on anything in NYX

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
DANA G.
Monday, September 09, 2013
Does what it claims

I have oily/combination skin. All eyeshadow creases by the end of the day for me. With this product I can wear eye shadow all day without creasing. The product seemed creamy to the touch and at first I was unsure that it would work, but it did work. I'm very satisfied.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Monday, September 09, 2013
Dsisappointing

This priduct didn't make my eyeshadow last any longer than eyeshadow alone. I prefer the old standby Urban Decay's Primer Potion.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
joan c
Monday, September 09, 2013
Great performance & value

I have normal to dry skin, and tried this product based on the Paula team recommendation. Until I saw the Paula review, I had been using the NARS eyeshadow primer, which is wonderful and elegant, but much more costly. I love this NYX primer! It works like a charm. It may be *slightly* less elegant in texture and performance, but at this price, the NYX HD primer wins! (I wonder if some reviewers are thinking of the other eyeshadow base by NYX? This is the one in the black tube, the HD version.)

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Lynn
Sunday, September 08, 2013
Great staying power - dry time too long

End result is great, eye shadow stays vibrant and crease proof all day even in 100+ degree high humidity. The application is frustrating. It stays wet too long which causes product to settle in eyelid crease. Since it does such a great job otherwise, my work around is to close eyelids for 60 seconds or so for it to dry crease-free and pat with finger one last time. I've used original Urban Decay and Too Faced. All comparable end results. For price may be worth the 60 sec inconvenience.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
DOE ANN L.
Saturday, September 07, 2013
Finally

I had been searching for a shadow base that was affordable. i liked that this was not creamy as they only smear shadow. Nyx products are new to me and very likable.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kathy W.
Saturday, September 07, 2013
not impressed

This product made no appreciable difference to either the application of my eye shadow nor the duration of it. I don't bother to use it now at all.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
MAUREEN M.
Saturday, September 07, 2013
Decent product

I like nyx HD eye shadow primer. But it's the only one I have tried.. I do not use it everyday but when I do my eye shadow lasts much longer and I never see creasing. The consistency is a bit greasy at first but does dry. My only complaint is the packaging. I have had this less than a year and the neck of the tube cracked and the product oozes out. Maybe I twisted it closed a bit too tight? I think I would prefer to have an eye shadow primer in a tube next time.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anme
Friday, August 02, 2013
Useless

Other than being inexpensive I see no positives to this product. I'm a big fan of eyeshadow primer. Urban Decay really helps my eyeshadow stay put. But it's expensive and when I saw how highly rated this, significantly less expensive, base was I decided to give it a try. It did absolutely nothing. I ended up throwing it out so in the end it was more expensive. And it broke my faith in Beautypedia reviews.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
dds
Wednesday, July 24, 2013
not happy

I agree with all the previous reviews. It is not good for oily lids. Matte textures work way too better for me. I don't even see the sparkles of my smokey eye shadow when using this primer.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anca
Thursday, February 14, 2013
Excellent Eye Shadow base for dry sensitive skin

I have dry sensitive skin and live in the cool & damp Pacific Northwest, so oily eyelids are not a problem for me. I have used eye shadow primers from Too Faced, Urban Decay, E.L.F, Perfekt & this one from NYX, and the NYX HD eye shadow base applies smoothly, holds color all day, and has a great price. Out of all I've tried, NYX & Too Faced are my preferred eye shadow primers- Urban Decay is too drying for me.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Saturday, February 02, 2013
HD Eye Shadow Base GREASY!

I'd give this eye shadow base a 0 if it was possible. It is so greasy! I don't know how it made the BEST products list.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Chelle
Saturday, February 02, 2013
HD Eye Shadow Base GREASY!

I'd give this eye shadow base a 0 if it was possible. It is so greasy! I don't know how it made the BEST products list.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Chelle
Friday, December 21, 2012
Okay for price, but better options out there

I am a NYX fan, and wanted to love this primer. But in side-by-side comparisons with my got-to primer (Urban Decay's original eyeshadow primer potion) it did not hold up to the competition. Apparently, my Urban Decay is not even the best rated, but I still think it's better than the NYX option Yes, you will get better application and longer-lasting makeup than not using a primer. But my Urban Decay primer went on smoother, dried quicker and gave longer-lasting results. In my experience these primers last a LONG time, so choose one that gives you the best results no matter the price.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
GEORGIA K.
Thursday, December 06, 2012
Excellent sleeper product try it you'll like it for oily eyelids

This is an excellent sleeper product. I tried this product in Nov 2012. I am fair skinned have 38 yr old slightly oily, wrinkly eyelids, crowsfeet w/sensitive eyes that don’t water. I didn’t realize it but I needed this product. Most eye shadow primer are sticky but this isn't in a bad way, I didn’t used to have an challenge with eye shadow creasing later in the day & now I do. I work 12 hour days so I gave it a try & WOW I am so glad I did. I really didn’t want one more step in my morning make up routine since I am attempting to pare it down. However I added it & I am stocking up on this product, before be my luck they discontinue it. At this time it happens to be the lowest price point for this type of product with the highest Paula’s rating of Best. My shadow (even my liner seems to have more staying power) until I remove it & no more creasing & the color intensity is just as bright as when I first applied it. I apply it after my concealer on my naked eye. It has a concealer type stick wand with a felt tip wand on the end of it. I wipe half of the amount off the wand on to the lip of bottle (just like excess mascara). Apply utilizing the wand then use my fingers to disperse excess & blend. I then let it absorb into the skin while I am doing something else. Usually brush my teeth, my foundation & lipstick. By the time I get back to my eyes it’s pretty well absorbed. Before applying shadow I blend with my finger tip one last time the crease where it tends to accumulate then apply powder shadow. Sometimes my shadow brush does get a little moisture but nothing awful or prefevents blending. Try using a little less if it’s a gunking up your eye shadow brush, which you can always wash. At first that fact alone almost made me give up on it but then I saw how long my shadow held I was inspired to work with it a bit. I am glad I did totally worth it!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
DANA M.
Monday, December 03, 2012
Not good for oily eyelids

I have oily eye lids and always have an issue keeping shadow from creasing, I found this eye primer to be sticky, greasy and made the eyeshadow crease sooner than without it. Worth a try for the price but it didn't work for me.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
D
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.369 3/1/2015 11:10:03 PM