HD Eye Shadow Base

Price:
$7 
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products > Eyeshadow > Eyeshadow Primers
Last Updated:
2/6/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

This liquid eyeshadow base sets to a powder-like, matte finish that enhances shadow and liner application. The absorbent formula helps keep oily lids at bay and prevents creasing throughout the day. It applies smoothly and evenly with a sponge-tip wand.

HD Eye Shadow Base comes in a universal, light peach shade that is so sheer it hardly shows, so this is more about the powdery finish than adding color. It’s definitely worth considering if you find that using concealer or foundation as an eyeshadow base doesn’t do the trick for you.

Pros:

  • Sets to a powder-like, matte finish that enhances shadow and liner application.
  • Prevents oily lids and creasing throughout the day.
  • Universal peach shade goes on so sheer it’s hardly noticeable.
  • Applies smoothly with a sponge-tip wand.

Cons:

  • None.

Prep your eyelids with this lightweight eye makeup primer that makes skin appear smoother, more even toned, and ensures lasting makeup application. The High Definition Eye Shadow Base conceals creases and pumps up the vibrancy of your eye shadow.

Isododecane, Talc, Beeswax, Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, VP / Eicosene Copolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenoxyethanol / Methylparaben, Ethylparaben / Butylparaben, Propylparaben / Isobutylparaben, Colorant, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492 (Iron Oxide Yellow), CI 77499 (Iron Oxide Black), CI 77491 (Iron Oxide Red)

This small Los Angeles–based makeup line was founded in 1999 by a woman named Toni Ko. The company's Web site is vague about Ko's background, merely stating that she developed an interest in cosmetics as a teenager (you know, just like about 99.9% of teenage women) and wanted to create her own line of cosmetics. Ko's goal was to produce high-quality products at affordable prices, and that's the draw of NYX (pronounced "nicks") Cosmetics. We are pleased to report that, for the most part, Ko succeeded in her childhood dream.

It is important to note that this line offers a full selection of makeup products, from foundations to lip gloss. However, the only place to access everything NYX Cosmetics has to offer is their Web site. The Ulta chain is the largest distributor of NYX Cosmetics products in the United States, but they carry a smaller selection of NYX products. The good news is that most of the few NYX products Ulta stocks are impressive, especially the powder eyeshadows, which compete evenly with eyeshadows that cost a lot more.

NYX Cosmetics customer service number is (866) 699-1004 or you can visit www.nyxcosmetics.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. K.T.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 28, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    greasy mess
    • I have somewhat puffy eyelids that are very oily. When I used this primer after applying a silicone based waterproof eyeliner pencil, as soon as I opened my eyes, the eyeliner transferred to a big dark line in the crease of my eyelid. What a mess. I had to remove everything at start over. This primer doesn't ever seem to dry. Not recommended at all!

  2. lara j.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 04, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Really disappointing
    • I have hooded eyes and can't wear any eye makeup without a primer. Previously I've used eye primers from Palladio Beauty and other budget lines and was generally happy. This 1 was just awful. I knew it was trouble as soon as I applied it as it had an oily texture. Took about 10 minutes (!) to mostly dry. Put on my usual eyeshadow and sure enough, my eyelids turned into a creased, smudgy mess in about 30 minutes. Like the milk pencil, it also tends to mattify metallic or sparkly colors. Awful.

  3. AMY
    Reviewed on Monday, March 31, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Works really well for me
    • I finally located this product in a store in Portland on vacation (couldn't find it anywhere in Seattle at any store). This really 'STICKS' and takes absolutely little to no product to do the job. I use way less than I expected and thus maybe that's why I don't have the issues with it being wet - I find it dries very quickly for me. I won't hesitate to order this product online when I run out and need more.

  4. Erin G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Greasy and Creasy
    • So wet it creased on itself when trying to apply. Color is great and eyeshadow really pops on top but I can't get the hang of application. Is probably okay for those who don't have any problems with eyeshadow already and can let it dry a long time. But really, who has that kind of time?

  5. DANA G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 14, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Cannot be without
    • Love this and it lasts forever in the tube and really keeps shadow where I want it all day. Cannot be without it. A real MUST HAVE.

  6. DANA G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 14, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Good stuff!
    • Very good product for price. Lots of saturated color, so,do not need to use much, especially in the bright or dark colors. Biggest problem is that it is always out at ULTA or very low stock. I have never been there when it is,fully stocked on anything in NYX

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, September 09, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Does what it claims
    • I have oily/combination skin. All eyeshadow creases by the end of the day for me. With this product I can wear eye shadow all day without creasing. The product seemed creamy to the touch and at first I was unsure that it would work, but it did work. I'm very satisfied.

  8. joan c
    Reviewed on Monday, September 09, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Dsisappointing
    • This priduct didn't make my eyeshadow last any longer than eyeshadow alone. I prefer the old standby Urban Decay's Primer Potion.

  9. Lynn
    Reviewed on Monday, September 09, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great performance & value
    • I have normal to dry skin, and tried this product based on the Paula team recommendation. Until I saw the Paula review, I had been using the NARS eyeshadow primer, which is wonderful and elegant, but much more costly. I love this NYX primer! It works like a charm. It may be *slightly* less elegant in texture and performance, but at this price, the NYX HD primer wins! (I wonder if some reviewers are thinking of the other eyeshadow base by NYX? This is the one in the black tube, the HD version.)

  10. DOE ANN L.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 08, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Great staying power - dry time too long
    • End result is great, eye shadow stays vibrant and crease proof all day even in 100+ degree high humidity. The application is frustrating. It stays wet too long which causes product to settle in eyelid crease. Since it does such a great job otherwise, my work around is to close eyelids for 60 seconds or so for it to dry crease-free and pat with finger one last time. I've used original Urban Decay and Too Faced. All comparable end results. For price may be worth the 60 sec inconvenience.

  11. Kathy W.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Finally
    • I had been searching for a shadow base that was affordable. i liked that this was not creamy as they only smear shadow. Nyx products are new to me and very likable.

  12. MAUREEN M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    not impressed
    • This product made no appreciable difference to either the application of my eye shadow nor the duration of it. I don't bother to use it now at all.

  13. Anme
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Decent product
    • I like nyx HD eye shadow primer. But it's the only one I have tried.. I do not use it everyday but when I do my eye shadow lasts much longer and I never see creasing. The consistency is a bit greasy at first but does dry. My only complaint is the packaging. I have had this less than a year and the neck of the tube cracked and the product oozes out. Maybe I twisted it closed a bit too tight? I think I would prefer to have an eye shadow primer in a tube next time.

  14. dds
    Reviewed on Friday, August 02, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Useless
    • Other than being inexpensive I see no positives to this product. I'm a big fan of eyeshadow primer. Urban Decay really helps my eyeshadow stay put. But it's expensive and when I saw how highly rated this, significantly less expensive, base was I decided to give it a try. It did absolutely nothing. I ended up throwing it out so in the end it was more expensive. And it broke my faith in Beautypedia reviews.

  15. Anca
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 24, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    not happy
    • I agree with all the previous reviews. It is not good for oily lids. Matte textures work way too better for me. I don't even see the sparkles of my smokey eye shadow when using this primer.

  16. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 14, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Excellent Eye Shadow base for dry sensitive skin
    • I have dry sensitive skin and live in the cool & damp Pacific Northwest, so oily eyelids are not a problem for me. I have used eye shadow primers from Too Faced, Urban Decay, E.L.F, Perfekt & this one from NYX, and the NYX HD eye shadow base applies smoothly, holds color all day, and has a great price. Out of all I've tried, NYX & Too Faced are my preferred eye shadow primers- Urban Decay is too drying for me.

  17. Chelle
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 02, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    HD Eye Shadow Base GREASY!
    • I'd give this eye shadow base a 0 if it was possible. It is so greasy! I don't know how it made the BEST products list.

  18. Chelle
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 02, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    HD Eye Shadow Base GREASY!
    • I'd give this eye shadow base a 0 if it was possible. It is so greasy! I don't know how it made the BEST products list.

  19. GEORGIA K.
    Reviewed on Friday, December 21, 2012
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Okay for price, but better options out there
    • I am a NYX fan, and wanted to love this primer. But in side-by-side comparisons with my got-to primer (Urban Decay's original eyeshadow primer potion) it did not hold up to the competition. Apparently, my Urban Decay is not even the best rated, but I still think it's better than the NYX option Yes, you will get better application and longer-lasting makeup than not using a primer. But my Urban Decay primer went on smoother, dried quicker and gave longer-lasting results. In my experience these primers last a LONG time, so choose one that gives you the best results no matter the price.

  20. DANA M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Excellent sleeper product try it you'll like it for oily eyelids
    • This is an excellent sleeper product. I tried this product in Nov 2012. I am fair skinned have 38 yr old slightly oily, wrinkly eyelids, crowsfeet w/sensitive eyes that don’t water. I didn’t realize it but I needed this product. Most eye shadow primer are sticky but this isn't in a bad way, I didn’t used to have an challenge with eye shadow creasing later in the day & now I do. I work 12 hour days so I gave it a try & WOW I am so glad I did. I really didn’t want one more step in my morning make up routine since I am attempting to pare it down. However I added it & I am stocking up on this product, before be my luck they discontinue it. At this time it happens to be the lowest price point for this type of product with the highest Paula’s rating of Best. My shadow (even my liner seems to have more staying power) until I remove it & no more creasing & the color intensity is just as bright as when I first applied it. I apply it after my concealer on my naked eye. It has a concealer type stick wand with a felt tip wand on the end of it. I wipe half of the amount off the wand on to the lip of bottle (just like excess mascara). Apply utilizing the wand then use my fingers to disperse excess & blend. I then let it absorb into the skin while I am doing something else. Usually brush my teeth, my foundation & lipstick. By the time I get back to my eyes it’s pretty well absorbed. Before applying shadow I blend with my finger tip one last time the crease where it tends to accumulate then apply powder shadow. Sometimes my shadow brush does get a little moisture but nothing awful or prefevents blending. Try using a little less if it’s a gunking up your eye shadow brush, which you can always wash. At first that fact alone almost made me give up on it but then I saw how long my shadow held I was inspired to work with it a bit. I am glad I did totally worth it!

  21. D
    Reviewed on Monday, December 03, 2012
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Not good for oily eyelids
    • I have oily eye lids and always have an issue keeping shadow from creasing, I found this eye primer to be sticky, greasy and made the eyeshadow crease sooner than without it. Worth a try for the price but it didn't work for me.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.