02.06.2014
2
1
Pump it Up Lip Plumper
Rating
$5.50
Category:Skin Care > Lip Products (Including Lip Exfoliators)
Last Updated:02.06.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

NOTE: As of summer 2015, we were informed by our readers that there may have been a reformulation of this product. We appreciate your patience while we take the time to thoroughly update this review!

Ouch! This is one the most painful lip plumping glosses we've ever tested. The vanillyl butyl ether is to blame for the warming/stinging sensation (Source: www.cosmeticsandtoiletries.com/formulating/ingredient/feelenhancer/111075844.html), which temporarily (and only to a minor degree) enlarges lips by virtue of the irritation. This is bad, bad, bad for your lips (see More Info), and the burning sensation persists even after you rub the gloss off. Just don't do it!

Pros:
  • None.
Cons:
  • Intense stinging and irritation to lips (see More Info).

Daily use of lip-care products that contain a high amount of irritating ingredients causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your lips' ability to heal. For this reason, it is best to eliminate, or minimize as much as possible, your exposure to known skin irritants, especially when there are brilliant formulas available that do not include these types of problematic ingredients (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22.)

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

NYX Cosmetics At-A-Glance

Strengths: NYX provides complete ingredient lists on its website; inexpensive for such quality makeup that rivals department store brands (yes, even M.A.C.); superior blush, gloss, and eyeshadow; several excellent mascaras.

Weaknesses: Many products are available only from the company's website, which means you can't see or test the colors in person (and the company doesn't offer samples); disappointing foundation primers.

This small Los Angeles–based makeup line was founded in 1999 by a woman named Toni Ko. The company's Web site is vague about Ko's background, merely stating that she developed an interest in cosmetics as a teenager (you know, just like about 99.9% of teenage women) and wanted to create her own line of cosmetics. Ko's goal was to produce high-quality products at affordable prices, and that's the draw of NYX (pronounced "nicks") Cosmetics. We are pleased to report that, for the most part, Ko succeeded in her childhood dream.

It is important to note that this line offers a full selection of makeup products, from foundations to lip gloss. However, the only place to access everything NYX Cosmetics has to offer is their Web site. The Ulta chain is the largest distributor of NYX Cosmetics products in the United States, but they carry a smaller selection of NYX products. The good news is that most of the few NYX products Ulta stocks are impressive, especially the powder eyeshadows, which compete evenly with eyeshadows that cost a lot more.

NYX Cosmetics customer service number is (866) 699-1004 or you can visit www.nyxcosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.21.2015
Doesn't burn

I want to say that the irritating ingredient that Paula mentions is no longer in the lip gloss. They seem to have replaced it with "peptides" according to the package. I used this and there was no stinging at all. I don't know how much it plumps (I got it with a kit of 5 glosses), but it's a nice gloss.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Andrea E.
07.22.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Thanks for reaching out to us.  The ingredients listed on NYX's site still have vanillyl butyl listed, but we will check it out in store and reach out to NYX to confirm.  If the ingredients have indeed changed, we'll get the review updated accordingly!  =)

—Admin
05.29.2014
Stinging?!

I don't know what "stinging" they are talking about, but I LOVE this lip gloss, especially for the price of $5! It does not sting or feel irritating. It feels like any other lip plumper. There's just a minor tingling feeling with beautiful results. It plumps your lips enough to help eliminate the lines we all have on our lips where lip products loves to sit. It lasts for a good couple hours as well. I would definitely recommend anyone to at least try this product and build their own opinion.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Chelsea
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.405 7/28/2015 5:00:44 PM