12.19.2014
8
1303
Retractable Eye Liner
Rating
$4.50
Category:Makeup > Eyeliners > Eye Pencil
Last Updated:12.19.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Retractable Eye Liner gets two thumbs up for its swift and smooth application, and the fine-point, twist-up pencil never needs sharpening (Yah!). The soft cream-to-powder finish takes a bit of time to set, but if you want to create a smokey eye, that's actually a good thing because it allows ample time to blend and smudge. Once set, the long-wearing finish is resistant to smearing and doesn't flake.

The shade range is a mix of trendy and classic colors, each of which offers rich intensity. Some of the shades have a shiny metallic finish, but we're pleased that they also offer matte black and brown shades. This is a fantastic beauty bargain!

Pros:
  • Fine-point, twist-up pencil never needs sharpening.
  • Sets to long-wearing finish that is resistant to smearing.
  • Richly pigmented shades offered in trendy or classic colors.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

NYX Cosmetics At-A-Glance

Strengths: NYX provides complete ingredient lists on its website; inexpensive for such quality makeup that rivals department store brands (yes, even M.A.C.); superior blush, gloss, and eyeshadow; several excellent mascaras.

Weaknesses: Many products are available only from the company's website, which means you can't see or test the colors in person (and the company doesn't offer samples); disappointing foundation primers.

This small Los Angeles–based makeup line was founded in 1999 by a woman named Toni Ko. The company's Web site is vague about Ko's background, merely stating that she developed an interest in cosmetics as a teenager (you know, just like about 99.9% of teenage women) and wanted to create her own line of cosmetics. Ko's goal was to produce high-quality products at affordable prices, and that's the draw of NYX (pronounced "nicks") Cosmetics. We are pleased to report that, for the most part, Ko succeeded in her childhood dream.

It is important to note that this line offers a full selection of makeup products, from foundations to lip gloss. However, the only place to access everything NYX Cosmetics has to offer is their Web site. The Ulta chain is the largest distributor of NYX Cosmetics products in the United States, but they carry a smaller selection of NYX products. The good news is that most of the few NYX products Ulta stocks are impressive, especially the powder eyeshadows, which compete evenly with eyeshadows that cost a lot more.

NYX Cosmetics customer service number is (866) 699-1004 or you can visit www.nyxcosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.09.2015
Can be better but I like it overall

When sharpened with built-in sharpener, eyeliner pencil breaks into sharpener creating a mess. Does wear well if applied correctly.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
NANCY G.
02.21.2015
Do not buy it!!

This eyeliner is awful. It is very soft and bends and breaks while you are applying it. Once it's on the skin it dries solid immediately and you cannot smudge or correct it in any way, shape or form. If that's not enough... it flakes throughout the day to the point that there is nothing left on the lid at the end of the day. The only good thing was that I had a coupon to Ulta and only spent about $2 for this losing product.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
ANETA D.
12.02.2014
Not a great eyeliner

I really wanted to love these eyeliners. They were rated a "best" on Beautypeida. But...they are not great. Pigmentation is low even on the darkest black. They were dry and crumbled even when I only had the barest tip extended. There is no way to get a very fine point on them so only a thicker line is possible. I had to keep going over the line to get an even coating, creating a lot of tugging on the eyelid. Removal was easy but it mostly wore off after 4 hours.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rebecca W.
10.16.2014
Not a best. Very disappointing!

This eyeliner smeared almost immediately. I have three colors after reading Paula's review and all do this. I will admit I have problems with eyeliners not staying but this has to be one of the worst ever!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Dawn L.
09.22.2014
Horrible

It not only smeared after an hour but also flaked around my eyes and cheeks. This should be under "Worst Products".

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
HOPE K.
08.03.2014
Love this Eyeliner!

After trying numerous high- and low-end eyeliners over the years, I'm so pleased this one works! Does not go on super smoothly, but the color starts to deposit nicely once it starts adhering to your lid. Best feature is that it lasts all day! All other eyeliners I've tried have not. It's not waterproof as stated on the barrel and will smudge off if you mess with it. I love the matte choices, esp. Brown, Deep Blue and Deep Purple. Makes my hazel eyes and whites of my eyes pop!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
RB
07.12.2014
They do not have a fine point...

I hate pencils that I cannot sharpen. This one is no exception. Sharpened pencils create a lovely base for pushing eyeshadows into the lashes, and they do not close the eyes. These pencils create a thick line, no matter how lightly you press, and in my experience, they skip. I cannot understand why this is called a fine-tipped pencil that never needs sharpening in this review. I guess that it never needs sharpening if you don't want a pencil with a point?

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
LINDA F.
02.25.2014
Wears wonderful, easy to apply

Great wear & easy to apply..retractable tip doesn't end up falling off all the time either:)

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
LL
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.401 7/1/2015 8:27:52 PM