Soft Matte Lip Cream

Price:
$6 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Lipsticks > Matte Lipstick
Last Updated:
6/27/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

There’s so much to love about this unique matte lipstick! Although its finish is very matte, the texture is slightly creamy and easy to apply with a wand applicator. Once on lips, it maintains a slightly slick feel that keeps lips comfortable. This makes Soft Matte Lip Cream a real find because dryness is often the biggest strike against matte lipsticks. The stain is impressive, meaning that you can count on hours of wear. The shades of this lightly scented lip color are exceptional, ranging from soft pinks to deep plums.

Pros:
  • Imparts lovely, true matte finish.
  • Maintains a slightly slick feel that keeps lips comfortable.
  • Wand applicator makes precise application easy.
  • Good stain means that color lasts for hours.
  • Exceptional shade selection.
  • A little goes a long way, making this a great value!
Cons:
  • None.

This small Los Angeles–based makeup line was founded in 1999 by a woman named Toni Ko. The company's Web site is vague about Ko's background, merely stating that she developed an interest in cosmetics as a teenager (you know, just like about 99.9% of teenage women) and wanted to create her own line of cosmetics. Ko's goal was to produce high-quality products at affordable prices, and that's the draw of NYX (pronounced "nicks") Cosmetics. We are pleased to report that, for the most part, Ko succeeded in her childhood dream.

It is important to note that this line offers a full selection of makeup products, from foundations to lip gloss. However, the only place to access everything NYX Cosmetics has to offer is their Web site. The Ulta chain is the largest distributor of NYX Cosmetics products in the United States, but they carry a smaller selection of NYX products. The good news is that most of the few NYX products Ulta stocks are impressive, especially the powder eyeshadows, which compete evenly with eyeshadows that cost a lot more.

NYX Cosmetics customer service number is (866) 699-1004 or you can visit www.nyxcosmetics.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    4 / 4 Best
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Laura H.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 20, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    gorgeous, long-lasting lip color
    • This is the only matte lipstick I've purchased, but I truly love it. It lasts ALL day if you're careful. It is a bit drying, but my understanding is that that's normal for matte lipstick. It also provides a great base to wear under a clear or colorful gloss - I love it under Maybelline's Color Elixir by Colorsensationalgloss.

  2. Kelsey A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Color on lips doesn't match tube
    • The product's texture and wear is gorgeous, and the value is out of this world. The only problem is that the color of the product on my lips looks totally different than the color of the tube, and even the product on the wand. I've bought two of them and I will never wear them. I will keep trying because the finish is so nice but I've gotten very cautious.

  3. SANDRA S.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 21, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    My favourite lip product!
    • This creamy product is available in many more colours for 2014, and the intense ones can all be sheered out (except Transylvania, which is streaky) for a tamer look or layered for a brighter one. I don't find these to be dry feeling at all, and they last and last.

  4. SHEKINAH R S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Unique Matte Cream
    • NYX's Soft Matte Lip Cream is a unique product. It is matte yet creamy-ish, but not moisturizing and after awhile it does start to get a bit cakey and feel a bit dry. But it def feels more comfortable than the usual matte lipstick. The color selection is pretty limited and it's hard to tell what they actually look like online. I wish NYX had a stronger in-store presence. But like all NYX products, the price can't be beat and it's worth at least trying to see if you like the matte cream texture.

  5. Lynn B
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Fantastic, innovative
    • Love this unique lip cream from NYX! The trick is to apply a very thin layer ...then it sets to a matte but not super-dry finish. I own Addis Ababa and Monte Carlo, two of the bolder colors. This unique finish probably isn't for everyone, but it is an amazing bargain for those who do. How I wish NYX would add a few more bright/bold & medium colors! (Nudes are grossly overrated and don't look good on many folks!)

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.344 10/24/2014 2:00:58 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.