Regenerist Superstructure UV Cream SPF 30

by Olay  Regenerist
Price:
$25.99 - 1.7 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer with Sunscreen
Last Updated:
3/28/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This daytime moisturizer with sunscreen’s claim of blocking DNA damage sounds impressive, but in fact that’s what any well-formulated sunscreen does, and this certainly qualifies. Daily use of an effective sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater not only protects skin from the pernicious, cumulative DNA damage that results from sun exposure, but also protects against collagen breakdown and other cellular damage that leads to unsightly changes in skin. So, although it’s good, this moisturizer with sunscreen isn’t the only game in town, nor do you need to spend this much to get an effective sunscreen.

That said, there’s no denying that, once again, Olay has crafted a sophisticated formula that is suitable for all skin types except sensitive (because of the non-mineral sunscreen actives) and oily. The formula contains stabilized avobenzone for critical UVA protection. The intriguing ingredients are mostly the same ones that show up in other Regenerist moisturizers (and serums), so Olay isn’t breaking any new ground here. But, taken together, these ingredients do their part to protect and enhance skin so it is better able to repair itself and, as a result, become healthier, and yes, able to look and act younger. All of this is why we assigned our top rating to this daytime moisturizer with sunscreen.

This anti aging formula hydrates to help rebuild cellular surface structure and restore firmness, regenerating a more youthful appearance. It helps block direct DNA damaging rays to help protect skin and maintain collagen’s structural integrity. Powerful anti-oxidants help protect the skin’s surface from free radical damage.

Active: Avobenzone (3%), Homosalate (15%), Octisalate (5%), Octocrylene (2.6%), Oxybenzone (6%) Other: Water, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Niacinamide, Polyethylene, Pentylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Carnosine, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Ascorbic Acid, Allantoin, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Isohexadecane, Dimethiconol, Polysorbate 60, Stearic Acid, BHT, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Benzyl Alcohol, Behenyl Alcohol, PEG-100 Stearate, Cetearyl Glucoside, Cetearyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Ethylparaben, PEG-4 Laurate, PEG-4, PEG-4 Dilaurate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/ Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Citric Acid, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Laureth-7, Fragrance, Titanium Dioxide.

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    4 / 4 Best
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Stacy B
    Reviewed on Monday, July 07, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love it
    • I've never written a review. I am 56 yrs. old, dry skin and have tried every day moisturizer on the market. This is by far my favorite! Makes my makeup look moist and vibrant. I have stocked up and have about 5 jars. I am SCARED to death they are going to discontinue. CVS had this on for 50% off till supply was gone in my local CVS. I bought all of them! Nothing, expensive or cheap compares to this.

  2. kittiesmom
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 14, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Love it
    • Thank you for the recommendation, I have finally found a good daytime moisturizer for dry sensitive skin. This feels great on my skin. I will continue using this product.

  3. Connie E.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 21, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Surprised
    • My skin seemed to be fresher and happy with this product for the most part, there was just one problem. .I couldn't use this product around my eyes- I got a redness that lasted 3 days. It felt like I had burned my skin. I have never had a reaction to face cream before so this surprised me.

  4. Trenton W
    Reviewed on Friday, February 22, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Cakes and Pills!
    • As Paula states, Olay does formulate some wonderful products, but I disagree about this product in particular. It feels light going on, but as one rubs it into their skin it shall begin to cake and pill. I suggest using the Total Effects moisturizer with sunscreen instead, as that particular product does not pill, nor cake.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.