12.16.2014
11
2981
Regenerist Instant Fix Wrinkle Revolution Complex
Rating
1.7 fl. oz. for $29.99
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime)
Last Updated:12.16.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Olay offers several Regenerist moisturizers, each with enticing names and claims that are hard to ignore. For the most part, the formulas are great, and aside from the occasional misstep with jar packaging, which doesn’t help keep the key ingredients stable during use, all of them can improve signs of aging while strengthening the skin’s moisture barrier.

What’s becoming a somewhat consistent letdown is that each new Regenerist moisturizer (despite the “Wrinkle Revolution Complex” name, this is absolutely just a moisturizer) essentially repeats the same formula: water, silicone, glycerin, niacinamide, and a blend of the same antioxidants and cell-communicating ingredients. All of those ingredients are great; what’s bothersome (and confusing for consumers) is seeing them in product after product after product. We wonder why Olay doesn’t offer three or four Regenerist moisturizers for different skin types, rather than almost a dozen with the same ingredients, but with different names and packaging.

Slight rant aside, this is a remarkably good formula whose silky texture and lightweight hydrating ingredients are best for normal to slightly dry or slightly oily skin. The blend of anti-aging ingredients Olay includes have some solid research behind them and, over time, they can reduce the appearance of wrinkles (to the extent of skin-care products) and help strengthen skin’s surface against moisture loss.

The opaque bottle with built-in pump keeps key ingredients stable during use, and the slightly spackle-like texture of this moisturizer helps (temporarily) “fill in” superficial lines and wrinkles. As a bonus, this works beautifully under makeup and can easily replace your foundation primer.

Note: This product’s former name was Wrinkle Revolution Complex. You may still see it in stores under this name, and on Olay’s website. Olay confirmed that the “Fix” products are renamed versions of original products whose formulas have not changed.

Second note: You may have noticed that Olay describes this as a primer on their website. Despite this, the formula is more in line with a moisturizer. In fact, the ingredient list is similar to several moisturizers Olay sells, so we opted to categorize it as such.

Pros:
  • Inexpensive, considering its impressive formula.
  • Silky, slightly spackle-like texture helps smooth and temporarily fill in superficial lines and wrinkles.
  • Treats skin to an array of proven anti-aging ingredients, and is packaged to keep those ingredients stable during use.
  • The fragrance is subtle rather than overpowering.
Cons:
  • Those with drier skin may find this moisturizer’s finish a bit “powdery” or too dry-feeling.
  • Doesn’t break any new ground in terms of what Olay Regenerist’s moisturizers already offer.
Claims

See results in an instant. Watch as advanced micro-fillers and light-diffusing particles smooth the look of fine lines right before your eyes. This wrinkle treatment’s formula also hydrates to reduce the appearance of deep lines in just 14 days.

Ingredients

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Polyethylene, Niacinamide (Vitamin B3), Propylene Glycol, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Panthenol (Vitamin B5), Dimethicone, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide 4, Carnosine, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Yeast Extract, Allantoin (Comfrey Root), Disodium EDTA, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, C13 14 Isoparaffin, PEG-100 Stearate, DMDM Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Laureth-4, Laureth-7, Ammonium Polyacrylate, Citric Acid, Fragrance, Titanium Dioxide

Brand Overview

Olay At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive (mostly); several outstanding water-soluble cleansers and scrubs; boon for any consumer in love with cleansing cloths; good AHA exfoliant; all sunscreens include UVA-protecting ingredients; bountiful selection of state-of-the-art serums and some excellent moisturizers; some of the best products offer fragrance-free versions.

Weaknesses: Bar cleansers; no topical disinfectant for blemishes; random products contain menthol; more than a handful of dated moisturizers; jar packaging; several moisturizers with sunscreen don't offer skin much beyond basic sun protection; repetitive formulas within and between the sub-brands make this line confusing and tricky to shop.

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.16.2015
LOVELY SERUM!

Firsly I would like to say thankyou paula fotr all your great advice. I love this serum but I was woundering if you could tell me what percentage niacinamide is in it. I used to use regenerist serum and I loved it but since its been reformulated it breaks me out

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.27.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  We aren't totally sure on the percentage, but we'd guess that it could be as low as 2% or as high as 5%.  While it's high up on the ingredient list (which is a good thing!), it's followed by ingredients that are typically in products at a much lower percentage, so it's hard to gauge based on that.

—Admin
06.27.2015
Love this for my oily skin

This is actually my second favorite moisturizer after Paula's Choice Earth Sourced Antioxidant Moisturizer. I can typically get this on Ebay for around 10 bucks so I use this often. I prefer the Paula's Choice Earth Sourced both in texture and results for my oily skin, but it is a little pricey for my budget. This is a thick cream that leaves a slightly powdery finish. It does not soak into my skin as well as the PC Earth Sourced, but it is great for every day and economical.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Ann B.
05.27.2015
Disappointed

I was hoping to use this in winter to moisturise my skin ( I normally use a serum only). Unfortunately it caused red bumps on my face and chest where I applied it, after just one use. Too worried to even use it on my hands now. Also, the fragrance is very strong.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Joanna G.
03.12.2015
under eye

What would you recommend for under eye wrinkles and bags?

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Diane Q
03.13.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Here is a link to our highest-rated eye products: http://www.paulaschoice.com/beautypedia-skin-care-reviews/best-skin-care-products/Skin-Care/Eye-Moisturizers

—Beautypedia Team
03.10.2015
Question

I am using the Olay Night Elixir as well that contains Glycolic acid. Which one should i use first? The Elixir or this? Will the high content of Silicon limits the penetration of the Elixir?

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.11.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Because the Elixir is an AHA exfoliant, it should be applied before serum and/or moisturizer. The silicone will limit the penetration of the elixir to some extent, but definitely not to the point that it’ll be ineffective. Still, for best results, apply the exfoliant prior to the moisturizer, whether or not silicone is present.

-Beautypedia Team

—Admin
02.27.2015
Have not try this product yet but...

Is this the same product that the Olay "Regenerist 10 Minute Miracle Primer"?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Clémence L.
03.02.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  I could not find information about that primer on Olay's site to compare ingredients- do you happen to know if it has been discontinued or if maybe it is only available internationally?

—Admin
01.31.2015
Did nothing

This product did absolutely nothing for my skin. It was a typical silicone type serum. My complexion actually looked dull and not healthy at all. I did not notice any improvement in my skin but it did not cause blemishes which was a plus. Too expensive not to have any results.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
10.28.2014
Question.

Under the list of ingredients, you have allantoin and right next in parenthesis, you have comfrey root. Is this an error? I ask because Comfrey root is a known irritant and allantoin an anti- irritant. Please help. Of course depending on answer received, my evaluation could change dramatically. Thank you.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Lynneanne B.
10.28.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Allantoin may be derived synthetically or may be derived from comfrey root. It is not pure comfrey root; we suspect Olay is just playing up the natural association. The Personal Care Products Council's On-Line Infobase of cosmetic ingredients classifies allantoin as a synthetic skin protectant and skin conditioning agent.

—Admin
11.29.2013
Not bad - but not super either

It is a very thick lotion! I personally like the measured pump (and the amount is very generous). I had a very difficult time getting the top off (don't know if it was a fluke or my arthritic hands) I saw no changes in my skin color, skin tone or reduction in the look of wrinkles. It DOES feel like silk very shortly after it is applied. Warning though! Because of the packaging it is impossible to tell when you are running low and need to re-buy. When your out - your out!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Peggy F.
10.29.2013
amazing product

I love Wrinkle Revolution! It is the first product that I have tried in years that actually changed the appearance of my skin after applying it only once! The texture is light and this moisturizer works as a fabulous primer for make-up. The color and tone of my skin was visibly improved after one application. I have "aging" and sun damaged skin..and cannot get over just how well this product works for me! I love it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
10.15.2013
super silky, perfect under make up

I bought this because in the review it states it can be a good primer as well. I love the texture, it's hydrating but non-greasy and makes the skin feel really smooth, like absolute silk! Make up is a breeze to apply. Makes skin look even. Funny - I saw an ad for "Regenerist Wrinkle Revolution Complex PRIMER" - wonder if it will be the exact same ingredients just marketed differently. I wish Olay would simplify like Paula's review says.. . so many similiar/identical products in the Olay line!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
cathy
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.405 8/3/2015 12:00:19 AM