12.12.2014
6
8
Regenerist Luminous Tone Perfecting Cream Moisturizer
Rating
1.7 fl. oz. for $30.99
Last Updated:12.12.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

The name "Regenerist" is starting to have new meaning, as Olay has a habit of "regenerating" the same formulas repeatedly throughout their product line. Regenerist Luminous Tone Perfecting Cream Moisturizer is almost identical to the Olay Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream and their Regenerist Wrinkle Revolution Complex, along with formulas that appeared in their now-defunct Definity collection.

Unfortunately, what doesn't seem to consistently evolve with each reincarnation of this moisturizer is the packaging. Like many of their moisturizers, Regenerist Luminous Tone Perfecting Cream Moisturizer is packaged in a jar. Jar packaging is a terrible thing to do to a water-based moisturizer (primarily due to the breakdown of ingredients with air exposure + the hygiene issue of dipping fingers or objects into the product). We discuss the details on jar packaging in the More Info section, but in any event, it's disappointing that Olay is either unaware of or choosing to overlook this important consideration for anti-aging skin care.

It's a shame about the jar packaging, as this is a good formula that would absolutely be worth considering for those with normal to dry skin. It contains a blend of skin-identical ingredients, antioxidants, anti-irritants and cell-communicating ingredients. This contains a prominent amount of niacinamide, which has considerable research demonstrating its ability to improve signs of aging and skin tone (especially when combined with acetyl glucosamine, as Olay did here).

Rather than consider this good formula in less-than-ideal packaging, we'd recommend considering any of the alternatives in our list of Best Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime), all of which are packaged to protect their ingredients from routine exposure to air and light.

Pros:
  • Contains a range of ingredients with proven anti-aging ability.
  • Niacinamide and acetyl glucosamine have research demonstrating their ability to fade discolorations.
  • Moisturizes as it treats uneven skin tone.
Cons:
  • Jar packaging severely hinders the effectiveness of most of the best ingredients in this moisturizer.
  • Not a groundbreaking formula from Olay (you'll see similar version throughout their line).
More Info:

The fact that this cream is packaged in a jar means the beneficial ingredients won't remain stable once it is opened. All plant extracts, vitamins, antioxidants, and other state-of-the-art ingredients break down in the presence of air, so once a jar is opened and lets the air in these important ingredients begin to deteriorate. Jars also are unsanitary because you're dipping your fingers into them with each use, adding bacteria which further deteriorate the beneficial ingredients (Sources: Free Radical Biology and Medicine, September 2007, pages 818-829; Ageing Research Reviews, December 2007, pages 271-288; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; International Journal of Pharmaceutics, June 12, 2005, pages 197-203; Pharmaceutical Development and Technology, January 2002, pages 1-32; International Society for Horticultural Science, www.actahort.org/members/showpdf?booknrarnr=778_5; Beautypackaging.com, and www.beautypackaging.com/articles/2007/03/airless-packaging.php).

Claims

Recapture healthy-looking, youthful luminosity with Luminous Tone Perfecting Cream. You’ll feel intense hydration immediately, and see visibly younger-looking skin in 2 weeks and more even skin tone in 8 weeks.

Ingredients

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Acetyl Glucosamine Dimethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Polyethylene, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Allatoin, Sodium PEG-7 Olive Oil Carboxylate, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, DMDM Hydantoin, Laureth-10, Laureth-7, Dimethiconol, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Disodium EDTA, PEG-100 Stearate, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Fragrance, Titanium Dioxide, Yellow 5, Red 40.

Brand Overview

Olay At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive (mostly); several outstanding water-soluble cleansers and scrubs; boon for any consumer in love with cleansing cloths; good AHA exfoliant; all sunscreens include UVA-protecting ingredients; bountiful selection of state-of-the-art serums and some excellent moisturizers; some of the best products offer fragrance-free versions.

Weaknesses: Bar cleansers; no topical disinfectant for blemishes; random products contain menthol; more than a handful of dated moisturizers; jar packaging; several moisturizers with sunscreen don't offer skin much beyond basic sun protection; repetitive formulas within and between the sub-brands make this line confusing and tricky to shop.

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.09.2015
Love this product!

Awesome product! No balling up on my skin like some others stated. Great, floral fragrance which I really like. Feels awesome on the skin. Very smooth and hydrating. My dark spots on my cheek have faded considerably after only 2 weeks - I can't wait to see results at 8 weeks! Overall, I 100% recommend this product. Note: I have combo/oily skin so I only do this moisturizer overnight. Has not broken me out.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Ashley
03.14.2015
Good Start, but can be better...

It's okay for not being grease, oily and have an tacky feel to it, but boy! does it "ball-up" and leaves a white...ish residue. I apply, ONLY at night and only once - move from left to right. It DOES hydrate the skin well.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Devanand.
03.10.2015
Plus, it stinks!

I couldn't really tell you if this cream is good, or not, because it was so heavily scented I couldn't use it. I had to immediately return it.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Michelle C.
02.25.2015
Wouldn't buy again

I had no issues with irritation or whiteness left on the skin I just found it gave me no results. The lotion itself blended nicely into my skin and wasn't greasy but after using the jar completely up I just didn't see any improvement in my skin.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Jenn
02.02.2015
Leaves White Film, Balls Up, and Doesn't Sink In

Reviews on several sites that raved about the results of this product. A few mentioned some of the things that I experienced: product didn't sink in to the skin, it left white film on the skin (even when applied sparingly), & it balled up, leaving small white things on the face. Also wasn't moisturizing at all (I have combination skin). I cannot comment on its lightening ability as I am returning it after two uses. The above reasons make it uncomfortable on the skin, & couldn't use with makeup.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Laura
05.21.2014
Not so luminous

I purchased this Luminous Cream Moisturizer because I was enticed by the name "luminous" and I have always liked Olay. However, my face was no more luminous after using this than it was before. A couple of times I even thought I saw a ghostly white hue over my face. It left my face somewhat dry and sticky and did not seem to absorb well. My hands, also, were sticky after application and needed rinsing. I don't think a moisturizer should feel sticky, so I will not be buying this one again.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Regina F
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.411 8/29/2015 7:02:06 PM