12.12.2014
6
2445
Olay
Ultra Moisture Lotion with Shea Butter
Rating
11.8 fl. oz. for $7.99
Category:Skin Care > Retinol Products > Body Lotions/Creams/Balms/Butters
Last Updated:12.12.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Overview

This is an excellent, affordable body lotion for dry to very dry skin from the neck down. Olay’s body lotion formulas are typically great and this one doesn’t part from tradition. It supplies skin with a very good range of cell-communicating ingredients (key among them niacinamide), emollients, antioxidants, and amino acid-based water-binding agents, all designed to repair skin’s surface and keep it looking smooth and healthy. Note that this contains ingredients that leave a subtle sparkling sheen on skin. If you don’t want your body lotion to have shine, this isn’t the product for you.

Claims

Provides dry skin with an immediate burst of moisture that continues for 24 hours. Then, drawn deep into skin’s surface, it repairs and nourishes the moisture barrier to break the cycle of dry skin. With just one use, you'll get saturating moisture that lasts all day. In one week, your skin will feel noticeably soft. And by the time you finish the bottle, skin is able to preserve its moisture for extended periods of time.

Ingredients

Water, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Petrolatum, Isopropyl Isostearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Tocopheryl Acetate, Panthenol, Glycine, Alanine, Proline, Serine, Threonine, Arginine, Lysine, Glutamic Acid, Dimethicone, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Polyethylene, Sodium Acrylates Copolymer, Behenyl Alcohol, Benzyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Dimethiconol, Disodium EDTA, Stearic Acid, Peg-100 Stearate, Sodium PCA, Betaine, Sorbitol, Ethylparaben, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Sodium Hydroxide, Fragrance

Brand Overview

Olay At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive (mostly); several outstanding water-soluble cleansers and scrubs; boon for any consumer in love with cleansing cloths; good AHA exfoliant; all sunscreens include UVA-protecting ingredients; bountiful selection of state-of-the-art serums and some excellent moisturizers; some of the best products offer fragrance-free versions.

Weaknesses: Bar cleansers; no topical disinfectant for blemishes; random products contain menthol; more than a handful of dated moisturizers; jar packaging; several moisturizers with sunscreen don't offer skin much beyond basic sun protection; repetitive formulas within and between the sub-brands make this line confusing and tricky to shop.

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
01.12.2015
UGH ! I smell like my grandmother

Olay needs to get with the program and make fragrance-free lotions. I felt like a doily after I put this on and smelled like my grandmother. Although it felt good on my skin, I'm taking this back. So unfortunate, because like Paula says, it has other great ingredients and is affordable but I can't get past the smell.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
LAURA D.
01.04.2015
Affordable and Awesome!

This lotion gets the job done and brings relief to my itchy dry skin. The scent is not overpowering and dissipates after a few hrs anyhow. Love this lotion and the way it leaves my skin feeling soft and supple, not greasy or sticky! No glitter in it at all. Just gives a nice sheen/healthy glow to the skin....which is what good skin should look like. A+ in my book!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
joanne m.
11.17.2014
headache

Like anonymous said, just could not get past the smell and in the trash it went. The headache went on for a long time. Never again.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Pat
09.05.2014
NICE LOTION FOR BODY

I bought this lotion just because it was rated as "Best of the Best" here at PC. I'm still a die-hard lover of the Olay Total Effects 7-in-1 Body Lotion. Even though PC stated it was very dry skin, I find the texture lightweight without any oily feel. I did not notice any "subtle sparkly sheen" even though Paula's Choice mentioned this. I spend over 8hrs of my day in a heavily air conditioned office and this lotion never fails to keep dry skin away. The smell is not overbearing. I love it!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Ifeoma I.
07.15.2014
Too sweet odor

Product is fine if you can get past the smell. It has a thin almost watery texture which is fine during the summer. The smell is a sickening sweet odor. I had to wash it off because the odor was giving me a headache. Not for me...it went into the trash.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.09.2014
Full name of product?

I believe this product is part of the Quench line. The product I have, and the ingredient list on the packaging and on Beautypedia are the exact same, has the word Quench in it. It's a good, reasonably priced lotion, not too heavy, and has a pleasant smell. I will repurchase it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.376 3/6/2015 11:35:59 AM