4-in-1 Daily Facial Cloths, Sensitive

by Olay  
Price:
$6.99 - 33 cloths
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansing Cloths
Last Updated:
3/28/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

These fragrance-free cleansing cloths are wonderfully soothing and a good, disposable cleansing option for someone with dry, sensitive skin. One side is smooth for cleansing; the other is softly textured for mild, scrub-like exfoliation. The fragrance-free, Vaseline-based (petrolatum) formula is exceptionally gentle, yet thoroughly removes makeup. Keep in mind that because these cloths contain detergent cleaning agents, you still need to rinse your skin after using them because leaving these ingredients on sensitive skin can lead to dryness and irritation. The petrolatum base demands thorough rinsing.

Pros:
  • Gentle, fragrance-free, and suitable for sensitive skin.
  • Dual-sided cloths allow for cleansing and mild manual exfoliation.
  • Removes makeup quickly and thoroughly.
  • Contains soothing agents to calm skin.
Cons:
  • Because the formula contains detergent cleansing agents, the cleansing cloth solution should be rinsed from skin to avoid potential dryness or irritation.
  • The Vaseline base can leave a greasy feel on skin if not rinsed thoroughly.

These soft-textured, fragrance-free cloths for sensitive skin gently cleanse and remove make-up for a fresh clean feeling while conditioning to soothe skin with light Olay moisturizers.

Petrolatum, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Decyl Glucoside, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Butylene Glycol, PEG-14M, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Polyquaternium-10, Phenoxyethanol, Panthenol, Benzyl Alcohol, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Silica, BHT, Sodium Laurate

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, June 16, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    great for sensitive skin
    • I've tried many cleansers including Olay's Foaming Cleanser for Sensitive Skin, but still had problems afterward, with dryness, and rashes. I was desperate for relief when I tried these cloths. I cannot believe the difference. They foam up well, there's minimal scent, remove make-up well, leave my skin feeling pleasantly moist, the price is affordable, and I like the gentle exfoliating side as an option. I do rinse off the cleanser with just water, and don't feel overly greasy afterward.

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 29, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Loved this, but P&G is horrible for animal testing
    • Loved these cleansing cloths as they were gentle and huge, so I cut them into quarters to use. Removed all of my makeup and did not irritate my very reactive skin, but sadly P&G and Olay do a LOT of animal testing, so I just can't support this company. Great product, just wish that P&G would be more environmentally responsible and stop the animal cruelty!!

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 12, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Closet Cosemetic Junkie
    • I travel frequently for work and use these instead of taking tubes of products. They work great. Take off my eye make-up (shadow, light liner & mascara); rinse cleanly, and leaves my oily-combo skin balanced. Good value is even better when there's a BOGO offer at Ulta.

  4. Effie T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Excellent product
    • I would be lost without these cleansing cloths! They do a fantastic job removing all of my makeup at the end of the day. I use quite a bit of foundation and powder and heavy eye makeup with a TON of mascara and these cleansing cloths take it all away quickly and easily. They rinse clean enough, but I still do one final pass with a foaming face cleanser as a last step and I'm done.

  5. Garby HG
    Reviewed on Monday, February 18, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    4-in-1 or 2-in-1?
    • Have they changed their name to 4-in-1 ? Or it's not the same formula?

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.