Pro-X Age Repair Lotion with SPF 30

by Olay  Pro-X
Price:
$29.99 - 2.5 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer with Sunscreen
Last Updated:
8/20/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This daytime moisturizer with sunscreen has a lotion-like texture that slips easily over skin and sets to a lightweight hydrating finish suitable for normal to combination skin, including breakout-prone skin. This can be an option for oily skin, but those with very oily skin will find this feels too slick and it does not have a matte finish.

UVA protection is provided by stabilized avobenzone, just as it is for almost every daytime moisturizer with sunscreen that Olay offers. The rest of the formula contains cell-communicating niacinamide along with peptides, vitamin E, green tea, silicones, and glycerin, all of which kick in anti-aging benefits that make this more than just a sunscreen that hydrates.

This product’s cosmetically elegant texture works beautifully under makeup though do keep in mind that the active sunscreen ingredients may be sensitizing applied around the eyes. As with all Pro-X products, this is fragrance-free.

This professionally designed lotion hydrates to fight the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles and to help shield skin from harmful UVA/UVB exposure.

Active: Avobenzone (3%), Homosalate (15%), Octisalate (5%), Octocrylene (2.6%), Oxybenzone (6%). Inactive: Water, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polyethylene, Pentylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Palmitoyl Dipeptide-7, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Carnosine, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Isohexadecane, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 60, PEG-100 Stearate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Allantoin, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Disodium EDTA, Ascorbic Acid, PEG-4 Dilaurate, PEG-4 Laurate, PEG-4, Decyl Glucoside, Lactic Acid, Benzyl Alcohol, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Dimethiconol, Behenyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, BHT, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Citric Acid, Laureth-7, Titanium Dioxide.

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Jill Z
    Reviewed on Friday, August 29, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Good not great
    • I usually like Olay products a lot. There's something about the texture of this one that is bothersome. It seems odd to say there is a scratchiness about it, but that's the best word I can think of. It's just a hint, but enough to be off-putting. Also, I find it doesn't fully sink into skin (perhaps that's expecting too much with the broad spectrum sunscreen). I will use up the bottle but probably not purchase again.

  2. gail w.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 19, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Didn't work for me
    • I have been pleased with other suggestions found on this site, but this product is a no go for me. I tried it tonight-applied as directed after washing my face. I felt a bit of stinging and thought perhaps my skin was a bit dry and ignored it. After about an hr, my face was bright red and still stinging. It also felt pretty greasy. I don't consider my skin to be sensitive. After washing it from my face, I can still feel the sting......it's going back.

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 17, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Christine
    • The only product that will go on my skin! Other sunscreens tend to flake, the only non-PC product I will use! Is this good for acne-prone oily skin? Hopefully a team member can reply :)

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, August 20, 2014

    Hello,

    Yes, this product would be suitable for breakout-prone skin. It can be an option for oily skin, but those with very oily skin will find this feels too slick and it does not have a matte finish.

    —Admin
  4. JodyR.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 14, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    WONDERFUL SPF 30 MOISTURIZER,
    • I am so happy the Olay Pro X line has come down in price! This great fragrance free moisturizer is perfect for my drier skin! I slather it on every morning on my face, neck and exposed skin like hands and arms. It comes in a 2.5 oz. size so you get a large bottle! It is an opaque pump bottle so the formula stays intact as Paula states is important. I see a nice change in my skin for the better since I have switched from Clinique to Olay Pro X. My wallet is happier, too!!!

  5. Roxanne N.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 18, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Hope I'll find something better
    • First of all, I had a really tough time finding the product until I contacted Olay directly. Here's what they told me: [...]the Olay Pro-X Age Repair Lotion with SPF is [...] now called the Olay Pro-X Age Protection with SPF 30. [...] When I finally found it, the ingredients weren't the same as in the review and it was really expensive. Also, when I put it on it start tingling and burning immediately and my skin started to flake. From a sensitive, combination, break out prone skin

  6. Misty H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Broad Spectrum Sunscreen
    • First of all, how do you know if something is the best? I haven't trie them all, but I like this product. Second. contrary to the Beautipedia review, Pro-X Age Repair has 5 sunscreens making it broad spectrum. I have a new box that says this. The product I am currently finishing does not say broad spectrum so they may have changed this. If so, yeeeehhh! I hope they added anti-oxidants, but I will use use Paula's Retinol under it. I do recommend this product.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Friday, April 26, 2013

    Thank you so much for your comments, and for bringing this to our attention! Olay has reformulated this product recently include broad spectrum SPF protection. We've amended this review to update this change, and you'll be glad to know that the new formula has moved this from a "Good" rating to a "Best!"

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Heavy scent but seems to work
    • Way TOO expensive, but it works- at least, topically. (I don't know what damage it might be permitting to occur beneath the surface - I'm as pale as can be year round and I live in New Mexico but a photo facial might still be in need). The reason I have given it 3 stars and would indeed recommend it is because it does not make me break out: PC Spf products do. However, it works with the PC products I DO love, and I've never had a problem with using makeup on top of it.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.351 11/20/2014 3:01:14 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.