Pro-X Deep Wrinkle Treatment

by Olay  Pro-X
Price:
$29.99 - 1 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:
8/7/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

You might think that this product is another of the spackle-type moisturizers that have been showing up at cosmetic counters with a thicker texture meant to temporarily fill in lines and minor wrinkles. It isn’t. Instead, this is akin to a lightweight moisturizer, which is being marketed as a specialty treatment by Olay.

This doesn’t contain a single ingredient that distinguishes it in any meaningful way from other Olay products, but it’s worth considering for its blend of cell-communicating ingredients and antioxidants, all in a silky, thin lotion texture that pairs well with other products. Olay’s packaging helps keep the vitamin A in this product stable, which is a very good thing. The form of retinol included is retinyl propionate, which also appears in Olay’s Age Defying line, though jar packaging prevails for most of that line, which makes those products useless.

All told, Pro-X Deep Wrinkle Treatment has the better formula compared with Olay’s other products with retinol, but its price should give you pause. If retinol is what you’re after, keep in mind that RoC and Neutrogena have compelling options in that category for less money.

Pro-X Deep Wrinkle Treatment is designed and professionally tested for the deepest wrinkles. This Specialized Treatment penetrates deep into your skin’s surface, combating the appearance of wrinkles.

Water, Glycerin, Niacinamide, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Dimethicone, Polyethylene, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Palmitate, Retinyl Propionate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Palmitoyl Dipeptide-7, Carnosine, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide 4, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cetyl Alcohol, Behenyl Alcohol, Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Panthenol, Isohexadecane, Cetyl Ricinoleate, Dmdm Hydantoin, Carbomer, Polysorbate 80, Polysorbate 20, Disodium EDTA, PEG-100 Stearate, Stearic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, BHT, Decyl Glucoside, Iodopropynl Butylcarbamate, Lactic Acid

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. M.T. W.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 20, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    A pleasant surprise!
    • Much to my surprise, because uptil now i never thought much good of Olaz (the brand name in the Netherlands), i really like this product. Probably due to the niacinamide (3d on INCI list). I wonder if there is also Matrixyl in this? If somebody knows if this is so, please do tell me. I find it difficult to trace Matrixyl since it's quite often in a product, but under a different name. Must admit that i use this product as an all over face and neck cream, so the small tube is finished real quick.

  2. JodyR
    Reviewed on Friday, June 13, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    SEEMS TO BE WORKING WELL:)
    • I am liking the results I see in the mirror! My fine lines on my forehead, crows feet, and lip line have all improved quite a bit with just a few weeks use. It's not overnight but give it a little time. I have switched from Clinique Repairwear to Olay Pro X Skincare as it's fragrance free, too. I like the packaging better and Paula has rated it higher than the Clinique I have been paying so much more for for the last 35+ years! I must admit that Olay Pro X is working better than Clinique!!!

  3. Pati
    Reviewed on Friday, February 08, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Olay Pro X products
    • I dont know about how it works for wrinkles because in less then a week of use,.. I had the worse case of acne ever, even when a teenager. It took forever for the large pimples that appeared to go away. I gave it away to a friend telling her what it did to me & it did NOT do that to her diff. strokes for diff. folks I guess

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.348 10/31/2014 3:31:38 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.