12.10.2014
5
1606
Olay
Pro-X Eye Restoration Complex
Rating
0.5 fl. oz. for $29.99
Category:Skin Care > Retinol Products > Eye Moisturizers
Last Updated:12.10.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Overview

We disagree with Olay’s marketing claims that this is a specialized treatment for the eye area because the ingredients also show up in their facial moisturizers. However, it cannot be denied that this fragrance-free formula is outstanding in many respects. It feels lightweight yet substantial, makes skin feel incredibly smooth, and treats it to several cell-communicating ingredients as well as a respectable amount of antioxidants, but the caffeine it contains won’t brighten or wake up your eyes. As with most eye creams, the claims of diminishing dark circles and puffiness are dubious at best. By the way, this product is very similar to Olay’s Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum, which sells for less.

Claims

Pro-X Eye Restoration Complex is designed and professionally tested for the part of your face that communicates age the most: the delicate eye area. This specialized treatment hydrates to restore the area to its optimum appearance by improving the look of crow’s feet. Massaging it in reduces excess fluids to diminish dark circles and puffiness.

Ingredients

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Dimethicone, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Isohexadecane, Polyethylene, Caffeine, Isopropyl Isostearate, Behenyl Alcohol, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Tocopheryl Acetate, Panthenol, Palmitoyl Dipeptide-7, Palmitoyl Dipeptide-4, Carnosine, Dimethiconol, Stearyl Alcohol, Sodium Acrylate/Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, PEG-100 Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Cetyl Alcohol, Sucrose Polycottonseedate, Titanium Dioxide, Polysorbate 80, Propylparaben, Stearic Acid, PEG-4 Dilaurate, PEG-4 Laurate, Decyl Glucoside, Lactic Acid, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, PEG-4, Citric Acid, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Ammonium Polyacrylate, Disodium EDTA

Brand Overview

Olay At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive (mostly); several outstanding water-soluble cleansers and scrubs; boon for any consumer in love with cleansing cloths; good AHA exfoliant; all sunscreens include UVA-protecting ingredients; bountiful selection of state-of-the-art serums and some excellent moisturizers; some of the best products offer fragrance-free versions.

Weaknesses: Bar cleansers; no topical disinfectant for blemishes; random products contain menthol; more than a handful of dated moisturizers; jar packaging; several moisturizers with sunscreen don't offer skin much beyond basic sun protection; repetitive formulas within and between the sub-brands make this line confusing and tricky to shop.

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
09.20.2014
Heavy, greasy and smelly

I got the Olay Professional ProX Age Repair Lotion with SPF 30 and the ProX Eye Restoring Complex in a promotional kit a while ago. The eye cream is OK, on the heavier side compare to other eye creme that I use (Roc, La Mer, Shiseido, etc). But the face lotion is a horrible lotion that feels heavy, greasy and with a terrible smell that I can not get myself to put it on my face. I use sun screens everyday and none of them smells that bad and they absorb way better. I throw it away after one use.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.06.2014
Great for daytime use.

This is lighter and has less of an emollient feel than many eye creams, and that makes it suitable for use with makeup. It won't make a melting mess of your liner/mascara but it hydrates enough to minimize lines and make concealer easy to blend. The list price has come down considerably (it used to be about $40) and chain drugstores often put this line on sale. Worth the $ in my book.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
CHRISTINE M.
06.24.2014
You won't be disappointed

I was excited to see PC gave this a best rating as I've loved this product. I'm 42, and use it morning and night and people always are amazed I don't have eye wrinkles without botox! A little pricey, but in a great dispenser to keep it fresher...

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lee B.
06.19.2014
GREAT FOR DRIER SKIN TYPES

This is very emollient compared to Olay's Regenerist Eye Serum! I have used both and since my skin is dry I love the Pro X eye cream much better. I use the complete line of Pro X skincare products and love that they are all fragrance free. Compared to what I was spending for almost 40 years on Clinique skincare, my skin actually is looking better. I must admit that at age 60, my skin is looking pretty youthful with this product line. It's wonderful for drier skin types.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
JodyR
04.09.2014
Beautiful Eye Cream

I used Olay products when I was younger, as my mom always used it too. I loved the products then, and have now just purchased the Pro X Eye Cream since it was on sale. It is a velvety smooth product and hydrates amazingly well. I haven't used Olay products in years, but would definitely buy this again. Other companies charge way more, and it is not worth it. Try this one out!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Angel
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.376 3/6/2015 6:49:22 AM