04.01.2015
6
5965
Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum
Rating
0.5 fl. oz. for $22.99
Category:Skin Care > Retinol Products > Eye Moisturizers
Last Updated:04.01.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum is every bit as state-of-the-art as Olay’s other Regenerist products. In fact, Eye Lifting Serum differs little from Olay’s Regenerist Daily Regenerating Serum, Fragrance Free, which provides three times as much product for the same price. See More Info to find out why not everyone needs a separate product for the eye area.

Both of these products contain silky-feel silicones, glycerin, niacinamide (which can increase skin’s ceramide and free fatty acid content, among other benefits), a couple of notable antioxidants, and peptides. You really can’t go wrong with most of the Regenerist serums or moisturizers as long as you keep your expectations realistic.

Otherwise, this fragrance-free serum is an excellent option for use around the eyes or anywhere on the face. In contrast to Olay’s Regenerist Daily Regenerating Serum, Fragrance Free, this product contains mineral pigments (including mica) that impart a soft, reflective shimmer to skin. To a slight degree, this can help make dark circles under the eye look less obvious, but the effect is strictly cosmetic.

Pros:

  • Fragrance-free formula is front-loaded with anti-aging niacinamide.
  • Will make skin around the eyes smoother, softer, and less lined.
  • Contains a good mix of well researched anti-aging ingredients.
  • May have a temporary brightening effect on dark circles.

Cons:

  • Similar enough to Olay's Regenerist serums that this eye serum isn't 100% necessary.

More Info:

There is much you can do to improve signs of aging around your eyes, but this doesn’t have to include using an eye-area product. Any product loaded with antioxidants, emollients, skin-repairing and anti-inflammatory ingredients will work wonders when used around the eye area. Those ingredients don't have to come from a product labeled as an eye cream or gel or serum or balm—they can come from any well-formulated moisturizer or serum.

Most eye-area products aren't necessary because so many are poorly formulated, contain nothing special for the eye area, or come in packaging that won't keep key ingredients stable. Just because the product is labeled as a special eye-area treatment doesn't mean it's good for the eye area or any part of the face; in fact, many can actually make matters worse.

You would be shocked how many eye-area products lack even the most basic ingredients to help skin. For example, most eye-area products don't contain sunscreen. During the day, that is a serious problem if you aren’t wearing it under a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 30+ as it leaves the skin around your eyes vulnerable to sun damage—and that absolutely will make dark circles, puffiness, and wrinkles worse. Of course, for nighttime use, eye-area products without sun protection are just fine.

Whatever product you put around your eye area, regardless of what it is labeled, must be well formulated and appropriate for the skin type you have around your eyes. You may prefer using a specially labelled eye cream, but you may also do just as well applying your regular facial moisturizer and/or serum around your eyes.

Claims

Soften the appearance of crow’s feet in just 2 weeks with Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum. This velvety formula with Advanced Amino Peptide Complex renews skin’s surface layers to instantly brighten the look of your overall eye area.

Ingredients
Water/Eau, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Panthenol, Polyethylene, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Allantoin, Sodium PEG-7 Olive Oil Carboxylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, DMDM Hydantoin, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Dimethiconol, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Laureth-4, Laureth-7, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Disodium EDTA, PEG-100 Stearate, Iron Oxides, Mica, Titanium Dioxide Vitamin/Vitamine B3, Pro-Vitamin/Provitamine B5, Amino-Peptide, Vitamin/Vitamine E, Green Tea.
Brand Overview

Olay At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive (mostly); several outstanding water-soluble cleansers and scrubs; boon for any consumer in love with cleansing cloths; good AHA exfoliant; all sunscreens include UVA-protecting ingredients; bountiful selection of state-of-the-art serums and some excellent moisturizers; some of the best products offer fragrance-free versions.

Weaknesses: Bar cleansers; no topical disinfectant for blemishes; random products contain menthol; more than a handful of dated moisturizers; jar packaging; several moisturizers with sunscreen don't offer skin much beyond basic sun protection; repetitive formulas within and between the sub-brands make this line confusing and tricky to shop.

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
12.16.2014
I like it

I like the Regenerist products. I'm 51 and have never really used any skincare regimen. The product feels fine and doesn't irritate my eyes. The area under my eyes are noticeably lighter, smoother, and fuller. Older eyes are a little darker and sunken below the eyes. My 12-year-old son noticed it, and mentioned it without prompting. It doesn't make me look 20 again, but there is a definite improvement. The texture is very nice, too. It's non-irritating.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Liz W.
12.15.2014
Like!

I've never used skin care before, just soap and water. I'm now 50+ with dry skin, some deeper wrinkles, some fine lines, and age spots. I purchase the Regenerist anti-aging serum, and the lifting serum for eyes and the one for the face. Overall, I'm very happy with the products. My skin tone, fine lines, skin texture, are much improved. Even my 12-year-old son noticed. The products are moisturizing enough for dry skin with no breakouts. I wish Olay would combine some products though.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Elizabeth W.
12.01.2014
Should it sting???

I think it does wonders for smile lines but, should an eye serum sting?? I assumed that it could be put a little closer to the eye to lift & plump up dark circles and a bit below the eyebrow to moisturize the delicate skin but it doesn't seem to work that way. It definitely did plump up the lines overall and soaked in well but it also seemed to move in towards the eye through the day. Maybe I'm not applying it correctly...???

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Julie
10.09.2014
It Works!

This serum really did lift the droopy outer corners of my eyes! It feels good on my skin. I apply it morning and night. A winner!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
georgia
02.12.2014
Very disappointed

I was exited to try this product after reading reviews. On application it felt lovely and smooth and seemed to moisturise well but far from a lifting effect I ended up with puffy eyes and spots underneath the eyes which has never happened to me before. This is going in the bin which is a pity as it's not cheap

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
NICOLA S.
03.21.2013
Good but too expensive

I bought this based on this site review. I did like the product and my eye contour was fine. However, after a month I purchased this it was already over. I only use one pump for both eyes and it just lasted one month, when other eye creams with also 15 ml lasted me for at least 3 months. So I find this very expensive, I'd rather buy an eye contour product for double the price that will last me at least triple the time.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anne H.A.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.401 7/7/2015 2:03:34 AM