Regenerist Night Resurfacing Elixir

by Olay  Regenerist
Price:
$29.99 - 1.7 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Skin Care > AHA Exfoliants > AHA
Last Updated:
3/28/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
pH:
3.80
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Although Olay positions this as a light glycolic peel (which, in essence, it is) they are also quick to accurately point out that the results from this product are not comparable to a professional AHA peel. We appreciate this honesty, and commend Olay for creating an outstanding AHA exfoliant that's suitable for all skin types. This has a light, silky, serum-like texture that provides slight hydration and a smooth finish. The fragrance-free formula contains between 8-10% glycolic acid (Olay wouldn't reveal the exact percentage when we asked) and is formulated within the correct pH range for efficacy. More good news: Olay includes some cell-communicating ingredients along with antioxidants and the skin-repairing ingredient glycerin. The company also added shine to the formula, but its effect on skin isn't akin to layering shimmer on your face.

Note: that the translucent pump bottle packaging should be stored away from light to preserve the efficacy of the antioxidants. Also, although Olay positions this product as a moisturizer, it is first and foremost an AHA exfoliant. Those with dry skin will absolutely need to apply a moisturizer over this.

Resurface skin while you sleep for tighter, smoother skin when you wake. Olay Regenerist Night Resurfacing Elixir works each night to help gently resurface skin while you sleep for tighter, smoother skin when you wake - without the risk of harsh side effects associated with a professional chemical peel. When applied each night, the non-greasy, fast-absorbing formula with glycolic acid works over a normal sleep cycle to give you uninterrupted exfoliation while antioxidants and moisturizers continuously provide soothing hydration to tighten skin's surface.

Water, Glycerin, Glycolic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Propylene Glycol, Panthenol, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Allantoin, PEG-100 Stearate, Cellulose, Xanthan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Benzyl Alcohol, Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Iron Oxides.

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Laurie L
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 06, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    All Good
    • I believe that with these lighter 8-10% products, you need to use them before things are too bad (and u actually need to see the dermatologist). I'm 46, have minimal lines (no botox), have been using the lighter items for a while now; I can't say if they for sure work, but I think so -- I'm staving off wrinkles quite nicely, which I attribute to using OTC products before things get out of hand. I'm "maintaining" smooth skin with 8-10% (+ antioxidants), so I'm happy. Don't wait to use them!

  2. ABQ505
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Did nothing
    • This was just a waste of money. I saw no results at all. It was completely useless.

  3. Christina E.
    Reviewed on Monday, August 25, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great drug-store find
    • Overall, a really great product. Probably the best AHA exfoliator you could hope to find at CVS or Walmart. Cons - a little sticky, not a moisturizer as claimed (dry skin MUST still use a moisturizer), I've found it to be more pore-clogging than PC AHAs, non-opaque packaging.

  4. Corinna, B
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 13, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Tried and True
    • Costs more than I'd ideally want to spend, but it's really a great product! Be patient with it, and you'll see results. My ONLY complaint is that it doesn't totally "sink in" or evaporate from the skin. It feels a little sticky, and your face will feel a little tacky all night. When you splash water on your face in the morning, you'll feel the slipperiness of the product. Worth it, though! Gentle enough to use simultaneouslywith a BHA, which is what I do. Even better results this way! Very happy

  5. Jody
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 03, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    THIS REALLY WORKS
    • I use this as my night moisturizer and it really works to smooth my skin and really soften my fine lines. I have been using it for a few weeks now. Results are not overnight but you will see them within a few weeks. I use the REGENERIST Eye Serum along with it and their SPF 30 during the day. Olay REGENERIST has made a big difference in my skin, even more then the Clinique I had used for years. I got tired of spending the money on it and Paula gives rave reviews to Olay REGENERIST!

  6. Zoe
    Reviewed on Friday, June 06, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Used it on my body
    • I was on a trip for 60 days and forgot to bring my PC Skin Revealing 10% AHA Lotion, so I used this elixir from the neck down instead & used up the whole bottle in 2 months. The texture was a bit sticky, but once dried, it felt silky. I used it every other day after shower, it worked quite well (but not as well as Paula's 10% AHA Lotion), my skin felt smoother after 3-4 uses. The appearance of my skin didn't change at all though, and the smoothness was not as noticeable as the PC 10% AHA lotion.

  7. JR
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 10, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Tackiness clogged pores
    • I tried this for about two weeks, using it every other night. All products seem to work "great" after just a few days because it can take a while for their effects to "surface," so to speak. I found that I got a few pimples from this product, right where my face is against the pillow while I sleep. I suspect this has to do with how tacky this product is, and so it doesn't absorb well and instead clogged those areas that do not breathe at night. I returned it and will not use it again.

  8. Mario H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    @ Anonymous LYE
    • I would suspect the Sodium Hydroxide was included as a PH adjuster, so the harshness associated with the alkalinity of lye is negligible. I mean the PH of this formula is below 4 - quite acidic. For those who find this to have a tacky finish, I'd suggest applying a silicone based serum - as I do - like RESIST Super Antioxidant serum or Olay's very own Regenerist Microsculpting serum. Both use silicone as base and it eliminates the tackiness.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, April 14, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Lye as the 3rd Ingredient?
    • I have always had excellent results with Olay's products, but when I looked at the ingredient list for this one, the third item is sodium hydroxide, which received an 'average' rating on Paula's list...however, it is lye, which is a very astringent detergent that can be irritating. I'm really confused why this product has received a 'best' review, when this ingredient is at the top of the list. Perhaps the list doesn't list them by quantity?

  10. Patti M
    Reviewed on Monday, April 14, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Amazing
    • This product works wonders...not only that but I saw results within 1 week! Unheard of. I am 58 years old and this product worked as well as a light chemical peel. Yes it does have a slight sticky finish, but so what? I don't wear it during the day and can put it on right before going to sleep. I did not have the same results at all with the RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% Alpha Hydroxy Acid, in fact i saw nothing with that product, although I enjoy many other Paula products.

  11. Helene
    Reviewed on Friday, April 11, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Tacky Finish
    • First of all, I can not stand the sticky finish this leaves on my skin - good skin care should not cause your face to stick to the pillowcase. Second, after 1 1/2 months, I threw it away - saw not difference in my skin at all. Inexpensive, but I guess that is it's only benefit.

  12. Sonja HK
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Fantastic product!
    • After reading the reviews here I purchased a bottle of this liquid gold for half price four days ago. The difference in my [combination] skin was obvious to me after one use - I thought perhaps coincidentally my skin was just having a great day but, no, four days on my skin looks the best I've ever seen it, and I'm almost 41! It's smoother, softer and the the pores on my cheeks definitely appear smaller. Don't hesitate, buy it!!

  13. Southwest Girl
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Too strong for daily use
    • This lasted me a year, as I used it only weekly. Too strong for daily use, plus it's a tiny, EXPENSIVE bottle. My skin flaked too much if I used it daily. Since I've been using it though, I no longer get those dry patches on my cheeks. So, it must be doing something. Otherwise, I see no other visible results. I'm 52 with dry skin, and I use this product alone one night a week. I got it cause of Paula's review, and so far, so good. Wish it came in a larger bottle, or was cheaper....

  14. JILL R.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 08, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Unimpressed
    • I've been using this product for months. I have seen no change -- at all-- in my skin or pore size. It doesn't cause any irritation but beyond that, it does not appear to do much.

  15. Christy E.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 26, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Amazing!
    • I find Olay to be hit or miss, but thanks to the reviews on this site, I have found two great products - Olay's sensitive skin foaming cleanser, and this product. I've used it the last two nights, and WOW. My skin was glowing after the very first night, and is the softest it's ever been. Flaky patches of dryness are nearly gone. And to top it off, I experienced no irritation whatsoever! In love!

  16. Meredith R.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Not bad
    • I am unsure yet of any results from this product. I am using it just after trying Clinique's Turnaround Concentrate Radiance Renewer for my AHA and I experienced visible results. I was hoping to find for similar results with product, but it is not the same. As the reviewer above said, it does leave a tackiness to the skin after use. Also, it is not moisturizing and one should be used about 5 minutes after this has set. I'd say average product.

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Does what it says it will!
    • This product does what it says it will, I have been using it for a week and already notice the difference! I have oily, acne prone skin with blackheads and large pores, I have already noticed the pores around my nose seem to have shrunk and I have fewer blackheads. I did get a few extra pimples when I started using it but that may have been due to the exfoliating action, I'm not sure but am sure that now, a week later my skin has definitely improved. It seems smoother and less red :)

  18. Janet
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 11, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Superve!!!!
    • I am so surprised at how good this AHA is. I saw results within three days. Its been a week and my skin looks brighter, with less breakouts. It feels smother too. It does not sting at all and I feel its enough moisture for my oily skin. Better than more expensive AHAs that I have tried. Strongly recommend this one. Great job Olay.

  19. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 18, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    new user
    • I recently purchased this because I saw it on closeout at Kroger I am not sure if this means Olay will be discontinuing or replacing this product, but when I apply it to my face it feels a bit tacky or sticky. I am not sure if anyone else has had this issue or if adding a moisturizer over top of it may remedy the problem? I will continue to use this product in hopes that I do see some results but at the regular price I am not sure I would purchase it.

  20. Elizabeth
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 21, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    I think it's working
    • I started using this product because I decided I needed some sort of exfoliant before bed. I didn't notice amazing results at first, but I did stop using it for a week when I didn't bring it on vacation. I noticed that after not using it, my skin broke out. I'm back on it, and my skin looks and feels radiant. I can't tell if it's from this product or not, but it's worth noting.

  21. Shirley J
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Fine for very sensitive skin
    • I have extremely sensitive skin - years of steroids when my skin flares- but found this to work well for me. Fine lines around my eyes are visibly less (a statement I never believe in ads). I was very careful initially using it away from my eyes to test for sensitivity. I hope Olay never discontinues this product!

  22. Barbara
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 09, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Too, too much
    • I was hoping this product would give me smooth skin; instead, it stripped the skin right off my face after one use! What a disappointment, and it is not inexpensive for an over-the-counter product. I'll stick to my favorite companies that are not over-the-counter, such as Skinceuticals - expensive, but the products work.

  23. Carol B
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 02, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Regenerist Night Resurfacing Elixir
    • This product has been around for a good amount of time. My sister and I, who are now in our 50's, have used this off and on for years. The quality of this product brings us back. Paula's reviews are correct. I can add my skin looks so much better in the mornings when I use this at night. I now add a moisturizer with it after it dries. I hope Olay keeps making this. It's wonderful.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.351 11/24/2014 5:00:59 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.